Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping L Escale

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Hauts de France > Wacquinghen > Camping L Escale > Reviews

Camping L Escale
15 Route Nationale
Wacquinghen
Hauts de France   (Browse area)
62250
Tel: 0033 03 21 32 00 69
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 48
Open: 01/04/2024 to 18/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Himwotdus 26 reviews from this member

 We reviewed this site in May 2022 and our latest visit in late May '24 shows that it is still a great site.

Friendly welcome, nice flat large pitches and a reasonably priced bar / restaurant.

Will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Himwotdus 26 reviews from this member

 Nice warm welcome to a well manicured site. Small touring caravan area which is flat and the pitches are of a generous size.

The site is mainly for statics however the site layout is such that you would not feel overwhelmed by them.

The on site bar/ restaurant has a small menu which is reasonably priced and the staff are friendly.

Would recommend this site as a stopover. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaqugra 37 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have used this site in 3 years as an overnight stop before catching the ferry home. The area used for overnighters at the front of the site has now been landscaped with more defined pitches. The showers are now free so no longer require tokens and are kept clean. There is a pleasant bar / bistro on site which also sells fresh bread in the mornings. We had a walk around the village but there isn't anything else in the immediate area. Pleasant enough site for a short stay and serves its purpose for a stopover before travelling into France or returning home. We will use this site again as it is only a 15-20 minute drive to Calais and is not a great detour off route. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 17 reviews from this member

 This site is new to the ACSI book this year so we decided to try it instead of going to Pommiers de trios Pays at Liques. Reception was closed when we arrived and did not open until the evening so pitches in the site would not have been available had we not found a worker who opened the barrier and showed us to a pitch near the main block.

The site of 10 acres is full of residential mobile homes and there are only a few spaces for touring caravans. Overnighters are put next to the main road and only a few yards from the motorway - it was very noisy! I didn't expect shower tokens and although I had long enough to shower the lights went off before I had finished. For fishermen the lake was very nice but too small for a good walk for the dog. Although surrounded by fields there was no access for dog walking.

There was no bread in the morning as all the tourist facilities had closed on site by late September

I would only recommend this site as an emergency stop - go to Liques or Andres they are much better 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony_brown 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely, sunny week at Camping L'Escale and would recommend it to caravaners and tenters alike. It is located just of the A16 20 mins away from Calais. Reception is housed in a new whitewashed log cabin (not the one you can see on google-earth !) with the owners living in a beautiful house accessible from the site. The on-site brasserie and bar also boasts a small take away (limited opening hours) where staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The site offers a stop-over grassed area at the front adjacent to the modern toilet block, 2/3 x grassed open(ish) camping areas separated by lovely shrubs with electric and water (where we stayed) plus many grassed and private pitches.

In summary; positive points:

* immaculately clean site

* mature and well thought out landscaping

* quiet site (see negative points for exception)

* can book on line (but can't choose pitch)

* friendly owners who speak English very well

* free tennis and free fishing lake (trout ?)

* mini golf (small fee)

* very clean toilet/shower blocks (font and rear of site)

* Loads of pot washing/clothes hand washing sinks

* small washing machine cabin (rear of site)

* 3 x playgrounds with equipment

* sports field (football and 2 x open air table tennis tables)

* bar, brasserie and takeaway

* small games room with indoor table tennis

* summer - organised activities (aerobics/dancing/'themed parties')

* secure coded barrier - in and out

* lake secured behind electric coded gates - child safety

Negative points:

* noise from resident's children who congregated on the playground (behind our tent !)every night until midnight/half twelve - we were not happycampers

* rear toilet lights were triggered by sensors which didn't work every night so we were using the facilities in the dark for 50% of the week

* take-away operates limited hours - forgiveable as the chap running it was wonderful

* reception has a small shop selling essentials but had limited stock/lines

* owners gave us 17 free tokens for showers (four people staying a week) but we run out quickly and had to buy more

* EHU - Electric connections offer various options for European campers (UK friendly, reverse L&N and various plugs (IP44 and French standard plugs)) - but are not marked and took a while to suss/test for safety

* no toilet rolls in rear toilet block ! (but were present in front stop-over block)

* games room was left in a state al week - my wife wanted to clean it up !. Quad bike left in room for three days (not safe)

Nearby attractions:

* Wimeraux - beautiful seaside resort/beaches - 10 mins drive

* Boulogne - Nausicaa/shopping etc - 20 mins

* Cite-Europ (20 mins away)

* Paris/Disneyland Paris - 2. 5 hours away

* Cote d'Opale shopping centre - 10 mins away

* Le Touquet - Aqua-lud - 30 mins away (via toll road)Great beaches

* Hardelot - 15 mins away - great beaches

Would we visit the site again ?

* absolutely yes but not on the camping area adjacent to the playground - it did sadly spoil our holiday and we had cheek given to us when we politely pointed out it was late and we had children

* not for a week as with a 9 year old and 16 year old we found it difficult to keep them adequately entertained

A hidden gem and definitely worth considering. Tarrifs were reasonable and the service was excellent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilmiss 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed overnight here after the eurotunnel, quick and very easy to find, well signposted.

Not a lot here really, I wouldn't use it as a holiday site but as an overnight stop it was fine.

The downside for us was having paid for our pitch, finding we had to pay extra for showers and the office was shut so no token=no shower.

If you book this site thinking you'll arrive after 5, have a shower, bed down, get started afresh in the morning then forget the shower! It wont happen :(

All things considered it was ok but sorry, for 30 euros for an overnight stop and no extras at all I do expect a shower thrown in! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bazwilson 3 reviews from this member

 Used this site as an overnight stop. They speak good english and were very helpful. The grass pitches were flat and well maintained, the toilets spotless. The restraunt was only open at weekends so we were unable yo use but looked good. The site has a lot of static caravans but the touring area is seperate. Recomended
 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping L Escale child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping L Escale?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping L Escale dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wacquinghen      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Hauts de France

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement