Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Des Alouettes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Cognac La Foret > Camping Des Alouettes Reviews

Camping Des Alouettes
1, Les Alouettes
Cognac La Foret
Limousin   (Browse area)
87310
Tel: 0033 555 03 26 93
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 68
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yogden 1 review from this member

We were warmly greeted by the Dutch owners of this site, given a personal tour of the facilities and then left to choose our own pitch. Pitches are enormous, separated by low bushes. The unisex toilet block was modern and immaculate, just need your own loo roll ! There is a small pool, and a bar where books, games, magazines ( mainly Dutch) could be borrowed. Communal meals offered twice weekly. Bread can be ordered daily and is then delivered right to your pitch.

Cognac la Foret is about 1km away, there is a safe cycle/ footpath. The village has a bar, bakers and a small Vival supermarket for essentials. There is also a swimming lake and sports complex that our son enjoyed. Noticed a bus stop in the village but buses not very frequent.

We visited Oradour sur Glane about 10 miles away and with ample free motor home parking.

A relaxed peaceful site with the personal touches from the owners, and very reasonable tariffs. Would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bellowhead 7 reviews from this member

Lovely friendly Dutch owners and an excellent site - though hard to get precisely level, it is on a bit of a slope.

Superb (recent I guess) facilities, nice bar with a selection of quality beer in bottles from local breweries. And some draught.

Two small restaurants doing lunchtime menus around €12. 00 and a boulangerie in the village which is a twenty five minute or so walk. (But if I can do it most people can!) Ask for the route through the forest.

Excellent stopover for Oradour - which is a must visit sort of place.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 24 reviews from this member

An excellent, well maintained and friendly site with large placements. Good surrounds, able to walk/cycle into local village with shops and cafés and very near Limoges and Oradour sur Glanne. Owners offer a communal meal twice a week which was lovely and morning bread orders are delivered to your door. Good sanitary block but beware, as no toilet paper supplied. Would definitely recommend this site. Good value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cmarkod 1 review from this member

An excellent site for families. The site is owned and run by a Dutch couple and the majority of holiday makers are Dutch with a handful of Brits and French/Belgians. Pitches are very large. Our pitch was around 15mx10m with loads of space for out large tent, trailer, car and tables/chairs. The toilet/shower block is new and very well designed with an unending supply of hot water. The pool is a great addition and there is a great open play area for kids as well as a trampoline near the reception area. A welcome addition was the small shop on site where coffee/beer and snacks could be purchased. On a couple of nights a week, there is hot food on site with a three course meal one evening and rotisserie chicken on another. Visiting market vans offering local produce too. Fresh bread delivered to your door if ordered the previous evening. All in all a great site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Frostyfrog 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site, spotless, very modern, unisex sanitation facilities, with spacious shower cubicles having individual raclettes. Very peaceful and pretty surroundings, exemplified by a rabbit running across the pitch during an evening meal. We chose this site for an overnight stay and stayed 4 nights! Small pool which I would really describe as a leisure pool as opposed to a swimming pool. Very welcoming owners give guests a personal tour of the site. Wifi is reasonably priced at 1€ for password plus 1€ per day, one device at a time but interchangeable. Huge pitches with a good choice of sun and shade and individual water supply. 15 min walk into the village where you can get the bus into Limoges, limited timetable only 4€ return as it is subsidised by the local council, an interesting journey through villages, and the best stop for the Tourist Info in Limoges is Place Jourdain. For the return be aware that, although the stop is opposite the arrival stop, line 70 is not marked on the stop, however the bus driver told us exactly which stop to wait at for our return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two Terriers 20 reviews from this member

Lovely site in beautiful area of France.

Very spacious pitch which we could choose ourselves although they weren't busy.

Super welcome by staff who showed us all around the site before we said we definitely wanted to stay.

Fantastic new facilities block.

Can't comment on other features as we were only staying overnight en route to the Dordogne but wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claire N 13 reviews from this member

We chose to stay at this campsite as we wanted to visit the Martyr's Village at Oradour-sur-Glane, which is about 20 minutes away. This is a lovely rural site next to woodland, and proved to be an ideal choice. The owner told me that they have re-designed the site to make the pitches bigger. And they are now huge! There is a brand new toilet and shower block with some of the best and hottest showers we came across in 3 weeks in France. Would definitely recommend - were disappointed not to be there on Monday or Friday evening when you can book a meal in the small restaurant/bar.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mags S 4 reviews from this member

A site very much in the French style, although it has very friendly Dutch owners. There is a new toilet block being built which will be a great step forward. Although having said that the current toilet block is very clean (but very tatty) indeed.

The pitches are huge, but many are sloping which can make positioning a large outfit a little difficult.

Very nice people here, who can speak English very well indeed and try to please. Very good.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

We visited this site in May for the first time. We received a very warm welcome from the two Dutch owners. We were shown around the site and all the facilities, and we shown our pitch, before driving in. The facilities were fine, but while we were there a new shower/toilet block was being built. The pitches were extremely generous. The one we were on was on a slope, but nothing the levelers couldn't deal with. The weather wasn't very warm but on the two sunny days the owner opened the pool and came around to tell us all. Twice a week the owners put on a three course meal for the campers. This was a brilliant evening, with great food. It is essential to book early for this popular event. The site is close to Limoges, which is well worth a visit, with St Junien even closer offering all the big supermarkets.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mamajeannie 16 reviews from this member

We stayed here 3 nights on our way south primarily to visit Oradour sur Glane. The site seems to be in two parts; one more mature with shade and the other really just a field with very large pitches and no shade. Bushes have been planted but will take some time to establish. As mentioned in other reviews the toilet block is very basic as are the washing up facilities.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, it was lovely to have bread delivered to our pitch in the morning. The wifi signal did not work on our pitch so we had to use our laptop at the bar. We didn't explore the area but the swimming lake looked clean with a nice beach, the bar in the village was very friendly as was the garage (chap mended our car straight away and charged 10 euros).

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Cognac La Foret      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Limousin

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotland’s newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2065 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019