Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De La Foret

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Seine Maritime > Camping De La Foret > Reviews

Camping De La Foret
Rue Mainberte
Jumieges
Seine Maritime
Normandy   (Browse area)
76480
Tel: 00 33 0 2 35 37 93 43
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Excygnet 6 reviews from this member

 The site appeared to be used a lot as a transit stop - with lots staying 1 or 2 nights - but - it still had a decent feel for people like us who were staying a few nights.

Quite a heavily tree-d site which worked out well for us in a heatwave - but - might not be liked by all - especially, if you caught a rainy stay.

Small rectilinear site with typically France hedges separating the pitches - which were of reasonable (but not huge) size.

Bread and Croissants could be ordered for morning - which were of good quality.

Site was completely fenced and gated - good for security but nearly caught us out when we got back at 9. 45 to find gate shut earlier than advertised (thank goodness DD was paying attention to the briefing when we checked in - and knew the code!).

Small, on-site bar - which was nice to have - although selection on offer was not generous.

2 toilet blocks (one old - one new). Facilities decent and quite clean - toilets always seemed to be lacking either soap or paper towels.

The restaurants in the village (Jumiges) were good - and the ruined Norman Abbey was a fantastic place to visit within easy walking distance.

Overall verdict - decent little site - although not earth shattering. Well suited for a Transit Stop. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 Nice friendly owner looking after this popular site. Each pitch is quite well shaded by trees and tall hedges.

The pitches are flat but on some you need to trail your EHU to your neighbour's pitch through the hedge.

Clean facilities and nice pool area. The tumble dryer stopped working when I needed to use it but it was fixed promptly. Nice short walk into the village where there are a couple of bars and restaurants and the beautiful abbey.

The owner gave us good advice about going into Rouen - we decided not to go in the end due to a large flotilla of boats and related festival would have meant parking and taking the dog would be problematic. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 57 reviews from this member

 Just a one night stop off en route to the Dordogne but a pleasant and peaceful place to stay, despite it being almost full.

Level pitches, surrounded by hedges so nice and private, plenty of shade. Bar, shop, bread and croissants available and a friendly welcome.

Not doing indoor pools this year, but it looked fine, and would be fun if you have kids with you.

Showers and loos were ok, but used our own.

Close to the nice little town of Duclair where there are a fair few riverside bars and restaurants, and in pretty countryside for a walk or cycle.

A bit out of the way but that's part of its charm. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AphraBehn 5 reviews from this member

 We came here en route for the Tunnel and were thankful to find any campsite open near the main Channel routes in late October. We just wanted a place to sleep away a long, long journey but we got far more than that. This is a delightful site. The pitches are large and many of them are fully serviced - a real pleasure as it cuts set up time when you are tired and know you have to head off early the next day. The showers and loos are modern and spotless and the pool looked really inviting. The sound of acorns pinging off the caravan roof can be a bit disconcerting in October but the woodland shade must be a real blessing in August. The owners were both friendly and welcoming. I was particularly pleased when monsieur gave me a gentle little French lesson. I know now that my husband sleeps 'comme un loir' rather than 'comme un cochon'. Sadly, neither description reduces the volume of his snoring! We were intrigued by the countryside around the site. In particular, the drive along the Seine was gorgeous. One word of warning; if you have a caravan, do not let your satnav direct you over the ferry. It has a weight limit but - even more important - getting on and off looks pretty scary to this wimpy driver! You will need to make a small detour over the bridge which is actually gives you a fascinating view of the river traffic. The site and the surrounding area is clearly worth much more than a rapid, overnight stay. We will plan better next time we travel south. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HON65 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 9 nights in large family tent, nothing really more to add than the previous reviews but wanted to update the reviews.

Lovely location, countryside beautiful. Lucky to have 30 degrees every day.

Owned/run by couple who are strict but that meant a better stay for all as rules were enforced properly. E. G barking dogs & boisterous teens.

Exceptional cleanliness, toilet blocks fabulous, swimming pool spotless.

Recommend daily delivery of bread and croissants.

Lots of overnight/2 day stays obviously using as a stop off point.

Overall as I say read the previous reviews, a bit of a hidden gem. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kate w 70 reviews from this member

 We stayed here overnight on our way home. Our satnav directed us via a free ferry, which zipped backwards and forwards across the river.

The welcome from the lady on reception was friendly, bread ordered for the following morning and given a map of where to find our pitch. Pitches were numbered, varied in size from quite small to spacious. Some had to be accessed from quite narrow roadways. I think they must be quite good at matching units to pitches. I did notice a sign at the site entrance saying twin axel caravans could not be accommodated.

We were pitched opposite the play area and shower block. Showers were quite new, clean and well laid out, toilets were separate from showers and showers closed during the night.

The swimming pool looked welcoming, if not that big, the whole site was quite compact but well laid out, it was half statics, half touring. We walked down to the abbey in Jumieges but sadly didn't get to go intas it was just closing.

We had a peaceful nights sleep, the site is in a quiet area, away from major traffic. EHU and water were both on the pitch. The pitch was pretty bare, not sure how much attention they get in the off season but if they are being used every night it is to be expected I suppose. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nellie72 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights on our way back to Calais from Britanny. We asked for a quiet shady pitch as we had a dog and this was exactly what we were given. The pitch was large and surrounded by tall hedges and kept in shade by a wonderful old oak tree.

WiFi was available to buy and perfectly useable from the pitch.

Roads within the side are of an adequate width but it gets VERY tight going around corners, thankfully the hedges are neat and well trimmed and so don't scratch the hell out the sides of your caravan when you drive past. However, when some campers park their cars hanging over the roadway and are content to watch you shuffle your car and caravan back and forth to get around the corner because they can't get off their bottom to put their car on their pitch. Grrr

The site owners were very friendly and helpful and lamenting the fact that they've relaxed their budguie smugglers only in the swimming pool :D The pools were small, but clean and unfortuately four dutch teenagers were so rude they were preventing anyone else from enjoying the pool. My OH & I were in less than a minute before one of them jumped on my head. The pool was of a sufficient size to make us known that it was deliberate. Not the site owners fault, it would be so much nicer (for those of us who don't think the sounds of screaming teenagers are akin to an auria, ) if there was half an hour each day where only adults are allowed in the pool. Again, this could apply to every campsite. PLEASE!

There are washing machines and driers to use (token operated) which were the cheapest we found on our trip. There was also a TV and pool table room which would be ideal in rainy weather.

The site is ideally placed to visit Honfleur and the surrounding area, although if you plan to visit Honfleur, leave early as finding parking spaces there can be tricky. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 50 reviews from this member

 Having spent a couple of nights here last year we decided to return for a week. The owners were very friendly and helpful, happy to let us try out our french but also able to speak english.

The pitches are mostly in full or part shade, the site is in a forest! We were very grateful for this as the weather was exceptionally hot. We had a full service pitch which was plenty big enough, some of them were a bit smaller.

The facilities blocks were always clean, one is older.

There is a small pool and also a small play area and boules court. The village is nice and has cafes, a small shop and the abbey.

Lots of places for day trips, Rouen, Honfleur and Deauville also Normandy landing areas.

Ideal site for a stopover or a longer stay in a quiet location.

We would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campintent 24 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights on the way back to the tunnel. Run by a friendly husband and wife team, this pleasant site is within easy walking distance of Jumièges, with its attractive abbey ruins and connections to Edward the Confessor and William the Conqueror. The little town has plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from, plus a little supermarket. On site, individual pitches vary in size, but all are set in their own hedged enclosures, giving plenty of privacy. The modern facilities are well-maintained and immaculately clean. The snack bar is little more than a swimming pool kiosk, but it serves local beer and the adjoining shack serves pizzas and various things with chips. (No food on Fridays).

Finally, a warning – the approach from the south or west is via a free ferry over the Seine, but please note that caravans would bottom on the ramp and are not permitted. A diversion via the Pont de Brotonne is required. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 50 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights en route to Loire Valley.

It is a pleasant site on the outskirts of a nice village and within an easy drive of Rouen and the coast. We spent a lovely day in Rouen.

The pitches are a good size and private. Some are down quite narrow entries but these mostly housed tents. We had a large full service pitch which was excellent.

Facilities were french and very clean, there were two blocks old and new.

The pool was small but looked nice, no time to sample. The snack bar and bar were again small but good. The lady on reception was lovely as were other staff. We were delayed by operation stack and arrived after latest check in but having phoned ahead there was no problem.

Seriously considering going back next year for longer. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping De La Foret child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping De La Foret have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De La Foret?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De La Foret dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seine Maritime      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement