Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Parc De Fierbois

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Ste Catherine De Fierbois > Camping Parc De Fierbois Reviews

Camping Parc De Fierbois
Parc De Fierbois
Ste Catherine De Fierbois
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37800
Tel: 0033 0 2 47 65 43 35
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 394
Open: 28/04 To 03/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Torrin40 3 reviews from this member

We only stayed for 2 nights on the way up to Caen but we would happily have stayed longer.

The pitch we stayed on was the largest camping pitch I have ever encountered and the toilet block, which is obviously fairly new, was the best I have ever seen on a campsite. It was like a hotel with stone tiled walls and floors, a central rose bed, piping hot showers, a children's area with toddler size toilets and sinks, toilet seats, toilet roll and soap. I could go on and on and write this whole review about the toilets! That's how good they were!

Apart from the totally amazing toilet block the site has good facilities, shop, restaurant, take away pizza, entertainment, bar, indoor swimming pool, heated outdoor pools/slides etc, friendly and helpful reception and did I mention the toilets??

Some of our party swam in the lake which has a floating platform to jump off but it was a bit chilly for me!

Overall a lovely site that we would happily visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Tucker81 6 reviews from this member

We stayed in one of the site's own chalets - far superior to Eurocamp in my opinion and a lot cheaper. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of the season, just before the site shut on 4th September, so that could also explain the price.

The site was quiet, again because it was the end of the season. I can imagine it must be very busy in peak season, especially the pool area.

I'm afraid we didn't use the sanitary blocks as we were in a chalet, but the site was generally tidy and well-maintained.

We particularly enjoyed the lake and the adjacent indoor swimming pool, which was deserted.

We didn't travel off site apart from to the Super-U, which was an easy 10 minute drive away.

I would definitely return to this site at the end of the season as it was nice and quiet, and the chalets were of a very high standard.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Damo1 4 reviews from this member

What a great site. All clean facilities with friendly staff who will help you with anything you need. The pitches are a good size and level. The on site shop is well stocked with the basic things you need and at a good price where you won't feel ripped off. The on site restaurant is very good food and also the freshly made pizza's are delicious at good prices. The price of a pint of beer is on the expensive size at €5.

The pool and slides where a great hit and the kids loved them too. A great day fishing was had by all which is free of charge and plenty to be caught. The crazy golf was a good laugh which is also free.

The go-karts are fun but half an hour was plenty especially in the hot weather.

The entrance gates get locked at 11pm until 7. 30am but security show you where to park and make sure you car is safe.

I don't think we found or saw anything that we were not happy with.

Would we return. Yes We would.

Only 189 Miles from Caen which is a nice easy drive.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ponciauman 11 reviews from this member

This is a 5 star Castel site with a lovely pool complex. During my visit 70% of campers/caravanners were dutch. The site is kept clean, however, would benefit from a bit of TLC on the pitches (grass cutting)before arrival.

The prices on the site are high in comparison to others I have visited and it is a little remote in its location.

The takeaway is limited in both its menu and opening times and the bar is expensive, 6 euros for a pint, unless you go during happy hour 18. 00-19. 00 when it is half price. The shower blocks are clean and have plenty to cope with the high season. The WC's do not have any WHB's and if you go around the corner to find one the do not have any soap so take your own.

The staff are all friendly and helpful and there is plenty to do including a lake with man made beach, indoor pool overlooking the lake, tree top zip wires, tennis and table tennis and bike hire is available on site.

I would go here again, however, prefer a site closer to restaurants etc but it is good for the Chateau.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EasyLu 11 reviews from this member

We had 10 nights here and it was a very enjoyable holiday. The weather was fantastic. The site is sloping towards the lake but pitches are tiered so all fairly level and large. The pitches on the side nearest the lake are largely set in woodland so more shaded. Electric and water tap were on the pitch. Electric was good it didn’t trip the entire holiday, we didn’t need our European adapter. We hired a fridge which was fairly new.

There were a high percentage of British families on the site and our children made friends easily, which meant we were able to relax as the children were busy playing. There are plenty of organised sporting activities to do on site but my children chose not to attend them.

There are two toilet/shower blocks both were fine. A smaller one nearer the woodland pitches which has separate ladies and gents toilets/showers/sinks with hand wash and a much larger block in the centre of the site serving the less shaded pitches. They were cleaned twice daily, although walls, doors and floor corners were missed, which certainly didn't spoil our holiday. I didn’t try using the row of unisex toilet cubicles at the end of the large block; we used the large disabled cubicles as they have a sink in them for washing hands and offered a little more privacy. Hand wash in the large block is located in the dish washing area. We used showers in the back of the large block and they were generally piping hot. There are good dish washing facilities and big sinks for laundry with hot water.

The lake was much larger than expected, ideal for kayaking and warm to swim out to the pontoon from the beach. I purchased buoyancy jackets before we went for my own children for peace of mind. We bought a large dingy and oars from the local Aldi and rowed around the lake which was enjoyable. The beach is south facing and sheltered, so is much warmer than the water park. Many children went between the lake and the indoor pool which is close by. Lots of people fished in the lake and were catching huge carp, we had a go but having never fished before and only caught cat fish! The beach is more of a fine grit rather than sand, it was a little weedy but a very pleasant natural environment to enjoy. You could hire pedal boats from by the beach. The children enjoyed the water park with slides but found it cold and didn’t last long in the water.

This is the largest site we have ever stopped on and I found it took longer for things to settle at night. We were disturbed on two nights from pitches nearby where 3 English families had made friends and were loud until gone 2am one night, at midnight the next night other campers started making comments about them so they quietened down. Reception were reactive when I gave them the pitch numbers the following morning and we did hear a golf buggy come by and check a few times during that evening /night and all was quiet.

My daughter really enjoyed the 3 zip wires suspended from trees over the lake (5euro). I think it was quite challenging to do really and you have to be confident to unclip you own carabiner to climb up rope ladders and attach yourself to each wire, so better for teenagers really. If you take your own equipment there are 5 table tennis tables and an area to play boules, which a lot of families did in the evening. Wi-Fi connection was generally good and 3 euro for 24 hours although the owner did give it us complimentary on some days. My son advised the skate park was more suitable for teenagers as the ramps were high.

We visited a few towns. Loches was the most interesting-lots of medieval market stalls aligning the entrance to the castle and people dressed up. The castle reminded me of something out of a film. We went on market day and a walking medieval band played. The market was extensive and we had lovely crepes from it. There is a small, relatively shallow river where kayaks and kit could be hired for about 8euro for a couple hours.

We came back on a Sunday morning via the N10, N154 before picking the toll roads up at Rouen. It was a much more scenic route and cheaper than the toll roads as you actually got to see some of France. This took us about 7 hours to get back to Calais with comfort stops and towing a trailer. The road is good with some parts that are dual carriage way.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swanny65 11 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks in France and stayed here for the first 6 days.

The site was a little dated but nice and clean. Large level pitch with our own water supply. You will need an adapter for electricity.

Toilets were clean but no soap provided. Showers also clean with hot water. Plenty on washing up area. The on site shop had a good range of stock, although a lot cheaper in the nearest supermarket.

As already mentioned the lake had green algae during our stay, which meant no swimming in the lake.

Pool area great for kids with slides and several different pools. Lifeguard was not present in the morning.

Plenty for the kids to do, including a skateboard area, 2 tennis courts and 5 table tennis tables. Archery is for over 12's only. My son preferred this site to the others we visited.

Be prepared for power cuts. We had 3 during our 6 day stay. The first couple were less than an hour. The final one started at 5pm on the day before we left and the power was still off over 36 hours later. Pity the Welshman near me who had only brought one gas cylinder for his families 3 week stay.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dubs1978 4 reviews from this member

We took our folding camper on it's 1st visit to France this summer, staying at Parc de Fierbois.

Our pitch (206) was massive, we managed to park the car next to the hedge, then have the folding camper and awning as well as a tarp up for shade and still had room loads of room on our pitch! There was a water tap on the EHU post and a waste drainpipe on the pitch, but it only had a small opening to pour grey water down, which wasn't easy. The ground was patchy grass and very firm, so we had to use rock pegs to peg down the awning.

Our pitch was fairly shaded for some of the day so we didn't have to worry about the kids being in the sun all day. Some of the pitches in the middle of the site towards the showerblock didn't seem to have very much shade at all and the pitches in the woods towards the lake didn't seem to have much sun. So really our pitch was perfect.

We needed to use our Frence EHU adapter, but if you don't have you you can hire them for 20 euros from the site.

The showers and toilets were fine, some were a little cramped, but the two corner showers were bigger and good if you have to shower children as you have somewhere to stand. The showers in the main block were sometimes cold, sometimes hot, but I found the few showers nr the washing up area were better temperature controlled. There was another shower block nr the shops and playground but I didn't use those ones.

The shop was fine, we had bread and crossiants from there daily, as well as emergency food. The intermarche is a short drive away in Sainte Maure de Touraine.

The site itself was laid out well, ourdoor pool was next to the bar and arcade, shops were nearby as was the takeaway and restaurant. We didn't have a meal our but did get chips from the takeaway a few times.

Pool complex was nice, pool was cold but like most outdoor pools fine once you were in. It had a shallow sloping end for little kids, and shallow round area of the pool, then deeper until you got to the other side. I am 5ft 3 and I couldn't stand in the deep end, but my husband is 6ft and he's shoulders were always out of the water.

The slides were fun and landed into a splash pool that was about 1 meter deep, meaning small kids would be ok.

The pool complex was very busy most days and lots of people had huge inflatables which made actually swimming hard. Towards the end of our holiday we started going swimming about 6. 30pm and found the pools emptied enough by then so you could swim without meeting someone in your way.

My children used the kids club and had lots of fun with Alex and Rosie. Kids club ran most days for 4hrs a day, morning and afternoon.

The lake was ok to swim in, we gave it a go and spent about 40 mins in the water. It is very deep though and drops off quite quickly so you need to supervise young kids. It is also very murky and if a child was to ever go under I doubt you would even see them under the water to help them. My husband swam out to the pontoon in the middle and said he couldn't touch the bottom when he jumped in!

The indoor pool was ok, not massive and not that warm, but again, once you're in it's fine.

We didn't use the bikes, or go cars, didn't use the adventure park or ponies.

The night time emtertainment left a lot to be disired and one show they did just looked so wrong, where the two men pretended the two girls were instruments and 'played' them. It just looked wrong!

Also couldn't understand why everything was inside the bar when the weather was baking hot. They had massive fold away doors by the inside seating and stage and not once did they open them up so those outside could watch.

Outside of an evening they had little kids ride on cars on a track and they cost 2euros a go.

Beer cost about 3 euros a pint, so we started buying wine from the bar as that was only 8 euros a bottle.

We had a few days out, we went to a grotte (caves) in Villandry which was interesting (and you get to taste some of their wine) we went to Château du Rivau, in Lémeré which was nice for children as the gardens send you on a hunt for an Ogre and the gardens are full of fairytale adventures. We also went to Lulu park on the banks of the Loire in Rochecorbon. This is an ourdoor play area with inflatables, bouncing pillows, bikes, tampolines, a taboggan ride, and inflatable water slides. It's a good day out if you have kids under 12.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Si123 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly and helpful girl in reception. Shop was nice too and had everything needed. Pitches were a really good size and even with our large tent and porch we still had loads of room for kids to play on the pitch. We stayed quite near the main toilet shower blocks and there was no major issues with noise etc.

Showers / toilets were a little dated but of a decent standard and clean. Pool was great but a little on the cold side despite the weather being quite warm (+25) all holiday.

Despite the size of the place - number of pitches - it felt empty - which was nice - I think this was due to it's overall size and the generous pitches.

The lake was probably more suited to fishing than swimming as said before due to the algae. Saw a massive catfish jump up like jaws, I'm sure they would not touch humans but I certainly would not advise going into the lake in the buff!

I would ask for a grass pitch out of the woods unless you like the shade all day.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper Bunnies 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a French trip, we stayed here for 3 days during that time.

The site was nice, clean and very tidy, and our pitch was enormous, level grass with our own water supply.

Toilets were clean, unisex as on a lot of European sites, showers were also clean. The on site shop closed from 12. 30 until 15. 00, fairly good range of stock, although a little pricey.

Unfortunately the lake had green algae during our stay, which meant swimming in it was off limits, the pool complex is great for kids with flumes and several different pools. Lifeguard was not really on the ball though, and I doubt if he would have noticed if anyone was in any difficulty.

Lovely walks around the lake, generally the site was quiet at night, although we were woken up by a loud gaggle of teenagers at 3. 00 one morning.

Mini golf course, somewhat challenging due to incline of the greens, but fun anyhow, we also hired a go kart which kept the kids amused. We did not use the children's clubs here.

We would have enjoyed our stay a little more if we could have used the lake to swim

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thebeeglies 16 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely week at Parc de Fierbois. We would definitely recommend it and go again. It is very friendly, no bugs and quiet at night (after 11)

We have 2 boys (6 & 9) who loved it - they were never bored in spite of a few cloudy, and one rainy, days.

We had a very good size pitch (number 14) - flat, grassy and over 100m2 in size. We have an Outwell Vermont L which looked tiny and plenty of room for our car (S-MAX) and a large gazebo too. Our pitch was opposite the toilet block which I found very convenient although OH moaned about.

Would probably go for a pitch with a lake view next time. Electric points take EHU without adapter. Every pitch has its own water supply. All the pitches were separated by good size hedges and were nice and private. Our friends booked a Premium Pitch which meant that they had a little shed in the corner of the pitch which contained 6 seater set of plastic garden furniture and 2 sun loungers and a domestic under the counter size fridge freezer. And a kettle barbecue.

They found the shed really useful for storage and it never hurts to have an overflow beer fridge!

There was a mix of English, Dutch, Irish, French and other nationalities but all were very friendly. Some Canvass/Key Camp tents although they were distributed thinly among other pitches. Also motor homes caravans generally mixed in so there weren't cliques.

Pool and lake were great. Pool had 2 great slides which the kids loved. Areas for big and small kids well separated so no ones fun was spoiled. Plenty of sun loungers (although we spotted Canvas reps doing the early morning towel reserving trick - shame on you!) Generally less busy late afternoon.

There was always a life guard there and they struck a good balance of keeping it safe and enjoyable so not constantly telling people off. Swimming shorts allowed so no issues with guts spilling over the Speedos! All kept really clean.

Lake was great - zip wires, lots of fishing (it was like fishing in an aqarium with everyone catching something (mainly cat fish and some carp). Lots of dads taking their children for first fishing outings - very sociable.

Further down the lake is a nice little sandy beach which was really safe for paddling and swimming. Our kids and their friends had a fantastic time paddling their boat out to a platform in the middle of the lake and jumping in. Recommend bringing an inflatble boat for kids and rubber rings (or you'll only end up buying the €25 ones in the shop! Great little indoor heated pool - also very clean.

I thought the shop was well stocked for breakfast items (huge amount of breakfast pastries - about 90c each), beer, kids pocket money toys etc. Not great for salad, veg, meat so you'll still need to visit a proper supermarket offsite. Wine quite pricey and not very good which was disappointing for the region.

Nearest big supermarket (Intermarche) is about 10 min drive away in Sainte Maure de Touraine. Only thing we were a bit disappointed with was their fish selection.

Other kids activities included kids club which our 6 yr old loved (the 9 yr old wasn't interested). We didn't go to the bar much but there was a disco most nights - indoor so we couldn't hear it. There are loads of gocarts which the kids loved - €5 for 1/2 hour so they were rationed. Lots of kids also on scooters and bikes.

Toilet blocks were OK. Plenty of them and not smelly as some previous reviews have said. OH thought they could have benefited from a really deep clean while I thought they were fine and certainly no worse than some we have experienced on English camp sites. Plenty of hot water most of the time.

Only gripe was a toilet roll shortage for a couple of days which they could have managed better. Some other campers were furious about it - I suggest making sure you have a spare bog roll!

All in all it was a great place.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6184 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019