Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Clairvacances

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Lorraine - Alsace > Sainte Croix En Plaine > Camping Clairvacances Reviews

Camping Clairvacances
Route De Herrlisheim
Sainte Croix En Plaine
Lorraine - Alsace   (Browse area)
68127
Tel: 0033 389 492 728
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rhj296 3 reviews from this member

Huge disappointment would best describe my emotion on reaching the site. I went on the basis of the site info and reviews, however since spring 2018 the site has new owners called Capfun who have set about re-modelling the place and are squeezing units in on a big scale. The touring pitches looked messy and overgrown. Staff were helpful but all efforts went into the renewal. Significant ground works had taken place. We left and moved to Reims. We got the money back for the un-used night’s fees. They were fully booked and would no doubt have sold our pitch with ease. Anyone going out should be aware of the changes. 4 star needs something of a reality check!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kristensengonecampi 2 reviews from this member

This is a campsite we have visited before and widely have recommended to all we have talked to.

A pearl near Colmar in Alsace, a nice little campsite visited by many family's with kids.

The owners put their life in this place and we and many others loved the clean facilities, the flowers and the way they build the campsite up.

A campsite you looked forward to come back to and visit the following year.

In 2018 the campsite sadly was sold to Capfun. What a disappointment for us customers.

The first thing you notice when you drive into the campsite is all the new mobilhomes.

The large tent site and the grass where the were activities for the children is gone now.

The employees are racing around electric cars and tractors. One just waits and fears when a child is driven over or hurt.

The impression the employees gives one is that they are unprofessional, unattended and unskilled. They just don't care, it just another job for them.

The toilet facilities are dirty, 'when' cleaned they are still dirty.

No new toilet paper are hung up, even after this was pointed out by many customers, you would still face an empty role on the toilet 5 min after it was 'cleaned'.

A foam party for the customers got out of hand and ended up to be a party for the employees and their kids. They were drunk and keept all of the campsite awake with yelling and loud music.

An arrangement where a football match France vs Belgium was shown on a wide screen.

First row was taken by the employees.

This meets the impression you got when entering the gate.

Employees first, customers second.

We have come to the conclusion that this is our last visit to this campsite along with many others campers.

What was a gem in the beautiful Alsace is now a ruin of life.

What has taken years to build up is broken in just a few months.

With this review, I withdraw all previous recommendations for this campsite.

From 4 stars to 1

Only the good weather and company by fellow campers made the holiday a success.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Blatchatter 7 reviews from this member

We have visited this site several times before but what a disappointment this year. Pierre & Monique who had built this site up from nothing over twenty years had sold out. It is now owned by a large group called Capfun.

The new owners had only been there a few weeks before we arrived but they had done very little to prepare the site for the season. The grass was long and hedges had not been cut back. By the time we left the grass on our pitch was over a foot long and they still did not appear to have grass cutting equipment.

During the two weeks that we were there several new mobile homes were brought in which was one of the rare occasions when we saw much in the way staff activity.

The staff seemed generally indifferent unlike the previous owners who ran an extremely good site. Monique was always riding round the site talking to campers and at times she would organise and manage evening events for the children. Unfortunately, for several reasons, she and her husband have had to give up.

I could go on but suffice to say we shall not be going back to C*apfun.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

All looked promising upon arrival, with a lovely building and nice approach. We quite liked that it is quite isolated as supposed that would mean peace and quiet.

It all went downhill from there, really: the lady on reception couldn't have been cooler or more unhelpful when we mentioned ACSI and demanded that we hand over a passport even before she would let us view the available pitches (which she indicated on a site plan). She offered us choice of a few of the the smallest, scrubbiest pitches in the worst locations, despite most of the pitches being empty. Her interpersonal skills could be much improved and I suspect she'd been sucking lemons, just before our arrival.

Pitches are mostly situated in small avenues (some with tight access) and those avenues are adjacent to a large, grassed area where the sanitary block is situated. The pool is up by reception/Gestapo HQ.

I realise we're in the minority here but, we really didn't like this site and so moved on to another in the area, which was altogether more friendly, welcoming and spacious, after just one night.

Would we return? Nope!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 49 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 7 nights, myself and my husband, though this is a great family site and there were lots of families with small children. The site was pretty full during the time we were there and I was glad I'd booked my pitch beforehand. It is a bit in the middle of nowhere, there's nothing within walking distance, just fields. It's easy to get to from the main road and within 10 minutes drive or so of supermarkets and not far from the German border.

Our pitch was large (only booked the standard 85m2 pitch) with plenty of room for our trailer tent and car with lots of space to sit outside. It was slightly bumpy and the hedge between us and the next pitch was more a few weeds betweeen 2 fence posts but hey it was a boundary, did the job, just could do with a couple of bushes planting.

On arrival we went into reception and booked in, I had to leave some form of ID with them as we didn't pay till we left. We were shown to our pitch and were shown how to order bread and take aways. Entrance and exit to the site is through barriers with number plate recognition.

The shower block nearest us was kept very clean, you have to either take off or change your shoes before you go into the showers. Toilets clean with paper, soap and a hand dryer. Washing up faciliies had a nice sign on the door saying entry was for men only! :)

The swimming pool was lovely, a good size, reasonably deep but not above shoulder height, with a great area for children and a small paddling pool. There were lots of sunloungers available.

British travellers are definitely in the minority in this part of France. I believe there were only 3 or 4 GB plate cars on site all the time we were there and we didn't see another in all the time we were driving around the area.

The area is brilliant. There's some really pretty towns and villages to visit, lots of castles, we also visited a cheese making factory tour, rare breed (stork)centre, birds of prey centre, Le Ligne (which was excellent) a museum and following trails walking in WW1 German trenches, very poignant. We had a fantastic time and I certainly didn't want to come home. I definitely recommend this campsite and the Alsace area in general. Somewhere we'll definitely return to in future as there's lots of things we didn't get round to seeing.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emollie 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a one night stop over on the way back from Lake Garda.

Very helpful staff. The site had a food take away bar and a great swimming pool.

Overall it was very clean and would recommend this site, for either stop over or a holiday.

We left lake garda at 10am travelled through switzerland, beware the traffic jams leading up to the Gotthard Tunnel. Arrived here 6pm. We left the site at 11 in the morning, travelled through Luxembourg, and belgium to the channel channel. This was a toll free journey but took a bit longer than we thought, we arrived at the tunnel at 8. 30pm

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful, peaceful site with lots of trees and shrubs and about 150 touring pitches.

This site is well laid out with pitches in sections rather than in long rows. The facilities are separate for men and women and everything is indoors. Everywhere is immaculately clean, helped enormously by the fact you have to leave your shoes outside the shower block before entering. The shower cubicles are very roomy with a proper shower tray, a washbasin, mirror, shelf and plenty of hooks to hang things on. The toilets have seats and toilet paper. In the ladies there are 5 toilets, 5 showers and 7 private washbasins. There is a large room with dishwashing and clothes washing facilities plus washing machines outside.

There is a nice looking swimming pool, but we didn’t try it out. Everyone in reception is very friendly and helpful and also speak English. You can order bread and buy some provisions in the small shop. On Saturdays and Sundays you can buy takeaway flammkuchen and chips.

We paid 16€ with ACSI

Wifi is free but the signal was weak where we were.

The area is very pretty and Colmar is well worth a visit. We only stayed 2 nights but would have stayed longer if we hadn’t already arranged to meet up with relatives.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BlackpoolBelle 14 reviews from this member

What a find this site was - we had intended to stay near Munster, but when we found our chosen site closed we ended up at Clair Vacances and are so glad we did. It is very easy to access: leave the E25/A35 at junct 27 dir Herrlisheim on D1 and the site is on the L in 2km. The campers are mostly Dutch or German and we found only 2 other English outfits - they are missing a real treat.

It is lovely, full of flowering trees and shrubs with marked out pitches mostly under tall trees for shade. It was 27°C towards the end of May, so I think in the height of the season it could get very hot indeed. There are some smaller pitches and some larger ones at €2 extra, each with 10amp electrics. The pitches are in blocks of 8 so it feels quite private. Wifi is free (code at Reception) and extends to all the pitches but we found it a bit variable in terms of strength.

The ladies in Reception are very friendly and speak very good English - when I expressed interest in the shrubs, one took me outside and gave me a guided tour of the flowering things on the site! There is lots of information about local places and although there is no shop, you can order bread & buy milk; there is also no bar, which helps to preserve the quiet atmosphere, but there is a very nice pool with loungers and a large games field & children's playground in the centre of the site.

The sanitary facilities are absolutely spotless, probably the nicest we have found in France, and there is a laundry and plentiful washing up sinks.

There is lots to do in the area, from medieval towns to hiking trails in the Vosges; the Black forest is not far away and the city of Colmar is very pleasant. We were only here for one night but would happily have stayed longer.

Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stephen Gallagher 3 reviews from this member

This has to be the nicest campsite in France and largely ignored by the British. The site has a varied range of colourful trees and scrubs. If anything there is a little too much shade from tall trees. Two shower blocks are kept immaculately clean; the cleanest I’ve ever seen! There are medium and small swimming pools, but no bar. It seems the owners prefer not to have a bar, so to maintain a peaceful atmosphere. Children’s activities are coordinated by staff with games etc.

Monique, the owner, will welcome you and help pitch your caravan. I’ve done the Caravan Club manoeuvring course, but Monique must have done the advanced module! I was convinced the entrance to our pitch was too tight for our car and caravan, but Monique said, “It’s easy. I will show you. ” I sat in my car hitched up to the caravan. Monique told me to gently reverse while she reached in the car and took control of the steering, dinting my caravan manoeuvring pride a little, however in no time at all the caravan was pitched and my wife and I were sat in the sun with glasses of wine.

The Alsace region is well worth a visit. Medieval timber framed buildings that are painted vibrant colours make cycling through the many local villages a real joy. The Car Museum at Mulhouse is worth a visit if you’re interested in automobile history. Strasbourg is interesting for its European Court and Parliament; the beautiful, old city centre is also worth a wander around.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brough Jan 2 reviews from this member

Would recommend to others.

We received a very friendly reception after a long journey. Most caravans are pitched in alleys of 6 so quite private, pitches separated by hedges, part shade. Very busy when we arrived but as schools start back in Europe 2/3 weeks before us, it soon got much quieter.

Toilet facilities very clean. Washing machine was welcome half way through holiday. Pool good plus ping pong. Little snack bar but no shop though bread can be ordered for next day. Restaurant in village, though didn't give it a try so cant comment. Village also has patisserie and pizzeria. Short distance away but not safe to walk as no path and road dangerous.

Location is great for exploring the area and also for popping across into the Black Forest in Germany (Lake Titisee very picturesque).Colmar, nearest town, is worth visit. Look out for the Foire aux Vins - annual wine fair plus pop concerts. We saw Mika and he was fab! Also worth a visit is Haut-Koeningsburg castle, monkey sanctuary and eagle display. Ribeau-ville is fab if you like medieval buildings, so many in one place! Go to Munster to see lots of storks nesting on roof tops.

Tarte Flambee is local dish plus lots of nice pies!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Lorraine - Alsace

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019