Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Bahamas Beach

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > St Gilles Croix De Vie > Le Bahamas Beach Reviews

Le Bahamas Beach
168 Route Des Sables
St Gilles Croix De Vie
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85800
Tel: +33 02 51 33 05 05
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 225

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cliff mac 1 review from this member

 Good place to stay off season. We had 3 weeks for the price of 2 so really good value. The pitches at the bottom of the site are the most quieter and are of good size. Had the pool mostly to ourselves but bar etc closed.
St Gilles is a 30 min stroll and has plenty of places to eat, drink and shop. St Gilles is a lovely and interesting place as is the suroundig area. Great for cycling as the main Vendee cycle route passes the site.
Toilets cleaned every morning and reception very helpful and nice. Takes C+C camping checks and the nightly price was 14 e but with the offer we had worked out at 9e per night. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MK BRUMMIE 1 review from this member

 Arrived here on 26th July 08, there was 7 families in our group all with touring caravans, we were all positioned along the path adjacent to the children's play area & crazy golf, close to the pool & club bar.

The pitches are small compared to the uk , and a couple of our group struggled to get their 4 x 4 at the front of the van.

There is a young Dutch girl in reception now who speaks very good english and is very helpful, the young lads both french & dutch who work behind the bar also speak good english.

Only major criticism of the site is the lack of grounds maintenance, ie hedges need trimming, and they need to invest in one of those garden vacuum's to suck up all the leaves, that keep dropping off the tree's .

The toilets and showers are cleaned regular, plenty of hot water coming out of the showers not matter what time of day or night.

Pool is clean and life guard in attendance all day, plenty of sunbeds to go round.

Bar area is clean and tidy , large beer,stella 4.20, not bad considering other places abroad charge 6 euro's a pint.

Entertainment is poor , catering for a predominately french audience, although there appeared to be more english people, for these two weeks than there has been in the past.

Shop is ok for the basic's but with all the main hypermarkets a 5 min drive away no need to use really, best directions to Lidl & leclerc from camp is turn left at entrance then immediate first right, straight up the country lane until you come to the T junction, turn left about 800 yards you will see Mcdonalds & leclerc on the left & Lidl is off to the right at the island, straight on will take you to leclerc fuel pumps.

At the bottom of the camp is a gate which will take to the beach left turn or into St Gilles turn right.

Nice beach but it is a treck over the sand dunes, you can drive, right & right again out of the camp.

It will take approx 25min walk into town or 5/10 on a bike, the towm itself is lovely especially on market days, and the ice creams are to die for.

Days out recommend St Jean de Monts, Les Sables, both have nice beaches, and better shopping nightlife.

Overall would I go again yes .

The pictures in the brochures don't do the campsite justice, although it is not a four star site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Arkangel5 16 reviews from this member

 We have been caravaning in France for over 20 years with our own touring caravans. This year we got a very good deal with French Freedom which was cheaper than taking our own outfit over. The site is owned by Chadotel. The site is not too big and is made up mainly of the new cottage style caravans.

Looking round the touring pitches they seemed to be typical french, and of a good size. There are toilet / shower blocks which are cleaned frequently.

There are touring pitches directly opposite the bar , which I would admit would be quite noisy, but there are plenty of other on the opposite site of the site.

I don't know if the site had changed hands but the overall condition was very good, everything was very clean and tidy and well decorated.

There is a shop which covers the basics and hyper markets close by. The track at the rear of the site is level and hard surface and is busy. The site is about 3K from the town. We liked it and have booked to go back there next year 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HT11 4 reviews from this member

 Our first holiday in France- in a tent. We enjoyed staying on the site, not too big and easily placed for the delightful St gilles de croix de vie via the cycle path at the rear of the site.

The staff were lovely and very helpful but they really need to have more staff in the reception room at busy periods.

Facilities on the site were good and the toilets/showers are cleaned 3 times a day. Washing pots facilities are also good and open plan.

The pitches themselves are in need of basic maintenance ie the hedges need cutting, leaves sweeping up (there were loads! apparently due to the lack of rain according to one of the very pleasant reps.)The pitches are also quite small by our British standards and we had little room to park the car at the front. The roads between pitches are quite narrow and two children (one 3 year old British and not supervised !) crashed into into the car causing some minor damage. Lots of hook up points but you may need a long lead.

Bikes available to hire on site are good but suggest you take your own if you can. I don't 'do hills or exercise' but really enjoyed cycling on the excellent and flat cycle paths in the area.

Excellent hyper market a couple of miles away and my daughter enjoyed horse riding (opposite the site). We enjoyed the clean and quiet sandy beach, easily reached by bike or car but probably too far to walk with young chldren and their paraphenalia.

We would recommend the site and the resort but we too are also looking for another site, further south. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Few cloudy 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2006 with wife and 2 children. First time to Le Bahamas Beach, came recommended by friends who had stayed twice before. We were in a chalet type static mobile home, which was excellent; the vast majority of the site seemed to be like this, with only a small number of pitches for tents or caravans.

Finding the place was easy; we drove from Nantes and used the directions we received from the site. It’s about a 5/10 min drive from St Gilles Croix De Vie, a lovely town with at least a dozen restaurants, several supermarkets, post office etc. Also has a very popular market on several days of the week.

Good points;

· The pool is clean, has a lifeguard and is well controlled, open till about 7pm. Could be busy at times but no problems really. It is very well fenced in all round, and entry and exit into the pool area is only possible through one gate with a good childproof lock on it. Men can wear swimming shorts, no need to wear tiny Speedos here!
· Security of the site seemed good, barrier access operated by a key fob issued on arrival. No problems in the evening or at night with noise from other campers, teenagers, drunks etc.
· On-site bar just the right size for the site, reasonably priced, popular with all the people situated near us. Open till at least 10.30pm, later at weekends. Entertainment (of dubious quality sometimes) laid on about 6 nights out of the time we stayed.
· On site shop great for bread in the morning, probably not necessary for much else as several large supermarkets 5 mins away in car.
· Great cycle paths all around, making an easy short trip into St Gilles
· Would be a good base for exploring surrounding area of the Vendee.
· Any staff we had reason to speak with (bike hire, tourist information etc) were very helpful and friendly. Also great with the children (9+10) who were able to go to the pool, games room, shop by themselves and we were not at all concerned re safety due to the layout and friendliness of the staff.
· Barbecues are allowed on the site, indeed are provided with each static. You just have to buy the charcoal and the steaks!

Not-so-good points;

· Site looks like it could do with a good bit of decorating/upkeep. Looks a bit ‘tired’ in places. Area around pool has a few uneven paving stones but nothing too bad.
· The pool and surrounding area are the first thing you see as you turn off the road and enter the site, hence they are near the road. You can’t here traffic, it’s not too busy, and the wall with fence on top is good and blocking noise, view, wind etc.
· Closing time up at the bar area could be a bit noisy, but was not a problem where our static was. Would be if you were much closer I imagine. People usually dispersed quickly as by that time very dark.
· Beach not as close as suggested in brochures, probably a good 20 min walk, maybe longer. Better beaches easily accessed further up or down the coast, with better car parking available.We are going back to the Vendee this July but are going to try somewhere else. Not due to any problems at all with Le Bahamas Beach, just want to try somewhere else as there are so many to choose from. We may well return next year or further in the future.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2005 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks over Spring bank holiday in 2005. First venture to Vendée region. Not over busy due to time of year I suppose.

The site is small and laid out in the usual hedged pitches with EHU. There appeared to be a shift from touring pitches to statics as one of the toilet & shower blocks is disused - marooned in a sea of statics. Access at the main entrance (automatic boom across road) and rear gate is controlled by magnetic key fobs. The main facilities are near the entrance comprising site reception, shop, fast food hatch and bar. Nearby are a couple of boules courts, a kids play area and crazy golf (not in use). Also a small lauderette - not used.

There is a reasonable pool with a sliding roof and 1 small water slide. This is surrounded by poolside paving which is uneven and resulted in more than one stubbed toe.

Overall the site facilities were servicable but looking a bit tired. The shop is small and expensive but there is a huge LeClerc only 5 mins away.

We used this site mainly as a base for exploring the Vendée from Noirmoutier to Les Sables d'Olonne. We were out nearly every day and didn't really spend much time on site. In the evening we found the site quiet and peaceful. We had been under the impression on booking that there was direct beach access, but it turned out that there was a half mile trek - out of the rear gate & turn left, walk to the bridge & turn right, yomp over the dunes and there you are.

Excellent cycle paths and plenty of walks. Nice walk to St Gilles Croix-de-Vie. Reasonable bistro 5 mins walk away when we did not feel like cooking or driving!

Recommended attractions:
Noirmoutier aquarium
Noirmoutier causeway (le gois)
Zoo at Les Sables d'Olonne
Loads of beaches
St Gilles
Le Puy du Fou (nearish & excellent)

Visit again? Yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tim s 1 review from this member

 We stayed here in 2005 in a tent with young children and had a very mixed holiday. During the day it was quite convenient for the beach and had fantastic safe cycle paths nearby so we could travel off in all directions with the children. However, it was the nights when it all went sour. We were near the bar and they played loud music till midnight on most nights making it impossible to sleep. The management completely ignored complaints, probably because a lot of locals used the bar and they made more money there in an evening than they did from my pitch. Also they have a lot of static caravans there which they let out to groups of teenagers. We were disturbed by noisy drunk neighbours until 3.00 am some nights.
The swimming pool was a bit of a disappointment, and the paving around the pool was a safety hazard.

I wouldnt stay here again which is a shame because we liked the location. If you do stay here, just ask to be as far away from the bar as possible.  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Bahamas Beach child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Bahamas Beach have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Bahamas Beach?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Bahamas Beach dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Gilles Croix De Vie      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder