Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eilean Fraoich Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Eilean Fraoich Camp Site Reviews

Eilean Fraoich Camp Site
North Shawbost
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 9BQ
Tel: 01851 710504
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oswestry Ed 9 reviews from this member

Good location all pitches are level with water points close by. EHU available but we stood free. Very clean facilities. Washing machine & dryer available. Owners very helpful, two Sea Eagles seen roosting from site.

Some nice walks & cycle rides from site. As with most sites on Island, you are a distance from any shops, so stock up on journey.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dlgb 10 reviews from this member

Location - Close to all popular attractions - standing stones blackhouses, broch, natural features on coastal path nearby (arches and blow hole - latter not on map or info books - just south of Shawbost bay). Swimming pool next door in school - open 3 evenings a week. Quality restaurant / take away nearby - 40 North (we did not try this though).

Good views inland of hills.

Facilities dated, good and clean. Showers electric good power (either 50p 4 mins or 8 min £1).

Priced at £19 per night good value include EHU

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tinwheeler 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at Eilean Fraoich for 4 nights and used it as a base for touring Lewis. We had booked in advance and the site was pretty full for the duration of our stay.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, Storm Hector hit while we were there which was an 'interesting' experience and did rather curtail any exploring on foot.

As others have said, the facilities are kept spotlessly clean and, although they aren't new, can't be faulted. The washing machine and tumble dryer worked well. There is a drive over drain for motorhome grey water dumping.

There is a good shop attached to the garage a few miles away at Barvas.

Would we stay again? Yes, certainly.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nomps 1 review from this member

Arrived on site without booking. Mary and Iain found us a spot for two nights with electric hook up @ £19 per night for a large motorhome (2 x people). Fast Wi-fi is free, TV signal good.

Owners are very friendly and most helpful. Toilet blocks are old but kept very clean. Showers are £1 for 8mins or 50p for 4mins.

There is a good sized room set up as a social area next to the kitchen/wash-up room.

There is a fantastic coastal walk nearby and a restored Norse Mill just off the main road south of Shawbost.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Denisridyard 2 reviews from this member

An excellent site!

We had a great time at this friendly family run site set in beautiful Lewis countryside, with a fab white sandy beach close-by. Free high speed wifi across the site and tv connections at each hookup.

The nearby school pool is available several evenings a week.

When our motorhome broke a leaf Spring the site owners found us a mechanic who sourced a spare in Inverness, had it couriered by ferry and fitted the following day!

They offered to transport us wherever we needed, for essential supplies and to the garage where the mending took place.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

We stayed one night at this site with an electric hook up. The facilities are very dated although very clean and in good working order.

There was excellent very fast free wifi. If you like a great view from your site this is unlikely to be the place for you as there is little in the way of a 'view'.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithsontour 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of August to facilitate seeing North West Lewis and catching the very to Ullapool.

There was some confusion over the owners as to the charges, we were quoted one price but ended up paying a different price.

There aren't many sites to choose from in the area and we feel that the owners use this to their advantage, we have been travelling over Scotland for over 5 months and this was the most expensive site we have stayed in £25. 00 for the pitch with hook up and awning, £1. 00 each for 8 minutes shower, £5. 00 per day for wifi all for a site which was ok at best but very tired.

The pitch we were on was completely waterlogged, ok not the owners fault but there were other pitches available which appeared to be much dryer.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

We stayed at Eilean Fraoich camp site for one night in June 2017.

We used it as a “recharging point” in between a few days of wild camping on Harris & Lewis.

The site is as others have described with a mix of hardstanding pitches to suit most sized motorhomes. Each pitch has access to a water & electric point close by. There is a TV hook up cable available where some pitches are unable to get a proper TV signal.

The facilities are fine & the owners husband does a sterling job in keeping them in good order.

There was some confusion with our booking as another motorhome owner with a similar name had requested to stay the night before but didn’t turn up. Needless to say, the owners husband got the blame!

The Black Houses at Gearrannan, Carloway Broch and the Callannish Standing Stones are all close by.

Overall a super little site for a quick stop over. There is a sandy beach at Loch Shiaboist which is about a mile away [maybe a suitable wild camping spot!].

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Openroads 12 reviews from this member

There are not many campsites to choose from on Harris & Lewis but plenty of great places to wild camp.

However, if you need to be 'on grid' for a while or get your washing done you need a decent place to stay and Eilean Fraoich is fine for a night or two.

Facilities are as described in other reviews. It's a windswept place in an unprepossessing village (ignore the gushing comments on the website!) but it acts as a good base for exploring Lewis and there's lots to see and do nearby.

The owner's bungalow is in the middle of the small site so things are orderly. It gets busy here.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gwandtw 5 reviews from this member

Very nice site with lots of room for tents, caravans and motorhomes.

2 toilet blocks with a choice of a 50p or a £1 shower.

A BBQ area although Mary will give you a slab if you want to cook on the grass next to your pitch.

We never booked a pitch for our awning but Mary managed to move us onto another pitch with enough room to get it up which was great when the sun went down and the midges came out.

Great site for visiting The Standing Stones and we also went to Uig which was 90 minute drive.

There is a nice 3-4 mile walk from the site round the bay/beach which is well worth doing.

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3234 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019