Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Cabellou Plage

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Concarneau > Camping Le Cabellou Plage Reviews

Camping Le Cabellou Plage
Le Cabellou
Concarneau
Brittany   (Browse area)
29900
Tel: 00 33 02 98 97 37 41
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: 07/04 To 15/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Adriancollins 6 reviews from this member

Nice campsite, we were in a nice sheltered location although some of the pitches closer to the beach seemed smaller, and more cramped (Very windy too)

Loved the pool, although it was rather cold!. Water slides were great as well.

The cafe only opened in the afternoon (not lunchtime) and the only food it did was in the evening. Fantastic pizzas, but a shame we weren't able to buy a sandwich or snack at lunchtimes.

Location isn't bad. It is possible to walk into Concarneau via a windy path, can't quite remember but think it is about 3 miles? (There is a bus) Nearby view of the Bay is lovely, beaches aren't all that great unless you explore around the headland a bit more. (I hired a bike to do so) - there is a bar / cafe about 3 minutes walk away too. Hypermarket is only a couple of miles drive away.

Concarneau itself is stunning, especially the old town. We were there for the festival of the 'Blue Nets' which is really good with Live Music on a big stage etc, mostly free (http://www. Festivaldesfiletsbleus. Fr)

The staff were a bit frosty and unhelpful at times. It was the only thing really that spoiled the site for us.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jokar125 4 reviews from this member

Our second year running at this site. The site is very clean and tidy the shower blocks are immaculate all the time with plenty of hot water and the swimming pool is fantastic with its different sections for the children and the water slides also allow adults on(bonus).

The services are very good (we had electric hook up)

There is so much to do locally, we found the most amazing sandy coves just a short drive away and of course concarneau town is worth the visit on market days, I would take the ferry to the castle rather than try and find parking in the town, it's cheaper to get the ferry (free parking) than paying for town parking.

Benodet is also worth a visit with it's Blackpool type beach. Close by to cabello are a few supermarkets for all your needs.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlesarah 1 review from this member

The campsite was very clean and well maintained with a lovely pool which wasn't too crowded. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. The pitch was excellent a good size and in very good shape.

The only problem was with some local youths who were very noisy and anti-social playing music ridiculously loud, racing cars down the street shouting etc etc. The owners called the police who wouldn't do anything so it just went on all night. In the end the owners refunded our remaining nights and we left as did a number of others.

This is not the owner's fault but just be cautious about taking s pitch at the bottom of the site unless you don't like sleeping! A real shame as otherwise you couldn't fault this campsite

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glovern 3 reviews from this member

We spent a week at this site this summer with a group of family and friends with a wide age range the youngest was 2 and the oldest in their 50's. There was plenty to keep everyone happy on and around the site including bouncy castles, table tennis and petanque all of which were free of charge. The toilet block was clean as was the swimming pool area and the laundry was good value. The local area had plenty of places to visit on the coast and in land.

Some of the pitches are bigger than others and are not necessarily flat - ours had 2 or 3 significant dips. We also found it very difficult to get our pegs secured into the ground due to tree roots. We were surpised to see a number of dogs running around off leash and some owners obviously did not believe in cleaning up after them. That is not to say that there was dog mess everywhere but was a concern for us with small children around.

Staff were all friendly, spoke English well and were knowledgeable about the local area.

In summary a very nice site which we not hesitate to revisit.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Grannygill 3 reviews from this member

We pulled into this site in desperation, having driven from Bordeaux! What a find! It is SPOTLESS! The facilities are first class and are constantly being cleaned. The small but friendly reception area is manned by helpful, multi lingual staff. The pool is lovely and warm, whilst keeping the cleanliness you will have come to expect. The restaurant is very small and sadly limited to pizzas and burgers, so if - like us you do not eat meat - don't bother. That said, we were so taken with this site that we are returning in 2014 with our daughter, son in law & their children.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lesliehs 13 reviews from this member

We had read the reviews of this site and decided it would be the one we headed for during our trip to Brittany. We had not booked but the friendly staff soon had us on a great pitch with all facilities including a tap which took UK type hoselock fittings, so no worries filling the Motorhome up.

The beach is just a few minutes walk away and was sandy and safe, with some great views of the bay across to Concarneau. The local beach side bars were nice but that was all that was there. The showers were among the best we have used, clean, available and free hot water. The whole site was very tidy. A bonus for us was the many other beaches within cycle distance, and of course the local bus which went to Concarneau, just 1 euro! We also did the coastal path walk from Concarneau to Cabellou, quite long but worth every footstep. The shop had very little apart from the basics and bread had to be pre ordered. The bar was basic but the food was fine, quite a selection but some items were not available when we ate there. The pool is very nice but no lifeguards and not enough sunloungers. Wi-fi is free but is very hard to get a good connection, but that is being picky. We loved this site and eventually stayed 7 nights.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilbywaters 1 review from this member

This was our first camping holiday to France (two families 4 adults and 4 children in total). The journey to Brittany was great no problems at all on Brittany Ferries. The campsite was just what we were looking for and cannot rate it enough. The pitches were of a good size and even though we were located close to the toilet block there was no problem with noise. The toilets and showers were spotless and plenty of them. There was always hot water for showers and washing up. The only thing missing was hand soap by the sinks. The swimming pool was fantastic the children aged 4, 5, 6 and 6 were in the pool everyday. It was clean, a little cold a times, but great fun. The new water slides are superb. There was however a shortage of sunbeds in the afternoon. The poolside bar was expensive and very limited in terms of food and opening times so eating at the tent was the best option. We did not use the campsite shop as the large supermarkets were less than 2 miles away. The campsite is located next to a small beach (very pretty). We only went once as the sand was a little course and the sea very cold and the children loved the pool so much! On site there is a big playing field, boules area and inflatables for the children. A great facility but just missing a few benches and tables for the adults!

This campsite is excellent and we would certainly return. We will definitely go camping again in France and hope to find other campsites with superb facilities like this one.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulcocteau 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights while touring Brittany and were surprised at how nice the site was. Very friendly reception staff and extremely helpful giving a wide choice of locations to pitch.

Easy access to a nearby beach a short walk away, lots of walking paths and cycling routes and only a short distance to the walled town of Concarneau across the bay.

Very clean facilities, lots of showers and toilets and a large dishwashing area. A good choice of sunny or shaded pitches available. A nice swimming pool and cafe area with wifi and reasonably priced meals available in the evenings.

Croissants and baguettes need to be ordered the day before for collection the following morning from the small shop. The shop is quite expensive but there is an Intermarche about a mile and a half away towards Concarneau.

In all a nice site which we would happily visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5OnTour 22 reviews from this member

Lovely location, right on the coast and about 40 minutes walk to Concarneau along the coastal footpath and then across on a little foot ferry. The coastal footpath also continues in the other direction and is ideal for an evening walk.

This has to be the cleanest campsite we have ever stayed at - it is immaculate and the two cleaning ladies were cleaning all day long, always with a happy 'bonjour', even polishing the taps at the washing up sinks. There has obviously been a lot of money spent on the campsite (I think they are trying to upgrade their star rating) and this is reflected in the brand new facilities - toilets, showers, washing facilities, etc. The team working at the site seem to have a real pride in it.

When we arrived the grass on the pitches was quite long as it had been raining heavily for several days, but the following day it cleared up and the gardener came round on his mower and offered to mow the grass next to the van for us.

As it was before the school holidays the site was quiet and we managed to get a pitch looking out towards the sea. When we arrived the lady on reception asked if we'd like a sea view and then marked the pitches which were available so we could choose the one we liked most. We conversed in French but I did hear her talking to another customer in very good English. They also provide a map of the area which is useful if you are cycling or walking around locally.

The supermarket is a few minutes drive away or about 10 minutes by bike (along quiet side roads and an urban VTT trail). The boulangerie is nearer.

Concarneau old town, which is where the foot ferry takes you to is quite touristy but charming in it's own way - lots of shops selling souvenirs and also some lovely biscuits and chocolates! There is a market on a Friday morning until 1pm.

This is a lovely campsite and we would certainly stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Onegodders 1 review from this member

Our first trip to France, and I think we have been spoiled, a cleaner site will be very difficult to find.

My partner is very picky about cleanliness, and in the two weeks there, her only complaint was about a mess left by another holiday maker.

The toilet/shower block is spotless, as is the pot wash area. There is a small laundry with 3 washers and two driers with ironing board too.

We were early season so the site was relatively quiet so got great customer service, and help with a self inflicted problem, not for this forum.

The local super markets are a drive away, but not too far, the local boulangers are a bit of a trek, but only 5 mins in car for the morning croissants.

Just outside the campsite entrance is a pizza maker, not a restaurant, but makes great pizza's.

We spoke to a nice Irish couple who travel the area in a motor home and always gravitate back to this site, and have been using it for the last four years, due to it's cleanliness.

Would I recommend this site, YES.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Concarneau      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3933 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019