Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Vulcan Arms C L

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leiston > Vulcan Arms C L Reviews

Vulcan Arms C L
Sizewell
Leiston
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4UD
Tel: 01728 830748
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only. It also has a separate area for tents, non members welcome.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris5448 34 reviews from this member

 A little gem of a site situated next to the pub. The pub food and beer are good and we didn't find the landlord grumpy at all!

The site is grass and sand and any rain (and there was quite a bit) drained away really quickly.

With three dogs this site is perfectly situated for the beach which is great.

We shall certainly return. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Duxdeluxe 1 review from this member

 This site is superbly located for dog walking etc on the suffolk cost, being only 100metres from the beach. The site is accessed up a small incline but is sandy and the pitches are all level so no access issues. Basic facilities but enough. The pub landlord can appear to be a bit grumpy but in fact isn't at all. The food in the pub is OK. We will return for certain 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yvonnetomlin 8 reviews from this member

 If you're a dog owner this is a perfect site for you. When we arrived I was horrified to realise we would have a very good view of the nuclear power station, which is a huge and very ugly building. We were lucky because we were able to pitch our van facing away from the power station. However, we soon forgot all that because of the other good things about the site. Immediately across the road, over a stile you have access to the dunes and the beach, which is shingle. The dune provide miles of lovely walks. Our dog loved chasing the hundreds of rabbits and it was great to let her off her lead and not worry about nearby roads One way is approximately 6 miles to Minsmere nature reserve and the other way is approximately 3 mile le to Thorpeness where you can sit inside with you dog and enjoy a lovely breakfast or lunch or just a coffee at the main cafe there. The site is well placed for visiting Aldburgh, Dunwich, and other lovely places close by. The Vulcan Arms sold good beer and the landlord is a really nice character. I would visit this site again and heartily recommend it if you love to walk. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MRSELLIS 4 reviews from this member

 Recently returned from a week at this site. Lovely site with sea views and a very short walk to the seashore, giving you brilliant walks in either direction. The beach is stony but there are footpaths in the dunes (and rabbits). The site is basic but well kept, we ate at the Vulcan arms 4 nights out of our 7 day stay. The food is good, especially the Saturday night carvery, and there is music on Friday nights

The site is very dog friendly, the Landlady even bringing biscuits for our 2 dogs.

We had a peaceful, relaxing holiday here and will be returning 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JNJB 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in the grounds of a very friendly and cosy pub, excellent real ales and food available. Hook ups on all plots, fresh water plus grey and black water disposal. Toilets are available when the pub is open. The site is only 2 mins walk from the beach. Our plot and most of the others have an excellent sea view. We wandered along the beach for quite a way only meeting a couple of people, then turned back for an evening in the Vulcan Pub. Will be going back to stay a night or two to fish the beach, and have a few good ales in the evening. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brian Day 4 reviews from this member

 The camp site is next to the pub car park and has only 5 or 6 pitches with electric hook ups.

Toilets in the pub when open.

Its very secluded.

Ideal for walking the Dog along the beach that goes to Sizewell Power Station. Or To the Right it goes towards Aldeburgh.

The pub food is Very good and reasonably priced. A carvery on a Saturday night and a Great plate full for Sunday Roasts. And The Beer is Kept very well--- Real Ale Pub.

I do recommend you ring for a pitch as its very popular.

My rating is For Seclusion 10/10 Food 10/10 and a great pint. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlayzell 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site if you enjoy walks and cycling. Just 2 minutes walk to beach and then can walk to Minsmere, Dunwich heath, Thorpeness, Aldeburgh. Or drive to Southwold etc etc etc. Woodland nearby as well with marked walks. Coastal cycle route very close.

Site is adjacent to Vulcan Arms Pub which I found incredibly friendly and welcoming. They welcomed dogs and their Carvery was very good. I know what people have said about the landlord, but I found him really helpful. They have leaflets of walks in the pub for free.

The Friday Night music was interesting - Very suitable for the 'older' guests. Everyone was so friendly - I loved it here (despite the awful weather!)

The cafe on the beach I also found really good for a spot of lunch. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 66 reviews from this member

 The pub was easy to find and is literally directly opposite Sizewell B, but don't let that put you off. There was a little traffic noise from the shift workers but it wasn't intrusive and I never heard anything overnight.

The site itself is a small-ish paddock next to the pub, all laid to grass with not much room to manoeuvre. There are in fact seven marked out pitches but two were being re-seeded and rested. All pitches had electric hook up.

Site does not accept tents. Cost is £12. 00 per night all-in and includes electric hook up and has water and an elsan point. We were advised to get rid of our grey waste around the perimeter of the site.

As you book in at the pub itself, you can arrive as late as 11pm that day. As other reviews have suggested, the landlord is a little abrupt but I think that's just how he is. His wife is more friendly but I found both very polite.

The beer garden is dog friendly and there is a live band on a Friday night. We didn't eat at the pub but there were a good choice of bar meals @ £7. 95, a curry night on a Thursday @ £6. 00 and they also did a Sunday lunch.

The pub was very full both night we were there. The beach is just across the road and is dog friendly. Our dogs thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ginaclarke@inbox.co 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, if you like walking like we do you are spoilt for choice. Cyclist path ways plus many dog walks. This site is right on the size well beach you feel secure for the security of size well B, there is local fisher men near by to buy fresh fish and sea food, the site is ample for five caravans and motor homes. Slightly uneven the ground but nothing you cant adjust. The pub itself has lovely food not had a bad one yet we have been back there twice and even booked up again in the near future. The landlord is very helpful, he has a beer garden as well, for the dogs if needed, mile away from leiston, we highly recommend this place to go and adventure. There is a cafe which is very near to the pub and they reasonable as well. 


Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oldmanroo 2 reviews from this member

 CC Certified, Five pitches.

Electric hookup for all, no extra charge. Water & Waste disposal adjacent Ė (There may be a toilet block Ė not sure.)

Open all year Ė prebooking is best especially in summer. Meals in the Pub.

When I rang to inquire about availability of a pitch, I was a bit vague as the weather forecast was not great & my wife who cannot 'do bad weather'. Landlord was a bit short. Landlady was pretty good.

I was given a rather abrupt reception when announcing our arrival early Friday PM . Landlord was preoccupied with setting up for the band's regular Friday night Gig. (He is guitarist.)

Pitch is not entirely level, so ramps required for Motor Homes. Pretty small area overall but not crowded.
Site has a steepish ramp up if pulling a van and not a lot of room for maneuvering.

Excellent location & we can understand summertime popularity.
Itís a quick walk to the sandy beach, and you can go for miles either way.
Lots of grassy areas off the beach & boardwalks. Fishing boats add seaside ambience.
Lots of good cycling/walking inland too.

Bit of road noise at night, but really not bad. Didnít notice shift-change from the imposing Sizewell Power Plant, which is the other side of the village.

We were there for a good Jan. Easterly, but well sheltered. There is no shade for summer though.

Fresh fish can be bought in the village. Locals very friendly - in winter.

Friday Nights is LIVE MUSIC with a lot of participatory locals for the gig. Age no limit. There is a big dining area, but try to get in early & around the bar. Food good, beer OK.
Controlled dogs & children seem to be welcome.

All in all, a great location, but not a lot of warmth from landlord/lady which is a shame.

Maybe itís me. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Vulcan Arms C L child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Vulcan Arms C L?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Vulcan Arms C L dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leiston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3795 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement