Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Ragis

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Challans > Camping Le Ragis > Reviews

Camping Le Ragis
Camping Le Ragis
Challans
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85300
Tel: 00 33 0 2 51 68 08 49
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 213
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twisted-pixel 8 reviews from this member

 Booked a trip to this site after reading a few reviews here and checking their website. The reviews seemed positive and the site looked good.

However, we were a little disappointed overall.

We were given a map of the site and told where our pitch was. We drove round to the site to find that someone else was on our pitch and rather than kick up a fuss we just took the one next to it. Admitedly the pitch was huge and hedged in on 3 1/2 sides to give loads of privacy. We have a large Kalahari 10 and could easily have fitted 4 or 5 on the pitch!. There was room for our car, gazebo, tent and still enough room for the kids to play badminton. However the pitch was also covered in weeds, large areas where there had obviously been some fires and the ashes were still strewn about, we had a large pile of melted wax (approx 50cm across) in the middle of the pitch and we spent about 30 mins clearing an area so we could pitch our tent without fear of puncturing the groundsheet.

The facilities are a bit minimal. For the men, a total of 5 showers cover the entire site in two blocks. They were usually clean however and only once did I experience an issue of having no hot water.

There is no shop on site but a large Hyper-U is approx 2Ks away in the town of Challans. Fresh bread can be ordered each night and is delivered to reception where you can also buy bottles of home brew wine. Which takes a bit of getting used to but then becomes palatable.

One of the main reasons for choosing the site was the pool. Our kids are proper water babaies and usually need crow bars to get them out of the water. However, the pool here is completely un-supervised. Which is ok if parents are able to control - or even show an interest in - their kids behaviour. But all day long kids were bombing in the pools throwing clothes, towels, (even a chair at one point) into the pools, walking up the water slides or blocking them completely. This meant that we didn't feel safe leaving our 10 year old there without watching like a hawk.

There was also a fishing lake. Which was smaller than the swimming pool and could hardly be called a lake. Again ruined by unruly kids throwing stones in if anyone looked like they were going to catch anything.

Lots of space to play football, tennis, badminton etc

The positives?. Well. Um. The site is very isolated and so is very quiet. It's also very french and of the site owners, I believe only the man speaks a little english. He was also very helpful though and tried hard to ensure we had what we needed. There is a farmers stall a couple of hundred yards from the entrance so you can buy fresh fruit/veg, and a restaurant about 1k away (which is very pricey. We paid Ä153 for the four of us) which does some very nice food.

On Thursdays and Sundays there is a pizza van on site, and there is a snack van there everyday that does kebabes, baguettes, chips etc.

We did have a good holiday and enjoyed the sun and the rest and are hopefully returning to the Vendee next year, but it wont be back to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ChrisRitchie 2 reviews from this member

 The site in my opinion is tired and scruffy, the pitches are weedy, and covered with ants. Upon arrival no direction, awkward to get to our pitch then a tight squeeze to get in past the play area to site the van.

The pools were cold and spoilt by riotous French youths splashing everyone in site and using the slides in a dangerous manner often in the nude!

St John de mont was like Blackpool seaside town, and the markets were full of rip of gear and poor quality, we went in the Sea at St Hilliare de Ruiz, never been so cold in my life - we were banking on beach days to enjoy some time away from the site.

No shop on site but good home-made wine! Seemed a lot being sold to be home-made but was nice. Good fruit shop outside site 3 nights/week and Apremont is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevincamping 1 review from this member

 We chose to camp at Le Ragis on the strength of the previous reviews and on the whole they give a fair picture of this pretty, tidy site. That said, I think a visit to the site in June (as opposed to July/August) presents a slightly different picture. When we visited, the campsite was virtually deserted and all but one toilet/shower block was closed. This was quite bad news for us as it meant our 6 yr old had no-one to play with and none of the on-site entertainment we were expecting. I can easily believe the site is wonderful in July/August but I wouldnít recommend it for young families out of peak season, itís more suitable for people who want a very quiet time.

The people running the site, who I understand were the owners, didnít seem able to speak a word of English but were nevertheless helpful and friendly. The equipment in the play areas is on the tatty side here and there, though I doubt this would bother the kids.

Iíd describe it as a caravan site with a sprinkling of tourer / tent pitches in between these, plus one smallish area exclusively for tourers and tents. This seemed typical of campsites in the area. For me Ė and this is a purely personal view Ė this isnít what Iím looking for in a campsite, thereís an open-ness about tenting that seems to get lost in statics.

Finally, and this isnít meant as a criticism of Le Ragis or other reviews, Le Ragis didnít seem much different to any of the half a dozen other campsites we looked at in the course of our week in the area. We went to a few others that were highly rated on this website (to see if it was just ours that was deserted Ė they were all the same) and they all seemed basically similar, loads of statics, a few tent / tourer pitches / areas, a pool or two, clean loos and showers. The main difference was location; Le Ragis is just on the edge of Challans which is great in some respects Ė nice and easy for supermarkets, restaurants etc Ė and less good in others Ė some traffic noise at night, feels slightly urban. Others are more rural, others (most) are by the coast, for the beach.

I guess what I'm getting at here is that for us there was nothing particularly outstanding about Le Ragis. It was fine, we had no complaints, but haven't come away itching to go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Dave Beverley 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Le Ragis (again, because we have a static there!) so please read this review in conjunction with previous reviews - The site has been tidied up, with many of the older, overhanging trees being 'pruned', making the site much more open to the sun and a lot lighter etc. Lots of tidying up in other areas as well as quite a few more additional statics being sited.

There appear to be more convenient electric hook ups and water supplies being installed towards the top end of the site (pitches around 123 - 135), where most tourers are sited. For me the better part of the site, massive pitches up that end still, BUT in full sun, so you will need to provide some shade, (gazebo etc??)

An important point to note is that the owners daughter has now left to run her own camp site in St Gilles, so there may be (in my opinion highly likely!) no clown show on Sunday evening and possibly some other activities affected. It wont affect the site as such, and will continue to stay as a mostly under developed little diamond and is still highly recommended by me for younger families looking for a real french experience when camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Debbienicola 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 weeks in August. After a long drive finally arrived to a warm welcome by the owners. We had a pitch at the back of the pool adjacent to the lake.

The pitch itself was nice but very shaded with all the trees which meant that by the time the sun had gone down it was very cold. The pool itself was very nice and kept clean daily. We went to one of their BBQ's and this was absolutely fab, one of the best parties I have ever been to.

There is plenty on site for all ages, fishing, cycling, water aerobics, trampolines etc. I would recommend that the bottom shower block be upgraded as it seemed a little outdated.

All in all a lovely site with wonderful owners. Would definitely stay again but ask for a pitch at the top of the site instead, even if just for a bit of sun. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barbie10 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 10 nights & couldn't of asked for a better place to stay. Loads of facilities we have 5 & 6 year old & there was plenty to keep them entertained. We went swimming every morning on site, you could order local bread/croissants each day to be delivered to the reception for you to collect the following morning. We had a small play area near our caravan which was perfect as we could see them while we were cooking etc. Toilet facilities very clean & hot water with no extra cost. There is a small farm area with a donkey, goat & lamb which the kids enjoyed looking at. Pitches were huge compared to what we've been used to in the UK. You could also buy fresh strawberrys & locally made wine which was very nice wine 2.5 euros a bottle so great value. Plenty of supermarkets nearby too, beaches were amazing couldn't believe we were in France! We would go back in a second & wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site to others - 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 4miffies 14 reviews from this member

 My review of this site really mirrors others on this page. We were very impressed with the site, its owners and the whole camping experience. The site is well laid out although if you like the sun make sure you request to be in the big field and not down by the pool. The showers and loo's were kept really clean and there was lots for the children to do. The biggest moan we have is that the pool is not monitored meaning teenagers and older 'kids' were constantly jumping and bombing in the small 'family' pool. There was loads of room in the bigger pool and we feel they should have played in this.

The owners speak excellent English and make sure nobody is left out in organised events. There is a supermarket close by and the beaches of Bretignolls sur mer about 10 miles away. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allencamp 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week at Le Ragis and found that we agree with most of the other reviews already submitted. A clean, well looked after site, with ample toilet/shower blocks and hot water. We had a pitch near the pool, which provided us with shade, but having looked around the site, the pitches nearer to the entrance were larger and more open. Being situated near the pool and play area did mean that we did find the site quite noisy at night, up to and occasionally beyond midnight, which didn't encourage sleep! The central play area did seem to be the local hang-out for the teenagers after dark. If you want a bit more peace, it might be worth requesting pitches away from that area.

The clientelle are mostly French, but we did meet a few other British families who had discovered the campsite via this website! Our children, aged 10 and 7, were able to explore in safety and enjoyed the mini-golf, table tennis and football pitches and of course the pools and slides! The farm shop next door supplied the best raspberries we had ever tasted! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JoeG 9 reviews from this member

 A bit of a long drive with a touring van, but well worth it (we stopped over at the excellent municipal site at Bernay on our way to and from Dieppe).

The site at Le Ragis has everything you might reasonably want, including a great pool area with 3 short slides and a small flume (a few problems with power supply to the pumps while we were there, but the owners kindly lent us a bucket so we could slosh enough water around to give the kids a good time until the issue was fixed - it all added to the fun and atmosphere). The pools, being somewhat chilly even in August's heat, are cleaned daily and are open until about 7 or 8pm, a little busy during the day (perhaps because it was exceptionally hot during our stay), but not overly rowdy. Note: no lifeguards, but the number of parents & family groups are sufficient for a safe and happy time.

Not many Brits in evidence (fine by us), but we found a few charming Dutch folks with good English. Mostly French holidaymakers, some of the French kids had surprisingly good English, enough for our kids to enjoy playing with them and practising their limited French. The clown show was fun (and long!), the bingo night was a good laugh - we needed to think hard to identify the numbers correctly - the entertainment is almost all in French, but is home grown, enthusiastic and good fun.

The climate was much more like Spain than northern France, indeed our awning reached 48 degrees on one occasion, but the evenings were reasonable and we slept well after long relaxing days around the pools. Bring plenty of sun cream - shade is limited.

We hope to return in 2010 or 2011, and may book a static rather than haul the caravan all that way. We didn't get round to checking out the beaches, or the local town - we had everything we wanted on-site, and made good use of the supermarkets just a short drive back towards town.

The electric hookup point was a long way from the pitch - take an extra lead and (as always in Europe) a polarity tester / converter. Also best to take a standard European domestic socket to hookup bayonet ('commando') socket converter. If you're going in July or August then a fan might be useful too.

All in all - we had a great time, and we think you will too - recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Dave Beverley 2 reviews from this member

 I have a static caravan on the site and have done for the last 3 years. We found the site quite by accident while searching for a static caravan around the Vendee area. The site sells statics but also allows you to bring your own onto site. We bought one in the UK and had it shipped over a couple of years ago. Annual fees are around 2000 euros, plus electricity and gas.

Other reviewers have given info on the site itself, so there is little to add re the facilities, that hasn't already been written.

It might be useful for potential visitors to know that the site is just on the edge of Challans and only a couple of miles from a major supermarket, in fact quite a few people actually walk there and back! Just next door to the site a new farm shop has just opened, selling great quality fresh fruit and veg at well below supermarket prices.

The site is improving year on year and the size of the pitches are much larger than most sites. It has been stated that there is no bar and the site is mainly french - and therein lies the beauty of Le Ragis. There are around 6 'Brit' vans on site and we are developing a great little social group, though not too heavy, and normally meet up once a week or so and definitely don't live in each others pockets. I tend only to be there during the school breaks, but the in laws use it virtually all the time we're not there. Out of the French season July to mid August its very quiet but during the French season it can be busy and its best to book early.

Entertainment in the evenings is all free and on Sunday midday the owners, Theresa and Joseph put on a little welcoming drink(s) for everyone. Thats followed by free face painting and balloon animals for the kids around 4 o'clock (I often help in making balloon animals so if you're around say Hi!). Sunday evening is 'young' kids night - all free - a kids clown show, clown ghost show and possibly even a new show for next year. As mentioned by other reviewers, the shows are in French but Laetitia (the site owners daughter) always involves English kids in the show (along with German, Dutch and Italian children).

Travelling from Boulogne takes me under six hours, though allow a bit longer if you're towing a van.

Overall I would highly recommend the site to families of all ages, the teenagers might not find it the hip hop happening place, though surprisingly there are always plenty of French teenagers there who seem to enjoy themselves, so perhaps I am out of the 'groove' 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Ragis child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Ragis have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Ragis?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Ragis dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Challans      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4163 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement