Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Welshpool > Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park
Pont Rhyd Y Groes
Marton
Welshpool
Powys   (Browse area)
SY21 8JJ
Tel: 01938 561228  or  07866907200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55 ( Over 25s Only )
Open: 11/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Beilby 8 reviews from this member

 The most relaxing weekend on a site with some of the best bathroom facilities we have ever seen.

The welcome form Helen was warm and friendly, we will return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Slesso 1 review from this member

 Fab site, beautiful scenery. Really quiet there and peaceful.

Went into welshpool £10 in a taxi.

Spotless shower rooms and really friendly people.

Free WiFi, hair driers. Lovely area for walks.

Lots of space between vans. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: GillSmith 1 review from this member

 A very friendly site, where as a solo woman camper I felt safe. I liked the location with easy access to Welshpool, Montgomery & the lovely countryside including walks.

The facilities are very good. The wetrooms are fantastic. I loved having a warm, clean bathroom to myself. The kitchen is also extremely useful as being in a small tent without electrics it's great to have access to a fridge, freezer microwave & kettle.

Not to good was the long walk to the toilet block at night - a minor niggle. The parts of the tent field I pitched on had some rough ground where mole hills had been filled in, though they didn't cause me any problems.

Going back in a few weeks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kk1700 1 review from this member

 Found the Site nicely tucked away just a couple of mile from Welshpool, easy to book, nice polite Lady,

Site mainly being used by sited Vans, few available for tourers, large pitches, bit uneaven, large chippings,

Shame facilities not in use (covid 9 ) open next week though.

Look new-ish, , large dog walk, other walk offered, used but rather bad terrain. Enjoyed but because couldn't use facilities.

Can only give a 6 out a 10. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonyr4 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night.

Beautiful campsite shower block 1st class

William and Helen very friendly and helpful

Yes I would recommend this campsite.

We will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JohnCUK 2 reviews from this member

 Having camped for many years I know a quiet campsite when I find one and the small field allocated for tents at the front of the site, borders a busy road to Marton with the junction with the A490 only yards away.

We experienced heavy farm vehicles easily able to see into the field passing by until 10. 00pm and additionally during the day screaming cars and articulated vehicles. Other areas of the site for caravans may be quieter but for tenting this is not our idea of “peace & quiet”.

If p+q is what you’re after check map before you book. The noise was mentioned to the owner who relied that they do not notice it in their house.

Facilities are excellent and justify the cost, in effect you have a private bathroom area to yourself (except without the bath). Agree with other comments that wi-fi reception is a problem but this is free anyway and freezer facilities are also free. On most campsites caravans are charged at a higher rate, with this site the cost per night is the same for a tent. EHU at £4. 00 per night.

For a camper it’s a shame that the road net-work lets this site down and as a walker, I like to have Rights of Way to walk from a site to obtain peace & quiet but that would be asking too much. View from site over Corndon Hill in the distance, delightful. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 14 reviews from this member

 Hosts William and Helen are cheerful, even to late arrivals!

We were offered a pitch in the separate camping field, which includes 3 gravel pitches for campervans and several other grass pitches with electric, tap and picnic table on each; this suited us fine. This field is beside the road, but not a real problem.

Main camping area has 60 fully serviced pitches separated by hedges, some clearly not level. We understand from other campers that ~50 of these are seasonal pitches, so you would need to book to guarantee a space.

2 separate facilities blocks. The first includes 7 very new wet rooms, very nice. The other includes traditional loos and showers and the kitchen/wash-up area; only 2 wash-up sinks available and there was a queue in the morning.

A good location for a stopover and we may be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Calibra1 6 reviews from this member

 Called here with the intention of maybe 3 nights, but due to the battery going on my motorbike and waiting for a warranty vehicle we could only stay the one night, but it was pleasurable,

A very well kept quiet and peaceful site (The lambs can be a bit vocal) The shower/toilet block are one of the best we have used, very clean and modern.

We will definitely be returning to finish our stay there.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 30 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Photojonic 3 reviews from this member

 William and Helen make you feel welcome immediately, nothing is too much trouble for this family run business.

Rhyd y Groes is in an ideal situation close enough for Welshpool 6 miles and yet remaining in a beautiful country location within easy reach of some wonderful villages. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcjbears 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely, quiet, adults only campsite in beautiful countryside just a short drive from Welshpool.

The tent camping field, which had only about 5 tents and a camper van in when we stayed for a long weekend at the end of July, is separate from the caravans and further from the well equipped kitchen (including washing up facilities, a fridge freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle and book/DVD 'library')and immaculate shower/toilet block. Free WiFi is available, but only in, or by, the kitchen. There was, however, a reasonable phone signal in the tent field so this was not a problem.

My only complaint about this super site is that the trek to the toilet is made further by having to walk all the way around 2 caravan pitches and their 'gardens'(all van pitches have hedges around them). A bit of a pain in the middle of the night dash! I'm sure this situation could be improved by making a path for the tent campers that is more direct.

The owner was friendly, the site well maintained and the fresh eggs we bought on site were delicious.

There are plenty of places nearby to visit for walks and days out but there is little opportunity to walk from the site, so I would not recommend staying here without a car. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Rhyd Y Groes Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Welshpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement