Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gosford Forest Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Co Armagh > Gosford Forest Park Reviews

Gosford Forest Park
Markethill
Co Armagh
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT60 1UG
Tel: 028 37551277
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kennyo 6 reviews from this member

Just spent another marvellous week at this site, definitely my number 1 at the moment.

Even though the site was full it was still relaxing and quite quiet.

Beautiful walks and a great wee park and bike track.

On site chippy, ice cream and coffee is a bonus.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melaniextwo 8 reviews from this member

Lovely forest service ran site. Toilets, showers and campers kitchen are old and could do with a serious revamp but are always kept clean. Beautiful walks.

Excellent children's park. Poultry, sheep, gosts and wild deer on site. Our 6 year old loves it. Spent 9 glorious nights on pitch 24 without having to leave the site to entertain her.

Pitches unfortunately unserviced.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karl51 27 reviews from this member

The site is ideally located within the forest park close to the poultry park and you'll will find plenty of chickens roaming around the site which children love.

As you would aspect with a forest park there are plenty of walks and wildlife to see including deer, cattle & sheep. A great play park for children. Well behaved dogs are welcome which is great.

There are plenty of toilets and showers which were cleaned regularly and open 24/7, with all the amenities in the same complex.

The main gate this time of year closes at 7pm but you can get a key (10 refundable deposit) to let you in/ out as required and means your not going to be annoyed at night by boy racers.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EXY22 1 review from this member

Recently returned from another trip after an absence of a few years.

Well, not much has changed and that is probably a good thing!

Like any Forest Park in Northern Ireland the scenery and walks are breathtaking.

Toilet block is clean and the power showers are fantastic.

Deer park makes a smashing evening walk.

Markethill doesn't disappoint with a nice mix of shops for every need.

Gosford Karting is sure to be a hit with any red blooded males and some females too I should imagine.

Childrens play park should be completed within the next month or so and looked brilliant.

Usual Gypsy caravan population in residence BUT they weren't too bad this year i. E. No late night noise or mess in the toilet blocks etc.

Like most DARD sites this park appears to be suffering from weak/lazy management who could almost certainly find a way to improve the park but there simply doesn't seem to be any incentive. As always the Rangers were a great bunch of lads, always helpful and pleasant.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wildernessvoice 2 reviews from this member

It's been years since either of us had been to Gosford, so a revisit of our youth was wanted.

On the positives this is a lovely area with easy access to lots of local activities and sites. It's not an expensive place to spend a night or 2 either.

Room for improvement: the toilet blocks are cleaned regularly but could do with a major updating. The rules set out on arrival are obviously not followed or even encouraged. Without making this personal, we were surprised at the number of caravans from the travelling community on site. Clothes lines out, even sofas and a washing machine. The children running around the toilet blocks spoiled it for other users.

The other facilities within the forest park leave a lot to be desired, but on the positive it look like someone is working on the main house which could be a great attraction.

If you like heritage livestock and poultry this is also a great place. We loved watching the ducks and cockerels walking past our front door.

Don't think we'll be back soon although we enjoyed out couple of days away, but that was more because we wanted to.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 4SteadyEddie 3 reviews from this member

I experienced the same as Wildernessvoice. We have just returned from a weekend at Gosford, where we witnessed a recreational holiday site half filled with a group of caravans with commercial vehicles in residence.

Cars were driven at speed around the site and it appeared to be acceptable to block the road by having a conversation either from vehicle to vehicle or as a group in the middle of the road leaving you to wait patiently behind until they finished, there was absolutely no courtesy shown to other site users at all.

The children were unsupervised resulting in destructive behaviour which left toilet seats broken, toilets blocked with wads of toilet paper, excrement smeared on the walls and litter everywhere. Hats off to the poor staff who had to work extra hours to sort this out. To add insult to injury we were awakened at 2am when they returned from a night out.

We have been going to this site for twenty years and this is a worrying development and will think twice about a return visit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eddtheduck 4 reviews from this member

This has to be one of our favourite sites yet. With 2 kids this was excellent with plenty of space to run around in, lovely walks and cycling trails.

The site is well maintained with regular patrolling by the friendly rangers. Only drawback was that the shower facilities though clean were a bit outdated and tatty & Could do with a freshen up.

Also a playpark would be good for the kids.

Cant wait to return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glencroft17 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a 4 night stay. Very friendly site. Well laid out with hard standing for all caravan pitches.

Electric on each pitch with a shared water supply. Lovely walks throughout the forest. Kids farm, deer, other rare breeds of sheep etc. Toilet block could do with a facelift, bit run down.

Strictly all quiet at 11pm. All in all a good site which we are going back to. Other users very friendly some have been coming here for over 20 years.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Grapes1851 6 reviews from this member

Beautiful site, excellent walking/cycling trails, castle is worth walking to see, although no access.

Toilet/shower block is a bit old but adequate. Whoever said it had good drainage had not been there after heavy rain - central area(presumably for tents) was rather soft and a bit boggy. Didn't worry the quad biker who turned up early evening and went racketing around. Easy walk to Markethill for small shopping. Hard standing arranged nicely in a circle, some under trees if you prefer. Loads of wildlife.

Minor drawbacks - limited hours of Ranger attendance, signposting inadequate.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alig69 5 reviews from this member

This was the first site I stayed in with my touring caravan after I got it so it was very exciting to try it out. Considering how early in the season it was it was pretty busy. The caravan site is right in the middle of the huge and lovely Gosford Forest Park.

There is a little animal petting zoo, mainly full of chickens and ducks, right beside the campsite which is good for the kids. You'll certainly know it's morning when the roosters decide the sun is up.

The pitches are all hard standing with plenty of space around them. The toilet block is quite small and dated, as others have mentioned, but perfectly fine. Considering this site only charges around 16 per night I don't think anyone can complain.

This is a really good campsite and you can tell that many of the people staying there are regulars. Loads of kids about, but it does get quieter after dark. With no roads nearby it gets very quiet.

There are plenty of great walking trails around the forest too. There also appears to be a second little quiet caravan area at the other side of the park too, I'm not sure if that is only for caravan club members or something, but if you were looking to be away from the main part of the park you could enquire.

Markethill is only a few minutes away by car or about 15mins by foot, I was able to get gas for the caravan there with no problems. We also ate in the little greasy spoon near the market. They do a good Ulster Fry.

The negative for me is the booking process. Basically you need to ring the ranger between 10 and 11am. There seems to be no other way to book and it is a pain.

The ranger was very helpful though. It would probably be mobbed if they had an online booking system, as it is popular enough already, so maybe it's actually a positive that you cannot. I'm not sure I would just turn up at weekends without ringing first, but can't see it being an issue midweek.

This is a very good site and excellent value for money. We really are blessed in NI with the sites the Forestry Service provide.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3718 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019