Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping La Chaumiere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Buysscheure > Camping La Chaumiere Reviews

Camping La Chaumiere
529 Langhemast
Buysscheure
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
59285
Tel: 0033 328 430357
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 29
Open: April To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jemcollie 14 reviews from this member

This is still a lovely site. We have used it for 14 years now. Not only is it convenient for the ferry or Eurotunnel (less than an hour away) it is a quiet haven. All pitches are hardstanding with electric, water, waste water, litter bin and most are very private enclosed with a hedge. Dogs are made very welcome here and Guy (the current owner) will arrange vet visits for you. There are some lovely offroad walks around and the marsh area of Clairmarais is a short cycle or drive away. The facilities are adequate and there is a bar and seating area where you can get free wifi.

There are currently play areas with boules and crazy golf. The site will be in new ownership next year. The new owner is keen to develop the site. It's worth keeping an eye on the website.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

We have been using this site for many years, usually as a first and last stop because it is only about 30 minutes drive from both Calais and Dunkirk. We recommend it both as a stopover and for a more protracted stay. Here's how to find the site. Head for Lederzeele, when you get there turn East at the crossroads by the garage. After a mile or so turn right (the turn is just before the road goes under a bridge), another kilometer or so and you are in Buysscheure keep straight on until you pass the church (on your left) turn left immediately after the church then turn right, continue on until you reach a 'T' junction, turn left and the site (on your left) is just a few hundred metres more - there are signs from the village. The roads in the area are generally quiet. The only narrow road is the lane from the church to the campsite but it isn't difficult really. The facilities at the site are fine. The winning feature of this site is the bar where campers congregate in the evenings and swap stories and information. The food is great (it's all cooked by Bernadette) but is not always on offer depending on the time of year. Bernadette used to work (maybe still does) at a vetinary surgery in nearby St Omer so can be a great help for those trsvelling with dogs. Both Bernadette and her husband Guy speak excellent English. Prices are very reasonable, 23 euros on 18th August, including electric. We recommend this site and will certainly be using it again the next time we are in France.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alpinesprite 1 review from this member

We found the site in the end. As Bernadete says if you can find it you deserve to stay. We were on a motorcycle with the rain on our tail. Gee showed us to our pitch on his lawn mower. Its lovely with power points and clean bins for every pitch. The showers were hot and cleaned daily. The rain kept coming and we were stuck for three days. The food was lovely (HAVE THE PORK). I sat and peeled plumbs with thier charming daughter and was given a free beer for my efforts. We had to do a clothes wash as the rain kept coming and couldn't get it dry. Bernadette dried it for us in here own dryer. Gee has built his dream you can share it. Just find it they are truly lovely people. James and Carol now home and dry. Xxxx

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ezeedozit 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site near St Omer en route to Calais (45 minutes away). As some of the local lanes to it are small, caravan owners may wish to navigate there by a map and taking the larger roads to approach the village of Buysscheure from the north off the D26. We had a thoroughly relaxing evening their before our return home. Good size pitches, plenty of shade. Good wifi in the friendly bar/restaurant. No road noise just the occasional train in the distance.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feezee 6 reviews from this member

We arrived at around 6 ish on a Friday night planning on using it as a stopover to return on the ferry. It is a little 'out of the way' but we like that type of site.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and Guy showed us our pitch.

Access to pitches is a challenge but not impossible. The pitches are shaded with part gravel, part grass for caravans.

The site itself is not far from a small village but you really need a car or bikes if you want to get around or get to the shops/ visit the area.

There is a small pool, a boules area, an archery range (doesn't look like it has been used for a while), a crazy golf, a small playground and a few table games in a communal bar area. These are all traditional ball games. There are no slot machines or anything like that. The bar area also does meals - delicious and cooked by the owner's wife. My 7 year old boy loved it. This is not an all singing and dancing 'chain' type site.

Lots of locals come to eat at the restaurant at the weekends. Always a good sign of quality.

This site has a family feel to it and is 'rustic'. It is quite small and this adds to the family feel. When I commented about the great games for the kids in the restaurant area, the owner said he put them there deliberately so that kids can have fun during the meal instead of listening to boring adult conversation.

The owners are real characters, interested in their clients and like to chat when they have time. Guy is clearly is proud of his campsite and likes to keep it looking nice. Contrary to other reviewers' experience we found him and his wife decent, charming, interesting folk. We followed rules that seemed standard and didn't have any problems.

Our car broke down as we arrived and they bent over backwards to help us. Guy took me to the bank to get some Euros as we had run out, and they followed our breakdown story with genuine interest.

What also make this campsite special was that the bar/restaurant area was somewhere other campers congregated. We met some really genuine, nice people who clearly return regularly because of the atmosphere and because of the owners. Next time we come to France we will definitely consider stopping off again here.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nelson8217 3 reviews from this member

We had pre-booked 2 units at this site to break our journey from France back to the UK. We arrived late afternoon and followed another motorhome into the site. Guy (pronounced Gee) lifted the barrier and let the motorhome in then dropped it again as if we were going to drive straight in!

We went into the bar/reception area followed by two big black unkempt dogs and had to complete very detailed booking in forms, even though we were only staying for 2 nights. By mistake, we had over paid by 2 nights but he would only give us a credit note for the over payment. He then led up to our pitches and sorted us out which was ok.

Looking round the site it was badly planned and very over grown but, to be fair, as we left a start had been made to cut the trees back. The shower and toilet block needed a facelift as did the bar area.

We went down to the bar to arrange an early departure, (not allowed to take our dog in but his and other dogs were allowed to come in) and like other people, told we had to re-site in the car park overnight to avoid disturbing the other guests (I would think perhaps 4 other vans)w hich with a big motorhome and a 7m caravan and car was a squeeze.

We left at 7am and so far as I am concerned, never to return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jax9041 7 reviews from this member

We were recommended this site by a fellow camper when looking for somewhere to stop for one night on the way back to Calais.

We were really pleased with the site, it is very pretty and well cared for.

The owners, Guy and Bernadette are great fun and as previously stated, Bernadette will happily book an appointment with the vet for the tape worm treatment prior to returning to the UK.

We had a lovely meal in the site restaurant which was cooked by Bernadette.

We will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: MrsGal 1 review from this member

When we had a caravan 5 years ago we used this site going south and back and have loved it and the owners ever since. We haven't had a van for a few years but they now offer gites on a bed and breakfast basis and this is what we did. Bernadette and Guy are just wonderful. The owner cooks on a weekend and the bar area takes on a real warm atmosphere with everyone coming together including the locals. The site has a pool and small crazy golf course. It's a very laid back site and a very friendly mix of people. Very handy for exploring the area, dunkerque, Calais, cassel etc. A lot of people with caravans and motorhomes were doing long stays this year but for us it's perfect to start and end our holidays. Also Bernadette books our dog into the vets. The owner had been extremely poorly last year but pleased to report he's on the mend and the site is back to normal

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lightshipman 6 reviews from this member

We had heard of this site by word of mouth over the years on our visits to France. This year because we used the Dover Calais route we decided to stay here on our return. The co-owner used to be a receptionist in the vets, she booked our appointment to do the pet passport stuff for our two dogs.

Unfortunatly the co-owner had been very ill in the summer and was back on site but according to regulars this had slowed him down somewhat.

They have lovely dogs which pay you a visit every day if you show them some affection.

This is a clean well kept site, some Brit regulars were helping her out as the owner was not fully recovered. It really was a muck in and help situation and we wish him a speedy recovery. We did not get to try her cooking as she only cooks on a Saturday at the end of the season and we left to travel to Calais that day.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joe1 3 reviews from this member

This is a well kept, relaxing site, with excellent large pitches in a lovely interesting area. We really like the informal bar/restaurant. The toilets and showers are good but there are not really enough for high season.

On a previous visit we found Guy and Bernadette very approachable and friendly.

Unfortunately Guy was ill during this visit (we wish him well)the people helping out were extremely helpful and friendly. In response to earlier comments about him being 'a stickler for the rules' I think this is a good thing as the sites location could result in constant arrivals and departures.

We had one incident of a very noisy extended family late at night but I think this was very unusual and if they had stayed more than the one night I am sure the owners would have sorted this out.

We would recommend using this site for a short break or a few days at the beginning or end of a holiday further south.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Buysscheure      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder