Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cool Camping Au Bois Joli

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Site Reviews

Cool Camping Au Bois Joli
2, Route De Villeprenoy
Andryes
Burgundy   (Browse area)
89480
Tel: 0033386817048
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 90
Open: 1 April To 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louise Latimer 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights on our road trip around France, and found this to be a lovely relaxing site with great facilities and fantastic views of the Burgundy countryside.

It was hot and sunny so the shady wooded pitch was great for us, we found the electric points were quite far apart, but I had remembered reading other reviews, saying that you could hire an extension from reception, which we did for a 10 deposit. The kids (14 +16) loved the pool and we all spent ages in there cooling off.

The reception was great and they were able to give us a booklet that was full of information about the site and the surrounding villages and towns, including where to head to for good restaurants and meals.

We ordered our croissants and baguettes from the list outside reception and collected the following morning.

The toilet and shower facilities were lovely and clean and the little lizards running around added a little entertainment to the washing up!

Would definitely use this site again. It cost us 95. For the two nights, for 3 adults and 1 child, but definitely worth the money.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suzie sue 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely family campsite. We were in the area without electricity at the top of the site. Even though it was the school holidays I have never had so much room, with the nearest other people pitching 20 metres away. It is a beautiful natural environment with wild birds, butterflies, stag beetles. But rather a problem with mosquitoes.

The owners are very helpful. They lend you a whole folder of info when you arrive. Some are pages of rules about the pool and recycling etc, but also lots of useful local info like which local supermarkets are open on Sunday.

All of the staff are Dutch, but they all speak English too. There are some great activities laid on, eg group campfire twice a week - they provide marshmallows for the kids, lamp procession around camp - all the kids decorated their lamps earlier in the day.

We stayed 5 nights. Some days we went out sightseeing eg Vezelay basillica, Grotes D'Arcy ancient cave paintings. But we also enjoyed relaxing at the campsite. The pool has a great view, but the depth takes a bit of getting used to. From 1. 7m to 2. 6m. They provide lots of woggles and floats, but still it made our kids nervous.

Overall a lovely campsite, but we needed better insect repellent.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon Mike 13 reviews from this member

A nice site set in a lovely rural location and quite easy to find by following the signs from Coulaanges-sur-Yonne through which the N151 passes. We were welcomed by the very friendly and helpful Dutch owners and allowed to choose any available pitch. The site is situated on a wooded slope and not all pitches are clearly defined but we settled on a level piece of ground towards the lower end of the site which gave us good morning and afternoon sunshine but, like the rest of the site, not much late evening sun. We also had a nice view of Andryes church through a clearing in the trees. This has an interesting clock which chimes double time on the hour! At the end of a long dry spell the pitches were bare of any grass and a little dusty but as we enjoyed only a light breeze throughout our three day stay this didn't prove to be a problem. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities were kept spotlessly clean and supplied plenty of hot water. In the low season the owners provide two excellent little services. Bread can be ordered by writing your requirements on a list hung outside the Reception and is delivered to your door the next morning and on occasional days it is possible to sign up for a one course menu which is then delivered straight from the oven to your pitch at your chosen time in the evening! All we had to do was sit at our table with plates, cutlery, wine and a table mat at the ready. Then, on time, a stainless steel, foil covered dish, was placed before us and we served ourselves - all for a total cost of 15 euros - and excellent food it was too!

There is a large Saturday morning market at Toucy, about 40 kilometres from the site, which sells pretty well everything. Vezeley, an historic old town based on a steep hill rising above the surrouding countryside and crowned with a huge basilica, is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jg73 28 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night en route to the south coast so cannot comment on the local surroundings and things to do.

We found the Dutch owners very welcoming and helpful. We were lent an extension lead as our 25m lead was not long enough to stretch to the hook-up point.

Toilets and showers were very clean and plentiful washing up sinks, we never found a clean water point but I'm sure they were there somewhere!

Heavy overnight rain meant we struggled to get our caravan off the pitch as the water had not sunk into the hard ground leaving a muddy surface. We needed the motor mover plus the aid of a couple of strong Dutchmen. Due to the rain we did not see the site at it's best as it became very dark due to all the trees. I'm sure that it must be lovely in good weather though.

To sum up, we would use again for overnight stops, or possibly a short stay. Used ACSi card so only 15. 20 Euros per night.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pjj2605 6 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in a nice rural area. Nice friendly staff, site kept very clean as they all work hard.

Good area for bike riding. We also used the tennis courts in the village.

I would advise using rock pegs as the ground is very hard. Also insect repellent, plenty of bites!

Recommend a visit to Noyers sur Serein, beautiful picturesque village. Clamecy is also nice.

The toilet/shower facilities on site are excellent. Very clean, no queues. (Take your own toilet roll).

The pool is lovely but one negative is that it is too deep. The shallow end was above my head, I couldn't let my son go in on his own.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spyway17 1 review from this member

Truly beautiful site, terraced with wide spaced trees, distant views through the gaps, wild flowers including orchids, woodpeckers, owls, buzzards overhead. Really quiet and well kept, loos especially clean and showers untimed and free. Good night lights in the electric points. Plenty of children's toys and pool but what more can a child want than a wood to play in? Its a fabulous base for exploring the region and is ideal for country-lovers. Take a spike and hammer to get pegs into the stony ground and when wet leave slip-on shoes at the tent/caravan doorway as the soles will get a bit muddy. Lovely rural village close by. Canal cycling (2 and a half miles away) is superb - truly beautiful bits and in September it rains walnuts. Very good restaurant just off canal in Chatel-Censoir. There were several British there (9/2011), plenty of easy-going dutch, German and French. Great supermarkets in Clamecy 15 minutes away. Run by Robert and Henriette. A nicer couple hard to find.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cmsbrookes 1 review from this member

We stayed here with our 2-1/2 year old son for five nights and were very impressed. The facilities were excellent and cleaned daily. There's even a bathroom specifically for kids with a baby change too which had rainfall showers! The pool was lovely and clean (if a bit deep and cold) and there's a kiddie pool with lots of water toys. Beautiful view from the pool. There's also a sandbox with loads of toys and a lot of playground equipment. The whole place is very kid-friendly. There are quite a few trees around the campsite and you don't feel like you're right on top of your neighbors. The owners are nice and helpful and speak English. The surrounding area seemed pretty quiet when we were there, but you can rent cycles from the campsite and go along the canal and there are some very pretty quintessential French towns nearby. There's a big grocery store only 10 minutes away too. We will definitely come here again sometime.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

I wouldn't normally return to the same site or area over and over but as the purpose of the trip was to see the 'Tour de France' pass through Saint Fargeau we decided to stick with something we knew that was a short drive away as the town will be packed in the run up to the cyclists arriving. So here we are back at Au bois Joli for the 2nd year running.

So what's changed since my last review? Well, very little. Granted we came in May last year so the site was very very quiet, it is now July so you have to expect more visitors and I guess, more problems? But, on the whole we had virtually the same experience as last year.

On arrival we were fortunate enough to find the shop/reception open so we were able to check in with the usual efficiency and without any problem which matters when you have driven over from the UK and just need to get 'settled'.
We were given a little plan of the site with the available pitches marked and told to go and pick the one we want then let them now later. We found a nice spot close to the perimeter away from the play areas and family camps and proceeded to pitch our tent (Vango Breckenridge) but hit upon a slight snag.
Most of the pitches, whilst being soil/grass covered are still fairly hard as they need to be suitable for tents and caravans which considering there had been very little in the way of rain before we arrived meant pitching with anything other than rock pegs was virtually impossible. We used up our 6 rock pegs and had to persevere with the variety of others in our bag. So if you are planning to come to the site buy plenty of rock pegs just in case. Having said that - we had a wet few days here which came to a head with a huge rain / hailstone / lightening / thunder storm but the very next morning the ground around our tent was fairly dry as the hard ground had drained the huge amounts of water away quickly.

Once we were set up we need the inevitable comfort break and shower which I am pleased to report was as pleasant an experience as the year before. The toilet and shower blocks were still well maintained despite some of the children on the site running in and out of the block without attempting to step on the door mat let alone wipe the forest off their feet! The showers are conventional style, no pressing buttons or putting money in a meter, just turn on the shower and there you go - bliss!

The washing up areas are plentiful with very big sinks and draining boards so no need to shoehorn yourselves in alongside your neighbours to clean your pots and pans. We did contemplate using the washing machine this year as the weather hasn't been very good and with another week in France ahead of us I didn't fancy muddy clothes lying around but at 4.5 euros a go and you are expected to buy the washing powder from the on site shop ('unless you are forced to use your own due to allergy').

The pool was open this year and despite the poor weather, as soon as there was a break in the clouds plenty of people made use of it. Again it seemed very well maintained and clean.

Of course I suppose I need to mention the 'D' word. Dutch! As previous reviewers and the campsites own website points out the owners of the site are Dutch and the site is very heavily favoured by Dutch campers. Is this really an issue? Well, if you want every sign and notice in English and want to be able to chat to other British holiday makers then I suppose it would be. But if you are happy to have most things written in French, with a distinct absence of 'Engalnd' gazebos, George cross deck chairs and football shaped BBQs then there will be no problem here. But just bring plenty of books and magazines as the supply in the shop 'library' is very low on English print.

So the Pros

Great location, Efficient staff, small shop, pool, free wifi, fresh bread delivery every morning, hot clean showers.

The Cons???

Expensive laundry, shop needs to be open longer hours, the overall price is a bit on the expensive side

And one that you can decide for yourself = pro or con - the site doesn't pander to the new breed British camper. But is still welcoming to us traditional ones.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

Just got back from a tour of Burgundy and Champagne. We stayed at Au Bois Joli for a couple of reasons - 1) The 2 reviews already posted did not have any negative comments as far as I am concerned and 2) they have their own website which made booking very easy!. We did struggle to find the site though. With all the best planning in the world we still had trouble. We finally had to stop and ask a family in the street just outside Andryes who pointed us in the direction of the village but again, google maps let us down! Luckily we stopped to ask yet another couple on the roadside in Andryes, who happened to be Dutch and staying on the site.

The site is very nice indeed, well planned out and very quiet. I can agree with the earlier comment about this being heavily favoured by the Dutch and Germans but I cannot see that this is an issue. We are not the kind of people who pitch up then sit outside the tent/caravan for the week. We visited lots of places in the area - Vezelay - You must go! The highlight of the area!, Chablis - a bit of a let down, not worth the trip. Auxerre - the nearest big 'city' good for a supermarket stop and petrol. Clamecy - quite sweet, worth a look. Saint Fargeau - Stunning! Druyes - quiet and medieval. Troyes - busy town but full of old architecture - very nice! Joigny - worth a look but nothing fabulous.

We don't spend a vast amount of time at any campsite but I can tell you that the showers and toilets were kept very clean - and were free. There was a big mosquito problem - so take plenty of spray. We saw a woodpecker, bats, wagtails and heard a cuckoo. There is a bread delivery every morning - you just leave your order on the notice board every evening and it is delivered to your tent the next morning - still warm!

We were able to hire an adaptor for the EHU and the owners of the site were more than happy to help us find a site in Champagne.

I would certainly recommend this site to friends, we were a little sad to leave for Eppernay on wednesday morning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fishfood 1 review from this member

My wife and our three children aged 4 - 13 visited Au Bois Joli for a week in August 2007. The campsite is just outside the village of Andryes, a fairly small rural village with a pretty river and the essential bar although the owner supports Alonso! Clemency is the nearest town and the main tourist hot-spot is Vezalay some 15 miles away. This campsite is a rural retreat far from the bustle of a big city.
Cut from a wood all pitches are under trees and therefore sparsely grassed. They can turn a little muddy after a lot of rain. Pitches are accessed by gravel roads which inter-twine the trees and can be a bit tight with very large units.The site slopes although some work has been done to level the pitches which are mostly large.
The sanitary facilities were fine and kept clean. If you were at the extremity of the site then there's quite a walk to the loo. Showers were our favourite type with no push button and independent control of hot and cold water.
The two swimming pools, one for toddlers and the other 'adult' one were freezing cold. Our kids who love the water wanted to come out after only a few minutes. The large pool was very deep - approaching 2 metres at the shallow end! Swimming was fine but playing with the children was impossible. The owners oversee the pool with vigour from their adjacent bungalow.
The first week of our holiday was a relaxing time but we left the site early mainly because of the pool and the fact that the Dutch owners marketed heavily in Holland and the site was almost exclusively Dutch. It didn't feel like France, more like Amsterdam. I guess we go to France to enjoy the culture and language so were disappointed. Sadly we will not return.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019