Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Les Sablons Village Club

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Portiragnes > Les Sablons Village Club Reviews

Les Sablons Village Club
Portiragnes Plage
Portiragnes
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
34420
Tel: 00 33 (0) 4 67 90 90 55
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 800
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torrin40 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights on our French road trip and this was probably the largest site we have stayed on. It was also the most expensive! The reception was friendly with good English. Although we were initially unsure about staying on such a large site, due to the way it is split up into different sections with planting between each pitch, it felt quite cosy once we were pitched.

We were lucky enough to get a large pitch on the Dunes section of the site which was a few steps from a fantastic sandy beach - definitely one of the site's best features.

The facilities are superb with lots of activities and entertainment if that's your thing. There was a fantastic band on one of our evenings there that we enjoyed. We also tried out the snack bar which was good, reasonable prices and not too long a wait even with a long queue.

The pools are lovely, clean and well supervised and are also heated which was a nice surprise. The toilet blocks are modern and clean but did run out of hot water in the evenings when everyone came off the beach.

The shops are simply amazing! There is an on site bakery, open from 7am every morning as well as in the afternoons with fresh baguettes, croissants etc. There is also a good size grocery store as well as another shop with fresh fruit and vegetable as well as swimsuits, flipflops, blow up rings etc.

We only stayed 2 nights as we were moving through but I would definitely return here for longer another time. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaiash 21 reviews from this member

 It is a long time since we have visited such and all-singing and dancing site but we chose this because of it's location and it happened to be ACSI and open.

The facilities are certainly excellent and the staff were efficient and helpful. There were, a expected, many statics; indeed I can't remember seeing so many different types and the VIP area ones looked fabulous. The touring pitches however are in dire need of some TLC, being mainly bare of grass or weeds and the site had been open only two weeks. The shops at the entrance to the site were very useful as there is not much else in Portiragnes -Plage shopping wise for food, drink and bread etc. As an area for visiting places around - we would not return.

The site was well patronised by the static visitors - mainly Dutch (Roan).

I can see that this site would be very popular with families - our boys would have loved it when they were teenagers.

Like lots of sites these days it seems little thought has been put into arrival with a caravan in tow. They wouldn't open the barrier to allow us through without first registering but relented when they heard horns blowing - I did tell them the entrance was blocked but they said it was ok, no problem. There is nowhere to park a car and van whilst in the office and precious little space once through the barrier.

Wifi is chargeable but very good.

My major concern was on arrival there was a woman who was clearly distressed having had her handbag stolen and one of the guys on reception said that it was the second one that day! It certainly made us wary of leaving anything out on the pitch - even chairs. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebeeglies 16 reviews from this member

 A fun, vibrant very well run site. This was our first time at a large site and we were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed it.

For the first time we were able to give the kids a lot of freedom around the site and never felt concerned about safety/security (we are a family with 2 boys ages 12 and 9).

Booking communication was excellent (by e-mail in English). The site is well laid out and immaculately maintained. Toilet/washing blocks were spotless and cleaned regularly. Plentiful loo roll and hot water.

The pitch was well maintained with good shade and a good size (about 80m2) and fitted our Outwell Vermont L comfortably as well as a kitchen tent. We never had any noise issues and staff patrol all hours. We were in the Tamaris area on the edge of the site far away from bar etc. Bikes were very useful as the site is quite big and long term bike hire was expensive. We hired a fridge from a company recommended by the site which was arranged beforehand (in English by e-mail) and cost 80 for 2 weeks + 80 deposit which was returned without fuss.

Staff are really friendly and speak good English, German, Dutch and French for animations and kids clubs. Our boys did a few things like the banana boat trips, table tennis competition and one of the craft activities and all were really well run. There was entertainment most evenings: kids favourites were a foam party and a magic show. We don't usually go in for this sort of thing but they were really well done and inclusive for all nationalities (not just the French). There was a nice mix of nationalities and our kids made friends with English and French kids.

Pools are pretty good with very good slides. 'Budgie smuggler' trunks are strictly enforced unfortunately. Life guards are very vigilant which is reassuring. Plenty of sunbeds and space to sunbathe even though the pols sometimes felt a little cramped and ball games aren't allowed.

The beach can be accessed directly from the site and was really nice and very spacious. A short walk down the beach to boat hire and banana boat trips. Safe clear water and clean sand.

Takeaway food was very reasonably priced e. G. 8 for a large pizza and decent quality. Bar prices were also pretty reasonable. Well stocked shop and excellent bakery on site. There was also a very nice butcher and fishmonger 5 mins walk from the site.

Weather was excellent during the stay. Around 30 in the day but not unpleasant due to fresh breeze from sea. Cooler at night and hardly any bugs.

We didn't travel around the area other than on bikes as traffic was heavy. One day trip to Aqualand which was great although recommend getting there in advance of opening at 10am and booking in advance to save queuing.

In summary, a great site for families with slightly older kids (under 16).

Highly recommended.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Warbis66 28 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic place in a fantastic location. We stayed here for 7 nights on our little tour of France. We hired a static from Roan a Dutch company.

The site is big, I would say roughly 60% statics to 40% tents but I may be wrong.

The pitches are all variable in size, I presume you can book different pitch sizes. The site is made up of areas and we stayed in Les Salons, which in my mind was the best bit of the site.

The beach was accessible from the campsite and what a fantastic beach it was. Glorious sand with warm waters where you could bathe safely.

The pools at the campsite are good, not the best but then I don't really care about the pools as we tend to use the beach. However my 9 year old loved the slides and despite it being packed you could always get a sunbed or a chair.

The shops on the campsite were very good and sold most things you could possibly need on a holiday. The campsite is within driving distance of several big chain supermarkets.

The campsite is clean, well tendered and most of all quiet at night, was so pleased with how pleasant the whole place was.

Out and about you could visit a whole host of towns and villages, we went up to the gorges, the canal du midi and up to Agde.

Would highly recommend this place, whether in a tent or rentals. Its really rather pleasant. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Split ends 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights in our back packers tent. This site was away from our usual basic site as the 'Man' wanted some entertainment. Great site very well run. Plenty of toilets and very clean and tidy. The evening entertainment wasn't to my taste and couldn't face a night off this euro style music and so loud. Lukily our pitch was far away fromthe crowds.

Negatives - I was a bit shocked by the so called security. The beach gate was open until 11pm and couldn't see the point of wearing the bracelets as it was never checked and the group of men on the front entrance never checked any cars or people. The beach was ok but too busy and just not brilliant. Recycling was nil and the amount of rubbish accumulated was overboard. The lights didn't come on in the toilet block until it was dark so in the evening we were showering in semi dark. The resort wasn't to my taste either a tad tacky and couldn't face more than 2 nights in the town. Had one of the best meals in a long time at Lou Recantou which was tucked away in a side street from all the tatt.

What I go back? - probably not rather a more traditional fishing village. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Djflexure 2 reviews from this member

 We have just visited this site with our three children aged 11, 9 and 7. I have to say they did enjoy it as it was a complete change from the previous site we had just left. Best of all was the water park with the wavy 4 slider and the tall tube ride. You have to be over 1m30 to ride alone which meant I had to ride with the youngest one.

Pitches are fine, can park next to your tent, need chocks as it is sandy. Short stroll through the site to the beach. Hot sand! Small waves. Banana boat was a hit, but at 10 euros each quite expensive.

The shop is well stocked, with a fruit shop next to it. Busy site but not stressful. Animations on the evening were - good for kids til 9. 30, then there were some odd entertainments - singing and dancing, bands some good some not. Stayed in a chalet at the site for 2 nights as well. Lovely clean and cool! Air con was great! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aitch69 24 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the Med a couple of days early for our booking at another site further along the coast and chose Sablons from the ACSI book for a two night stay. Our initial reaction was that it was a little brash and busy for us. As a retired couple we holiday outside of the main season.

We were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our short stay.

This site has everything, mini-market, greengrocers, bakery, bar, restaurant etc. I won't go on because Steph - another reviewer, has covered most things. However, the heated outdoor pool should get a mention, so too the gym apparatus near to the poolside all free to use. Surely there would be a charge for this in rip off Britain. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: *Steph* 9 reviews from this member

 This campsite is wonderful, I started going when I was 15 years old and have been back most years for the past 15. The beach is directly out of the 'back gate' it is clean and most of the time litter free, it does have some rubbish due to BBQ's and some campers.
The entertainment is OK, i'm not one for entertainment really and can do without. The pools are great and hold side competitions, there is a lovely bakery out the front gate, a fruit and veg shop, newsagents and a small supermarket, which sells good range, but can be expensive.
The man who runs the supermarket has been there for over 15 years. The shop assistants really appreciate children saying 'bonjour' and ordering their breakfast in french. Staff are friendly and helpful.
There are some nice restaurants in the small village near to the front. The toilets are clean, but in recent years chosen to use a caravan.
The tent area is in a good location and is both shady and sunny, to be honest it does get very hot and the shade is most welcome. There is bike hire out the front gate also and the canal du midi is just up the road.
They are quite strict with their rules, so dont party after hours! Also sometimes BBQ's are not allowed on the site, due to 'feathery' trees shedding. All in all a GREAT holiday for all 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Les Sablons Village Club child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Les Sablons Village Club have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Les Sablons Village Club?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Les Sablons Village Club dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portiragnes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement