Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Saxdale House Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Filey > Saxdale House Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Saxdale House Farm Certificated Site
The Row, Bartindale Road
Hunmanby
Filey
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 0JD
Tel: 01723 892346
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DAVE4560 2 reviews from this member

I would just like to thank all at sandals farm for a great fortnight stay. This site is a real credit to it's owners. Clean. Very tidy. And nothing is to much trouble. Great value fo money and near to the beach ( 5 mins drive )

See you again soon

Dave and Marie Massey.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skintlad 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this great site. Warm welcome from the friendly staff. The showers and toilet block is spotless and kept that way at all times. Very well stocked little shop with very reasonable prices. Our third stay at this lovely little site and will be returning again soon. Perfect location for Filey, Bridlington and Scarborough.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

Easy to book via email. Friendly welcome from warden Stevie who showed us to our pitch and explained where everything was. Good sized well mown field with plenty of space between pitches and large open area in the middle. There are a small number of seasonal caravans in a separate area. There is also a small area I think for those who are C & CC members which has pitches sectioned by hedges. Dog walking area around the edge plus access to field over the road where autograss events are held infrequently. Occasional car and tractor noise and trains heard faintly. It can get very windy, our last night we had to put pop top down on our campervan.

Spotless toilet and shower facilities, need 50p for 10 minute shower. There are three toilets and two showers in both gents and ladies. Thought £16 a night was extremely reasonable especially as it includes EHU.

Good Chinese takeaway in village plus plenty of fish and chip shops in Filey which is a short drive away. Lovely beach walk and cafe at Hunmanby Gap too.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim6666 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 day break at this lovely site. It is in a nice peaceful location, handy for using as a base to explore the east coast. The showers and toilets are absolutely spotless and well maintained. 50p for the showers and it gives a good 10 mins.

The washing up facility is really basic but serves a purpose. There is a well stocked shop on site (only open a couple of hours out of season) and the staff are extremely friendly.

We would definitely recommend this site and will return in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: UpTheMariners82 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic Bank Holiday weekend at this site.

I originally found it online, and sent an email asking for the Bank Holiday prices. I was astonished to find that they don't inflate the price just because it's a public holiday, and no silly '3 nights minimum' rule. I booked it there and then! 3 tent pitches, both with EHU.

The site itself is easy to find, situated not far from the village of Hunmanby. The welcome from Steve, the warden was first class! Shown to our pitch, a full run down of facilities and useful info and a good firm handshake.

The site itself isn't huge, but it's not tiny either- the clever use of fencing and trees make it feel really secluded though. The tent field has 9 or 10 pitches- only 4 with EHU and they are really well spaced and level, with a big area in the middle for kids to play.

There is a water/waste/washup area at the entrance to the tent field which is really handy.

The Toilet facilities are clean, well kept and everything you need- hot showers for 50p for 10 minutes, with a much coveted drying area.

The shop deserves a whole review of its own- talk about well stocked! And it isn't expensive either, like many site shops. The fresh croissants were a hit!

Our only slight minor grumble is that the toilet block isn't very central, but that's no big deal really.

We will be back this year, and our camping companions are already booked to return in summer.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Allfamfun4 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend at Saxdale House. Fabulous site with friendly warden/owners.

On site shop is a great bonus and the fresh baguettes on Sunday morning were beautiful.

Facilities were spotlessly clean as was site itself.

Great base for visiting surrounding coastal resorts.

Hunmanby is a lovely village will all the amenities you could ask for, we ate at The Cottage pub on the Friday night and found the food to be good and reasonably priced - the landlord was very accomodating as we didn't arrive til 7. 50pm but he was happy to find us a table.

Good area for exercising dogs is provided across the lane.

We were pitched next to the road which did have some noise from passing tractors/cars but this didn't bother us at all. An area where our lads could have kicked their rugby ball around would have been an added bonus but they soon amused themselves with boules instead!

We will definitely be vistiing Saxdale House again, although I would probably avoid peak weeks due to there only being 2 showers and 3 toilets.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monks 15 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd visit to Saxdale, we love it here. The owners Jonathan and Karen are friendly as is Steve the Warden. Facilities are very clean. Excellent base to explore North Yorkshire and the coast.

The shop on site is well stocked with essentials, there are local shops in Hunmanby and a large Tesco in Filey. A walk on the beach at Hunmanby Gap is recommended.

Can't wait to return in 2015.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JackieAJ 21 reviews from this member

Wow! What a lovely site in a very peaceful location. Very friendly owners and a warden living on the site, who even offered to help people put up their awnings and site their caravans then they arrived.

Facilities excellent, even had a Farm Shop which sold a huge choice of food/camping equipment and toys etc at extremely competitive prices. No need to do a supermarket shop before you arrive. Daily newspapers can be ordered for the following day (with no extra charge) and the book swop was excellent and in aid of charity. Also, French baguettes and croissants could be ordered to be baked fresh for the following morning. Fantastic service.

Site was a 20 minute walk from Hunmanby with a variety of facilities including 3 public houses. Also, within a 15 minute walk (including a short cut across the field opposite) brought you to the Railway station. We had a super train ride to Scarborough for £8. 20 return for two adults.

For those walkers amongst us, there was a delightful walk on public footpaths to Filey, about 3-4 miles away. Then there is an hourly bus service back to the village. Excellent day out.

All in all a highly recommended site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millet 31 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site after an absence of 4 years, site was as good as I remembered it.

Well laid out with many pitches sectioned off with the use of laurel hedging. Two top fields for caravans and tents, with ehu, plenty of room on the pitches.

Shower block consists of two showers, coin operated at £0. 50 each for 10mins, three toilets and three hand basins, hair dryer available for £0. 50(we didn't use this so can't comment on the operating

Time).

Small shop which is reasonably priced.

Village is about 20mins gentle walk away with several pubs to visit.

Recommended

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Medcass 1 review from this member

Stayed at this site three times now. Cannot fault it as we relatively new to camping we found all staff very welcoming and friendly, very approachable, ther is a very reasonably priced shop on site too and if needed you can order papers and croissants. The showers are 50p and you have ample time to shower in the time and they are always very clean. The pitches are very spacious and clean quite site. Will Deffo be returning.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7362 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019