Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Boucanet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Le Grau Du Roi > Camping La Boucanet Reviews

Camping La Boucanet
Route De Carnon
Le Grau Du Roi
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
30240
Tel: 00 334 66 51 41 48
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 458
Open: 01/04/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 8 Reviews
                6/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angie68 17 reviews from this member

 Returning visit to Boucanet after we first tried in August of 2008. This time we pre booked a beach pitch which we were able to get parked on OK (half on the road obviously) easily.

The location was every bit as lovely as remembered with the beach never crowded and the sea just as warm. We had amazing weather, 10 days of brilliant sunshine and temps between 25-30 (no complaints there).

Some negatives now though, the showers were cold (not occasionally, every time), they started off luke warm for amount 2 mins (quite refreshing at first) but then just turned cold. Not great for us ladies who at that point were trying to rinse conditioner out of our hair!

Hubby complained that the sinks were cold too, he cold water shaved for a week which he informs me is not a nice experience.

There is quite a bit of development happening alongside the site at the moment too, a huge crane is in situation with some other major building equipment working away. They were not to noisy but an obvious eye sore. I do think that the whole area will be changing fairly quickly so if you want to see it whilst still unspoilt I'd get going soon.

Going in May was very reasonable we paid 380 euros for 10 nights on a beach front pitch with a motorhome with 2 adults and 1 child. Our friends flew down and hired a static van which cost them abour 575 euros for 8 nights. Pre summer season is def the way to go if budget is important. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BrianBW 11 reviews from this member

 The loose sand on pitches now made parking the Motorhome on the road a must. On the beach side there are new holiday cabins. So with the cars from these cabins moving up and down constantly. The 'sand storm' was continuous. Traffic jams all the time from occupants of these cabins as they did not understand camp site protocols.

The toilets closest to the school end still had a blowing leaks after 3 years. One bowl was still loose on its base after 4 years. The toilet block, close to school, was closed end of Aug / Sept, even though the place was full. It is now off the Camping Cheque list!  


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Farley581 1 review from this member

 First time to this site after a friend recommended.

Must say we had a lovely time. We had a large pitch but stipulated that we would like this on booking form.

Site is made up of mostly French people who were always polite enjoyed themselves and went quite after midnight, was like someone switched a switch.

Our friends had a beach pitch which was excellnet but on small side for their Caravan, they had to park in road.

Toilets were OK, have been to better, mostly Stand up ones. Look for the disabled one!

Beach was perfect always clean.

Nice helpful beach lady who was selling ice creams and also pedlow hire etc.

Entertainment in the evening was mostly very good.

Towns nearby for easy exploration read the previous reviews for them.

Shop & take away Ok typical camp site prices.

Restaurant never tried so cannot comment.

Site is very popular nealy always full even last week of August. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mattsurf 2 reviews from this member

 Fine campsite, nice sea and beach, excellent for kids, shame about the staff and toilets, not as picturesque as other parts of the Med

The site is excellently positioned for family holidays, with direct access to a wonderful beach, nice pools and water slides, good children’s playground with free bouncy castles (one for younger kids, another for older kids). There is also a kids club, but we didn’t use it.

This is a relatively small site, used mainly by French campers, although there are a number of German and Dutch families on the site as well. At the time we were there, there were only a small number of Brits. No pets are allowed on site which in my view is a real advantage. I wish that all campers were as nice as the ones we met here, even the teenagers and groups of young adults were all really well behaved, and rarely created any noise at night - I think that the site has a strict no noise policy after 11pm

In the evening there is a disco twice per week, luckily this only ran until the end of August, so we only had to suffer once! It is Awful, the music went on till nearly 1am, as our pitch 243 was on the beach, directly infront of the bar, we got very little sleep. They also had a mini disco (9:30 to 10, which was a bit late, but the kids enjoyed it) and cinema night, watching Asterix in French was great

I was surprised how run down the local area is, this is certainly not the glitzy South of France, it was not a problem for us, however, don’t expect the glamour of Nice or St Tropez. Next door to the site there is an educational facility and a residential holiday camp for kids, however, there also appear to be many abandoned buildings which was a bit of a surprise – I suspect that there is a bit of a story here

The beach itself has fine white sand, which is cleaned daily. In the middle of the day the sand gets really hot – too hot to walk on, however, nearer the sea, this is not a problem. The sea is really shallow, less than 30cm deep for 50m and no more than 1m deep for at least 100m. There is no public access to the beach near to the campsite, so it was very un-crowded. When we arrived the sea was really cold (no more than the UK coast), this was a result of the Mistral wind blowing the previous week, which really cools the sea down, however, by the second week the sea was back up to temperature.

I would recommend getting a beach side pitch, these are all a reasonable size, with direct access to the beach. Between the pitch and the beach, there is a small rock wall which is no problem to step over, and nice to sit on in the evenings. We pitched our Trailer tent facing the sea, which added to our privacy. Most of the pitches have a hedge on either side, however, some of the non beach pitches are very small and randomly shaped. The beach side pitches are very sandy, this can lead to problems putting you caravan onto the site, however, the campsite does offer a service for 4 euro to use their 4x4 to tow your caravan onto the pitch. With the Trailer Tent we got our neighbors to lend a shoulder to push the trailer into position. Be warned, everything will get really sandy and dusty – I will be spending next weekend cleaning everything up (weather permitting of course)

If you do get a beach side pitch, be sure to have good pegs suitable for sand (I had 30cm hard standing pegs which were OK) – You have little protection from storms, we had over 60mph of wind in a violent storm – tent was OK, Gazebo RIP. We noticed that more seasoned campers came prepared to stop water flowing under the awning (eg digging a good trench round the awning, weighting the flaps with bags filled with sand etc), we didn’t and as a result got a wet groundsheet and a puddle in the middle of the awning, luckily nothing got wet

Any windsurfers out there should take their kit, launching from the beach is OK. I left 4 sails rigged on the beach with no problem. In 14 days I had 2 really nice days of windsurfing. There are a few windsurfers there, although Kite surfing is the big thing – there is a windsurf hire shop, but it really isn’t up to much with 20 year old sails and an odd assortment of boards from the past 15 years

On the beach side pitches, most people park on the roads as there is too much sand on the pitches; as a result, the roads are very narrow, this combined with very severe speed ramps mean that cars go really slowly down the roads, as a result, we were happy for our 6 and 9 year olds to cycle freely about the site.

In nearly 30 years of camping (both as child and adult) I have never seen a site with so few insects, there were no sign of ants, mosquitoes, flies or wasps, which is so nice, especially in an area with such a poor reputation for mosquitoes.

There are 2 issues with the site for me, the first is the staff: I do speak fluent French but I found the staff to be generally unfriendly (although never unpleasant). The second which is more of an issue was the state of the toilet blocks – we found the toilets to be poorly maintained, many leaking pipes, broken taps and bulbs not replaced. Most of the toilets were of the French “squat” variety, which is a surprise in this day and age, at times there was a wait for the 3 normal toilets in the block. The toilets are only cleaned twice a day, however, this is little more than a spray down with a hosepipe. Often by the evening, many toilets are without rolls and are clearly dirty – the toilet block at Le Grande Motte end of the site is much better, and in high season apparently they are cleaned better. The showers always had hot water, although the pressure was pretty low and my wife complained about the water as it is difficult to wash shampoo out of her hair. The 2 toilets in the swimming pool were a complete disgrace, always stinking. Once, when I suggested to the member of staff that they should be cleaned, I was told in no uncertain terms that he cleaned them once per day, and it wasn’t his job to clean them more frequently.

There is quite a bit to see in the local area, Nimes is a lovely city, the medieval town of Aiges Mort is worth a trip, you can see Flamingoes and horses in the national park. For those so inclined, there are bull fights in Nimes and Le Grau du Roi, apparently there is a great aquarium in Le Grau du Roi, but we didn’t have a chance to visit. I found the local towns a bit disappointing – Le Grau Du Roi was awful (but has a great fish market), and Grande Motte is little more than a high rise beach resort, this may be a reflection of my own tastes. However, you can cycle to both towns along the excellent cycle paths, so don’t worry about the towns, just enjoy the ride.

This was my first time in the Camargue but I know the areas around Toulon and Hyeres and the Pyrenees very well. The Camargue is not my cup of tea in terms of landscape, it is very flat with lots of lakes, lagoons and swamps, I prefer the mountains and pine forests found further east on the Mediterranean, or the orchards and olive groves found near the Pyrenees

As for shopping, there is a Super you in Le Grau Du Roi and it is on the cycle path, so you don’t even need the car for shopping. The Camp site shop is very expensive and limited, so only used it for bread and milk. 10 miles away there is a huge shopping centre on the outskirts of Montpellier, here you will find just about anything you may require. In Aiges Mort there are other Super Markets and fresh fruit and veg stalls, which sells great quality food at half supermarket prices 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angie68 17 reviews from this member

 Well – what can you say! Location –Location – Location

Not long back from a fab 10 nights at le Boucanet, we will be going again.

Echo all that’s been said really only a few bits to add – The Good, The Bad and the Ugly!

Good

• Amazing location, clean beach, warm shallow sea

• Lovely pools, busy but never over crowded

• La Grau du Roi and La Grande Motte – easy 5-10 min cycle rides

• Plenty of loo/shower blocks

• Very French only a splattering of Brits and other Europeans

• Great value

Bad

• Loo blocks were suffering the toll of a packed site, often pretty dirty really

• Predominantly stand up toilets – enough said!

• Pick your pitch, ours was tiny (but adequate have to add)

Ugly

• Most miserable bar/restaurant staff on the planet – actually so bad that we decided to avoid eating in the restaurant (took our money into town instead where the reception was much warmer)

Can highly recommend a restaurant called La Jamaique at La Grande Motte – had a beautiful lunch of brandy flambé Camembert with sliced potatoes and salad. La Grande Motte was a lovely newly built resort, modern clean and vibrant while La Grau du Roi had a quaint, old seaside feel – both well worth visiting.

Sunsets have to be seen to be believed, we took to kite flying at dusk on the beach.

Can’t really say much more except if you have not been you should :-) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anthony5351 3 reviews from this member

 Le boucanet is a lovely beach side campsite with all the facilities you could want from a campsite. We stayed here for 10 nights and had a great time.

PITCHES- They do all vary in size but the beach side pitches are very generous. Of course as mentioned they are also very sandy so pitch wisely.

WASH BLOCKS- good showers, toilets and sinks for dish washing as well as clothes washing. The blocks were always very clean.

POOL - The pool here is fantastic really. It is a great size and although the sun loungers are always full, the pool itself never seems too busy. The kids love the slides and the only draw back I would say is there is no shallow end as such, so the children cant stand at all (not great when you have a 5 year old who insists he can swim but then suddenly grabs you round the neck because he cant touch the bottom!) Would also remind everyone this site has the speedo only rule at the pool that they strictly enforce (no baggy shorts).

SURROUNDINGS- le grand motte and le grau du roi are the two neighbouring places to visit.They have a nice little buzz about them and have plenty of restaurants and shops.

- there is le boucanet lake that you can walk or cycle to. There is walking and cycling routes all the way around it, as well as fishing and water sports opportunities on the lake.

There is a restaurant, bar, shop, park and tennis courts along this route.

SHOP- the on site shop is good but expensive, compared to the local supermarket. I would suggest heading to le grau du roi to the super you supermarket. If you have children and are going in the hot hot season I would also suggest taking twice as much squash as you plan. We took 2 bottles thinking it would be ample, but not the case!

RESTAURANT AND BAR - The on site restaurant served nice food and the bar was an outside based bar.

KIDS CLUB- Our two children were 5 and 7 when we visited here but didn't attend the kids club at all

So cannot really comment on the daytime activities that run. However we did go to the bar in the evening where they did entertainment for the children and we all enjoyed it!

Overall we had a lovely holiday here. The weather in this part of France is wonderful and the beach is superb. There were mosquito's about biting but no more than what you would expect. I for instance didn't get bitten once yet the kids and the oh did have a few. Bon vacance 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Val A 29 reviews from this member

 We were there in May this year. We had a beachside pitch (211) which was quite big enough for us. However, lots of the bigger pitches now have mobile homes on them, especially the ones in the middle of the site alongside the beach. This means that the available pitches are sometimes not really big enough for some caravans, meaning a lot more vehicles have to park on the roads. We thought this year the site appeared quite over-crowded, even in May. We looked at some photographs from the first time we were there, and it looks really different.

I suppose it's typical - in that a lot of sites are replacing pitches with mobiles - but the sad thing is that though there was pressure on the beachside pitches, not one of the mobile homes along the beachfront was occupied when we were there! I suppose they must make up for this with full occupancy during peak season.

We were at the La Grande Motte end of the site, and the washblock there was kept really clean. We had a nice meal in the restaurant, and got some really good bottles of Muscadet from the campsite shop - not too expensive, we thought. We still love the area around, and would go back to the site again - but do wish it was still mostly touring pitches. It's changing into a mobile home park with some touring pitches, rather than the other way around. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Val A 29 reviews from this member

 Le Boucanet is ideally situated, directly on the beach, between Le Grau-du-Roi and La Grande Motte.  There is not a lot of road noise, as it's on a back-road off the main road between the two.  It's open between early May and late September.  It's quite a large site, with 450 pitches, but is broken up well, and doesn't intimidate.  Pitches are generous, and separated by hedges.  Most have electric hook-ups but specify when booking in. Obviously being a beachside site, pitches are sandy - but if you run into difficulties getting on or off there is a tractor unit to help out.    There are some pitches directly on the beach, for which a small supplement is paid.  There is some shade from the mulberry trees around the site, which are pruned early in the season.
 
There are several sanitary blocks, all very colourful, so you're never too far from one.  The blocks are kept clean, and the showers are always hot and powerful.   There are washbasins in cabins, areas for washing up, and washing clothes, and washing machines, dryers and ironing facilities are available.  The washblocks are 'open-plan' and although there are two 'sides' useage seems to be unisex, typical of most french campsites.
 
There is a good sized irregular pool, with a paddling pool and a children's pool with a waterslide, as well as a covered pool for those (infrequent) poor weather days.  There are sun loungers around the pool (hot competition for these!)
 
On site facilities include a small supermarket, selling a good range of foods, as well as a shop selling beach goods.  There is a bar and takeaway with a reasonable menu.  The on-site restaurant is built in the form of a Tahitian straw-roofed cabin, and serves very good value food as well as being a lovely place to have a meal.  The staff in reception speak good English.  There's a small beach bar which is open in high season, and the site offers hire of beach equipment, windsurfers, and pedalies in high season.
 
The site accepts Camping Cheques which means in the early and late season a pitch / car / caravan / tent / motorhome / electricity and two people need only cost you £10.30 per night.  Dogs are not allowed. 
 
It's a lovely walk into Grau du Roi along the beach, and the village itself is a very french fishing village.  It's worth being around when the boats come home as they auction the fish on the quayside.  There are some lovely bars and restaurants in the village, and some are very good value.  Check out La Grand Sud, on the quayside where you can enjoy a four course meal for 13 euros.   There are lots of small shops to browse around, and market day is a treat in itself.
 
The area around the site is great - you are on the edge of the Carmargue, which is fantastic for bird-watching, Aigues Mortes (walled town) is definitely worth a visit, you're in striking distance of the roman remains in Nimes, including the word-famous Pont du Gard.  The wine areas of Minervois and St Chinian  are within a reasonably drive, and Listel is produced virtually on the doorstep and evan Spain is only a half-day drive away.  Flamingoes fly over the site at dusk and dawn - a site worth seeing.  Sunsets are fantastic.   Take a good mosquito repellant - although the site itself appears clear of any problem the surrounding area unfortunately isn't.  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Boucanet child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping La Boucanet have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Boucanet?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping La Boucanet dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Grau Du Roi      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement