Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Maesmawr Farm Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Maesmawr Farm Resort > Reviews

Maesmawr Farm Resort
Moat Lane
Caersws
Newtown
Powys   (Browse area)
SY17 5SB
Tel: 01686 688011
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Glamping Only from 2020
Open: 05/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Windrush2 20 reviews from this member

 Situated on the valley floor of the Severn, Maesmawr was rather a pleasing site to visit in terms of its location, facilities and access. As it is in the Severn Valley the whole site is dead flat which is always appreciated especially when you're pitching a tent.

The facilities were clean, well maintained and (importantly for the time of year) warm. Plus virtually all to myself as no one else was staying at the site at the time of my visit. The staff were friendly and seemed ready to help with anything.

The site is rather close to the main road that runs from Shrewsbury to the coast however, which meant that at times there was some road noise, and its possible the facilities may be a little small during busy seasons.

Additionally, the cost seemed a little on the higher side when compared to sites with similar quality facilities (in admittedly more desirable surroundings) however that shouldn't detract too much from this being a pretty good site.

Access is easy, it is not hard to find, the local village of Caersws has two convenience stores and a rather good fish and chip shop. Newtown is a few minutes drive away, or is alternatively accessible from the train station at Caersws.

For those that enjoy forests, hill walking and general outdoor activities, Hafren Forest, the Source of the Wye and Severn rivers, and Clywedog Reservoir are also only a few minutes drive away.

I can certainly recommend this site as a short stop and will definitely be staying here again when I am next in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glosbill 30 reviews from this member

 Great site, under development with permanent vans.

Do not be put off. It welcomes tourers, has fabulous views and top quality facilities.

Friendly helpful staff with a good welcome. Level pitches with electric.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 17 reviews from this member

 Excellent site set in stunning countryside with views to match. We camped in the back field, no hook up and we had the field to ourselves.

The site caters for tin tents and has loads of hook up pitches as well as holiday homes. The facilities are spotless and regularly serviced, hot water and washing up area - very useful.

The staff/owners are helpful and friendly, and the little cabin/office has plenty of information on local attractions. Nice little pub, The Red Lion and a great chip shop in the local village, Caersws.

There's a range of supermarkets available in Newtown nearby. On the negative side, it would be nice to have an ice block freezing facility for us Luddites and the road is a bit noisy, which is odd considering it's a fair way away.

But we'd definitely go again, lovely place. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: J Hodgson 11 reviews from this member

 Brilliant. This is an absolutely spotless campsite. The grass is kept short (on the caravan side - longer on the camping side on our visit - though camping was allowed in non term-time June on the spacious caravan side).

The access round the site is via broad gravelled driveways. The toilet block is new, heated and again, spotless. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and offered to help our daughter who has had a spot of bother. Very much appreciated. It is a large open site with plenty of room to separate one pitch from the next.

I can thoroughly recommend the site. By the way - the nearby lightly used rural train line is no disturbance at all. Red kites are frequent visitors, rabbits abound and I even saw a family of partridge chicks with mum, as well as pied wagtails, bullfinches, curlews, hovering kestrels and gliding buzzards - and the views to the surrounding hills are very attractive. The site itself is perfectly flat.

The nearest town, Newtown, is about 10 minutes drive away, with a pleasant riverside walk and varied small local shops as well as 3 supermarkets and a cinema. Parking is cheap and plentiful. (Follow directions for town centre) Top-tip.

Avoid travelling through Newtown at all costs on a late Friday afternoon; it took us 50 minutes to travel 2 miles! This is a regular occurrence, it seems. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miss baritone 20 reviews from this member

 I booked this site as my friend was getting married in nearby Cearsws. The site was beautiful. Well laid out. Beautiful spotless facilities including free showers with loads of hot water. A great indoor dish washing room. Be warned though the site is close to the train track and the trains are noisy. The location couldn't have been better for our purposes.

I was less impressed with the service though. I was delayed in arriving due to traffic problems and got to site around 6pm. There was a notice in the window of reception saying arrival times was up to 7. 30 and not to site without speaking to the warden.

Unfortunately there was no reply on the number provided and no voicemail facility. In the end I had to take the chance and pitch anyway. I was on my own with a 4 year old child and had to rush to get the tent up before it got dark.

The warden arrived next morning just as I was leaving for the wedding so I booked in and paid. She was fine with me pitching but I was very surprised to be told my plain white vivaro van wasn't allowed and the notices saying commercial vehicles not allowed pointed out.

However I made it clear on the phone when booking that I had a van and was assured it wouldn't be a problem. In the end because I was only staying 2 nights and the boss wasn't around it was agreed I could stay. However what would the situation have been if I had wanted to stay longer.

Would they really have chased a single woman with a young child, especially when I had made a point of checking on the phone that the vehicle wouldn't be a problem and I had travelled 225 miles to get there.

The site was great but because of the attitude we won't be going back which is a shame. My little boy loved the area and has already asked if we can go back next summer. We will look for a different site instead 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elaine Grayson 60 1 review from this member

 Excellent new toilet block. Site very well maintained. Beautiful manicured grass pitch.

Very friendly welcome. Easy access from main road. Dog friendly. Quiet.

Twelve pounds a night without ehu excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ceri Preston 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site, and we have had a great weekend. The pitches are spacious and lovely views. The field is flat and grass kept short.

My only criticism is the toilet and shower block! I'm not sure if they are temporary and a proper block is going to replace this one. Although very clean there was no hot water in the loo to wash your hands and the showers very basic. For what is charged per night I was expecting a bit more.

There is no play area for children, but as this site has recently opened this may something to be installed at a later date.

The surrounding area is great for waking (We walked to the source of the river seven)which was lovely and there is wheelchair access along the river. In the village there are two pubs, a spar and fish and chip shop.

The chippy closed at 9pm though! The beach is only a 40 minute drive away and Newtown 10 minute drive.

Overall this was a good site and would go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BPeterB 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights on this nice, flat, quiet & easily accessible site. New owners are friendly enough. Site now has static vans on but still plenty of room for tourers.

Original toilet & shower block still clean & tidy but getting a bit tired now. No shaving or washing area only a shower. Pitch a bit expensive at 15 + 3 for electric.

OK whilst quiet but would be a lot if more were on site. Would be ideal for young kids as very safe.

Despite all this we would go back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peterf0403 1 review from this member

 I booked to camp here on the second night of a three day cycle tour of mid-Wales. It is situated just off NCN Route 81, a little before the level crossing outside the village of Caersws.

Its a fairly spacious, flat site accommodating both caravans and tents and is set in beautiful countryside.

The toilets and showers were in separate portacabins and were kept very clean with constant hot water.

The owners were very friendly, helpful and hospitable. I arrived a little late on the Sunday evening. While I was pitching up they took it upon themselves to find out if food was still available locally at the pub or Tesco.

It wasn't, and so they kindly provided me with something to eat and a large flask of tea which was fantastic of them.

I can definitely recommend a visit to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ImAHappyCaravanner 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous site! Easy to access off the main road, with stunning views of surrounding mountains. Red kites and birds of prey can be seen flying over the site and there's gorgeous sunsets.

The pitches are REALLY spacious and there's loads to do in the vicinity of the site. All the services are well kept, there's plenty of hot water in the free showers and the toilets are very clean. Highly recommend this site to anyone and will definitely be coming back. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Maesmawr Farm Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Maesmawr Farm Resort?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Maesmawr Farm Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newtown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement