Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Home Farm Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Essex > Saffron Walden > Home Farm Fishery > Reviews

Home Farm Fishery
Little Walden
Saffron Walden
Essex   (Browse area)
CB10 1XE
Tel: 01799 524038
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 van site plus rally field
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnscrivy 10 reviews from this member

 A great site for just chilling or fishing in their two well stocked lakes,

Basic facilities, water and waste etc,

Very very clean toilet,

Paul and Amanda the owners were very friendly,

It's a slightly sloping site,

Very close by is the Crown inn that does excellent home cooked food,

It was lovely to wake up in the morning and hear the fish splashing and the pigeons coo , and not a car to be heard 10 / 10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Andy P3103 4 reviews from this member

 We've been camping at Home Farm for many years as a couple and with family & friends. Always a lovely welcome. The toilet hut was replaced last year which is a massive improvement.

The site has two wonderful well-stocked fishing lakes. It's great fishing for novices and keen fishermen too.

It's mostly used by caravans with plenty of room for tents too. It's mostly an older crowd and it's certainly a chilled vibe rather than rowdy.

There is a lovely pub 'The Crown' five/ten minutes walk which has a great menu and a nice courtyard to enjoy a summer pint or two.

Saffron Walden is a ten-minute drive away with supermarkets/shops etc and a town square with market & tourist office.

It's a beautiful site to enjoy some downtime 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Angeldust1 1 review from this member

 Basic, but pleasant and quiet site, with friendly owners. No real facilities (a water point, and a very basic 'Fisherman's toilet' + basin in a shed) so only really suitable for those with all the kit to self sustain, or those who don't need anything else (I was the latter on this occasion). I'm guessing this site is mostly for those who fish.

Met first owner as I passed the house on my way in. He was polite and friendly and told me to pitch anywhere. I took this literally and pitched my small 1 man tent right by the fishing lake, as it was empty and nicer than pitching on the large field occupied by a few large Motorhomes.

As I was pitching the second owner (also friendly) drove up and politely mentioned I wasn't supposed to camp by the lake. I offered to move, but kindly he said it was no problem to stay where I was (which I appreciated). I was only staying a single night, and leaving quite early the next day.

Good owners and what is there is well maintained. Anyone fussy probably won't want to use the toilet, so this site is better for those with Motorhomes / Caravans who can look after themselves. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mel8ra 3 reviews from this member

 It's the most pleasant camp site we have gone to, the Farmer Paul and his wife are so lovely and friendly.

The camp site is kept clean and the grass cut, so it's become our regular site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mel8ra 3 reviews from this member

 As always a very welcoming visit to the Lake with Farmer Paul collecting the fee with always a good laugh and a joke.

We will definitely be returning.

It's clean clean well cut grass no litter around. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mel8ra 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved our stay, we highly recommend the sight. We loved feeding the young goslings and the area for the beautiful walks, views.

The Farmer who collects the camp charge is a wonderful very friendly man.

This was our second visit and won't be our last. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Vwt3h2 1 review from this member

 A great stay with a big open clean field and great fishing. Nice guys that run it always happy to chat. Quiet and Peaceful location.

There are no site facilities bar water but this is all you need, if you come with a toilet tent, well stocked food and a power pack or 2 (i didn't as camping and fishing is away of cutting yourself off from the outside world) then alls ok,

The pub was nice just a short walk. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Valeri 1 review from this member

 Spent 7 nights at Home farm on a fishing trip. Lovely well kept field but you do need blocks to level the van. Family run, would

Recommend with no hesitation. Short distance from Saffron Walden with plenty to see. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Polly555 1 review from this member

 Well what a fantastic place this is, and right on our doorstep, every time we visit we feel like we have had a lovely holiday. And thatís just the fishing side of it.

The most beautiful lakes, small and large, sooooo many fish, I have never seen so many, my son and grandson caught 48 in one day!

I havenít met the guys that run this place but my son says they are great people, the grounds are tidy grass cut,

There are no amenities like cafe hut or anything so take lunch with you. And the toilet letís it down Which is a shame, but Clearly aimed at fisherman, . Lol.

There is fresh drinking water outlet. , but there is a pub just diwn the rod in the village.

Saffron walden is only a couple of miles away with small unique shops and cafes etc.

It is so very relaxing and tranquil, absolutely beautiful. , and for just £8 per adult and £5 per child for a full dayís fish, And I believe £7 per night to camp, well. My family are hooked ! Thanks guys. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CarolPaul 10 reviews from this member

 This is a little gem of a site.

When I read the reviews I was put off it in a big way. We almost changed our mind at the last minute and stayed at home.

The site is quiet with plenty of room between the units. It's a pitch-up-anywhere site - I like those.

There are views over the fishing lakes and the countryside and you'll wake up in the morning to the sound of birdsong mixed with the occasional vintage aircraft overhead from Duxford.

If you expect a site to have all the latest and best facilities; this one is certainly not for you.

Nearby Saffron Walden is worth a visit. It is full of esoteric shops and quirky cafes and restaurants, we loved it.

The drive to the site from our mid-Essex home was challenging. Maybe next time we'll follow the M11, that's bound to be easier. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Home Farm Fishery child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Home Farm Fishery?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Home Farm Fishery dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saffron Walden      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2653 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement