Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Minch View Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Minch View Touring Park Reviews

Minch View Touring Park
10 Drinishader
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3DX
Tel: 01859 511207
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 14
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 24 Reviews
                6/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Herring9 3 reviews from this member

Very steep hill going up to site, scraped tow bar on car entering site. No room to turn whilst on site lucky site was not full. Very basic sites with chippings on top of peat and basic toilets. Top it all off hit the bottom of the caravan when leaving. More suitable for small motorhomes not touring caravans

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Regajd 6 reviews from this member

This site is nearest to Tarbert ferry and has 5 hookups in a gravel carpark area surrounded by boggy grass for tents. Nothing previous reviewers have written overstates the awfulness of this site which now charges £22 per night plus extra for the washing machine. Chemical disposal is into an upturned dustbin with a hole in the bottom so it could drain into the stream. They advertise with large posters on the Calmac ferry from Skye. The picture in the advert is the view from the office in the house of the lady

Owner The view from the pitch does not have a Minch View at all! The toilets and shoer are in a rickety tin hut with lopsided wooden doors which don't fit.

We went there as a storm was coming in and we wanted a hookup. Big mistake

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Znt0 2 reviews from this member

Can only describe this as a gravel park surrounded by boggy ground yes it has ehu a toilet and shower but not very nice. Positive side it is quiet and amongst beautiful scenery. We paid £20 for 2 adults and ehu but will not return.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 88 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews we had discounted this site. However, having visited the competition we had to swallow our pride. It really is the best of a bad lot for the area. How they have the nerve to describe the place as a touring park, let alone a campsite is beyond me. A gravel car park next to a bog with adjacent leantoo facility is more appropriate. Oh, and they'll charge you £18 a night for the privilege. If it wasn't for the small amount of shelter provided by the hill from some severe winds we would have camped at the beach site down the road. We found the only dryish pitch right next to the entrance way and watched later arrivals sinking into the mud. Much comradeship developed between equally incredulous campers of all nationalities, stranded here for the night.

The water was hot and wet. There was a washing machine. The toilets flushed. The midges bit.

The views across the minch were outstanding and the local scenery (and roads) amazing. The 360 degree panoramic view from the top of An Cliseam nearby, 799m, is breathtaking. Tarbet Hotel is full eccentric travellers and extremely tolerant staff, good for people watching. There is a local shop and butcher in Tarbet and a Harris tweed shop.

Great area. We really can't recommend this site but you too may have to bite the bullet.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ernt25 9 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for our final night of a tour of Harris and Lewis. Like all the sites we stayed on none were booked in advance and it was very much a case of stumbling across places to pitch up on.

Like other reviewers note, itís probably the nearest site to Tarbertís ferry terminal, which was the main draw for us and the fact that it was getting late in the day. Had this not been the case then we would have given it a miss.

Yes, the site has electric hook-up which is an appeal in itself and a free washing machine, which we made use of. The location, like many sites we stayed on, was remote and pretty but not stunning in our opinion. But beyond this we did not feel the site offered anything more.

The shower and toilet facilities can only be described as uninviting; very basic and in desperate need of a revamp. Maybe this sounds very harsh, but as other reviewers point out the cost per night (£18 with electric hook-up) for Harris/Lewis standards is very expensive for such basic facilities as described.

This is the one site that we stayed on whilst touring the islands that I would not return to.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carronlwb 1 review from this member

This is the nearest campsite to the Tarbert ferry terminal. I arrived here by bicycle in the twilight and received a friendly welcome. The tent spaces are separate from the campervan and caravan site and the ground's comfy (a bit watery underfoot, but fine for a night). The facilities are clean and I had all I needed. I found a great spot to drink my coffee by climbing the small hill above the site to sit on a stone overlooking the bay Ė beautiful.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dalred5 2 reviews from this member

Lovely secluded caravan site in a beautiful part of the Outer Hebrides. We didn't use any of the facilities other than the disposal unit (bucket in hole in ground!)as we have our own toilet & shower but there appeared to be everything that you might require. Site is quite small so would be best to book in advance. Owner was really friendly and was on hand to help if we had any issues. Site was about 10mins from Tarbert (only place to get 3G network!) and there were a few galleries nearby selling local artwork. Would definitely come back!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helbhoy 3 reviews from this member

This is a nice small site just off the golden road with 4 electric hook ups

The site is a relatively narrow gravel patch and we struggled to park up our 4 berth caravan (there was only one other campervan parked up at the time and I don't think we would of managed if it had been full) - so it is probably better suited to campervans.

The drainage on the site isn't great and our awning flooded when it rained. Also the grass area for tents was very boggy when wet.

The amenities are very basic, 1 shower and 2 toilets, (with a gap all the way around the doors) so there was a lot of queuing when the site was full (4 vans & 3 tents). There is no TV or phone reception.

Although this was the most expensive site we stayed on when touring the isles it was the most basic.

The one plus of this site is the electric hook-ups which are a rarity on Harris!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jkgla 2 reviews from this member

The site is in a beautiful remote location by the coast. It is accessed via the picturesque single-track 'Golden Road' which runs east from the A859 south of Tarbert. There is a single rectangular gravelled area with hook-ups for about 5 motor caravans, and one 'overflow' site without a hookup. There is also space for tents. The facilities are basic, but adequate and clean, although using the single shower is not a very pleasant experience. The site could definitely benefit from a re-vamp of the facilities, particularly the shower.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 26 reviews from this member

The site was well signposted and the charge of £18 per night for the two of us and motorhome was excessive. The facilities were basic and when I asked if I could use the washing machine, the plug for the machine was being used to accommodate another motorhome EHU. For us it was the first stop on the Isle and I would not rate this site highly. If I were the owner I would build a completely new block for toilets etc. And the site would be A1.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5505 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019