Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashe Farm Caravan & Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Taunton > Ashe Farm Caravan & Campsite Reviews

Ashe Farm Caravan & Campsite
Thornfalcon
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 5NW
Tel: 01823 443764
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nwragg 3 reviews from this member

 Great location not far from M5 J25. Lovely site, nice welcome, good pitch sizes and looked well kept everywhere.

Just the one night this time but would definitely consider a longer stay on an occasion. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John banks 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Plenty of space between pitches. Very family friendly site.

Restricted facilities due to Covid 19 but didn't have a problem using them. Very clean shower and toilet blocks.

Will definitely be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alibannister 2 reviews from this member

 Cracking clean and friendly family dog friendly site.

2 fields one for groups with smashing playground and one with hardstandings and plenty of grass pitches.

Showers are lovely and warm and clean.

Nice informal site good for quick stop off and also central for visiting both coasts.

Definitely a returning site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisdotcom 4 reviews from this member

 5th visit to this site, as always able to enjoy ourselves and travel to explore the surrounding area easily as nice and central,

We have stayed before, and find lower field best option as very open for grandkids and dogs to run.

Showers and toilets always very clean and well maintained.

Highly recommend this site for families or groups to gather as we have done previously. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davethedog 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site with our campervan and awning. It is a lovely site, friendly, relaxed and peaceful.

It is ideally situated for visiting Somerset or as a stop over on a longer journey.

The facilities were excellent, highly maintained and clean. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

 I camped at Ashe Farm for two nights in August while visiting east Devon. The site ticks my boxes - wooded location, good pitching areas, clean loos, dogs allowed and a very friendly welcome.

The charming resident owner is Sarah. She was helpful when I first phoned and gave me a warm welcome when I arrived.

I was able to pick my own non-electric pitch. Tent campers can drive across the grass and pitch beside their cars.

The grass was very dry on my visit and the ground hard after the long dry summer. But both the grass and the gravel pitches looked well maintained. There is a very gentle slope to most of the grass pitches.

There are two fields, one near the reception and beyond it a larger field. There are showers, loos and dishwashing in the nearer field, plus toilets in the further field. I didn't use the showers but the facilities blocks were clean and supplies were replenished.

The location makes a good base for exploring Somerset and east Devon. The site has very quick access to Junction 25 of the M5 motorway and Taunton town centre. The site is well signposted from the A358 and the access road looks easy for touring caravans. The barrier needs a code to enter the site.

The site is bordered by mature trees and hedges and there are smaller trees dotted about so there is plenty of shelter from the wind and the sun. There is a fenced off play ground and space for children to run and play.

There are EHU points around the edges of the fields. During my stay there was a mix of tents, camper vans and caravans.

The site is very family-friendly and thus is quiet at night. There was virtually no background noise from the nearby road. In the morning, there was distant barking by dogs in an RSPCA rescue centre but this was not intrusive.

In summary, this nice campsite is very tidy with clean if old-fashioned facilities, in a good location with a friendly resident owner. The tariff is very reasonable too - great value, in fact.

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzamum 2 reviews from this member

 I came here with my 2 children to meet up with some other families. The site was chosen, as was easily accessible from motorway and being somewhat central to accommodate the different locations we were all coming from. It has 2 fields. The upper one seems much busier, but that's probably because the shower block is there and has hard standing for the caravans. The lower field has toilets and washing up facilities as well, but no shower, but I didn't mind the walk up to the other field. Sarah, the owner comes around every morning to collect money and is very helpful and friendly

What I liked: -easy access from motorway- only 10 minutes away

- lots of space for the kids to run around and play/playground

- dog friendly

- cheap

- clean showers and toilets

- very close to Taunton and many shops

- loads of trees for shade

- drinking water taps- water was delicious!

What I didn't like: - constant road noise as dual carriageway runs close to it and motorway too.

- the barking of the dogs in the nearby RSPCA kennels, only because I feel sorry for them. It wasn't constant though.

Would I come back here? Yes I would 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bigsmudge 7 reviews from this member

 OK for one night stopover. Found the hard standing a bit grubby in the pitch allocated to us needs new gravel. I would have preferred to choose as there were empty pitches. Also under a large tree, and might sound moany but with a canvas elevating roof getting rid of bird poo, gum from the leaves etc is a pain if not necessary. Minimal interaction about the site other than pitch marked and when money will be collected. Lady on the next pitch facing us as she was parked the wrong way around. Her dog wandering as not on a lead. Functional as last night of our tour but would not choose it for a longer stay. Fair amount of road noise but to be expected as convenient for motorway. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

 A nice site.

Just outside Tauton, easy to get to, only on a side road for the last few hundred yards.

A lot of the site is grass but there are quite a few hard standings.

Site very relaxed, no constant noise from site mowers/ rubbishy collection, still a very neat tidy site though.

Shower block modern and clean. Showers do not have any annoying timer buttons.

Buses are just a few hundred yards away. Number 30, 54 and 51 go straight into Taunton.

West Somerset Railway is an easy drive away even in a motor home ( at the time of my visit motor homes can park opposite the car park on the road ). 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 16 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for one night. Used hard standing pitch near the entrance with electric hook up. Entry to the site is via an electric security barrier. Pitch was a good size for our 7m motorhome.

Set in a rural position. There was some barking from the local RSPCA kennels.

Toilet block very clean and tidy with everything working. Could possibly do with more/better lighting.

All in all a very pleasant stay. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashe Farm Caravan & Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashe Farm Caravan & Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ashe Farm Caravan & Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Taunton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3194 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement