Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Huttopia La Plage Blanche

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Franche Comte > Ounans > Camping Huttopia La Plage Blanche Reviews

Camping Huttopia La Plage Blanche
3, Rue De La Plage
Ounans
Franche Comte   (Browse area)
39380
Tel: +33 03 84 37 69 63
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 220
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Retroplehcar 3 reviews from this member

A very attractive site next to the river. We had a river side spot as requested which was very spacious and flat. Good shade under the trees which was great when the weather was hot.

We chose this site as the site details said there was fly fishing from the site. This was a little misleading, as even though you can fish from the site there is very little point due to the lack of trout in this river. There is fly fishing in the area a short walk or drive away, but don't stay at this site expecting good fly fishing from your tent! We also chose this site because of the facilities the site offered for our children. They are both keen swimmers and were looking forward to using the pool daily. Unfortunately this was almost impossible to the to the low temperature of the water. My 3 year old went into instant shivers and blue lips within minutes, so we rarely used it. The spa was also a pull, but again the water was hardly very warm, the sauna rarely on or hot enoough and jets on pool not strong enough to swim against.

The bar area was attractive and menu in the restaurant fine. We had pizza one night and was very reasonably priced and tasty. Unfortunately, all of the games for the kids in this area were either damaged or not working, much to the disappointment of my son who wanted a little 'Daddy time' The pin ball machine did not work properly, the pool table had a ball missing, and when this was mentioned to the owners, they said it had been missing for ages. This we felt was completely unacceptable. The cue's did not have a tip and balls were very damaged.

We stayed near to the older toilet and shower block, toilets were smelly and not very clean. We did say so to reception and some attempt was made to clean them again, but not much of a change. Cleaning took place late in the morning so regularly there was not enough toilet paper before 8 am and had to take our own. The showers were very good though with plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure, also free of charge.

The children's play area close to our tent was not great with a broken toy house and very little else except 2 small bouncy things, the play areas around the site were better, but would not have taken much for a bit on upgrade by the owners.

Val nature adventure centre next door was excellent offering canoeing, high rope climbing, cycle hire etc, they have a web site. They were very helpful and offered excellent facilities and activities. My son did the climbing, my husband the canoeing and friends used the cycle hire. All good. The centre also had a great bar serving Comte burgers which were excellent.

This site is fine for a short stop and you don't wish to use the facilities such as the pool. With a bit of care and a very small investment this site could be great. Unfortunately, for us, a bit of a disappointment.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyns 25 reviews from this member

Our stay was blighted somewhat by awful weather, but that aside we liked the site. The river side pitches are great with some allowing access to the water. I would recommend you bring a dinghy or inflatable of some kind as the river is great fun when the water levels are safe. Pitch size was not particularly generous and our Montanna 6 didn't leave much space and we parked the car behind the tent.

Toilets and showers were kept reasonably clean with staff attending to these at peak times. They are not gender specific and most don't have toilet seats, but paper was provided although there is no soap at the hand wash sinks.

Dish washing areas are available although hot water runs low at peak times.

Staff were all friendly and welcoming, speaking English very well. The kids activities were good and explained in English when required. Activities such as craft sessions, football, volley ball, basket ball, pool, discos, etc were run throughout the week. The staff are also very knowledgeable about the local area and worth talking to for ideas, particularly routes for driving through the area.

Restaurant meals were reasonable, although the service was awful, with all 3 of our meals served at different times and a long wait for drinks, which appeared to be the norm.

There are a few essentials available in the site shop with slightly more available at the village shop and a supermarket about 15 mins away by car.

Fishing in the river is a dead loss, but there are some good fish in the lake if you are patient. Meat or boilies appeared to the the most successful bait and fishing is free.

As with much of France, places to visit are often quite a trip, but I would recommend Dole, the Henderson water falls, canoeing the river, Arbois and parts of Switzerland are within and hour and a half drive.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Europa390 12 reviews from this member

Quite a difficult review to write because although the site is generally good and many no doubt enjoy it, there were certain things we didnít like ourselves and would not wish to return.

The site was easy to find with good access, although after a six hour journey we would have preferred not -to have had to wait half an hour to check in, in 28 degree heat. The office is closed from noon until 5pm, with a mobile phone number to call.

We were led to our pitch which was on the river bank and the site seemed pleasant with mature trees and some big pitches. Electricity supply was 10 amps. The facilities were good, plenty of hot water, modern showers, washing cubicles and loos. No seats, but paper was provided and everywhere was clean and well maintained. The loo emptying point was conveniently located and wooden sheds dotted the site for the disposal of rubbish and recycling.

The bar and restaurant seemed attractive enough and service was adequate. The terrace area was pleasant but on the one night we dined there, the quality of the food was a bit mixed. My partner had some good trout but my faux filet and potato gratin were badly over-cooked and were mostly inedible.

I donít wish to be unfair, but the reason we were unhappy with our stay of four nights was as follows. As retired adults we tour in term time (mid-June) when sites are often quite empty and quiet. This often means we have a wide choice of pitch and so can usually find one with no-one next to us, particularly during the week, which preserves our privacy and our peace and quiet. We avoid peak periods because sites are usually crowded. If there is someone next to us, then provided there is a good boundary hedge and pitches are fairly wide there is no problem.

On this site although it wasnít busy at all, many units seemed to be crowded all together along the river bank while most of the rest of the site was unoccupied. We were offered a choice of three pitches but all were on the (crowded) river bank and having never been here before we did not feel confident in asking to choose a pitch elsewhere.

As a result, with no boundary hedges on our pitch at all, a fairly narrow pitch, and units either side of us being very close-by, (about 1. 50 metres on one side), we felt as though it was crowded peak season. Our neighbours were pleasant enough, but the incessant tobacco smoke wafting in, their wandering dogs and their noisy TV rather spoilt our stay.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thecolliss 1 review from this member

We really enjoyed a our stay at La Plage Blanche. Lovely flat pitches right next to the river or overlooking rolling fields. Restaurant is excellent with friendly staff and good food. Good, clean toilets and showers and plenty of them! Nice looking outdoor swimming pool (didn't use) or indoor pool with sauna (did use). Claire, the British owner and Alban her French partner are extremely helpful, offering advice, maps and information on places to visit and restaurants to try. We loved it there and would recommend a visit to Arbois, home to Louis Pasteur, and a meal at Le Pontarlier, Port-Lesney, home of Raymond Blanc.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennyw09 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a marathon 5 week trip to Italy. Stayed at this site for 3 nights on the way back. We have a large 8 person tent but the pitches were more than adequate. I can only echo what others have said. We really enjoyed our stay here.

The highlight for my teenage girls was the river which felt safe on this occasion. They spent hours in it. If we had been there longer we may have got around to renting canoes from the outdoor activity place next door.

Because we had been travelling for a while we didn't explore the region so I cant comment although my sense is that there's not a mega amount to do in the surrounding area.

I don't think I would spend my whole holiday here but would definitely return-I also thought it was reasonably good value for money. I have paid a lot more on other sites offering similar facilities.

We had intended to spend a day driving North and an overnight before our early morning tunnel crossing but couldn't face another pitch and repack of the car so I asked if we could leave late ie 9pm and I offered to pay for an extra night. This was no problem and I wasn't charged. I did the tunnel in about 7 hours from the site and felt perfectly safe doing the through the night drive (party of 5 females)

One more thing-if you're approaching this site from Switzerland-check the route on the sat nav! Ours brought us through what seemed like every possible back road and there was a lovely burning smell from the clutch!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bryn hafod 13 reviews from this member

An excellent site offering large pitches by the river or away from the river with views of the surrounding countryside. Good swimming pool plus a small indoor one too!

Claire, owner is British and was very helpful. Bread croissants available on site.

Wonderful fromagerie in the village for local cheeses, Comte, Morbier and Tomme at half the price of the supermarkets.

Intended to stay one overnight stop but ended up staying 5. I think that speaks for itself!

Highly recommended.

Acsi site @ 14 euro.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeauFrance 5 reviews from this member

This is quite a large site set in beautiful surroundings. Set right beside a large river, for us, this site offered tranquillity as at night all we heard was the river - there was no road noise at all being well away from any main roads.

Facilities are good, toilets and showers clean and a good restaurant on site.

We have a large tent (4. 75m x 7. 25m) but the riverside pitch accommodated us perfectly well. There are actually some much larger non-riverside pitches if you need them.

Admittedly our stay was only a short one as we were committed to journey further to the Alps but we would definitely recommend this site for long stays.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J Glover 8 reviews from this member

We camped here for 2 nights while touring in the summer. This site is very popular with people heading south. We just turned up and there was no need to book. The welcome was excellent, by friendly, helpful staff, speaking fluent English. The toilet and washing facilities are good. It is quite a large site with lots to do and the river is of course a huge bonus, with easy access and as it is quite shallow so great fun. The river was full and fast flowing when we were there, so potentially dangerous for young children.

The pitches are large and well drained. We camped right next to the river which was beautiful, but the mozzi bites lasted weeks! It might be worth considering your pitch really carefully if you attract the flying menaces like me!

The camp restaurant and bar was friendly and well run.

We made a day trip to Switzerland from here. It was an easy drive to Neuchatel on good roads.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hymerman2 8 reviews from this member

A few extra aspects are;-
Pitches away from the river bank presented no problem with pegging.
The river was flowing very fast, so check very carefully before letting children use it.
The site is used by horse drawn caravans
A 2-3 day stay is sufficient

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnnyhamster 8 reviews from this member

Situated on the banks of the River Loue, it's a fairly linear site with plenty of riverside pitches, although not all of them have direct river access without a scramble. Naturally the further you are from the entrance, the quieter the pitches. Spacious pitches, also a few of those ready pitched tents that look like plastic marquees. The usual riverside gravel abounds, so you'll need sturdy pegs and a hammer.

Toilet blocks were fine, partly heated, some outdoor showers. This isn't a bad site, but it's on the floodplain in a predominantly agricultural area and it's a fair drive to any places of interest.

There's no shop, although you can get milk and ice blocks behind the bar, and there's a restaurant serving the usual fare, plus occasional live music. Ounans is a two minute drive away and has a seasonal pizzeria and a small shop with attached 'rustic' bar run by a couple of old ladies. The shop sells a range of bread, croissants, basic provisions and withered vegetables.

The bar only appeared to open for the benefit a local farmer with the worlds dustiest car. For a supermarket it's an extra five miles to Mont sous Vaudrey where you can also get petrol. For more services, you'll need to head for the town of Dole.

Swimmimg pool is basic with no slides, the river is clean and shallow with a fairly fast current, swimmable and fairly safe for children if you keep an eye on them. There's an adventure 'parcours' next to the site with ariel ropeway across the river.

For restaurants, scenery etc. head towards Arbois and beyond. We arrived at the end of a heatwave, having had a very hot week at Clairvaux les Lacs - unfortunately it became cold and wet for the remaining week.

Usual mixture of French and Dutch campers, not many Brits - the site appears to be used for overnight stops en route to the Med.

Highspot for our family was the network of tiny burrows by the tent from which the heads of tiny voles would regularly pop up!

The Jura is a lovely part of France, but we found Clairvaux made a better base


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ounans      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Franche Comte

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019