Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Plough On The Hill

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > The Plough On The Hill > Reviews

The Plough On The Hill
West Allerdean
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2TD
Tel: 01289 387 597
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We`re delighted to advise the caravan site at this pub is reopening for 2021 onwards after being closed for several years. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this pub has changed hands and as from January 2017 will no longer offer motorhome or caravanning pitches. It is still open as a pub, just not a caravan site.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tyke-ess 8 reviews from this member

 What a find! The site is approx 3 miles off the A1 and maybe 5 miles from Berwick Upon Tweed, where you will find Morrison's, Tesco & Asda as well as other shops, pubs & restaurants and of course the city walls. The site is perfectly placed for getting to Bamburgh, Seahouses, Holy Island and more.

The site is a CL so only has toilet facilities, located in the pub, a key is provided for when the pub is closed, there is a CDP behind the pub. The field is level, grassy & surrounded by trees & shrubs.

We received a warm friendly welcome from Julie, Trevor and their Team, nothing was too much trouble. In the porch you will find Tourist Information for various local attractions.

The meals in the pub are great, there is a good menu along with a daily specials board. All food is cooked to order and there are two eating areas either side of the main bar area.

A few little pointers:

Could do with a towel rail or hook in both ladies & Gents toilets.

No obvious place to empty grey water.

Taps in Elsan point need securing to wall.

We will definitely be returning soon☺ 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 Our second visit a lovely little CL stop over on the way to Scotland. There are no washing up facilities or showers. The toilets are at the side of the pub and you have a key for 24 hour use. The staff are friendly, helpful, and good company. The pitches are grass but have electric up and fresh water and chemical disposal. There are no shops in the vicinity but it is in a good spot for sight seeing the area by car. The pub serves very good food it was full when we were there mid week. We spent a lovely evening with other visitors and local people. We will be back the next time we go to Scotland 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Apilking 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site and a great pub with superb food. Very handy for Berwick and Coldstream. We had 5 nights there and great weather. Will definitely go again.

Loos are in the pub with key supplied. No shower but nice and clean & warm.

Site is flat with easy access, entrance is easy to miss but you can turn in the pub carpark 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigyin247 18 reviews from this member

 We were doing a small tour down the East coast and decided to wander across the border to Berwick Upon Tweed. A nice town that like so many other towns full of pound shops which is a real shame. It was a roasting hot day and I looked up sites locally using my 'caravan buddy' app and I found this gem.

We called ahead and they had space. On arrival it was like a scene from a BBC drama, local pub, locals drinking stranger walks in.

To be fair the welcome was warm and the beer very wet so I had arrived in bliss. We sat in the lounge and had some drinks watched the F1 and the owner offered us up the menu.

Food - 10/10 ( the roast was just like your gran made)

Facilities:

It is basic, you are using the toilets in the pub. There are no showers so you need to use your own. That is the only downside. The beer and the hosting more than makes up ! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Shredders 1 review from this member

 First visited The Plough by chance on a drive about two years ago. Stopped for a meal and noticed the CL. Eventually stayed at the CL August 2013 and what a great decision! We went with another two couples and we all agree that the weekend was just about the best we have ever had. The hosts were wonderful and we took advantage of the pub and had great beer, truly wonderful food and many, many laughs. This place has everything you need; beautiful location, five minutes from the A1 and Berwick, great food on the doorstep and guaranteed smiles all round from the hosts and staff. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Petejohno 1 review from this member

 Looked for somewhere on the Borders which was handy for both coast and inland. Found a gem of a sight. 10 minutes to Holy Island and Eyemouth and 20 minutes to Kelso and then the lochs. Mine hosts are incredibly friendly as are all the locals. Rest assured this is not a site next to the 'lads or happy hour' crowd. On site you didn't know you was next door to the pub. Pub served good beer and excellent food. We had both, for the bar meal we chose the delicious steak baps with salad ) and for the restaurant meal had the works, enjoyed all the food, which is cooked to order, not microwaved. Tractors passing during the day, but what do you expect when you're on the edge of the Cheviots. We toured during the day and for the evening it was to the pub, using their excellent wi fi we reported to the family on our adventures. We'll definitely return. A word of advice is to throw away your tourist guides and ask the locals in the pub were to go, you'll find some brilliant sites and places. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ROGLANFBS 1 review from this member

 We recently spent two nights at this small site and enjoyed every minute of it. The major factor here is the pub and the staff who run it. It is very relaxed and friendly and run very well indeed. The beer and the food were excellent, the service second to none, and the prices reasonable. I cannot comment on the toilet as we were self sufficient in our motor-home. As a motorcycle enthusiast this site is perfectly located (approximately 5 miles) from Berwick Speedway which gave us a great night out.

To sum up, we liked the site, loved the staff, the pub, the other friendly customers, and really enjoyed the local town and its facilities.

We will return! 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Regmurray1 3 reviews from this member

 Second time at this site. 1st time September 2012. This time spent three days here in mid March, rain, sleet and snow, frozen water stand pipe but it didnít spoil the experience. The site itself is fairly level with good TV reception for both terrestrial and satellite. Evergreen trees on the North East side give a good windbreak from any inclement weather. The welcome in the Plough Inn was second to none! Warm open fire, friendly hosts (Julie & Trevor) and excellent food (prepared to order by Trevor). The information suggests that Wi-Fi is available on site but unless you are very close to the Inn you will not get it. I spoke to Julie regarding this and suggested that they arrange the installation of a couple of Wi-Fi boosters. All in all a delightful site which we will definitely visit again. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Plough On The Hill child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Plough On The Hill?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Plough On The Hill dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4028 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement