Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Monks Cottage Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Faversham > Monks Cottage Caravan Park Reviews

Monks Cottage Caravan Park
Leaveland
Faversham
Kent   (Browse area)
ME13 0NP
Tel: 01233 740419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: March1st - November 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Matt94 28 reviews from this member

We use Monks cottage a few times a year, as its local to us and an immaculately kept site, I turned up Thursday 18th at 1-30pm, so I could have a choice of pitches,

I was surprised to find that I was the only caravan on site,

over the whole weekend the site was only half full which was very unusual especially how the weather was brilliant, we have already booked up May bank holiday.

The Red lion pub is a 20 minute walk through the woods, its a bit tricky to find the first time, but worth the walk as there food is always good, you can also take dogs in there, it's too dangerous to walk along the road to the pub as its a fast road with no path.

The site pitches are £20 a night and have crept up slightly over the years, but its £20 a night all year, so while a lot of sites are charging £30/£40 a night for bank holidays, at Monks its only £20.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julia-birch 2 reviews from this member

What a gem of a campsite. We stayed here end route to France. Tranquil and so beautiful kept.

The owner is so helpful and friendly. You have to take your rubbish but that is no problem. It's nice to go to a campsite with mo smelly bins.

The loveliest campsite we have ever stayed on. Thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Madfish435 2 reviews from this member

This place is just lovely. Not a big site, but beautifully laid out. The owners are delightful and I can highly recommend.

We will definitely visit again. Such a relaxing, tranquil place in the valley

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J+JJ 9 reviews from this member

Overnight stay prior to ferry crossing. Site very quiet, clean toilets although were up a slight incline to get to!

No general waste/rubbish bins. Slight difficulty in finding site & on a quiet downhill road.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dynadot 5 reviews from this member

Once again back to Monks cottage Faversham! to stay for the Faversham beer festival! Well what can I say? The festival was outstanding as always, with good planning for Families and adults and nothing but fun! may it continue for many years.

And now for Monks cottage I Invited six other people to stay at monks cottage this year for the festival 1 motor home 2 large coachman caravans and a 10. 9mtr Winniebago motor home, I phoned to book and the most helpful owners made sure that everything was put into place so that we could all be together on site with plenty of pitch room for all.

The large Winniebago had people on site giving it the once over with its large side pull outs and its outstanding inside,

Monks cottage is an Outstanding site all round and I would like to thank the owners for all there help and I strongly recommend that you give it a chance.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dynadot 5 reviews from this member

4th year at the beer festival in Faversham with great music food and beers. But the cream of the break is staying at this great caravan site, 'Monks cottage'

It's quiet so you can get over your hangover! you can get up when you like knowing that the owners are there for you if needed.

Thank you again Monks cottage and look forward to the next visit. 'Good luck' to all the family. Mr & Mrs Russell.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amandagray 2 reviews from this member

This is one of the best caravan sites we have ever visited. Easy to get to from the M2 and central to Ashford, Faversham and Canterbury. Dover was also easy to get to.

The quiet country roads in wonderful countryside made walking our dog each night a pleasure. Lovely clean toilet block, well maintained grass and site.

We like smaller sites with no children as we have a dog. Despite all the recent news about operation stack for trucks heading to Dover, we saw very little traffic this week and moved around with no delays.

We will definitely use Monks Cottage Caravan Park again.

Lovely people, lovely site. Must have a go at lawn bowls next time. Thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Steve911 7 reviews from this member

We have been here a couple of times and look forward to coming back. The site is very well kept. Tidy, grass immaculate, and the box hedges with arches cut in look great. The owners are very friendly, allowing you to pitch up and come to see them when you are ready.

There are two toilet and shower cubicles combined, showers are a £1 meter for 5 min which is plenty of time and the toilets are very clean. The area is great. At the main road you can catch a bus to Faversham, which saves driving and allows you to have a pint in the town.

Also from the site just out side there is a woodlands with a public foot path to the village green and another good pub called the Red Lion which serves good beer and food, or if you like to walk further there is a walk to the rose and crown which serves excellent food and beer.

The best thing about this site is the owners do not charge silly prices for every item you bring. One set fee for van plus awning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Senojms93 1 review from this member

Don't be put off by any negative remarks people have made on here. This really is a beautiful little site; so well looked after and if you are looking for somewhere relaxing, spacious and fuss-free - this is a little gem.

There are no facilities for children so I guess that deters young families but also contributes to the quiet, relaxed feel of the site. Absolutely loved our 4 night stay here and are definitely going to go back again.

It has a really laid back feel which was a big tick in our books - rock up when you like on your arrival date, and leave when you want on your departure date. The owners are really friendly and very respectable of your privacy and don't hassle or check-up on campers on site - very much left to it - another big tick!

Facilities are good, basic but always left very clean - don't forget to take a few £1's for the 6 minute showers. Phone reception is very limited on the site but for me, this was fabulous!

REALLY REALLY enjoyed staying here. Thank you Monks Cottage!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wherenext 32 reviews from this member

Good Points :-

1. Very well tended pitching area with large spacious pitches

2. No time restrictions for arrival or departure

3. Area is very quiet and accessible for the North Kent attractions

Bad Points:-

1. You have to dispose of your own rubbish, a first for me in 30 years caravanning! The tip is 3 miles away in Faversham

2. There is NO hot water for washing crockery or clothes. I can understand clothes but dirty dishes?

3. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets. Each shower unit has 1 toilet inside it (or vice versa).

4. T. V. Reception and internet rec. Is awful. TV leads can be bought for £10 from owners

5. Pitches are not flat as previous reveiwers have said. The site is set in a bowl and whilst some pitches are flat there are numerous ones that aren't. Not a big problem but take levellers just in case.

Putting an awning up and having a shower a day will set you back £20 for 2 people or £19 if you're cosy with shower sharing.

Conclusion - For this money the cons outweigh the pros. I really cannot understand how people can give this site 9 or 10 out of 10. What would you do if it had hot water and rubbish disposal, give it 11? Please get a perspective.

This was a good tidy site but no better than a good CL or CS type site and overpriced at that.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019