Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Saint Michel

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Courtils > Camping Saint Michel > Reviews

Camping Saint Michel
35 Route Du Mont St Michel
Courtils
Normandy   (Browse area)
50220
Tel: +33 233 709690
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 10/02/2024 to 11/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 38 reviews from this member

 We stayed here to visit Mont St Michel where you can easily get to by car. The guy on reception said the quickest route to cycle was around 8km but a bit dangerous on the road and that the safest route was 17km. So we decided to drive.

You get plenty of exercise when you get to Mont St Michel as you can walk the 35 minute walk from the mainland and also walk the steep climb up to the abbey at the top. The best time to go there is evening when its not so crowded but we went through the day.

As for the campsite I did not read the details properly before we went and we were told that there was no food served there just drinks. Maybe its just in July and August as per the website but they didn't mention that at reception. There was only one snack bar in the village that didn't look inviting so we ate outside our caravan.

We couldn't find any shops around the area.

We did a little cycle ride to Le Roche.

We liked the site especially the pool. Didn't see anything for children there. We found the pitches easy to access so not sure what a previous reviewer meant. We could choose our own pitch. I was given 3 details/passwords for Wifi which I couldn't understand and couldn't get it to work but didn't bother going back to ask. The young guy on reception was very helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 45 reviews from this member

 This site didn't live up to expectations.

It is situated in a small village that has a bar, a small shop and a local produce outlet, which is well recommended for the comedy value alone. The nearest supermarkets are about 15 minutes drive away.

The welcome was curt and unenthusiastic although other staff encountered were helpful and friendly enough. The shop has all basics, fresh bread can be ordered every day, the snack bar has 2 dishes offered, pizza and chips and sausage and chips. Free wi-fi and TV in the bar.

Toilets and showers are unisex but there are no toilet seats!They are clean in the mornings after 7am but unfortunately do not stay that way due to the actions of selfish people and woe betide you if you need to visit the toilet before 7am, the vomit encountered is horrible. Hot water is a big problem due to the reliance upon solar power. If it rains don't expect a hot shower which also have ridiculously short running times. The longest running time I could get was the first shower on the right in the main block; five seconds. Washing up was always done in luke warm or cold water.

Some pitches are incredibly tight to get into and some are also very small. This can be due to the trees that grow in the middle of some pitches! You may need a long lead for EHU as it may be on the other side of the service road. There is no feeling of space due to pitches being back to back, so little privacy despite hedges.

The 'absolute silence' rule from 10pm is not adhered to and we found it very noisy well up to midnight on several nights. This may be due to the transient nature of most visits, just 1 or 2 nights.

There is lots to do if you're a young child such as the swimming pool, petting farm, games room, play area etc.

Cycling in the area is excellent with lots of well marked routes. We cycled to Mont St Michel, the cheapest and easiest way to do it. You can leave your bike and then catch the free bus over the causeway or cycle over and leave your bike at the end of the causeway, which is not encouraged but we did it.

There is a plethora of places to visit in the area, lots of lovely small villages and towns and although the Normandy beaches are a long day trip they are worth making it, as is Bayeaux.

If you're looking for somewhere to watch the 2016 Grande Depart of Le Tour, I recommend a different site. It could be wonderful but it isn't.

We wouldn't the site again although we will return to the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Techno250 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week, to take in 4 stages of the Tour De France. A great little site with all facilities you could need. Clean hot showers, clean toilets and good laundry & washing up facilities. The pitches were of a really good size, flat and well kept. Plenty of electric hook up points and adequate drinking water taps dotted around the site. The weather was fantastic, so the pool was very welcome, every day. Again, the pool was clean, tidy and has a bar attached to it.

The site shop was fairly basic, but all supplies could be bought locally very easily. Fresh bread was available to order each day, but there was a boulangerie about 1/2 K down the road. Site is well positioned for touring and in a great area for cycling. Will definitely stop at this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cacti 8 reviews from this member

 Perfect for a three-night stay for a visit to Mont St. Michel, Avranches and the beach at Genets. Lots of people using it as a stopover for one or two nights on their way south, presumably. Surprisingly few Brits, lots of French and Dutch.

Toilets not as fresh as could be, and remember to take as much paper as you need into the cubicle - the dispenser is outside! Showers lovely, pool great and bar/restaurant perfect for venue - friendly service and good pizza and ice cream. Free wi-fi tops it all off - meaning I am writing this review on site! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dannimac1204 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights in May using the ACSI card rate. Pitch was a decent size with hedges around it. Electric point was a little further away than we would have liked and at the front of the pitch. That meant that we had to park at the front of the pitch which was a little strange. We didn't use the pool but it seemed well liked. Shower facilities were okay. The restaurant was closed when we were there and disappointingly, the bar closed at 8. Especially disappointing when the bar is the only place you can use the wi-fi. The shop was reasonable and the staff were very helpful. We don't have any kids but it felt like lovely facilities for them, including the animals (donkeys, pony, goats, chickens). The local town of Courtils was dead as a dodo. There was a bar but with no one in it, we decided to give it a miss so can't give an honest review about it. So all in all, this felt a little remote and a site we would only use if we wanted to go back to Mont St Michel. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sansbyfam 2 reviews from this member

 This was a busy site with lots of facilities and lots of open space for recreation at the bottom of the site. Each space is a little tight, however, and in August it was quite noisy at night. Our children loved the pool and the 'no baggy shorts with pockets' rule was not observed. The shop was very good and very reasonable. The staff were very friendly. There was a bar in the shop area and to the side was a very decent, simple restaurant with reasonable prices. The toilets are unisex which was a bit of a shock for our children and very, very smelly. The showers, next door, were fine. This is a good, fun, family site which we only used because we wanted to see Mont St Michel. We should have stayed another night. Not the sort of site to stay on if you like peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigyin247 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 'tour de France' and stayed here for 3 nights - and watched the 'tour' go past.

Prices of course had gone up for the tour coming through (29 Euros) per night including power.

Showers were clean, we never used the pool ( little cold). My eight year old had a ball, playing in the play park and the football pitch.

All in all, good site. Downside? The shop could be better stocked as the shop in the local town was hardly open.

If you are planning to so the tourist bit in Mont St Michel, be aware that its 16 Euros, to park a motor home. Tip, leave your vehicle in the car park for the supermarket and walk or cycle over ! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mgb2hyd 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for just 3 nights on the way home. The staff on reception were friendly and spoke English. Very good bread is delivered daily and there is a restaurant/takeaway that we didn't use.

We found that some of the pitches were very small, and although there were low hedges around them and the site wasn't full, it just felt a little bit crowded (especially compared with some of the other sites we stayed on this trip).

However, the facilities were clean and there were lots of showers. There seemed to be lots of play space and facilities (we never found out what the 'body boomers' were!) as well as some animals including a donkey who occasionally made his presence heard!

The site is ideally located for exploring the area which is very beautiful. We'd go back to the area but probably not the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Megladon 2 reviews from this member

 We had not planned to use this site but we made good time from Calais and so began to look on the sat-nav for an ASCI site to our location and this one came up closest. We arrived at about 4pm entered the reception told them that I wanted to book for one night with the ASCI card (13 euros) no problem said the receptionist and were told that we could choose whatever pitch we liked. We have a large caravan so we needed a larger than the average pitch on this site, No problem as we found one to the rear of the site near to the farm. But I think that the management could have taken a bit more time inn organizing the pitches as there were very small tents on some of the largest pitches and toward evening when other units were arriving they were endeavouring to pitch their caravans on some of the smallest pitches, One chap had previously booked with the site and was left to rely on others to help him pitch up. Some type of organizing needed in busy times.

The toilet blocks were of acceptable order as were most of the facilities on site and we had no complaints on this front. There is a restaurant within the reception area but we never used this, However a coach turned up at about 8pm and took over the bar/restaurant area. So keep in mind that should you require a larger pitch or a meal in the restaurant to arrive earlier than about 7pm. We did have a close look at the pool but decided that we would wait until we reached some warmer climes on this front

Having found this site by chance I would certainly use it again in fact our one night stopped turned into three, And we enjoyed the extended break in our journey. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Superseven707 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for five nights and found it to be a great little site. We turned up at about 6pm, and were met by a very friendly lady who told us to pick any pitch we wanted. Site not busy at this time of year, the showers were always hot and empty at about 9am. Reception had a small stock of supplies and free wifi, which could just about be picked up outside if you had a pitch behind the reception.

A good play area for the kids with the usual swings and some outdoor keep fit equipment which was good. Also a mini farm at the bottom of the site with goats, sheep and donkeys.

Its useful to have a little grasp of French as the staff's English isn't great, but we managed ok.

Also bike hire available for 10 euros a day or 5.50 half day.

Local village just a 5 minute stroll away but not a lot there other than a boulangerie, Mont St Michel about 10 kms away.

All in all a great site that I would recommend to anyone. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Saint Michel child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Saint Michel have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Saint Michel?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Saint Michel dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Courtils      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2502 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement