Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Sites & Paysages De Vaubarlet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Haute Loire > Camping Sites & Paysages De Vaubarlet Reviews

Camping Sites & Paysages De Vaubarlet
Sainte Sigolene
Haute Loire
Auvergne   (Browse area)
43600
Tel: 0033 4 71 66 64 95
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 131
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LK103 10 reviews from this member

Just had a week here and it's one of the best sites we've stayed on either abroad or at home.

The site is run by enthusiastic, professional, friendly people who all speak excellent English and do all they can to make your stay as good as it can be.

It has very good facilities and both the bar and restaurant, a although quite small, are worth a visit as both the food and drinks were well presented and plentiful.

The site consists of an open field alongside the river with playground, volleyball court and football pitch and 2 other areas featuring a few chalets and grass pitches with electricity for motorhomes, tents, etc.

WC's and showers are clean and well maintained and we never had to wait at all even though the site was nearly full.

Sainte Segolene is the nearest town approximately 2 miles up the hill and has 2 large supermarkets, 3 banks and various local shops and when we visited was spotlessly clean.

I cannot really find fault with the site or the surrounding area which we experienced in both wet and hot, sunny conditions although in hindsight I really wish I'd taken my fishing gear!

A word of warning.

We travelled there westbound on the motorway from Lyon and not long after the turn offs for st. Etienne and Firminy, youll be faced with the prospect of driving over pont salomont which is a very high bridge over the valley. If like myself you wish you'd avoided it then get off at Firminy and enjoy a less stressful route up to Sainte Segolene and on towards the site either through the town or via the ring road. Mileage wise it didn't make any difference and although slower was much more scenic.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thewyebird 11 reviews from this member

*Remember your anti-mosquito spray!

This is a lovely site set among the ancient volcanic hills of SW France, and perfectly located for day trips. I personally recommend a poke about Puy-En-Velay, which is about 40mins drive away!

The site has a river running alongside the camping field which is great for playing in.

There are two facility blocks in the 'top field' where all the campervans and caravans park up - one block is newer and significantly nicer than the older one, although that is perfectly reasonable. We never had to queue to use the facilities. If you are keen to try the old-style French squat loo, there is one of those too, in the old block. Unsurprisingly, we didn't bother. I remember well the experience from French holidays in my youth.

But I digress.

The pool is great although I would dispute it being heated - even in the heat of the day it was fairly chilly. This does not stop anyone using it though, especially the kids, who seem not to notice the cold, even when their lips turn blue! To qualify the above statement, I am especially wimpy about being cold!

Which leads nicely to the night time temperature. Due the elevation and the surrounding hills, the temperature plummets at night. We were so cold in our tent that it kept us awake, necessitating in an emergency trip to Carrefour for extra blankets! A fellow camper, who got up at the crack of dawn reported his car registering the temperature as about 6 degrees C.

If you have children, you will no doubt be keen to encourage them into the Kids Club, which seems to be run by enthusiastic Dutch girls, who spoke perfect English. All the activities are advertised on a notice board near the pool. Highlights for my two were a dusk BBQ with marshmallow melting on sticks, and an after-dark lantern walk which ended with fireworks!

The bar is OK, it sells ice creams, there is a tiny shop (better to use the Carrefour in Ste Sigolene) and you can order baguette, croissants, milk etc for the morning.

This is a really beautiful site. I would definitely return if I were in the area, which is an awfully long drive from here!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot34 4 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Pitches were a good size, although it was starting to empty out- end of August. We were able to select our pitch. Mainly Dutch campers, but also a handful of French and English campers Toilet block/showers/washing area spotless. Showers were a good size ensuring that all your clothes/towels did not end up wet. Showers/toilets were unisex which was helpful because as a family we could all go together. Swimming pool area had plenty of sun loungers and again was very clean. There is a bar and you are able to order food. You order during the day, specifying a time slot, turn up and food is ready, either to eat at the tables around the pool area or to takeaway. We used this a lot for salads as they were very nice. All reasonably priced. Free WIFI around the bar/pool area and it worked! Very small shop but you can order bread etc. Good little children's club too. Our eight year took part in the building of a boat and also enjoyed the kids disco. If more organised would have booked the canoe and horse riding that is organised by the site. Really cannot fault this site, friendly owners, and hope to return again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site well hidden down a long winding hill in a quiet valley. !30 units in a wide valley give lots of space. The facilities are excellent and cleaned several times each day. The disabled facilities include a hoist to allow access to the heated pool. Very good value restaurant you decide what when and where you want to eat and the chef complies (closed Tuesday) free wifi in a wide area around the pool. 16 amp hook up, large pitches, you can be in shade or sun. TV reception variable throughout the site. Very spacious feel a good playground and heated children's pool lots of marked walks from the site. A river flows along one edge. Bread can be ordered from reception daily. A warm friendly welcome form the owners who are rightly proud of the site. The only drawback is the distance from the nearest supermarket. There is a small epicerie on site. Next time we will ensure a good stock up and we will definitely visit this site again for longer.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NLMS 11 reviews from this member

Good site in quiet country location. The open plan nature of site means that it feels spacious and allows you extra room. The main washblock was kept clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a few miles from nearest town, where there is a supermarket.

A good site if you want somewhere relaxing to stay, away from the crowds. We stayed late August as the site was beginning to empty and it was good to have the space for ball games and the like. The 'animations' are focused round the needs of younger children but there is a pleasant bar area where you can also eat food ordered from the take away.

This is not a tourist hotspot but there are a number of things to do which are not far away, walking and cycling (providing you are happy with hills) are available from the site entrance.

The site is well signposted and access is easy for all sized units (there was a UK registered 5th wheeler staying), though the steepish hills in and out of the valley mean that you want to take it gently if towing.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ciarri 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in August, we hadn't booked and luckily they had a couple of pitches left. There's no hedging between the pitches and we were surrounded on all sides by Dutch campers. They appeared to all know each other well and we felt a bit like outsiders at first. However, they all came over to help us position the caravan and couldn't have been more friendly and inclusive while we were there.

We had a problem with connecting our electricity. The owner came straight down and fixed it, her sunny, friendly personality assured us that we were in good, caring hands here.

This site really is fantastic for children as others have said. All facilities are in the one place- restaurant, shop, pool, table tennis, bouncy castle, etc. So if you've got kids of differing ages, it's easy to keep tabs on them all.

There's an enormous area for football, and games near the river. There was an international, multi age group game on when we were there, our children loved it.

I loved the fact that we were in a non touristy area of France, you got the feeling that you were seeing a real slice of life.

The scenery is beautiful as are some of the local villages. We visited Le Puy en Velay, an amazing place with a church

Perched up on top of a small, steep mountain. We certainly never saw anything like it before, well worth visiting.

I'm not sure how this campsite would appeal to people without children, especially in July/ August. It gets quite noisy,

Especially around the restaurant, bar area in the evenings as there are activities for kids organised. I would certainly recommend it to families as a great, friendly, relaxing campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Portia Hussey 7 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit so we knew what to expect. The site is great. Always a friendly welcome, pitches good sizes. This time we were in the furthest corner but it was still easy to get around and only a few minutes to the toilets. Loos always clean, plenty of hot water. Pool not very warm but a good size and clean. Clothes washing facilities adequate for hand washing, ditto for washing dishes. There is a washing machine but we didn't use it.

The chef is English and cheekily rude - food basic but cheap. We may go again.

The only problem with the site is that being deep in a valley it can be quite dark.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sproz 8 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, a little hilly to get to so just take it easy and don't cook the brakes on the way down to it! we had a 3 night stopover here.

Facilities were new and spotless, toilet seats were present (seems a rare thing in France) showers etc all perfect. Bar, pool area was great. The site is next to a river, tents seem to get a riverside pitch probably due to no hook ups down there, other pitches are still close to the river. The river is great for kids, take something for them to 'white water raft' down it (its dead safe) we were using rubber rings, some dutch kids were using there double air bed! it was 25deg and sunny daytime and looked like it had rained recently, chilly at night.

Definitely recommended, our best site of the holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JeffC 2 reviews from this member

A fantastic family site with great activities for kids morning afternoon and evening. Parents are expected to be around and support some of the time, but the activities are FREE. Kids loved the bouncy castle which is available all day as is table tennis and a small bar with satellite TV. Pool is small but welcome in the heat we experienced (yes it was hot there this year!).

All facilities as described by previous review and the toilets / showers were always spotless, worked, had hot water and toilet paper. In the height of the season the main site was full and without the usual 'little hedges' around plots it was 'friendly' - but we found this v. Positive. Many Dutch campers but quite a few English. The BIG thing about this site was that it was FRIENDLY and had a fantastic atmosphere.

The owners Géraldine and Jean-Richard could NOT have been MORE HELPFUL, from daily help with maps and routes to solving car problems, a lift when desperate and booking us a night on a site for our journey home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were always available somewhere and had excellent staff to assist.

The site is in a valley alongside a river and so to go anywhere you need to travel upwards. Choice of 3 local supermarkets and village with food shops nearby. Loads of local attractions, but the train ride down the gorge was too long, too boring and too French and a long way to travel to get there.

This site is a fantastic FAMILY SITE geared up for younger kids but not neglecting young teens. We had a fabulous, peaceful and relaxing 10 days there and will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merlins dad 2 reviews from this member

This largish site is about twenty minutes south west of St Etienne. It is situated in a secluded wooded valley and has a small river running by the site. The site is on two flat levels, the upper level is partially shaded by trees and has electric hookups (french style connections), the lower level, by the river, has no electricity. Most of the campers were either French or Dutch with the usual handful of Belgians and Brits thrown in for good measure.

There are two shower/toilet blocks, one is modern, clean and well maintained, the other is . Clean and well maintained. There is a small pool and a friendly bar/restaurant, with an English chef! There is also an extensive takeaway menu (bring your own pots). You can order bread and croissants each day from the small shop. The staff all seemed friendly and helpful.

The river is too small for canoeing, but big enough for children to float rubber rings etc on. The surrounding woodlands contain numerous footpaths, although every walk, at some point, goes uphill. There are cycles for hire, and the site arranges canoe trips on the Loire.

This is not a site for those who want lots of attractions and entertainments laid on all of the time, nor for that matter is the surrounding area. Rather this is a family friendly site set in tranquil and natural surroundings, a good place to unwind.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Haute Loire      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3738 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder