Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waggon And Horses

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Louth > Waggon And Horses Reviews

Waggon And Horses
Main Road
South Reston
Louth
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN11 8JQ
Tel: 01507 450364
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 Basic campsite rural setting, but with toilets, a shower and pot washing area, and waste disposal. Lovely welcoming pub, friendly & helpful owners & staff. Pub is dog friendly which is always a bonus.

Food delicious, freshly cooked and home made.

Couldnt see a local shop, and bit of a walk to find a good off lead dog walk, however, we will be back to explore the area further. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jim rookes 5 reviews from this member

 This a a very pleasant site, pitches are level, showers could do with modernization, toilets are in pub which is very accessible, food in pub is great ate there three times and it is very affordable, buses to Louth and Mapplethorpe are right outside off pub which us a big plus, would we return. Yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Belly40 1 review from this member

 Just returned from an excellent weekend of bsb superbikes racing at cadwell park which is just a 15mins drive away from the wagon & horses campsite.

Louth about 10 miles away & Mablethorpe about 8 miles so great to use as a base.

The site was fairly busy with other race fans so maybe an idea to keep away on race weekend if wanting a quiet time.

The campsite is basic had elect hookups but not sure how many, only one shower but very hot water, had to use pub toilets which were left open a night for access, the pub amenities make up for any sort fall.

The pub serves great food & also runs a little shop selling newspapers, eggs, milk, etc.

I'm not a seasoned camper so have little experience to go on, but deserves 10/10 for pub & hospitality & 7/10 for campsite.

We will definitely be returning next year & would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stampy 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weekend at this site.

We booked here after our first choice site cancelled due to waterlogging.

It is a lovely site, behind a fantastic village pub.

The pitches are mostly level, and well spaced, with EHU one one side and non-EHU on the other.

The facilities are basic - the loo's are the pub loo's and the shower is behind the pub, almost in a service yard type area, and is secured with a code lock, but it is hot, clean and free.

The pub itself is an absolute gem - amazing food. At first glance, it is normal 'pubgrub', about £8 for a main meal - but it is the best pub grub I have ever had!

The pub is also home to the village shop, with basic essentials and papers available.

We will definitely be returning, especially as it is only 40 minutes from home. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chispa 3 reviews from this member

 We must have picked the wrong time to go as other reviews seem good! The price was £19.50 for one night.

When we arrived we were not given any information despite having a breakfast in the pub. We went to set up and there was no water! They did ask us to come in to the pub and use the tap.

There was no toilet or shower in use. Expensive for out of season with no facilities.

We also had a meal in the pub that evening, it was very busy so we were expecting it to be good, but it was very average pub food. With £19.50 fee, 3 full breakfasts and 3 evening meals, this was not a cheap night out 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tottiesmum 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived late on friday night and stayed till Sunday afternoon. Lovely friendly pub and looking forward to returning next year.

Had fantastic food all weekend, fillet steak, goats cheese, curry all superb! stayed for Sunday carvery and we were all very happy we did.

Didn't use the facilities as there was only one shower and as the field was busy thought probably not a great idea. Used pub toilets. Only a few hook ups and we didn't have one but luckily we survived and nigel let us plug our sons psp into charge at the pub (life saver!).

Didn't hear any dogs at all, it was lovely and quiet, it was cadwell weekend(bank hol) so the field got very busy it had a fantastic atmosphere.

It was £45 for a caravan with no hook up so a bit pricey but worth it for the pub. Kids spent hours on the trim trail making friends so all in all, happy holiday! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pj_skydog 9 reviews from this member

 The site is located behind a thriving pub, which also has a little shop. The field is flat and level, surrounded by hedges. It is clear that the main business is related to the pub, whose clientèle appears to be smartly dressed over 60's

There is electric hookup, water and chemical disposal. Toilets are located in the pub. It's a perfectly acceptable site, if a little short on the personal touch. On the plus side we were allowed to park up where we wanted, and also had a fire (in a purpose built fire bowl).

However one of the neighbours has show dogs kennelled in their garden. The dogs kicked off at 6am, waking us up. They continued to bark at the slightest movement we made throughout the morning. After complaining to the pub landlord the dogs' breakfast was moved to 8am. This was an improvement but still very annoying, and had we not been part of a party we would have left.

As to the surrounding area Maplethorpe is worth a visit for the sandy beach but is otherwise rather run down - Sutton on Sea is nicer. Sunday lunch in the pub was also good. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pam12 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 4 night stay over the Easter period. Weather was fantastic, the site is a level field behind the pub.

The only toilets on site are located in the pub where they leave a door open all night. Only one shower. The landlord Neil and his wife Jean were great and made us feel very welcome, even the locals were nice and friendly.

The food in the restaurant was great and good value for money, they even do a take out service. The Sunday carvery was extremely good with a choice of three meats and ample veg but it is best to book as it gets very busy.

Will definitely be returning in the summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Owdsmiffy 2 reviews from this member

 As previously mentioned by other reviewers this is a very basic site! that alone would not put us off from visiting again, there appears to be two hook up points,each with 4 sockets @ 10A each, a toilet block with one of each gent's ladies and shower, all of which were locked (I don't know if a key is available-did'nt ask) a water tap,and an elsan point.

It is exactly the sort of site that we seek out, preferring to stay away from the larger 'all singing all dancing' type of place. The pub itself was very busy with a party going on, the restaurant was also busy, & the food prices seemed to be quite reasonable, beer is quite expensive though.

The only down side as far as we were concerned was the £16.50 charge for a Motorhome with two adults & hook-up, There are known to be much cheaper sites of similar or even better standard in the immediate vicinity, and for that reason we won't be visiting this one again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Devon1306 1 review from this member

 Good level site off the road and behind the pub car park, safe for children. No shower block and only toilets in the doorway to the pub, this area left open all night. Lack of facilities no problem with a fully equipped caravan but could be a problem in a tent.
Landlord also has a small shop in the pub open from 8.00am for most basics. Food in the pub or attached restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, the hand pulled beers excellent, the landlord and all staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and up to this point we could not fault the site.
The only down side, and it is a very big down side, was the sites next door neighbour has a lot of dogs that bark 24/7.

A site that needs to be encouraged. Had to leave after 3 days so we could get some sleep 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waggon And Horses child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waggon And Horses?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waggon And Horses dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Louth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement