Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Peupliers

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Aveyron > Camping Les Peupliers Reviews

Camping Les Peupliers
Riviere Sur Tarn
Aveyron
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
12640
Tel: 0033 565 598517
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 112
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Broko 4 reviews from this member

Came across this site while looking for an ACSI site. This one was more expensive but was far superior in location and facilities.

Managed to get a Satellite lock on through the trees and watch Englands pitiful performance with German commentary!

The Gorge area is fabulous. There are vultures hovering above as well as a Vulture house you can visit close by. We went in the Grotte de Dargilan and visited lots of nice little towns around the area.

All campsites were very quiet in the time we were there. This maybe down to the Euro (football), the EU vote, the strikes (no fuel), terrorists or a combination of all of the above.

We were on a beautiful site the night before in St Rome du Tarn that had 300 pitches and only four were occupied. This site was busier so had more atmosphere. Lots of Brits and Dutch (always a good sign) and lots of people staying for a long time.

There is a market on fridays in Millau, and we used the free bus to get there. I was expecting n old van as it was free. It was an air conditioned coach.

We ended up staying 6 nights on the site, which is a lot for us as we usually move around in the motorhome. Pitches are large and separated by bushes. We paid 25 euros per night.

Will definitely come back again when I retire and stay for a long while.

Site has a pool with slides, a nice bar and a café area. A little shop has bits and bobs but there is a good butcher and baker (no candlestick maker) 100yards away. There is a farm shop at the entrance that sells lots of local produce.

Lots to do in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterrabbit1007 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 11 nights at the beginning of July, lovely site in a great location with excellent sanitary facilities.

The pitches are of a good size with water and drainage on each pitch, however some of the access roads on the site are very tight for larger outfits, you definitely need a motor mover to access some pitches because there is no room to reverse the caravan, this is particularly true of pitches 1-11 where we were; we needed to unhitch the caravan on the main site road and user the mover to go up the side road and onto the pitch. The upside of these pitches is that they are within 25 metres of two excellent sanitary blocks.

We were unable to get a satellite signal on our pitch because of all the trees however some Brits did have reception, it is all very pitch dependant; did however get a good French terrestrial TV signal so was able to watch world-cup semis and the Tour de France!

There is a butchers and bakers within 3 minutes walk of the site and an excellent small warehouse opposite the site access road (about 75 metres away) that sells local fruit and veg (the cherries were excellent and very cheap), it also sells other local produce including wine.

The local gorges Tarn and Jonte are a must see, the Pointe de Sublime is a must, it is a detour from the main Gorge du Tarn but the views are fantastic.

Shopping in Millau is 10-15 minute drive away and you have the choice of Geant, Le Clerc, Simply or Carrefour.

An excellent site in an excellent location; recommended!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Symbolic 4 reviews from this member

We had a 5 night stay here. From the main road the approach to the site is a bit off putting by as soon as we walked around the site I realised it is a perfect location! We used camping cheques and they did not charge extra for a river side pitch. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

The staff did daily activities, we used the free minibus to Millau for the Market and I went on a little fossil hunting expedition. All activities were free. We had a low but usable free wi-fi connection on our pitch. The shower block nearest us of which there are 3 on the site looked brand new and was spotless. We rented a canoe on one day from the site, they drop you off 10, 15 or 20K up stream and you make your own way back. Very good value and great fun.

We did not try the snack bar as we are veggies and needless to say, not much choice!

Overall a great site in a lovely area. The weather was great as well. We shall be back.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lukebosman 4 reviews from this member

This is an absolutely delightful site. We have now stayed their twice (for a total of 20 nights) and not had any less than a delightful moment.

The riverside pitches (which cost a few Euros a night more than standard pitches) are splendid, giving tremendous views across the Tarn. As the campsite's name (The Poplars) suggests, the pitches enjoy a dappled shade. Each pitch is separated from its neighbour by a low open hedge and has electricity and water.

My eight-year-old daughter loved the play areas, trampoline and bouncy castle and found a broad mix of children from England, Spain and France to play with.

The toilet blocks are clean but are sometimes a little busier than ideal, once or twice leading to anxious cross-legged moments.

The swimming pool area is compact and could possibly do with a little more space for sun-loungers. However, the river is quite safe at this time of year for paddling and swimming. (I wouldn't like to vouch for its safety after a heavy storm though!)

I love cycling and enjoyed the long climbs up to the Causses (800 metres above the Tarn river) as well as the descents. Easier cycling routes as well as easy canoeing, suitable for complete novices, are available.

Tandem paragliding flights are available in the area for children and adults.

The free wi-fi appears unable to cope with too many separate users. This can be a little irksome but you do get what you pay for!

We found the on-site entertainment pleasantly varied and easily avoided on those nights when we fancied some peace and quiet.

We shall return!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OliverDay 24 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a lovely ten night stay on a river side pitch. The camp site is in a good location at the entrance to the Tarn Gorge and similarly near the Jonte and Dourbie Gorges.

The previous reviews comments are still valid with our additional observations provided below.

The nationalities of the campers during our stay was predominantly French and Dutch, with a few English. It was refreshing to experience the need to speak French when using the shop, snack restaurant / takeaway or bar. English is spoken at the reception and I am sure the staff would speak English if you needed help.

The river along the site is ideal for all users. It has several paddling areas and the length from the one end of the site to the other can be swam for a length of up to 150 - 200 metres. On the opposite side of the river at the eastern end of the site there is a rock bank where the teenagers would gather during the day to jump / dive into the river. The rock bank has several points of different heights to jump from culminating in a leap from a tree at about 11 metres.

We 'experienced' three musical animations, disco/band/Karaoke, which took place during our stay. These were not that noisily obtrusive and finished at midnight. On other nights the camp site was mainly very quiet.

The site toilet / shower facilities were modern (especially at the western end of the site) and kept clean.

My only criticisms are; that the pool is far too small and does need to be upgraded with a new and bigger pool complex including space for more sun loungers, that the river beaches and banks should be maintained so that better use can be made of the river, and that the owners should resist the temptation to cram additional short stay campers on the football / volleyball field.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sjohnston 5 reviews from this member

We visited the site in August 2009 during high season. The site was very busy and every available pitch was occupied. Some units were directed to the football field as overspill. The site is set in beautiful countryside with great views of Peyreleau castle and the Tarns Gorges.

The site was clean and tidy with enough events to keep everybody happy. Toilets were clean with good child facilities. Some events were very noisy and did go on into the early hours.

The adjacent river was clean and safe for children. The river was very wide with only a small channel on the opposite side of any great depth. The site organise canoeing trips which are great fun but not suitable for children. The on-site swimming pool was a bit small and on occasions quite rowdy although the owners were very strict on bad behaviour. Well done them!

The nearby village Riviere is worth a visit but very small with not much happening. Millau is 10 minutes by car.

All in all we had a good holiday and would recommend the site although a weeks stay is probably enough.

Good points - site clean, tidy, lively

Bad points - overcrowded, noisy late at night, bad tempered owners on occasions, limited things to do in area.

Rating - 7 out of 10

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Feeblecat 40 reviews from this member

Had a lovely 9 night stay at this site. A great location for exploring all the gorges and their villages and the river that runs alongside the site is great for swimming/canoing or simply for the little ones to paddle about in (better to have crocs or something similar on feet though as river bed can be a bit 'rocky' therefore slippery). Very friendly site with a mixture of nationalities and there seemed to be plenty of facilities/entertainment to suit most ages but as we didn't use the bar/restaurant/pool etc I can't comment on them except to say that everyone else seemed happy enough to make good use of them. The site is very clean and well maintained and quite pretty. Although I usually go for very small, quiet sites I would have no hesitation in using this site again as it really had enough going for it to suit everybody of all ages.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pinguange 5 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this campsite (having previously visted in Sept 2007). We stayed for 4 nights. This site is great! Its family run - they are all lovely, speak great english and are very friendly. Fridge hire avaliable. I thought the prices were excellent value too. Good sized pitches - all edged with hedges. Mix of guests from all countries - mostly caravans when we were there.

Toilet block cleaned daily, great hot showers. Little shop. Resturant serving lovely food (chips with most things - but a break from cooking!). Small bar with TV. FREE! Wifi avaliable near reception. Childrens play area, small pool with slide. Trampolines for the children. River side setting, my husband did some canoeing.

The area is lovely with plenty to do, driving along the river, visiting the local castle, Millau, the bridge etc etc.

All in all a great stay and we look forward to returning again. This is the only campsite in our 12 plus years of camping we have been to twice - so that says a lot - normally we like to experience new ones!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnnyhamster 8 reviews from this member

Despite a two stage ten hour drive from Cherbourg, the last three hundred miles being completed in some of the nastiest rain I've ever driven in,  the rain stopped and the clouds parted about ten miles from the site. We stayed 13 nights and enjoyed one of the best holidays we've had for a long time.
The site is situated on the riverside at the entrance to the Tarn Gorges, just as the scenery starts to get really impressive. Riviere sur Tarn is five minutes walk from the site, and has a restaurant, Spar shop, post office with ATM, tourist office, bakery, butchers, and a couple of "farm shop" type places.
Millau is about eight miles away for all other services, for the Casino hypermarche (Closed Sundays but the cafeteria is open and very good too - all the locals go for family lunch!)follow the signs to Clermont Ferrand.
Small Sunday market at Aguessac a couple of miles up the road.
English speaking at reception if you need it, there's a bar open 'til late , snackbar ( frites, steak, sausage, pizza, crepes etc. ) and a shop selling basics , gas refills, ice creams, bread and croissants if you order the day before ( otherwise just use the village bakery).
Entertainments most nights in high season - karaoke, quiz, band, communal moules-frites, childrens entertainer etc. Trampoline and table tennis tables, also occasional bouncy castle. Canoe hire also available on site which was good value.
During our stay, I think it was about 50 percent Dutch, 40 percent French and the remainder UK / other. The site was full, busy without feeling crowded.
112 pitches, all with EHU - we had number 88 (see site Plan on their website ) which was huge, probably was once two small pitches. Some of the central pitches seemed quite tight, generally all pitches quite shady apart from numbers 90 up. All pitches were cleaned and raked free of leaves soon after being vacated. Fridge rental available.
Mixture of caravans, tents and trailers. Some pitches might be tight for large caravans.
Three toilet blocks, cleaned twice daily - excellent hot showers (you're encouraged to use the squeegee to clean the shower floor after use, which makes a big difference )
Access to the river is limited to the west and east extremities of the site (unless you scramble down the bank) - it's a very clean river and good for swimming, although fast flowing and deep in places. You can watch beavers swimming most evenings on the opposite bank, sometimes they swim across to the site, they don't seem bothered by human presence.
Swimming pool is fairly small but never got too busy, there's a slide which is only switched on for an hour at a time four times a day. The site owner appears to enforce the no swim shorts rule.
There's a number of sites along the Tarn, some looked a lot more cramped , there's also another "Peupliers" just up the road at le Rozier.
This is a huge area of gorges and rivers, breathtaking scenery and loads to do. We could have stayed on a few more weeks! Canoeing, paragliding, walking, riding, parcours, climbing, great for wildlife - our Children were delighted to see beavers, red squirrels, vultures, crayfish, and  a snake! Don't miss the Millau Viaduct. Explore the Dourbie and the Jonte gorges and enjoy the hairpin roads up the les Causses. Hill villages
Both the site and area as a whole are highly recommended.
 
Good Points - Friendly, clean, great location, great weather.
 
Not so Good points - Entertainment went on a little late a couple of nights - I like things to be quiet after eleven. Don't think you'd have a problem out of season though.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019