Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Clos Auroy

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Puy De Dome > Camping Le Clos Auroy Reviews

Camping Le Clos Auroy
15 Rue De La Narse
Orcet
Puy De Dome
Auvergne   (Browse area)
63670
Tel: 0033 04 73 84 26 97
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 85
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 3 nights on our way home from the south – it is very conveniently located just off the A75.

The campsite looked a bit like an ex-municpal site and if so, the owner has done a good make-over. We visited in late September so not all services were available but we still enjoyed our stay.

Our pitch was level and a good size surrounded by hedges, which we like, and part of it was gravelly hard standing which is always useful for a caravan. There are two sanitary blocks on the site, one was locked whilst we were there but the other was heated and clean, and I never had to queue.

The site is well maintained and has two swimming pools which I didn’t use, so can’t comment on them. We walked into Orcet every morning for our bread but there is not a lot to see there although it is worth at least one visit. There is an Intermarché for fuel and groceries on the outskirts of Le Cendre.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Used as a stopover heading South. Site is less than 5 miniutes off the A75/E11 good access for all size vehicles. The reception open in winter from 2pm - 7pm, there is also an automatic check in machine outside the gate.

Good firm pitches with electric. Water off in winter but taps in facilities to fill up tanks. Showers and loos were spotless, well heated and plenty of piping hot water in showers.

Washing machine and dryer, each €4. 00. The village in quaint and worth a good walk around. Plenty of other walks from the site.

Would use again as a stopover. We paid €26 with electric, however wifi is a further €3 per day.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eggy29 5 reviews from this member

Used this site for a 2 night stopover on our way north back to Calais. Facilities were excellent. I don't know when the cleaners did their work - I never saw them - but the showers and toilets were spotless. Only downside was that we picked this site from the 2016 ACSI book which indicated that there were transport links within 1/2Km of the site. We had hoped to travel to Clermont Ferrand for a day out but found out that this information was erroneous. This may or may not be the fault of the site but we really had a wasted day when we found out this information. There was not much in the village to keep us occupied - a couple of bars, 2 bakers and a grocers shop and a VERY expensive restaurant so we had a day resting on the campsite with our own beer!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 34 reviews from this member

Medium sized site with good sized pitches for a French site. Some pitches are along the main site road whilst others are in groups of 9. Those on the road near the site entrance tend to be kept for those on an overnight stop, for which the site is popular, being close to the A75. Those pitches had a gritty surface but the other did have grass. Most have high hedges alongside each pitch, although in some cases this was being replaced. 2 sanitary blocks with separate Male / Female facilities, although the main one also has extra mixed facilities built on the back. Some old style (Turkish) toilets although all in the mixed section are normal style. Toilets have seats but paper is provided on a large roll outside the cubicles, and this occasionally ran out. Otherwise they were kept clean with an attendant checking regularly through the day. Good swimming pool, with Jacuzzi, river run and Children's pool. Bread Van calls at the site gate daily at 9. 00am, except Monday, but there is another baker in the village who is open then. Good base for visiting the Auvergne, especially Le Puy de Dome and Clermont Ferrand

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Used as a stopover on way south towards Spain as many seemed to do during our 3-day stay. Pitches are OK but ours had much fine grit which found its way into the caravan. As others have mentioned, there are very high hedges which make the pitches rather claustrophobic, but we do like clearly defined pitches to prevent people walking across our pitch. Watch the wifi charges which are on the high side. We were unable to buy time online so purchased code/password from reception. The clock started ticking from that moment and not the time we entered the details on our iPad. At €3. 00 a day we considered this to be expensive. Had good visit to the Puy de Dome though.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whitwick Wanderer 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights on a journey to the Pyrenees. Has the feel of a municipal site - regimental rows with pitches separated by high hedges. The hedges provide good shade but are a little claustrophobic for our liking having said that it has a lot of positives for a short stay:

Close to and easily found from the A75

2 good toilet/shower blocks - modern and well maintained

Nice pool with jacuzzi area and children's slides

Snack bar for burgers/ pizzas etc

Helpful reception staff

The site has no dedicated dog walk but a nearby path by a stream provided an adequate walk first thing and longer walks were just a short drive away in lovely countryside featuring extinct volcanoes. We did not have time to visit any local attractions ( Vulcania, Puy De Dome, Clermont Ferrand ) so must revisit the area but will probably stay in a different campsite if we are there for longer.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vixens 10 reviews from this member

Used this site as a one night stop over on the way down to south France. Mixed toilet block with the toilet paper outside the cubicle so remember to grab some on the way in. Toilets all clean and showers hot and powerful. Site clean and tidy pool was a great plus after the children had been in the car for 6 hours no shorts allowed as in most France sites. Arrived at 4pm and soon after all overnight hardstanding full. Man at reception spoke excellent english but also helped me along with my dreadful French. Not a cheap site but very easy to find just off the motorway. A bakery van calls at the site in the morning great for in car food for the last leg of the journey. We definitely would use again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsHPresents 3 reviews from this member

Visited this campsite over the French bank holidays. Was fairly busy despite being at the beginning of the season.

We did not have an electric hookup and were sited right opposite the toilet block - which isn't as bad as it sounds! The toilet block was discreetly camouflaged and set far enough back from the main thoroughfare to not be an issue.

The pitch was very spacious, and we comfortable held our 4 man family tent (Vango Albany 400).

As it was the beginning of the season, only the unisex facilities were open. Facilities were clean and well appointed, however, none of the toilets were stocked with toilet paper. Please note, this is not due to an absence on the owners part, they just simply don't have the toilet roll holders in the cubicles. So don't forget your own!

There were also a couple of washing machines and a tumble dryer for use.

In addition, there were a few sinks for laundry use, and for washing up.

We didn't get to use the swimming pool as although it was briefly open during our 3 night stay, the owner was completing some repair work. It did look very clean and compact.

The local village was very pretty and if a Vide Grenier is on during your stay, it is well worth a visit just to have a look.

The reason for the lower Customer Service rating was due to the attitude of the owner when I reported an incident in the unisex bathrooms. Although the matter was resolved, the initial response was less than satisfactory, given the high standard of the campsite and the pitch fees.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glmuse 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for a couple of days on our way south. Agree with people about the high hedges, it did seem to make the pitch claustrophobic, but other than that it's a lovely site. The sanitary facility was the best we have ever seen on a European site, spotlessly clean toilets and showers, with plenty of washing up/laundry sinks together with washer and drier. Our pitch was very near the swimming pool, and we loved the hustle and bustle of the youngsters enjoying themselves. As a couple we have stayed on 'adults only' sites, and we know which we prefer! The town close to the campsite doesn't have much to occupy you, but Le Puy De Dome was brilliant. We walked to the summit, the view was well worth it, with hang gliders taking off below you, and a view of the surrounding volcanoes and Mont Blanc 100s of miles in the distance, perfectly visible. Clermont Ferrand with its cathedral built from volcanic rock was well worth a visit. We found the site value for money, but we got it at ACSI rates - 16 euros per night. A really lovely area which we would love to explore further on another occasion.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emollie 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night stop over from Calais to the South of France. The site is about 450m from Calais. It is located very close to the motorway.

Facilities are good, swimming pool (small speedo trunks needed), very clean toilets and showers, looked like they have been recently updated.

Pitch was adequate with high hedges that cut out some sun, this was good as it was about 34 deg.

Wardens very helpful and spoke good English. Security good with a barrier at the entrance. The site had a restaurant with take away food, very useful for just a stop over.

Pitch was a bit expensive - caravan, 2 adults, 2 kids with elec. About 50 euro.

You will need a continental converter on your power lead.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3758 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019