Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Kirchzarten

Campsite Search > Europe > Germany > Kirchzarten > Camping Kirchzarten > Reviews

Camping Kirchzarten
Dietenbacher Strasse 17
Kirchzarten
Germany   (Browse area)

Tel: +49 7661 90 40 910
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dav8 6 reviews from this member

 There's a lot to like about this campsite and my children (14, 11) loved it but I was probably disappointed overall.

Positives: excellent facilities, immaculate, plenty of hot water, no additional charge for showers. Eco dishwashers - a first for me, but am probably a convert. Municipal pool is nextdoor and access is free to campers.

A couple of slides, diving boards, big open green space. The biggest plus point really, especially as my children are old enough to take themselves to the pool. Campers also get Black Forest guest passes for the public transport and we were largely able to leave the car at the site.

Plenty to see/do in the area, easy to walk into town. Best to reserve a table if you want to eat out.

Negatives: It's a big site. On the whole, both the children and I prefer smaller sites. There are very few hedges. Pitches are a reasonable size, but very little delineation so it feels very sardine-y.

I saw a couple of families having a heated debate about where the line was between pitches. The Dutch family next to us left their car in the carpark outside the campsite because it didn't fit on the pitch with their trailer tent and pup tent.

I witnessed a caravan struggling to manoeuver off pitch because the space is so limited. Narrow roads around the site. To be honest, I was lucky I have a ridiculously long washing line so was able to string it between two trees.

It's much more a campervan/caravan site than a tent site.

A large group nearby took up about four pitches and did not respect the curfew. (Realise that's just unfortunate).

For me, this site could be fabulous if they put in some privacy hedges. This would reduce the number of pitches but would take the campsite from OK to excellent by making it greener and not feeling like you're on top of your neighbours.

Ultimately, I would look for a smaller site with access to a municipal pool if we go back to the area.

Staff were lovely.

My children would happily go back, but that packed in feeling really put me off. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ellied 1 review from this member

 We will definitely be going back.

Wonderful site facilities (especially water park next door and loads of v clean, spacious toilets and wash rooms).

Pitches were crammed in but no one seemed to mind… v friendly.

Many people go year after year.

Best campsite ever 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bigtentfamily 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second year we have camped in Camping Kirchzarten. It is a very large campsite with excellent facilities. If you are bringing a big tent (as we were), email to ask about pitch sizes - they will be very helpful and are happy to communicate in English if your German isn't great. The first year we were given a selection of pitches to choose from which were big enough for us. The second year we picked our own pitch. It is a busy family site in high season because it is so good. Some parts of the site are busier than others and might feel very crowded. Our pitch was quite far away from the lovely family shower rooms and I think that made it a quieter area of the campsite. From our pitch you could hear a fairly busy road but it didn't bother us much. It can get very hot in August, so if you are emailing to ask about pitch sizes, it would also be worth asking if there is a pitch with a tree close by for shade.

This is one of the best campsites we have ever been to. The reception staff are multilingual and very helpful.

The campsite toilets and showers are kept spotlessly clean - there are cleaners in several times daily and late into the evening. There are excellent washing up facilities and decent washing machines and tumble driers - buy tokens at reception.

The swimming pool complex next door is free to use and is fantastic! We were in there on many of our holiday days as we had lovely hot weather.

There is a lovely walk / cycle along a path by a stream which leads into the forest via large fields of corn. There is a nice play park in the forest. There is also a lovely shady and sandy play park in the campsite. My younger children loved it and spent quite a long time in there.

Included in your stay is the Konus card which gives free travel on trains, trams and buses in the local area - if you want you can travel as far as Basel in Switzerland for free!

Kirchzarten is a beautiful town. Steimle bakery - a very short walk from the campsite - makes amazing cakes. We bought a whole Shwarzwalderkirschtorte for my daughters birthday. Totally delicious!

You can travel on the train to Tittisee - a mountain lake and very beautiful, full of shops selling cuckoo clocks and other lovely tourist stuff.

Freiburg is a great day out, as are the two cable cars you can visit - from the top of Feldburg you can see all the way to the Alps on a clear day. Steinwassen park is a fantastic day out - great rides, toboggan's that you control the speed of yourself - and amazing views of trees in the mountains.

We love this campsite - if the journey wasn't quite so long we would come every year. But it is a very long way away from the UK so we may not come back for a few years now. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steviebh 1 review from this member

 This is our second time camping here in 4years and still very impressed. The site is well run and the staff speak English. Pitches are well maintained with the larger pitches with plenty of room for a caravan and car and a tent. We had a little problem with rowdy neighbours but were dealt with very quickly after our complaints. They took no nonsense and they left. The site is very family orientated with superb pool next door, free to campers, which is used by the local towns folk. The lifeguards take no nonsense either. Lots of whistles heard through out the day. Situated in the southern part of the Black Forest Freibourg is only a few miles away as is Europa Park and Steinwassen park. Both excellent parks catering for all ages. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ejon1971 3 reviews from this member

 Superb site, offering a 'big campsite' feel whilst only having around 500 pitches. Pitches are generally quite large and most are neatly ordered. The campsite is brilliantly maintained, wash blocks are in superb order and regularly maintained and there are 3 spread across the site. Showers are free, plentiful hot water for dishes and a number of washing machines are dotted around the site.

There is a good sized playground for children at the centre of the campsite with a number of table tennis tables. Access to the adjacent pool complex is free and offers sunbathing areas as well as swimming, diving, larking around on slides, etc for all ages. The cost of the campsite is very reasonable (around 50 euros a night for a family of five with tent + electricity). Freiburg, Feldberg, Titisee are all very close by and the free train and bus tickets you receive upon arrival make travelling to these exceptionally easy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Durhamwasp 11 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site in the beautiful black forest, ideally located for exploring using the Konus free travel card and also for hiking and cycling.

Good sized pitches, very clean and high quality shower, toilet & washing facilities as well as fridge freezers.

Fantastic swimming pool right next to the campsite that is open for long hours so you can come and go, it got busy but never too busy! The kids play area is also good, and the winner is the Kids shower/toilet block - all built to for a smaller person!

There are 2 supermarkets (Edeka and Aldi) in the town, about 10mins walk away as well as several nice restaurants.

Campsite staff were very helpful, and the site has a very international and friendly feel about it, as we had German, Dutch and Spanish neighbours at our pitch!

Will definitely go back, one of the best I have visited in several trips to France, Belgium, Germany, Switz, UK. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pooh and Gruffalo 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed in July for 3 nights. We have a motorhome and stayed on a pitch with electricity backing onto the Municipal swimming pool and not too far from the site facilities.

The site was large and busy but the facilities were excellent. The pitch fees gave you free access to the local open air swimming pool, which is adjacent. This is open during the afternoon and until about 7 or 8pm at night. The swimming pool is surrounded by lawns and on hot days these are full of people picnicking and enjoying the sunshine. There are about four different pools in the complex offering a range of pool facilities for all ages and all very busy on a sunny day. If you don't want to be overlooked by sunbathers and children at the pool though, I would recommend not parking next to the fence as we did!

The pitch fee entitled you to a Konus card whereby you can use the local train and bus services for free. We found this excellent and spent both days travelling on the train to local towns. Kirtchzarten is a picturesque little town in it's own right with a cafe selling the best Black Forest Gateau ever tasted just as you come into it from the site.

The railway station is at the other end of Kirschzarten, maybe nearly a mile from the campsite. We found it very easy to cycle to the station and secure our bikes there under cover. The area is very bicycle friendly.

The toilet block was excellent and very clean offering parent and child facilities as well as disabled. We used the site restaurant and enjoyed our meal. (We should have remembered the German dictionary though, as the menu was all in German. I saw them trying to remedy this though on our visit and there may be an English translation by now).

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here and the Black Forest scenery is beautiful. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campervan1974 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 14 nights. We had a large family tent and a campervan. We used one of the pitches with electricity and its own water supply. This was a nice pitch as it was on a cul-de-sac.

The site was very busy. By using the site, it gave you free access to the local open air swimming pool.

The pool was excellent (Dreisamtal Freibad). There was a diving pool, lazy river, non-swimmers pool, swimmers pool and toddlers pool. There was a slide too.

There was plenty of grass area to sit and read etc. And it was 1 minute walk from the campsite reception.

On one of the days when we were there the air temperature was 35 degrees C and the temperature of the pool was 27 degrees C.

The pitch had a very slight slope but was plenty big enough for our large tent. We parked our campervan in front of our tent. The scenery was beautiful with hills to look at.

The toilet block was really good. There was a separate room for children, with low down sinks and their own showers and toilets and a baby changing facility. There was constant radio playing 24hrs a day in the toilet block. You could hear this radio at night too, I would not recommend taking a pitch near to the block.

The playground existed but was not too good. Thus we did not really use it.

The really good thing about staying on this site was the Konus card which entitled you to free public transport in the black forest.

We cycled to the train station and got trains to Freiburg. You could also take the bus to Steinwaser Park (a good theme park). The town of kirchzarten is really close to the campsite, it is about a 5 minutes walk.

I would really recommend the Fiesta restaurant on Freiburg Strasse. It did great food and beer in the beer garden and the children could play on the playground within the beer garden. In the town are supermarkets.

There is one called Treff 3000 and Edeka and an Aldi too. It was also possibile to borrow items from the campsite reception (benches, high chair, barbecue), we borrowed a charcoal barbecue at no extra cost for the entire duration of our stay.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candida 4 reviews from this member

 We went again, same pleasant efficient site, packed to the gills because it was early August, but somehow still fairly quiet.

I guess it's because it tends to be full of families with children and people wanting to bike and hike, rather than any crowd inclined to party.

So the 11-7 quiet at night is well observed, but does end pretty promptly at 7 with zips and doors going as people get up to fill the day.

And those kids are really very well behaved - badminton is the campsite game of choice here, no worries about footballs and tents.

The oldest washrooms have been comprehensively overhauled since we last visited, so it's all pretty crisp and white, the restaurant has a new team in, but is still largely reliable schnitzel (though we did get excellent pfifferlinge in pfannkuchen).

The info handed to you when you arrive has improved to include local walking route maps, local transport is still free, pool is still included, all good.

Four of us (three classed as adults), tent and car for a week without hookup, all hot water free but pay for washing machines and dryers, €300.

You can book online and their interface now has info for the individual size of every pitch, very helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blod1 3 reviews from this member

 Although I loved the town and the area, this big campsite gave me nightmares. I have never been so close to my 'neighbours' on any campsite, and found it very claustrophobic and disconcerting to be so crammed in.

The site is super clean, efficient and well-run, and had excellent facilities, free hot showers, hairdryers etc.

All pitches had hook-up (we didn't partake) and there was a shop and a few restaurants and a large open-air swimming baths next door.

Although originally booked in for 7, I had enough after five nights and we checked out at 8. 00am to drive back through France to our next stop.

I'd go back to the town/area but not to this campsite, as I like a bit of space around me and don't want to open my tent directly into someone else's tent/awning. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Kirchzarten child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Camping Kirchzarten have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Kirchzarten?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Kirchzarten dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirchzarten      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Germany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4467 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement