Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - L Arada Parc

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Sonzay > L Arada Parc Reviews

L Arada Parc
Sonzay
Sonzay
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37360
Tel: 00 33 2 47 24 72 69
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 92
Open: 31/03 - 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for a week, in August. We chose the site because it was reasonably small, but still had the facilities we wanted -pool, on site restaurant and small shop, and in a good location for visiting the western Loire. The site attracts mainly French and Dutch families, there were some Belgians and British too.

We had one of the super sized pitches which are located quite near to the pool area. Lots of space, with a water tap located nearby, but not overly shady. Most pitches have hedges but there are some extremes in size, and one or two have a tree located in the middle. These would be great if you have a smaller tent (and needed a washing line/shade) but unsuitable for larger outfits.

There are 2 mixed sex sanitary blocks with loos, showers and basins. Always clean, with loo paper provided. The toilet near to the swimming pool is not checked as often as it should be though. Washing and tumble machine available. Fridges are available to hire, and there is a freezer for ice packs.

The pool was a big hit, and even though it's not huge, it was a good size/depth to swim and play in. There are plenty of seats/loungers/umbrellas around the pool and you can even 'lifeguard' from the terrace with a drink or cocktail. There was also a bouncy castle and games room, and you could hire bikes from the site too. They offer a 'spa' which is located in a cabin near reception.

We found the owners and staff very pleasant and helpful, and enjoyed a few meals from the restaurant. They have a standard fast food menu (pizzas, burgers) but also have a formulae menu which my husband enjoyed tasting some regional dishes. On Fridays, you can order a rotisserie chicken at lunch and also order pastries and bread in the mornings, though there is a boulangerie in town which offers a wider range. They have a music night once a week, which does get busy, and also events like bingo and films. Low key, family orientated and quiet by 11pm- perfect.

It was super hot when we visited, so we had quite a few days on site, but visited Amboise, Langeais, and Lulu land which our children saw on the way to Amboise and begged us to visit! There are many other places within reach, plus an evening show in Semblancay which we missed, but would like to see next time.

We made use of a late check out on the final day which gave us an easy drive up to Caen for the evening ferry. I think many also use it as a useful stopover for travelling further down and up France. We hope to return.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Addle12 10 reviews from this member

We spent nearly 2 weeks here (a couple in our 50s, on our own). A lovely site, not too big or too small for us, near a small village. We were very warmly welcomed and had a super pitch with drainage, water and electricity. The site partly slopes so make sure you have a wheel wedge or similar. Pitches vary in size, they are not huge, but most are separated by hedges so it does feel private enough.

There were a few other British Dutch and German families on site when we were there.

Toilet blocks were basic but clean and tidy, with free hot water, normal toilet seats and paper provided, but take your own soap for hand washing afterwards. Lots of free hot water for dish washing and laundry. There is a washing machine on site.

As it was June there were few children around so maybe we were spoilt as it was fairly quiet.

The pools were delightful - excellent indoor and outdoor pools, with loungers and parasols, great for hot days, though the pools were only moderately sized so not for serious swimmers.

You can order baguette and croissants for mornings at the office which doubles as a small shop.

On site there is a cafe /bar /restaurant run by the owners/ staff. We ate there a couple of times but the choices and quality of food was not great.

We found many things to do and see just by picking up leaflets in the office.

Locally there is not a lot to see but we had bikes and drove to various attractions in the Loire valley - Tours is the closest city which has enough to see for a day or two, Amboise is not too far to drive - there is a good Aquarium near there. In the other direction is Fleche with a well known zoo. It has very large grounds so lots of walking required.

Overall a well run and well appointed site for a summer break.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smegely 10 reviews from this member

As suspected, we returned here for a second year. They have just retiled the pool and restaurant area, so it's all very neat and tidy. Sanitary blocks still clean and plenty of hot water for showers etc. No soap or means of drying your hands, but toilet roll is provided, and these are UK-style toilets.

Pools still the highlight for our kids (two teens and a ten yr old). The evening entertainment was amusing and stopped by ten o'clock.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smegely 10 reviews from this member

Clean sanitary blocks and plenty of hot water in showers and basins. Toilet paper provided, but not soap or any way of drying your hands. Weirdly have French Virgin Radio playing 24 hours in the sanitary block, which got a bit irritating after a while.

Playground is only tiny, and has sand around it making it quite mucky. But games room is nicely equipped and there are two Boule Pitches as well.

The swimming pools are really the centre piece of the place - really nice, heated outdoor pool with a good waterslide and another indoor pool which is really warm and has a little slide in it. There are shallow areas and deeper areas.

The whole site is pretty small, which makes it nicely friendly.

Bread, croissants etc can be ordered for the morning, 0. 90 for a baguette. There's also a small general shop, everything rather overpriced as you might expect, but good for those essentials you need at short notice.

Freezer available (Free) for refreezing your ice-blocks for cool boxes.

Parts of the site are sloping, and the ground is rather hard and stony. There are quite a lot of young trees providing some shade, and the area round the swimming pool in particular is planted with lovely flowers which are full of bees and butterflies.

Pitches separated by hedges, but not overly hemmed in, the hedges have gaps in.

There's a restaurant and a takeaway. Pizza to take away is from 8. 50.

Nearest Supermarket is a SuperU in Neuille Pont Pierre. It's not massive, but has most things. The campsite owners put up a list of local markets locations and times, well worth visiting at least one.

Good spot for exploring the Loire Valley, and also not far from the A28 so you can get there pretty quick from Calais.

The village is rather lovely despite the occasional agricultural smells from the cows.

For the first time ever, we're considering returning to a campsite a second time.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dunernin 9 reviews from this member

We have used this site once before and were impressed by the friendly welcome of the owners. The site is in need of a little TLC and would not take much to make a huge difference. It was very wet whilst we were there and the site roads were in a bad state having been washed away and full of large potholes. The grass on the pitches was long and being wet made things difficult. The infrastructure looks as if it has been built by a not too good DIY enthusiast.

The restaurant is excellent, offering a good choice at reasonable prices. I do like the site very much and the above negatives are made to be constructive.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalky9 28 reviews from this member

A small-ish, sloping campsite not far from Tours and the A28 autoroute. The pitches themselves are mostly flat, grassy and of a good size. There are plenty of water points.

There are several unisex toilet blocks. They are of a good standard, though the floor was constantly wet.

The site is on the edge of a village which did not appear to have any commerce. There are plenty of places to walk dogs without encountering much traffic.

The on-site restaurant serves reasonably-priced food to eat in or take away.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jg73 28 reviews from this member

Used this site for a stopover on our way further south. Near to motorways. Clean and pleasant site near a small village. Access to the site is via a steepish hill. Reception friendly and helpful. Wifi access was excellent on our pitch, priced at 2 euros for 24 hours.

Cannot comment on restaurant or swimming pools as did not use.

Would use again for a stopover. ACSI site costing 14 euros when we visited.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 67 reviews from this member

Contrary to previous review, we found this site very well kept. The pool area was weed free but there was a wobbly tile. There's also a gymn and a jacuzzi. Hedges newly trimmed, and tidy touring pitches of good size. Huge water pressure at taps and very clean loos and showers.

Cycling is ok on the roads around but paths more for walking than biking. Village has a bakery. Internet access E2 per night or reduced for 7nts. ACSI site

Overall an excellent site

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Moonberry 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at l'arada parc for 11 nights in a mobile home. The mobile home was great. It was spotless and I think we might have been the first people ever to stay in it as everything was new.

The welcome we received on site was also fantastic and any contact I had with the staff was very positive.

The site is a little shabby though. The pool area had weeds growing between the tiles and one or two wobbly tiles. The weather was bad when we were here so we mostly used the indoor pool. This was a great facility but once again could have done with a good clean/update. The shower tray of the shower beside the pool was dirty throughout our stay.

The children's play area was also a little run down. It obviously hadn't been weeded this year and could generally have done with an update.

All in all I think this campsite would be ok for an overnight stopover but is not up to a longer stay, especially if you have young children.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

What a charming little site. Easy to find and not too far from the motorway, we used as an overnight stop and were made most welcome by the owners and settled on to a good sized pitch which had both power and water. Not too busy at this time of year so it was peaceful with Dutch and a few brits making up most of the visitors. We didn't get a chance to try the pool or restaurant, but the toilets and showers were clean and tidy and there is a laundry as previously mentioned plus other services to make your stay comfortable. There is a small shop and bread can be ordered for the following morning. A perfect stop for any of the ports but good enough for a longer stay to relax or explore.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019