Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Leachive Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Lochgilphead > Leachive Caravan Site Reviews

Leachive Caravan Site
Tayvallich
Lochgilphead
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA318PL
Tel: 01546 870206
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Saggyoldcat 2 reviews from this member

We loved the tranquility of this site. The area and the village are beautiful. The owner was friendly and helpful.

The facilities were clean but two toilets and one shower (ladies side) is not really enough. We would return again but I do think they need more showers and toilets.

There is a brilliant pub just at the site entrance but you need to book. Food was excellent.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hilli 5 reviews from this member

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but we were very pleased with this site.

Owner Rory was very welcoming and offered local knowledge. Yes itís an open field but free to choose wherever you pitch. The toilets and showers were very clean. It would have been lovely to have the view of the beautiful bay from our pitch but you donít have to walk far to see it.

The Tayvallich inn is excellent, well behaved dogs welcome too which was a bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed 2 lunches there. We were very lucky with the weather which made the scenery even more beautiful. Good walks for the dog nearby.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 89 reviews from this member

We turned up on a wet and windy afternoon, drove up passed rows of static caravans, and found a unexciting wet, open field with little character. The owner arrived and asked for £16 a night for 2 adults and a tent.

To be honest, we sat for an hour debating if we would stay at all. The forecast was wild and at least the site is sheltered enough so when the showers abated, we pitched by the track side.

Wash block is adequate. The showers cost another £1.

The Tayvallich Inn, situated at the entrance, is a fantastic local and the food is amazing and very good value. The views around the harbour are beautiful and there is a small local shop. Nearby you will find nature trails through historic oak woodland and a beach.

The chapel at Keills is full of Celtic stone work. We could have spent a whole week exploring. Whilst here, must see places are the Crinan Canal and the Kilmartin Cairns and standing stones.

With a bit of investment, this site could be a lot better.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tarvit 1 review from this member

Had a lovely two night stay here, clean facilities, £1 for a hot shower, basic but all we needed.

There is a lovely pub at the entrance to the site with real ale and a good mostly seafood based menu.

Also a nature reserve within walking distance where we enjoyed a full days walking, there was also an art trail and kids trail.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 11 reviews from this member

Lovely site and location. Keep it a secret!

I was a bit apprehensive having read some previous negative reviews but now realise that those same reviewers were probably disappointed that Tayvallich doesn't have a 24 hour Tesco or a dual carraigeway leading to the village :)

Yes, facilities are limited but perfectly adequate and clean. Very welcoming and helpful owner. £18 for caravan, 2 adults + hook-up. I was charged £29. 50 at a site in the east for exactly the same without the wonderful location.

Only suggestion would be to move bins from front to side of toilet/shower building and tidy up front. I guess a basic structure could be erected to cover washing up area.

We'll be back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Photoman02 1 review from this member

As a regular caravan near for nearly 20 years I had the pleasure of staying on this site in one of their static caravans which was superb.

Out of curiosity I looked at the touring area and was quite surprised after reading some reviews.

This site is in an outstandingly beautiful area, the pitching area is natural to suit the area, the showers now run for 15 minutes, there are also two camping lodges.

Rory and his wife keep this site so natural it is lovely.

The village Inn and shop have all you need and the local residents are all so friendly.

Visit this site it is all about camping and caravanning should be

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisrust 1 review from this member

If you want somewhere immaculate with every mod con in perfect order then perhaps you won't like Leachive. And it might be crowded at times as it's a beautiful location.

We were there in late August, after the Scottish school holidays were finished, and the site was full enough to be sociable but plenty of space. Usually we dislike seeing static holiday homes on a site but the layout was spacious and relatively informal which made them much less of an eyesore.

We loved it and stayed a day longer than planned. It's a lovely peaceful location but right in the village and very handy for the pub, shop and cafe. The camping field doesn't have a clear view of the loch but it's in an attractive valley and you only have to stroll a short distance to see the whole of Tayvallich and its beautiful bay full of boats spread out.

It's a brilliant location for cyclists, and lots to interest you in the area including Crinan and historic Kilmartin Glen.

The facilities are fine for a simple campsite, the shower is a bit of a swizz as you don't really get enough time for shampoo AND conditioner for your pound. The high price probably reflects the stunning location.

The owner is very relaxed and friendly and we felt very welcome, we met some very interesting people on the site, it probably attracts a different kind of camper or caravanner than some of the bigger, more organised places.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catal 1 review from this member

We have visited this site for a number of years. I have always found it to be excellent and Roly very helpful. The shower / toilet block are a little dated but other than that the site is excellent. Never over crowded.

We have camped there and also stayed in the micro lodges.

The surrounding area is just stunning. A short walk to Taynish nature reserve. The best thing about Tayvallich though is the Tayvallich Inn which specialises in seafood. Great food and a great atmosphere.

I have read the other reviews talking about the views from the camping area. In my opinion that is being very picky. The views from the Caravan site / Tayvallich Inn are stunning.

I am a regular visitor and will continue to be a regular visitor to this beautiful part of the country

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

Stayed 1 night and wish it could have been less.

Totally agree with the previous reviewer. Shower is lamentable. £1 coin operated and shower head turns towards the tiled wall. No warm water in the basins let alone hot water.

It was a Bank Holiday weekend and the site was full with canoeists and fell runners. Facilities were stretched.

Owner showed us to a quiet (ish) pitch. This was then surrounded by tents / motorhomes during the night.

There is a great deal of rubble / debris around the site. If you have young children and are thinking of staying, then take care. Parts of the site are hazardous.

Tayvallach is a lovely spot on the map. A pity this site does nothing to enhance the area.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Barty9 2 reviews from this member

I would not normally bother with a review unless the site was especially lovely or very disappointing! The locality and the village of Tayvallich are wonderful and they are only reasons I could give to stay at this site.

The site facilities were the most basic I've come across and the tariff the most expensive for Scotland.

The small toilet block was very clean but had only one shower and two wc's. No hot water and coin operated electric shower. We did not have a young family, however there were no children's play areas.

The site is mainly covered by chalets with the touring area bounded by sheds, heaps of gravel and spoil and what looks like a builders yard.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019