Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Peupliers

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Site Reviews

Camping Les Peupliers
Avenue De Paris
Couhe
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
86700
Tel: 0033 05 49 59 21 16
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 170
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 7 reviews from this member

Beautiful spotless site, swimming pool and slides very good and stay open very late ie. , 11pm when high season on hot days. Site shop sells basics ie. , milk, bread, ice creams and few other bits and bobs but intermarche in Couhe less than 5 mins away or Super you in Vivionne with bigger selection. Bar open at night and early afternoon with pizza and chips to order in time slots as oven only copes with 5 pizza at a time. We had pitch near to river bank and close to fishing pond which we were worried about bugs etc. , but not really found a problem at all apart from odd flies to be expected in hot country. We will be returning as we found it extremely relaxing and as the weather was 35 degrees didn't do a great deal of sight seeing apart from visiting La Rochelle which is about an hour and half away and Saturday is Market day and was good for a day out shopping and eating Moules & Frittes by the harbour.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeriPeri 6 reviews from this member

What a lovely place. We stayed 8 nights and didn't want to leave.

The main draw for our 11 year old daughters were the swimming pools and crazy waterslides. And the pools stay open until 11. 30pm!

For us it was the beautiful tranquility of a pitch by a riverbank. The gently flowing river is home to a glut of small crayfish that our French and Dutch neighbours enjoyed catching and eating. Also loved watching dragonflies and damselflies and burrowing bumblebees and moor hens building a nest for their 4 chicks.

Some people row inflatable dinghies on the river and also some come with loads of fishing equipment.

The toilet blocks are good enough - amazingly for France there are toilet seats and paper! (Just need to take own soap).

No need to make bread and croissant order as they bake them in shop all day. Very nice too.

The campsite is on the edge of the town of Couhe. There's an Intermarche just up the hill, but beware it closes for lunch 12. 30-2! There's a smaller, less good, Carrefour in the centre of town that stays open!

There are markets in some local towns although some are very small. Quite good at Vivonne. Bought local goat's cheese and local goat's cheesecake.

Enjoyed visiting medieval churches, particularly at Civray (10 miles) and of course Poitiers (20 miles).

The local area has fields of sunflowers and sweet corn and wheat.

Also at Poitiers found Decathlon for camping and sports equipment and vast Auchan hypermarket.

The campsite is close to the N10 dual carriageway. We were at the far end of the campsite. Most of the time we couldn't hear it, but there were some occasions when we heard it a lot. Maybe it depends on atmospheric conditions? It didn't affect us too much. There were other sounds too, like an organ playing at the Abbey next door all day on Sunday (beautiful) or another camper strumming a guitar.

The weather was hot during the day and cool at night. Ideal for us.

We may come back. It seems many others do or come because friends tell them about it.

A gem!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Skyeblue123 1 review from this member

Fantastic site

Beautiful surroundings.

Clean and well kept facilities.

Only downside is do not expect the whole site to be opened until main holidays, as only small area of pool systems are open before then.

Also bar, food service not open until the main July and August holidays.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Guyll 4 reviews from this member

Great campsite easy to use pitches, pleasant and helpful manager, kingfishers can be seen.

Town only a short walk couple of restaurants one nearer the town used by locals very full at lunch but very cheap and good simple food wine 4e half litre.

Only drawback is motorway noise and frog and duck noise !

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed one night here on our way home from Spain. Easy to get to, close to the N10. Good caravan friendly roads but park up at the road leading to it if the barrier is closed and there is a caravan waiting to get in. I found the entrance a bit tight getting in with my large caravan because of the angle I had to park outside. They speak no English but they appreciated my basic French which is enough to get booked in. We had a fully serviced pitch for 20 euros with a nice view of the river. The site was quiet being early May with stop over travellers like us. English, German and Dutch. The shop is basic and bread sticks had to be ordered the day before. The bar and other facilities were not open but it was ok for a stopover. There were a few flies about as mentioned below but not really a problem at our pitch. The toilets beside us were unisex but nice and clean. We use our own caravan shower. I marked child friendly down to 5 as not much was open for kids in early May.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mags0152 24 reviews from this member

A great site. We used our ACSI card and got a serviced pitch for 16E per night. Very clean toilet blocks. Huge showers. Hot water. Brilliant washing up and laundry facilities. We loved the pool and the slides. Staff were friendly and pleasant. The bar and take away was closed as it was late in the season but the small restaurant just up the hill was good value and a good varied menu. Easy to find and close to Poitiers.

Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenharvey4710 9 reviews from this member

Love this site!

Fantastic pool complex with slides etc. Our two daughters loved it. Had a great pitch next to the beautiful river with water & drainage.

Weather was lovely & pool open until 10pm. Men have to wear proper trunks rather than shorts.

Shop open all time with bread being cooked throughout the day. Shop stock was basic but a supermarket is at the top of the hill so not far to go. Takeaway available but restaurant quite basic & pricey for what is on offer.

We brought our dinghies and so enjoyed rowing the river & catching the little fish with nets.

We were one of only two or three British visitors. Lots of Dutch and some French but everyone was friendly so didn't bother us that we were in the minority.

Lovely, quiet, family site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizex 27 reviews from this member

We have spent five happy holidays at this site. It is family-run, rather than a chain, and I think this shows in personalised service you get,and that's what makes it the kind of site where so many people come back year after year.

There are no tour operators but there are chalets and mobile homes to rent direct from the site. Pitches are large and spotlessly clean.

To clarify about the road noise, I have only ever heard it if I've been awake in the night. Most people never hear it at all and you can't hear it at all during the day.

As I've reviewed this site before I would like to add some pictures this time, which can be found here:

Http://www.Flickr.Com/search/?w=all&q=couhe+lespeupliers&m=text

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sooz73 2 reviews from this member

We were recommended this by family friends who live nearby and go every year for 2 weeks in the summer.

The weather was not particularly good for the first few days but then was fab.

There were a few tents there but mainly campers - dutch and a few english. The pitches were generous in size although very stony which was a nightmare trying to put up the tent, but we realised that this was a huge benefit as the drainage was fantastic.

The main pool and 'baby' pool and the main slide was open, but the other slides and 'beach' were closed, which is why price was cheaper I presume. The other slides and pool are open in July and August so should be amazing during the summer holidays.

The facilities were clean and tidy, cleaned at least twice a day.

The N10 is a bit annoying but then we were staying under the cliffs so maybe that buffered the noise.

If you have young children then is a good idea to ask to be near the cliffs as you are away from the water.

Valley de Singes is lovely,Futurescope is worth a trip. There are loads of other places to go but we spent most of our holiday with family.

Fab site and will be going again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pager33 23 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights here and loved it. The site is very easy to find and we were shown personally to our pitch which was large and by the river just as we had requested. The whole site is very well maintained with beautiful flowers/ plants.
We spent hours relaxing on our pitch over a glass of wine gazing at the river. Our daughter loved the pool and slides which were some of the best we've ever seen and it was open til midnight and all lit up at night.
The sanitary facilities were well maintained and clean too. The shop stocked all the basics but an Intermarche supermarket is only a 2 min drive away in Couhe or for a better choice there is a large Super you at Vivonne only 15 mins away. We spent most of our stay on site but did visit the Vallee des Singes which we loved and would highly recommend.
Reception have discounts available for the local attractions which saved us 8 euros on our entry fee.

The only thing we didn't enjoy was the meal we had on our last night, my pizza was burnt and the icecream desserts were all melted, perhaps due to the temperatures being in the high 30's throughout our stay.

Another minor irritant was the road noise from the nearby N10 which to be fair we only noticed at night and affects the pitches nearer reception more. Overall we loved the place and are booking for next year.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019