Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Peupliers

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Couhe > Camping Les Peupliers Reviews

Camping Les Peupliers
Avenue De Paris
Couhe
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
86700
Tel: 0033 05 49 59 21 16
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 170
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 18 reviews from this member

 This site has now changed hands and is no longer called les peupliers as it was previously family run but has now been bought out and rebranded as la riviŤre and run by a company that has several other sites in France.

We only stayed for 2 nights as we had previously had 2 lovely holidays a few years ago but used as the stop over after staying in the dordogne this year. Very disappointed is all I can say, the site is not as well maintained as before, grass not cut, hedges uncut, lack of flowers as before lots of beautiful kept tubs was dotted around the site.

They have altered the pool area to include and indoor pool by altering the exit plunge area from the slides. Waste of time in my opinion as the weather was hit so not many used it whilst we were there.

They have added lots more mobile chalets and we think itís lost itís charm of a small family run site and wonít be returning as itís also too expensive now. The only thing that was enjoyed this stop was the fishing on site by my husband.

The facilities were clean but need a little tlc and staff were very helpful and friendly but needs to be much better for the money we paid 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 18 reviews from this member

 Beautiful spotless site, swimming pool and slides very good and stay open very late ie. , 11pm when high season on hot days. Site shop sells basics ie. , milk, bread, ice creams and few other bits and bobs but intermarche in Couhe less than 5 mins away or Super you in Vivionne with bigger selection. Bar open at night and early afternoon with pizza and chips to order in time slots as oven only copes with 5 pizza at a time. We had pitch near to river bank and close to fishing pond which we were worried about bugs etc. , but not really found a problem at all apart from odd flies to be expected in hot country. We will be returning as we found it extremely relaxing and as the weather was 35 degrees didn't do a great deal of sight seeing apart from visiting La Rochelle which is about an hour and half away and Saturday is Market day and was good for a day out shopping and eating Moules & Frittes by the harbour. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PeriPeri 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely place. We stayed 8 nights and didn't want to leave.

The main draw for our 11 year old daughters were the swimming pools and crazy waterslides. And the pools stay open until 11. 30pm!

For us it was the beautiful tranquility of a pitch by a riverbank. The gently flowing river is home to a glut of small crayfish that our French and Dutch neighbours enjoyed catching and eating. Also loved watching dragonflies and damselflies and burrowing bumblebees and moor hens building a nest for their 4 chicks.

Some people row inflatable dinghies on the river and also some come with loads of fishing equipment.

The toilet blocks are good enough - amazingly for France there are toilet seats and paper! (Just need to take own soap).

No need to make bread and croissant order as they bake them in shop all day. Very nice too.

The campsite is on the edge of the town of Couhe. There's an Intermarche just up the hill, but beware it closes for lunch 12. 30-2! There's a smaller, less good, Carrefour in the centre of town that stays open!

There are markets in some local towns although some are very small. Quite good at Vivonne. Bought local goat's cheese and local goat's cheesecake.

Enjoyed visiting medieval churches, particularly at Civray (10 miles) and of course Poitiers (20 miles).

The local area has fields of sunflowers and sweet corn and wheat.

Also at Poitiers found Decathlon for camping and sports equipment and vast Auchan hypermarket.

The campsite is close to the N10 dual carriageway. We were at the far end of the campsite. Most of the time we couldn't hear it, but there were some occasions when we heard it a lot. Maybe it depends on atmospheric conditions? It didn't affect us too much. There were other sounds too, like an organ playing at the Abbey next door all day on Sunday (beautiful) or another camper strumming a guitar.

The weather was hot during the day and cool at night. Ideal for us.

We may come back. It seems many others do or come because friends tell them about it.

A gem! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Skyeblue123 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site

Beautiful surroundings.

Clean and well kept facilities.

Only downside is do not expect the whole site to be opened until main holidays, as only small area of pool systems are open before then.

Also bar, food service not open until the main July and August holidays. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Guyll 4 reviews from this member

 Great campsite easy to use pitches, pleasant and helpful manager, kingfishers can be seen.

Town only a short walk couple of restaurants one nearer the town used by locals very full at lunch but very cheap and good simple food wine 4e half litre.

Only drawback is motorway noise and frog and duck noise ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed one night here on our way home from Spain. Easy to get to, close to the N10. Good caravan friendly roads but park up at the road leading to it if the barrier is closed and there is a caravan waiting to get in. I found the entrance a bit tight getting in with my large caravan because of the angle I had to park outside. They speak no English but they appreciated my basic French which is enough to get booked in. We had a fully serviced pitch for 20 euros with a nice view of the river. The site was quiet being early May with stop over travellers like us. English, German and Dutch. The shop is basic and bread sticks had to be ordered the day before. The bar and other facilities were not open but it was ok for a stopover. There were a few flies about as mentioned below but not really a problem at our pitch. The toilets beside us were unisex but nice and clean. We use our own caravan shower. I marked child friendly down to 5 as not much was open for kids in early May. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mags0152 26 reviews from this member

 A great site. We used our ACSI card and got a serviced pitch for 16E per night. Very clean toilet blocks. Huge showers. Hot water. Brilliant washing up and laundry facilities. We loved the pool and the slides. Staff were friendly and pleasant. The bar and take away was closed as it was late in the season but the small restaurant just up the hill was good value and a good varied menu. Easy to find and close to Poitiers.

Would thoroughly recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenharvey4710 9 reviews from this member

 Love this site!

Fantastic pool complex with slides etc. Our two daughters loved it. Had a great pitch next to the beautiful river with water & drainage.

Weather was lovely & pool open until 10pm. Men have to wear proper trunks rather than shorts.

Shop open all time with bread being cooked throughout the day. Shop stock was basic but a supermarket is at the top of the hill so not far to go. Takeaway available but restaurant quite basic & pricey for what is on offer.

We brought our dinghies and so enjoyed rowing the river & catching the little fish with nets.

We were one of only two or three British visitors. Lots of Dutch and some French but everyone was friendly so didn't bother us that we were in the minority.

Lovely, quiet, family site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizex 28 reviews from this member

 We have spent five happy holidays at this site. It is family-run, rather than a chain, and I think this shows in personalised service you get,and that's what makes it the kind of site where so many people come back year after year.

There are no tour operators but there are chalets and mobile homes to rent direct from the site. Pitches are large and spotlessly clean.

To clarify about the road noise, I have only ever heard it if I've been awake in the night. Most people never hear it at all and you can't hear it at all during the day.

As I've reviewed this site before I would like to add some pictures this time, which can be found here:

Http://www.Flickr.Com/search/?w=all&q=couhe+lespeupliers&m=text 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sooz73 2 reviews from this member

 We were recommended this by family friends who live nearby and go every year for 2 weeks in the summer.

The weather was not particularly good for the first few days but then was fab.

There were a few tents there but mainly campers - dutch and a few english. The pitches were generous in size although very stony which was a nightmare trying to put up the tent, but we realised that this was a huge benefit as the drainage was fantastic.

The main pool and 'baby' pool and the main slide was open, but the other slides and 'beach' were closed, which is why price was cheaper I presume. The other slides and pool are open in July and August so should be amazing during the summer holidays.

The facilities were clean and tidy, cleaned at least twice a day.

The N10 is a bit annoying but then we were staying under the cliffs so maybe that buffered the noise.

If you have young children then is a good idea to ask to be near the cliffs as you are away from the water.

Valley de Singes is lovely,Futurescope is worth a trip. There are loads of other places to go but we spent most of our holiday with family.

Fab site and will be going again next year. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Peupliers child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Les Peupliers have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Les Peupliers?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Peupliers dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Couhe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement