Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Kirchzarten

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Kirchzarten > Camping Kirchzarten Reviews

Camping Kirchzarten
Dietenbacher Strasse 17
Kirchzarten
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: +49 (0)7661 90 40 910
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigtentfamily 2 reviews from this member

This is the second year we have camped in Camping Kirchzarten. It is a very large campsite with excellent facilities. If you are bringing a big tent (as we were), email to ask about pitch sizes - they will be very helpful and are happy to communicate in English if your German isn't great. The first year we were given a selection of pitches to choose from which were big enough for us. The second year we picked our own pitch. It is a busy family site in high season because it is so good. Some parts of the site are busier than others and might feel very crowded. Our pitch was quite far away from the lovely family shower rooms and I think that made it a quieter area of the campsite. From our pitch you could hear a fairly busy road but it didn't bother us much. It can get very hot in August, so if you are emailing to ask about pitch sizes, it would also be worth asking if there is a pitch with a tree close by for shade.

This is one of the best campsites we have ever been to. The reception staff are multilingual and very helpful.

The campsite toilets and showers are kept spotlessly clean - there are cleaners in several times daily and late into the evening. There are excellent washing up facilities and decent washing machines and tumble driers - buy tokens at reception.

The swimming pool complex next door is free to use and is fantastic! We were in there on many of our holiday days as we had lovely hot weather.

There is a lovely walk / cycle along a path by a stream which leads into the forest via large fields of corn. There is a nice play park in the forest. There is also a lovely shady and sandy play park in the campsite. My younger children loved it and spent quite a long time in there.

Included in your stay is the Konus card which gives free travel on trains, trams and buses in the local area - if you want you can travel as far as Basel in Switzerland for free!

Kirchzarten is a beautiful town. Steimle bakery - a very short walk from the campsite - makes amazing cakes. We bought a whole Shwarzwalderkirschtorte for my daughters birthday. Totally delicious!

You can travel on the train to Tittisee - a mountain lake and very beautiful, full of shops selling cuckoo clocks and other lovely tourist stuff.

Freiburg is a great day out, as are the two cable cars you can visit - from the top of Feldburg you can see all the way to the Alps on a clear day. Steinwassen park is a fantastic day out - great rides, toboggan's that you control the speed of yourself - and amazing views of trees in the mountains.

We love this campsite - if the journey wasn't quite so long we would come every year. But it is a very long way away from the UK so we may not come back for a few years now.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steviebh 1 review from this member

This is our second time camping here in 4years and still very impressed. The site is well run and the staff speak English. Pitches are well maintained with the larger pitches with plenty of room for a caravan and car and a tent. We had a little problem with rowdy neighbours but were dealt with very quickly after our complaints. They took no nonsense and they left. The site is very family orientated with superb pool next door, free to campers, which is used by the local towns folk. The lifeguards take no nonsense either. Lots of whistles heard through out the day. Situated in the southern part of the Black Forest Freibourg is only a few miles away as is Europa Park and Steinwassen park. Both excellent parks catering for all ages.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ejon1971 3 reviews from this member

Superb site, offering a 'big campsite' feel whilst only having around 500 pitches. Pitches are generally quite large and most are neatly ordered. The campsite is brilliantly maintained, wash blocks are in superb order and regularly maintained and there are 3 spread across the site. Showers are free, plentiful hot water for dishes and a number of washing machines are dotted around the site.

There is a good sized playground for children at the centre of the campsite with a number of table tennis tables. Access to the adjacent pool complex is free and offers sunbathing areas as well as swimming, diving, larking around on slides, etc for all ages. The cost of the campsite is very reasonable (around 50 euros a night for a family of five with tent + electricity). Freiburg, Feldberg, Titisee are all very close by and the free train and bus tickets you receive upon arrival make travelling to these exceptionally easy.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Durhamwasp 11 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in the beautiful black forest, ideally located for exploring using the Konus free travel card and also for hiking and cycling.

Good sized pitches, very clean and high quality shower, toilet & washing facilities as well as fridge freezers.

Fantastic swimming pool right next to the campsite that is open for long hours so you can come and go, it got busy but never too busy! The kids play area is also good, and the winner is the Kids shower/toilet block - all built to for a smaller person!

There are 2 supermarkets (Edeka and Aldi) in the town, about 10mins walk away as well as several nice restaurants.

Campsite staff were very helpful, and the site has a very international and friendly feel about it, as we had German, Dutch and Spanish neighbours at our pitch!

Will definitely go back, one of the best I have visited in several trips to France, Belgium, Germany, Switz, UK.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pooh and Gruffalo 23 reviews from this member

We stayed in July for 3 nights. We have a motorhome and stayed on a pitch with electricity backing onto the Municipal swimming pool and not too far from the site facilities.

The site was large and busy but the facilities were excellent. The pitch fees gave you free access to the local open air swimming pool, which is adjacent. This is open during the afternoon and until about 7 or 8pm at night. The swimming pool is surrounded by lawns and on hot days these are full of people picnicking and enjoying the sunshine. There are about four different pools in the complex offering a range of pool facilities for all ages and all very busy on a sunny day. If you don't want to be overlooked by sunbathers and children at the pool though, I would recommend not parking next to the fence as we did!

The pitch fee entitled you to a Konus card whereby you can use the local train and bus services for free. We found this excellent and spent both days travelling on the train to local towns. Kirtchzarten is a picturesque little town in it's own right with a cafe selling the best Black Forest Gateau ever tasted just as you come into it from the site.

The railway station is at the other end of Kirschzarten, maybe nearly a mile from the campsite. We found it very easy to cycle to the station and secure our bikes there under cover. The area is very bicycle friendly.

The toilet block was excellent and very clean offering parent and child facilities as well as disabled. We used the site restaurant and enjoyed our meal. (We should have remembered the German dictionary though, as the menu was all in German. I saw them trying to remedy this though on our visit and there may be an English translation by now).

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here and the Black Forest scenery is beautiful.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campervan1974 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 14 nights. We had a large family tent and a campervan. We used one of the pitches with electricity and its own water supply. This was a nice pitch as it was on a cul-de-sac.

The site was very busy. By using the site, it gave you free access to the local open air swimming pool.

The pool was excellent (Dreisamtal Freibad). There was a diving pool, lazy river, non-swimmers pool, swimmers pool and toddlers pool. There was a slide too.

There was plenty of grass area to sit and read etc. And it was 1 minute walk from the campsite reception.

On one of the days when we were there the air temperature was 35 degrees C and the temperature of the pool was 27 degrees C.

The pitch had a very slight slope but was plenty big enough for our large tent. We parked our campervan in front of our tent. The scenery was beautiful with hills to look at.

The toilet block was really good. There was a separate room for children, with low down sinks and their own showers and toilets and a baby changing facility. There was constant radio playing 24hrs a day in the toilet block. You could hear this radio at night too, I would not recommend taking a pitch near to the block.

The playground existed but was not too good. Thus we did not really use it.

The really good thing about staying on this site was the Konus card which entitled you to free public transport in the black forest.

We cycled to the train station and got trains to Freiburg. You could also take the bus to Steinwaser Park (a good theme park). The town of kirchzarten is really close to the campsite, it is about a 5 minutes walk.

I would really recommend the Fiesta restaurant on Freiburg Strasse. It did great food and beer in the beer garden and the children could play on the playground within the beer garden. In the town are supermarkets.

There is one called Treff 3000 and Edeka and an Aldi too. It was also possibile to borrow items from the campsite reception (benches, high chair, barbecue), we borrowed a charcoal barbecue at no extra cost for the entire duration of our stay.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Candida 4 reviews from this member

We went again, same pleasant efficient site, packed to the gills because it was early August, but somehow still fairly quiet.

I guess it's because it tends to be full of families with children and people wanting to bike and hike, rather than any crowd inclined to party.

So the 11-7 quiet at night is well observed, but does end pretty promptly at 7 with zips and doors going as people get up to fill the day.

And those kids are really very well behaved - badminton is the campsite game of choice here, no worries about footballs and tents.

The oldest washrooms have been comprehensively overhauled since we last visited, so it's all pretty crisp and white, the restaurant has a new team in, but is still largely reliable schnitzel (though we did get excellent pfifferlinge in pfannkuchen).

The info handed to you when you arrive has improved to include local walking route maps, local transport is still free, pool is still included, all good.

Four of us (three classed as adults), tent and car for a week without hookup, all hot water free but pay for washing machines and dryers, €300.

You can book online and their interface now has info for the individual size of every pitch, very helpful.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blod1 3 reviews from this member

Although I loved the town and the area, this big campsite gave me nightmares. I have never been so close to my 'neighbours' on any campsite, and found it very claustrophobic and disconcerting to be so crammed in.

The site is super clean, efficient and well-run, and had excellent facilities, free hot showers, hairdryers etc.

All pitches had hook-up (we didn't partake) and there was a shop and a few restaurants and a large open-air swimming baths next door.

Although originally booked in for 7, I had enough after five nights and we checked out at 8. 00am to drive back through France to our next stop.

I'd go back to the town/area but not to this campsite, as I like a bit of space around me and don't want to open my tent directly into someone else's tent/awning.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kathmac 1 review from this member

I can second all the comments below but must stress we all loved it here- yes pitches are small- but everyone so friendly. We only used the car one day- for Europa Parc- better than Disney- I have recommended this site to all my friends.
The village is only a few minutes walk away so lots of choice for food and shopping- but remember we were there in high season so maybe more limited out of season.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candida 4 reviews from this member

This is a high-density site, not for those looking for wild open spaces, but if you want a hub with good facilities, it all works with goodwill and good manners and makes a great base. (Go after mid-August for a much emptier site, because German schools go back around 20th August.) It's family run and feels it: the same staff (owners) year after year who really care about the place. We found no rowdy parties, very little distubance of the nighttime quiet (one group of teenagers on their way home on one night) and general friendliness.

They trundle through the washing facilities with huge steam/pressure cleaners every day, so really clean; the ones by the gate are a bit 1970s, the central block much more recent. Plenty of cubicles. Wall mounted dryers for hair, so no need to carry hairdryers. They have hookups – I think on all pitches – and water/waste on some 'luxury' pitches you pay more for. We didn't use any hookup though.

You can almost always find someone speaking English, though the overnight cover may be a bit halting. The onsite bar/restaurant does a good value lunch, less competitive but convenient in the evening. There's a games room for kids where they show videos in the evening and have scheduled activities in the day, and a playground mostly for the younger ones. The pool complex next door is a brilliant plus for all ages, with everything from a toddler pool to a high board and a lanes pool, loads of grassy space and coin-operated trampolines.

Kirchzarten is a little like The Village, in the nicest possible way. Traffic is restricted through the centre and has to give way to pedestrians, there are restaurants, bakeries and a couple of supermarkets within walking distance, plus a bigger Aldi and a sports store (for that emergency tent sealant) over the other side of town.

This was our second visit, and we will be back again. We have two children, just below teenage, and there's plenty for a family holiday in the area: the Schwarzwaldkarte (can be bought at the campsite) gives three days access to a huge range of local stuff from boat rides to spa days, Europapark, or rope walking in treetops. The scenery is all stunning; Triberg falls and Schauinsland cable car stand out.

We found this site through a 'green' directory. There's solar water heating for the showers (also at the pool complex) and the rubbish compound on site has separate recycling bins, so no excuses! You can also hire bikes locally and the train station has a big covered bike park, though it's only about a 20 minute walk from the campsite anyway. The Konus Gästekarte is included in the price (local law, I think!): this gives free rides on all local trains, buses and trams (ie all of Freiburg and trains all round a chunk of countryside), and the services are excellent. You know all the jokes Brits make about German efficiency? I've found from German friends that they make them about Baden-Würrtemburg. Which makes it very easy to have a great time.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019