Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Onn Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stafford > High Onn Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

High Onn Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Church Eaton
Stafford
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST20 0AX
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 16/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

Sorry, I am rarely negative but the only previous review I can relate to is the negative one submitted by mini-moo back on 2010.

Site is set on the remains of a second world war airfield, in the middle of nowhere and is a slowly crumbling relic from the conflict. Poor road surfaces, much of which is deteriorating 1940's concrete.

Yes it might only be 10 miles from the 'motorway system' but it will take you 40 minutes on a good day to get there (depending on how many oncoming vehicles you meet) in the narrow, water-logged, overgrown lanes that infest the area. The lanes are 'filthy' when it rains, no other word for it.

Farm machinery has been become more sophisticated and much bigger in recent years, these roads are as narrow as the were 100 years ago with the result that the farmers modern and wide vehicles constantly drag grass/mud/verge etc. , onto the narrow single track.

Very few pitches are white pegged (CC speak for being suitable for caravan with awning) and the grass is left way too long for a happy existence on wet days.

On the plus side and despite the inevitable drive down after what are really narrow, wet and filthy farm tracks there are some lovely eating house in the area, often located in villages on the tow path of the Shropshire Union Canal, 'The Boat' at Gnosall being the pick of the bunch can be found at ST20 0DA, roughly 3. 5 miles left out the gate from the site.

As for the site itself; few pitches are level but has three service/waste disposal points so never far to travel, no CC (Caravan Club) internet and mobile phone service non existent.

There are some pitches that would have stunning views, but only if the caravan club have a change of attitude and trim/cut hedges down to sensible heights, i. E. Hawthorn bushes do not make hedges when left to run wild and grow wild to 10 - 12 feet tall.

Finally; absolutely nothing here for kids, muddy dog walk, dangerous roads to walk nowhere and no play area. Would have given it '0' for child friendliness but only starts at 1.

I (we) are avid CC members and users and have some of the best camping sites in the UK but not this site, has to be the worst one we have ever visited and we will not be going back, ever!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karanszia 1 review from this member

What an amazing gem of a site. We first came here at the end of May this year, intending to stay for a week, before moving on to another CC site. By day 2 of our stay here, the other site had been cancelled and another week here booked. Also changed our plans for our July holiday to come back here, so having never been here before, we've been here for 3 weeks since end of May. So ok the roads to get here are not great, buy hey, this is the countryside, you can't expect to be in the middle of nowhere and have a main road running past the site. The peace and quiet of this site more than makes up for any problems getting here, and to be honest, we've not had any problems getting here anyway. You also have to expect some farming activities going on, depending on the time of year of your visit, at our last visit, they were getting the silage in, but again this is the countryside, and it wasn't a problem.

There's no toilet block, but that's made clear in the site handbook, so you should be aware of this before booking. There's no kids play area, but to be honest, we like that, as it means you don't get too many kids on site, which means it stays nice and peaceful.

The wardens, who I believe are new to this site this year, are really friendly, and very helpful, 2 really lovely people.

The dog walk is amazingly good and well worth a walk around, even if you don't have a dog.

If you're a cyclist or a walker, then you'll be spoilt for choice of places to go, as some lovely walks ect straight from the site.

If you want to go further afield, then RAF Cosford is a must if you like aircraft, the museum itself is free, you just pay for car parking. Bewdley is an easy drive away, and a really nice little town, as is Bridgenorth. The Severn Valley Railway from Bridgenorth is a really nice day out, and if you leave yourself enough time, you can either visit Bewdley on the way back, or stop off there on the train, and then catch a later train for the rest of the journey.

Wheaton Aston itself is a lovely little village, and the locals are really friendly, and (at least all the ones we've met) are happy to stand and chat to you. There's 2 pubs, although the Hartley Arms does seem to be the most popular of the 2. There's 2 general stores, one of which now has the post office in it, the second one a Spar is tucked away behind the Church. You also have a Pharmacy, and the farm next to pub sells fresh farm eggs.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gandry 6 reviews from this member

The country roads leading to the site are not the best as they are narrow and there are potholes, the oncoming traffic was not a problem as there are passing places.

We were met by the friendly warden and were told to choose our pitch which we felt were quite adequate in size.

The site is surrounded by fields, well kept and the water and waste areas are cleaned regularly. There is no play area for children, (they are the caravanners/campers of the future!). Trees have been cut down in the past but this gives the benefit of the site being more open for letting the sun in.

Steel pegs are required for the awning.

The dog walk is very good, grassland and woods.

Had an evening meal at the Hartley Arms by the canal which we recommend. (pensioners menu at lunchtime)

For geocachers there are plenty of caches to be found and the footpath opposite the site leads to the canal, 1 mile away.

We found this to be a pleasant, peaceful site and look forward to returning in the future.

Non CC members welcome, no tents

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rads 13 reviews from this member

Just spent our first weekend away this year at High Onn. Apart from having no facilities block, this is a typical CC site. It's well laid out with large pitches and very friendly wardens. The site also has good views if you pitch on the edge of the site, rather than in the middle.

Top tip is to follow the directions in the CC handbook/website. These give you the best of a bad choice of routes. The roads become thin after Wheaton Aston, but there are passing places. If you try the more direct route that the sat nav would take you, then the roads become thinner sooner!

Wheaton Aston is a half hour walk away either by road (the way you should have driven) or via the canal. The Hartley Arms is by the canal, but doesn't take dogs. The Coach and Horses is in the village and is a locals pub, but has a separate eatery in one of the lounge rooms. The food is wholesome but basic. They do take dogs. Next to the Coach and Horses is an Indian restaurant that apparently delivers to site. Also between the two pubs is the village shop that is well stocked.

If you can manage without a toilet block and like the peace and quiet, then this is a site to consider. Although it is a bit further than we would normally go for a weekend, I am sure that we will return before the season's out.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 23 reviews from this member

I was a bit worried about getting to this site, the directions in the handbook sounded complicated and some of the reviews are worrying, but being solo I look at a map, look at Google Earth and finally make sure it is correct on my sat nav. After all that it was fine, yes the last bit was single track, just take it slowly. Wardens were very helpful, pitches were nicely arranged, and dog walk was great, complete with air raid shelters, it is part of an old airfield. The Wardens recommended the local pub a few miles away, the paella on their specials board was excellent and very reasonably priced.

I haven't been here before, but wanted a one night close to the M6, fitted the bill perfectly. With a modern van no wash block wasn't a problem.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 31 reviews from this member

We have been using this site for years, it is so quiet and peaceful. Only 20 odd miles from home but ideal for a weekend or longer.

No facilities other than water, electric.

The wardens are very friendly and keep the site very neat and tidy.

The dog walk area opposite is huge. There are also lots of opportunities for walks/cycling in the surrounding area. The roads to the site are a bit narrow so take care, yes you may get muck on your van, but its in the country.

There are shops in Wheaton Aston also a good pub (The Hartley Arms) on the canal. For bigger shops Telford Centre is easy to get to, or Stafford.

Local attractions, Cosford Aerospace Museum, Severn Valley Railway or Ironbridge Gorge and its museums.

We love this site and wil continue to use it.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunbeam03 24 reviews from this member

We stayed as per a special offer £11 per night. Very rural site surrounded by country roads. No toilet block as advertised staff welcoming, hardstanding/electric pitch to caravan club standard. Lots of nice walks and for the adventurous a walk along the canal to gnosall (quite a way) is a must. No public transport as you are in the middle of no where, didn't use the dog walk unfortunately although reports say it is very good. Overall good for a weekend break and peace and quiet

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

We stopped here for the last night of our tour to Scotland. What a nice site, the wardens are very friendly and keep the place tidy. It could be a little hard to find, we were advised to ignore the sat nav but in fact we found on the homeward bound journey that the way it took us was much easier, missing out on a narrow winding road. As has been said, there are no facilities here, plenty of hook ups and hardstandings. A 20 minute walk along the lane, I think only one car passed by us, and you arrive at the Shropshire Union Canal. You can walk along the canal and then back along another lane. We cheated and just came back the way we went. We would recommend this site. Perhaps not for those with children, not a lot for them to do but certainly if you want to get away from it for a few days.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Award 1 review from this member

New wardens, great site, lovely quiet and set in the countryside. No toilet block orr play area, that's no problem, love High Onn the way it is.

There's plenty to do around the area. Site is clean and kept brillant. We will be going back next year a lot more great dog walk even with out a dog.

Site has lovely views at all angles. Pitches have been upgraded and their is loads of space. Roads are sometimes dirty and muddy, you are in the county side after all.

So if you you don't like what you have read don't come. We had a lovely stay look forward to next year.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mini Moo 3 reviews from this member

We booked this site on the back of the positive reviews on here and I am sorry to say that we were disappointed.

Firstly, the site is very difficult to find. The instructions in the caravan club handbook may be fine if there are two of you but if you’re towing ‘solo’ you haven’t a hope of following them safely. Fortunately, as I pulled over trying to decipher the directions a chap pulled up and asked if I was looking for High Onn. He went on to say that they have no end of Caravanners lost and the locals wish that the CC would put in decent sign posts as the number of outfits stuck in lanes causes chaos. Which brings me on to the approach itself... The site is in the middle of nowhere, along muddy country lanes (every caravan was arriving filthy) and if, like I have, you’ve got a larger outfit it can be a bit tricky to say the least.

The site itself is like other CC sites, clean, tidy with EHU. “High Onn” conjures up an image of a hill-top site with spectacular views but I’m afraid you can forget it. The site is virtually totally surrounded by trees and it really is very claustrophobic and dark. Yes, it’s peaceful, yes it’s in the middle of nowhere but it really is terribly gloomy. The plus side is that the dog walk (across the lane from the site) is HUGE and the Pub that they recommend at the site, called The Royal Oak in Church Eaton (about a 10 minute drive away) is fantastic – they do 2 mains for £10 and they were excellent.

We were booked to stay for two night but bailed out after the first and came home early...

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3656 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019