Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wick Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Wick > Wick Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Wick Caravan And Camping Site
Riverside Drive
Wick
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW1 5SP
Tel: 01955 605420
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 1 May To 26 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
                9/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Planet76283oiu 1 review from this member

 Lovely, peaceful, well kept site, run by a very friendly, helpful couple.

Not the ideal time to visit many places as due to the ongoing Covid situation, some places in Wick were closed. So not sure how the place will fare coming out of this situation. Would certainly visit the site again In the future.

The scores below insist on input for site facilities, as the WC and Shower block were closed I have added a 5 as it would not let me proceed or place a NA

Thank You for having us 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Princess123 2 reviews from this member

 Oh my word, after leaving a site that we couldn't wait to leave we came here for just over a week, we have now been here for 5 days and this site is fantastic. The family that run it keep it spotless and our experience has been that they are so friendly, and will help you with anything you want. As other reviewers yes the shower block could do with a bit of an update but everyone is here for such a short spell it doesn't really matter, they were clean and hot and that's all you need. Both my husband and myself wont be back up this part of the world again but if there was ever a case to, then this site would be first on our list. So well done to the owners. It's a credit to you all. Thanks for a lovely tranquil peaceful end to our stay. John & carol 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Raysmiffy 14 reviews from this member

 First attempt to get into the site was a fail. There is a low bridge only 2.86 M high and my MH was just too high. Luckily they have a MH turning point.

They have an alternative route which is not signposted very well, along the side of the river with trees and bushes that needed some pruning. Not very considerate to the MH owners I think.

The site itself is in a beautiful location. The pitches are huge and flat so no complaints there.

The big let down for me is the state of the toilets. There are other reviews dated 2013 where they mention how the toilets are so dated.

Yes they were cleaned daily. But the toilet and shower cubicles are the smallest and cramped I have ever been in. The shower curtain is only a foot away from the closed door so no chance of having a stool.

Also the toilets had no heating, and the water got no better than luke warm and when I switched them on and with the cubicle being so cramped I got blasted with freezing water with no room to avoid it.

The toilet cubicles are worse, I am only 13 stone, but I was sitting at an angle with the paper dispenser on my shoulder. When I got in and out I had to climb over the bowl as the door opens in with no room to get legs past. Ridiculous!

Worse, there are rough sawn blocks of wood and screws and nails for handles as the owners would rather patch it up in the worst DIY way rather than spend a little money.

The toilet block in a campsite is always a good indicator of the attitude of the people that run a site, and these people failed miserably. IMO of course. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelaz 10 reviews from this member

 The owner is friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and tidy. Just a short walk into Wick town centre where there is a good selection of shops. The owner found me a plot where it was not saturated due to the wet weather conditions which was very much appreciated! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

 Lovely immaculate sheltered site, huge flat gravel (or grass) pitches, very well spaced with hook ups, good motorhome service point. Very peaceful and quiet, never heard the train. Very welcoming owner who gave us a map of the site plus a map of Wick with all the restaurants and cafes marked on it. Supermarket is 5 minutes walk, Wick centre is a nice level 10 minute walk along the river. Only downside was the showers, very clean, and the water was hot and powerful, but boy are they tiny, the smallest shower tray and dressing area we have ever seen, in both the ladies and the gents, could do with updating. If you use your own facilities this is a perfect site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 17 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly site maintained with a great deal of pride by its resident owners who will give you a very warm welcome. Pitches are spacious and level, facilities are perhaps a bit dated but absolutely spotlessly clean. Loads of hot water. Drive over grey water dump for motorhomes easy to access.

Site fees are amongst the lowest we came across on the NC500 and offer good value for money.

Main entrance is via a low bridge under the railway but units higher than this can use an alternative road alongside the river.

Directions either by phoning the very helpful owner or from the clear map at the turning circle before the rail bridge.

Easy walk alongside the river into town or go out under the rail bridge and there is a Co op supermarket within 5 minutes walk.

Don't worry about the rail line we were there for 2 days and heard 4 trains, not exactly Kings Cross. Wick žtself used to be one of the biggest Herring fishing ports and part of it, Pultneytown, is a planned town by Thomas Telford and although some restoration work is underway it really should make more of its architectural heritage but what you see is a working lived in town and not a museum peice. The Pultney Distillery is well worth a visit.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and certainly will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andyraebud 1 review from this member

 Absolute perfection. To the owner of the site to the pitch we got the price of the pitch the easy walk to the town and the harbour fish suppers, , also the walks for our dog. Love this site wished we could have stayed longer. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Relaycamper 4 reviews from this member

 Spent a night here on the NC 500 route. Nicely kept site with good facilities and helpful people, and not too expensive. We had a nice level hard standing pitch. Toilets and showers were good and very clean. There is a railway line nearby, but not a problem, you would hardly notice it. There were washing up facilities for the campers, but cannot comment as we did not use them. The waste water and toilet emptying points were were very good, amongst the best we have encountered on this run. There is a short walk into the town along the side of the river, which was very pleasant and only takes around 10 minutes. We would certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Einsteinwasright 5 reviews from this member

 Nice rural campsite with a view of the lake, really friendly and welcoming staff. Good facilities provided including an outside sink/washing up area, toilets and showers. All in pretty good condition and kept very clean. There is a small shop at the entrance with camping essentials. Although we didn't need the electrical points there are several dotted around the site.

It is local to town with a short 10 minute walk along the lake, really useful if you want to visit the local pubs!

Because it is near the town there is a bit of noise from the railway and also the airport, however it wasn't enough to disturb our sleep.

There were a few midges and other insects as it's close to the lake so be prepared and pack some insect repellant for the tent!

We didn't have our daughter with us so couldn't comment on the child friendliness - however there were several families around with young children who all seemed to be enjoying it. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ritigreven 4 reviews from this member

 This a well-run campsite that offers nice pitches with electric hookup and a good connection to the city.

The pitches are really spacious and the staff is really friendly. We got lots of information about what to see and do in and around Wick.

If you stay there in the high season I highly recommend the Scottish variety show and the Halkirk Highland Games. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wick Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wick Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wick Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement