Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Uig Sands Ardroil Beach

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Site Reviews

Uig Sands Ardroil Beach
6 Ardoil
Timsgearraidh
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 9EU
Tel: 01851 672248
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 23 Reviews
                10/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Locally called Ardroil Sands, the biggest sandy beach you ever did see when the tides out, when the tides in the water is sheltered and shallow. Perfect for kitesurfing. There is a field on the left on the way in which seems to be for seasonal users, then a row of hardstanding places, then through a gate for grass pitches which is for tents and small camper vans, some have a beach view. There are toilets and showers (the shower was out of order when we stayed but it was possible to use the disabled shower 1). Also a small kitchen area. Water tap at rear of toilet block. Site is not staffed, payment, 5 per night is made at the house at the top of the access road, if no one around, leave money in jar in porch. Great wild camp site with facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dmarkm 4 reviews from this member

Please note that while the site is at Uig sands it is actually called Ardroil beach an Ordnance survey map is handy as the site is a little tricky to find and if you stop and ask someone (as we did ) its likely also to be a tourist!

You just find a pitch in the grass / dunes pay at a local house on leaving

Its about 1 hour from Stornaway by car.

Plus

Beautiful remote location where possible to get some shelter in the dunes

Toilets and showers very clean

Always plenty of hot water and no waiting for a shower

Shower costs 1 for 10 mins (so 2 can shower with a pound)

Cost of a night is 2 per adult

There is a fantastic distillery just about half a mile from the site where you can get a guided tour

Community centre, petrol, laundrette and shop within 2 miles.

Negative

Not much really.

Need to carry your tent a short distance from your car

Quite isolated ( just two other campers and a few camper vans when we visited in early august) that appeals to most but might also worry some.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Davismo 4 reviews from this member

Brilliant! Very cheap campsite with smart, clean toilets, showers & dish washing facilities. All set by an amazing expanse of white sand and crystal clear sea. Possibly the best site on Harris & Lewis.

P. S. The only reason I haven't given 10/10 for facilities is that there are no clothes washing facilities but this to be honest is churlush of me - I believe the nearby community shop (short drive) has a washer & dryer.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhomeliz 4 reviews from this member

I wholeheartedly agree with the previous reviewers, I think this was the best place we stayed on Lewis & Harris. A bit wild but with facilities!

Just turn up -(if you get lost ask at the shop at Uig, very helpful friendly people, they also stock a wide range of useful stuff as well as having a little cafe area, postoffice fuel and small laundrette). When you arrive just find a place (it was a little busy when we got there but some people moved on) and you can pay when you get around to it. I called in to the house where you pay and had a nice chat with the man who collects the money.

The small block of toilets showers & small utility room was lovely & clean. Round the back there is a tap for water and there is a manhole cover for the drains if you need to empty toilet waste in an emergency, although it's not a designated waste disposal area.

The beach is magnificent!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WeGoBongo 7 reviews from this member

I don't think there will be one person that could right a single thing wrong with this site. Wild camping with the luxury of facilities.

Hard standings are to the left as you pass the facilities block, tents are further down within the dunes. Facilities were immaculate with fresh flowers in the ladies, plenty of hot water and space to move.

Location, walk through the dunes along to the beach and Wow what a location, beautiful sandy beach and sparkling water, hard to believe at times that we were in Scotland (Apart from the cold!)

Price is 2 pppn and a for a shower, this is payable to the house directly opposite the turn onto the beach. Very friendly chap living there who was a source of information.

Worth so much more than the price they charge in more ways than one.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jay Bay 12 reviews from this member

This is brilliant. A wild campsite that has toilets and showers that are cleaner than some real, sites I have been on. Tents can go anywhere in the dunes and campers have an are just beyond the car park, hard standing and they just space themselves out. The showers are a 1 for a very long shower, lots of space and hooks to hang clothes. There were even flowers in the ladies toilets. It is 2 per person per night.

The only issue can be other units if they don't allow enough space as happened to us on our first night, but we just moved so not a problem.

There are lots of walks in the area and the beach is fabulous.

There is no chemical disposal point that we could see, but I will still give it 10 for facilities because it is not a true campsite so you would not even expect what you get.

Wonderful place.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gracesett 14 reviews from this member

If you like to wild camp but have facilities in a wonderful location then this area is for you. The Uig Community ensure the showers, loos, utility are pristine and you drop you payment off at the house opposite the entry road to the Sands (no 6, 2/night). There is an area of the Sands with caravans, some there I think on a long term basis and an area that holds 10ish motorhome units beyond the car park. The friendly local Community run shop and petrol station is about 2 miles from the Sands and passed on the way to the Sands is excellently provided with requirements. Even if you do not wish to camp here the area is well worth the travel for the day. The beach is amazing and should not be missed.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

Outstanding location. Excellent toilet / shower / kitchen block 2/3 mins walk from the pitches. Local shop near by (approx. 1 mile).

The beach makes this site and some pitches are right on the edge of the dunes.

Cost 2pppn at the house as you turn left onto the beach road.

When the tide is low, you can access another small island via a bridge.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debina 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from this wonderful part of the world! Discovered by accident whilst booked into and staying at another campsite, we upped sticks and moved the next day! Beautiful setting by the sandy expanse of beach. The facilities, although basic, are more than adequate. Clean, fresh flowers in the loos and a mop and bucket available to clean up after yourself in the shower room. At 1 for ten minutes, my husband and I took turns, plenty of time for both! The fee of 2 pppn, payable across the road into an honesty jar, was a refreshing change from some rip off sites. We only ever use toilets and showers anyway so this was ideal for us. The 3-4 minute walk to the shower etc from the camping area, not a problem whilst admiring the view around you. We're hardened campers and this has beaten anywhere else we've stayed hands down. I would hate to see it change and become commercialised/expensive. It's rawness is a big part of its charm. Would love to visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tazsmum 25 reviews from this member

Site just as described by earlier reviewers. Facilities excellent, and really well cared for. The whole site works on trust, like others in the islands, and it means visitors take some responsibility for keeping it clean and tidy.

This is wild camping with facilities!

The community shop, which you pass on the way, is well stocked, has wi-fi, coffee and fuel.

The tide was out when we arrived and the beach was so big we couldn't actually see where the sea was going to come from!

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


377 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019