Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Baume

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Provence - Cote D Azur > Frejus > Camping La Baume > Reviews

Camping La Baume
Rue Des Combattants Dafrique Du Nord
Frejus
Provence - Cote D Azur   (Browse area)
83600
Tel: 0033 (0)4 94 19 88 88
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smileydad 9 reviews from this member

 This is a large campsite with adjacent block type accommodation.

The Campsite is used by tanks, caravans, motorhomes and everything in-between.

There are the usual Eurocamp, Canvas and other camping companies on site also. There is a good mix of units and nationalities around the campsite.

Staff generally speak several languages well - this was very useful as I can get by in French but that's about it.

There are several pools, but I found that the sunbeds filled up VERY early in the morning (with towels) and these didn't appear to be moved on by the attending staff.

Some of the pools have slides and these were thoroughly enjoyed by my kids.

There is a good range of shops (grocery, pharmacy type, souvenir etc) and prices are fairly reasonable.

Washrooms and wash up areas are good with plenty of hot water and I only had to queue for a couple of minutes once in 10 days.

Toilet roll is provided (until it runs out) but there is no soap at any wash hand basin, so you'll need to remember to take your own.

My only bug-bear about the wash up areas was that there were no plugs for the sink - so water usage was much higher than necessary.

There's a bar and takeaway - bar drinks were ok-priced as was the takeaway, but having used the takeaway once, I didn't again as the quality wasn't great. There's a great pizza takeaway outside the campsite (about 3 mins in a car) near to a lovely restaurant - much better quality foods and less hectic

The pitches are around 80m metres square or more and surrounded by hedges to give a little privacy. The hedges are immature though so they;re easy to walk through. However, although the pitches are of a good size there are trees all over the place - we had 2 in our pitch and they obstruct the use of the space a lot. I'd suggest talking to someone about the amount of clear space you need before you book. We couldn't have comfortably put up our gazebo as well as our large tent. Some of the pitches were very large though.

The location was great - about 15 mins from a brilliant beach (St Aygulf) and easy for day trips to Italy, Monaco, Cannes, Nice etc

There is road noise from the adjacent A-road which goes through the night, but a lot of campers were fairly noisy until the early hours - site management really should do something about the curfew - as there doesn't appear to be one, although the site rules say there are.

I would happily go here again, but it's a bit of a hike down through France and about 100 in tolls if you use the motorways. But once you get there, it's well worth it 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clears 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here end of July/start of August after drive down from Calais. Fantastic site, loads to do. Pitches are huge, private, tree lined. They are quite dusty though. I was worried that the 6A EHU would be problematic, but it never tripped once despite kettles, fone chargers, fans, hairdryers all in use. Slight niggle was that the fully serviced pitch had a poor quality, aged tap which leaked too much to support my continuous water feed device, so I ended up filling aquaroll as usual. The multiple pools are large and lovely and the sports facilities are really impressive. Access to the pools is not allowed before 9am and reserving sunloungers is not allowed, to the point that the lifeguards can and do remove towels from unoccupied ones to free them up; personally I like this as it is fair to all. Though speedos are officially required, this rule was not enforced and most males were in board shorts happily. Toilet blocks are large and appear to be cleaned all day long. Push button showers, in one or two cases, don't stay on long, but otherwise excellent. Barbeques were prohibited on site, but vast majority of people were using CADAC or similar without a problem. The on site shops are really good, as were the bars and restaurants. Location allows easy drives to St Tropez, Cannes, Nice, Monaco etc, and Frejus itself is a lovely little port with excellent shops, bars and restauarants. Do go to La Baume if you want a lively, multinational site. Dont go if you want peace and quiet, lots of Brits and hardstanding.

We will be booking again 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Doneil 19 reviews from this member

 Drove here at the beginning of the schools summer holidays and didn't leave till the end of August, so I can honestly say that my family and I loved it.

Plenty to do on site, most days we never saw the Kids as they were busy playing in the pools. Entertainment is the usual fun/cheesy stuff. But there is a choice of going to the other side of the park to the other Bar/restaurant if you want a quieter evening.

Frejus is only a 10min bus ride which you can catch from directly outside the site and drops you off in the centre of the promenade and last bus bask is midnight, so leave the car at home enjoy the evening markets and many restaurants.

Facilities on site cleaned regular each pitch has own water/waste point pretty level too. If your unit is of a larger size then I suggest you mention it when booking as although ours was OK, it didn't give us a lot of free space and there is plenty of bigger pitches.

We will be back again next year 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doctor and Fosters 1 review from this member

 We spent one week with Eurocamp at La Baume with two sons (14 & 12). It's made up of two former camp sites merged into one large site; we were glad we took bicycles to get around.

There is so much to do on the site that we hardly saw the boys. There are five swimming pools, a few water slides, a disco, the list goes on. The reception is efficient and welcoming, as are all the different Reps from the many European camping companies. Near the reception is a complimentary area to wash the sand off your car and refill the washer bottle.

The toilet blocks and washing up areas were cleaned twice a day and well maintained. The pools were clean and guarded, but like most French campsites I've been to over the last thirty years, the pools were quite dated and stuck in the 1970's. As with most sites, they enforce the 'no board shorts' rule to reduce water loss and insist on, the ever so fetching speedo second skin, lycra trunks. There were plenty of sun loungers but not much shade.

We used the bar and takeaway once. The service is 'relaxed', the food is what you'd expect for a poolside bar and the prices are a little 'inflated'.

All this makes the site sound perfect for a busy family holiday. The only problem was a HUGE one. The site is literally next to the A7 auto route and was dismissed in Eurocamp's brochure as 'Some road noise may be heard at night'. The reality is this. If you hire a Keycamp static home, they're well away from the motorway, it's lovely and quiet and next to the quietest pool. 2012 Eurocamp customers and all the touring plots were smack bang next to a twenty feet high wall which does not keep the noise out. The motorway can be heard 24/7, which ruined the holiday. We don't live next to a motorway and we didn't drive 1000 miles on the auto route, to sit next to it all week.

Eurocamp staff were friendly and helpful, but their standards need to be raised.

All in all, an excellent site as long as you aren't touring or staying with Eurocamp; unless you don't mind motorway noise.

The Corniche coastal road to Monaco via Nice is scenic and an excellent day out. We drove the coastal road and then drove back along the A7 straight to our tent. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Doneil 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for a week in one of keycamps statics, we took a flight to Nice and booked a car at airport.

we all agreed (2 family's with a static each) that this was probably one of the best sites we'd stayed at, great pools for the kids, good little bar and disco with the usual cheesy but fun entertainment, The little site supermarket has everything you need, not too much of a rip off and nice staff,

We'll be returning next year, but with our folding camper and staying longer as we loved it here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve + Lisa 7 reviews from this member

 Well. Our third year on this site now having now bought a touring caravan. Our last review was done in 2008 and not a great deal has changed. The pools are still excellent and get very busy but I do feel they are ready for a repaint.

We now need to use the toilet/shower blocks and they are outstanding. Regularly being cleaned by the many staff they have to be seen to be believed (especially for France).

The touring plots are also very good with hedges around each plot. Mains water and waste are also available but some taps were corroded and could potentially be a problem. Perhaps best to ensure booked with it.

Restaurant still good. Takeaway still chaotic.

Will probably be booking for next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SusieJM 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this large and busy campsite. I would have to agree with previous reviewers that it is in a great area with loads to do for kids and adults alike.

Our pitch was large and surrounded by attractive trees and shrubs but although we were a couple of lanes back from the motorway the noise was very intrusive, particularly from about 5am. The level of noise did vary depending on the wind direction but at times it was almost unbearable.

The takeaway at the La Baume end was truly awful and slow and the bar staff at the La Palmaraie end were grumpy.

One thing that was very good was the standard of the loos, showers and washing up area and there was often someone there cleaning when I went in. I wish I could say the same about the pool areas at La Baume which are in need of updating. Even just a good paint job would help as there were big areas flaking off in the kids pool and jacuzzi. All the walls around the pool and shopping area were badly stained giving a very unattractive overall impression.

Our boys found it very hard to meet friends as they would normally hook up with other kids at the football pitch. This was never possible at this site as it was constantly taken over by young French adults who played extremely roughly with my 11 and 13 year olds when they tried to join in on a couple of occasions. However, on the times when the site organised a tournament for the kids it was very well run. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Markmona 1 review from this member

 Myself, my wife and 4 children have been coming to La Baume for at least 6 years now, the campsite always seems to be getting better every time we return with something nearly every year.
Its a large campsite where it is best to be close to either La Baume or La palmeraraie as it can be quite a walk if you are anywhere in between.
The pools are brilliant with great facilities. Theres 2 bars and 1 restaurant- all excellent. The campsite is very safe with many guards, making it very suitable for families.
Before going to La Baume we travelled to many campsites, but none quite as good as La Baume.
Overall, La Baume La palmeraie is a brilliant campsite, with many facilities. Great for all the family. 10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mcurrie 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from La Baume and had a great time. Did a self drive from Calais, and would advise you build in an extra 200 euros in your budget for total toll charges if travelling on the auturoute. That said the journey was straight forward, no hold ups at all. Stayed in a 3 bed elegance static hired from siblu. The accomodation was excellent, brand new and well kitted out. The only negative is that these vans are situated in an area where there is not a lot of shade and it gets very warm, however we made good use of the fan provided and spent time at the lovely pools. The rest of the site has loads of shade. There are no sun loungers at the pool but lots of people brought folding camp chairs and lilos to rest on. The pools have lifeguards in attendance and they seemed very attentive. The pool was deep though and you can easily get out of your depth, but there is a good shallow end too for children. Another bonus, we had no trouble with insects.

Our children, age 16 and 12 had a great time making many friends and enjoyed the disco at night where most of the teenagers hang out. There was also entertainment which would suit younger children too. The pitches are private with lovely shrubs all around the park. Shower blocks were spotless. The supermarket was adequate but I would recommend going to the Carrefour hypermarket which is about 10 mins by car. We didn't use the snack bars/ restaurants but a lot of people said they enjoyed the pizzas. The siblu staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The site is close to the A8 but the traffic noise wasn't too bad from where we were situated and didn't disturb us.

The site is a great location for visiting the area and would recommend visits to Port Grimaud, coastal road to Cannes and St Tropez. The beach from Port Frejus to St Raphael is lovely and parking is cheap, we paid 2 euros for several hours. There is a nice evening market selling mostly crafts every evening from 8pm at St Raphael but get there early as parking can be difficult.

Overall I would give this campsite 10/10. Lovely campsite, great location and very handy for the motorway for those driving. Would return here and recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeanm 27 reviews from this member

 I have previously reviewed this campsite and I love it. I have to add an update to prepare you. I don't think that the french have heard of Le Credit Crunch! Take an extremely big wallet. I know the rate of exchange is poor but their prices have gone sky high. 5 euros to wash clothes! 5 euros to dry them! To use their wi-fi 6 euros an hour! Drive to the local Macdonalds and the wi-fi is free! The campsite shop is outrageously priced. You expect to pay slightly more but their prices are at least double! I will have to save hard if I want to return! 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Baume child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping La Baume have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Baume?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping La Baume dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frejus      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Provence - Cote D Azur

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3291 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement