Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Welshpool > Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park
Pont Rhyd Y Groes
Marton
Welshpool
Powys   (Browse area)
SY21 8JJ
Tel: 01938 561228  or  07866907200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55 ( Over 25s Only )
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonyr40556myx 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 1 night.

Beautiful campsite shower block 1st class

William and Helen very friendly and helpful

Yes I would recommend this campsite.

We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JohnCUK 2 reviews from this member

Having camped for many years I know a quiet campsite when I find one and the small field allocated for tents at the front of the site, borders a busy road to Marton with the junction with the A490 only yards away.

We experienced heavy farm vehicles easily able to see into the field passing by until 10. 00pm and additionally during the day screaming cars and articulated vehicles. Other areas of the site for caravans may be quieter but for tenting this is not our idea of “peace & quiet”.

If p+q is what you’re after check map before you book. The noise was mentioned to the owner who relied that they do not notice it in their house.

Facilities are excellent and justify the cost, in effect you have a private bathroom area to yourself (except without the bath). Agree with other comments that wi-fi reception is a problem but this is free anyway and freezer facilities are also free. On most campsites caravans are charged at a higher rate, with this site the cost per night is the same for a tent. EHU at £4. 00 per night.

For a camper it’s a shame that the road net-work lets this site down and as a walker, I like to have Rights of Way to walk from a site to obtain peace & quiet but that would be asking too much. View from site over Corndon Hill in the distance, delightful.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 12 reviews from this member

Hosts William and Helen are cheerful, even to late arrivals!

We were offered a pitch in the separate camping field, which includes 3 gravel pitches for campervans and several other grass pitches with electric, tap and picnic table on each; this suited us fine. This field is beside the road, but not a real problem.

Main camping area has 60 fully serviced pitches separated by hedges, some clearly not level. We understand from other campers that ~50 of these are seasonal pitches, so you would need to book to guarantee a space.

2 separate facilities blocks. The first includes 7 very new wet rooms, very nice. The other includes traditional loos and showers and the kitchen/wash-up area; only 2 wash-up sinks available and there was a queue in the morning.

A good location for a stopover and we may be back.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Calibra1 5 reviews from this member

Called here with the intention of maybe 3 nights, but due to the battery going on my motorbike and waiting for a warranty vehicle we could only stay the one night, but it was pleasurable,

A very well kept quiet and peaceful site (The lambs can be a bit vocal) The shower/toilet block are one of the best we have used, very clean and modern.

We will definitely be returning to finish our stay there.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jcjbears 11 reviews from this member

A lovely, quiet, adults only campsite in beautiful countryside just a short drive from Welshpool.

The tent camping field, which had only about 5 tents and a camper van in when we stayed for a long weekend at the end of July, is separate from the caravans and further from the well equipped kitchen (including washing up facilities, a fridge freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle and book/DVD 'library')and immaculate shower/toilet block. Free WiFi is available, but only in, or by, the kitchen. There was, however, a reasonable phone signal in the tent field so this was not a problem.

My only complaint about this super site is that the trek to the toilet is made further by having to walk all the way around 2 caravan pitches and their 'gardens'(all van pitches have hedges around them). A bit of a pain in the middle of the night dash! I'm sure this situation could be improved by making a path for the tent campers that is more direct.

The owner was friendly, the site well maintained and the fresh eggs we bought on site were delicious.

There are plenty of places nearby to visit for walks and days out but there is little opportunity to walk from the site, so I would not recommend staying here without a car.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HappyHobbyDays 3 reviews from this member

Great new shower block with heated floor & complete separate unit with basin, shower, hair dryer & toilet. Very helpful owners. Pitches are a good size & hard standing. Most pitches however, are annually sited so only a few available for proper tourers. Location is OK which is why I only gave 4 stars. Not many footpaths (Muddy when we visited) from the site & you really need to use your car. Scenery is superb, visit Montgomery Castle for outstanding panoramic views. Lake Vyrnwy is a must visit approx 24 miles from the site. Overall a great 4 nights say.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Effnboots 15 reviews from this member

A fantastic site - highly recommend if you like quiet sites that are clean and tidy with five star facilities. I particularly liked:

- plenty of heated shower and toilet blocks, plenty of hot water and always clean

- excellent kitchen facilities, again heated, with added extras including books/DVDs to borrow, binoculars to view the local birds and wildlife

- handy dedicated dog walk

- owners non intrusive but extremely helpful when needed!

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Silverfarthing 1 review from this member

Just had a couple of days here with our dog. Well what a find it is so peaceful and friendly a lovely dog walking area and the facilities are lovely and clean. The only thing to remember is the sat nav takes up a slip road and not to site so don't go up park dale stay on main road. It is an adults only site no one under 25 so unable to click on child friendliness.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madges R Us 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site and here's our review.

We had a little trouble finding the site but after a phone call we were pointed in the right direction, we must have taken a wrong road somewhere. On arriving we pulled over to book in at the barn which was next to the house, a short walk from where we had parked up.

We were greeted by Helen the site owner who was very pleasant. We paid our outstanding £158 as we had already sent a deposit of £20/£22 I can't remember exactly. At this point we hadn't seen the site or our pitch.

Helen told us that she had kept pitch seven for us and gave us verbal directions. We got back into the car and drove onto the site to find our pitch. We drove around the corner and well what a surprise we had, the site was packed with caravans, a lot more than we thought the site accommodated, the website advertising 30 pitches (which is what we were going by), on their advertising leaflet we'd picked up from somewhere they advertised 40 pitches. From the photographs on the website and on the leaflet the site look more spread out certainly not as congested as what we were looking at. Also on the photographs there appeared to be some grass pitches but we didn't see any of these either, they'd obviously been turned into hard standing.

We unhitched the caravan, pushed it on the pitch, dropped the steadies and set up, great our holiday begins. After a cuppa we started to set up the TV, we have an Avtex and a digital Ariel, you've guessed it, no signal, we pointed this way that way and every way but no joy, even Helen and her son came to our aid, but still no joy. As we looked around at everyone else's caravan they all had satellite dishes, then the penny started to drop, the site had poor signal. We weren't aware of this upon booking we just took it for granted that we would be able to get a signal, our Avtex has never let us down before, I should of asked about the signal when I rang up to book, it doesn't say anywhere on the leaflet of website about bad TV signal or requiring a satellite dish. We did feel let down by the owner's as they knew we were staying for over a week, if I didn't think to ask I felt that they should have told us before I booked. We're not TV addicts but it is nice to have the TV option, especially if the weather is bad and to catch up with the news. In the end a fellow caravanner helped us out by allowing us to plug our universal aerial into his satellite dish, hey presto the TV sprung into action. I did feel that the owner's could at least have kept a couple of spare dishes to lend out to expecting holiday makers like us.

We had a very strong WiFi signal (advertised wifi available on there website) even if it was around the washing up area and not in the caravan.

Later on whilst having our evening meal we began wondering where all the other caravanners were, I decided to go and find out from another caravanner where everyone was. To our surprise/shock we were told that the caravans were empty and that they were sited and were empty most of the time. We felt really disappointed by this, this was advertised as a caravan touring park but from what we could see it was that the majority of caravans were sited and not going anywhere.

The following day we woke up and sat outside to have our breakfast, we started to feel as though we were sitting in a caravan ghost town (or a caravan storage park), we could have done this back at our storage park for free. The adverts for this site, leaflet or website never mentioned anything about sited Caravans, if it had we wouldn't have booked. What we like about touring sites is that you meet a lot of people, have a chat whilst doing the dishes, watching people going about their chores and admiring there set ups, non of this was going to happen here it was like a ghost town.

To avoid me having to drag on there were a few other issues like the smell of drains near our pitch, the pitch itself was made of old road rubble(tarmac) which smelt when hot and became sticky. It stuck to my shoes and then got taken into the caravan which left black sticky marks on the mock wooden floor of our caravan which I then had to scrub with a scourer to remove. I also found small pieces had stuck to my socks, which I then threw away.

We were also surprised that there wasn't a washing machine or tumble dryer, not that I do any washing whilst I'm away for a week but I do like to tumble dry my towels after having a shower in readiness for the next day.

The shower block was very clean but in the ladies and the men's there were two toilets and only one shower, on a caravan site which accommodated 40 Caravans and 10 camping pitches. There was one disabled shower.

Most of the time whilst we were there the owner continued to use a bobcat digger to dig a trench to lay a new drainage system, perhaps in readiness for more sited caravans. We were not able to sit outside the caravan in the peace a tranquillity of the site as advertised because of the continuous noise.

Thursday came around and we'd had enough, we couldn't stand it on site any longer, we decided to pack up and leave. I went down to the house to ask for a refund but bumped into Helen on the way down and explained to her we were leaving and why and that we wanted a refund for the night's we weren't staying.

We had a refund and left.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gina Davies 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful site. Beautifully set out with bushes and trees between each pitch. Toilets very clean and tidy. Very pleasant owner.

Good touring spot for Welshpool, Shrewsbury and Telford.

We had 3 very pleasant nights on this site and would go again if in the area.

Would recommend getting a satellite dish for the telly as the reception was nil and only people with dishes were getting a picture.

The Nags Head in Pontesford is well worth going to we had a lovely meal and the place was spotlessly clean and the people were very friendly and chatty.

Lovely site. Well worth going to.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Welshpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2611 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020