Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Vallee De La Selune

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Pontaubault > Camping Vallee De La Selune Reviews

Camping Vallee De La Selune
7 Rue Marechal Leclerc
Pontaubault
Normandy   (Browse area)
50220
Tel: 0033 233 603900
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trevor10832sup 1 review from this member

A pleasant site in a very beautiful location. Although the site is uneven find the right pitch and all is good.

2min walk to the village and river walks.

Will stop there again if visiting the area.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tynevez mobile 2 reviews from this member

Great site very friendly and helpful English owners, nothing was to much trouble for them. Happy to give advise on places of interest, Very well placed for Mont St Michael.

As the site wasn't full we had a good choose of pitches, the site is reasonable compact but well served with spotless toilets & showers,

it even had a washing machine & dryer.

We only booked for 2 nights but will stop longer next time.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnysides 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent caravan/camp site situated close to the River Salune in a very quiet position but convenient for the main A84. We initially stopped for one night after getting off the afternoon ferry at Caen but ended up staying 3 nights as it was so peaceful and then returned again at the end of our holiday.

There are good spacious and sunny pitches around an open grassed area on which an excellent sanitary block is situated with plenty of showers (hot water) and washing facilities all of which are kept very clean throughout the day.

The owner David and his partner Vanessa are extremely friendly and give excellent advice for places to visit in the area etc. The site takes motorhomes, caravans and tents, it is slightly sloping so levelling blocks are needed but this is not a problem and there are loads of electric and water points. Wifi is also available on site which is a plus for such a rural site and there is a small children's play area.

We visited Mont St Michel and Avranches whilst we were there, it is possible to cycle along the river estuary to Avranches. This is a lovely cycle ride, with views across to the Mont but a very steep hill at the end into Avranches! We were also lucky enough to be at this site when the Tour de France passed through the village which was very exciting.

The village has a bakery which we used and a couple of restaurants which were not open whilst we were there; good supermarkets and discount fuel is available close by.

There are essentials sold on site (milk etc) and the wine and beer is very reasonable sitting in the small bistro area by the reception is a must on a warm evening.

We found the site very friendly and convenient and can highly recommend it both as a stop over and for extended stays we will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mollys Owners 4 reviews from this member

Used this site as a one night stopover travelling from Cherbourg to Vendee. It suited our needs perfectly. It was only a couple of minutes away from the main road but wasn't noisy or busy.

British owners allowed us to choose our own pitch, most of which had a degree of slope. Toilet block was clean and functional. Owner a stickler for recycling but I think its a result of local fines for non compliance.

The village looks a bit of a one horse town with little open, but 28th june was still pre high season.

Took the dog a pleasant walk alongside the nearby river Selune.

Certainly would use it again for a similar stopover.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weybrook 2 reviews from this member

Stopped here off plan after caught in heavy traffic accident from Cherbourg. Lovely little site pick your own pitch, grass nicely cut.

Dave the owner is very friendly and helpful Facilities very clean, easy walk down to the river. Didn't try the town but could see a couple of restaurants open.

Decided to stay another night as its so peaceful.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Stopped the one night when we got off the ferry in Cherboug, a very easy stop over when travelling. Site was very quiet as early season, lovely owner on check in. Nice grass site with small kids play area. 1 minute walk into town, the restaurant was shut even in a Friday night but the little tabac was open so had a few beers. Bakery in village also.

Can't say much else as we moved on early, would recommend as a great stop over for the ease of somewhere.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mgre2310 3 reviews from this member

We called in here on our way to Brittany. Initially for 1 night following the reviews off this site. It was everything we could ask for. Quiet clean friendly WiFi beautiful setting there's a little park for the little ones loads of help of the owner. We had just come from a site near Juno beach in Normandy which was a bit poor. Dave the owner was so friendly. We had our pick of pitches so chose one at the top of the site. First night we called into the booking office where Dave sold cold bottles of beer for a euro. We ended up sitting there all night with Dave and his wife drinking beer. Brilliant. We decided to stay a couple more nights and the next night was pizza night. Family made pizzas from Dave for a third the price of the last site. There isn't much to do in the village and 1 of the restaurants was shut. This in their high season ! But the site is not far from the major supermarkets and just off the motorway. Its a good bike ride to the mount. If this site was in the lake district it would be packed every night all season. But its just far enough out that its a gem. Dave said ' everyone who comes here comes back ' see you soon Dave.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 22 reviews from this member

So. The site is our favourite type, semi-rural, near enough to interesting places, with easy access to shopping. Vallee de la Selune is ideally situated for off ferry folk heading north or south. The main road is viewable from the site as is the railway. (I suspect Dave has a deal with the railroad, no trains through the night!)

The site is English owned, Dave has been there for 17 years (I think he said). It is set on a slight hill, so you may need leveling triangles. If possible, you are invited to choose your own pitch. The shop as has been said before stocks the basics, plus it carries information on places of interest in the surrounding area. The sanitary facilities are clean and some of the toilets have seats! There is a washing machine and a dryer.

We will return as I said, it's our type of site, clean, quiet, tidy and convenient.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wanderer532 1 review from this member

The site is an orchard site with a modern toilet block, mostly open pitches and a few mobile homes. There is a small shop in the site office for basics, like wine and bread. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful, he speaks German, French and English and will go out of his way to assist. The site is close to the Selune river and fishing permits can be obtained.

The village has good facilities, having two good restaurants, a friendly bar, small grocery shop and a butchers.

The medieval town of Avranches with excellent shopping is a few minutes drive away and Le Mont St Michel is not far. Ferry ports (St Malo, Cherbourg and Caen) are within easy reach as the village is adjacent to A84.

We have visited many times in the last 10 years and are always impressed with the welcome and would recommend the site especially for first time visitors to France.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzac 6 reviews from this member

We have stopped at Camping Vallee De La Selune at Pontaubault several times on our way further south. We have used it as a stopover following the afternoon Poole/Cherborg sailing. The site is small but spacious with a few statics and the pitches are all 'open plan'. Toilets are spotlessly clean and the site generally very tidy. The proprietor is English and always very helpful. He keeps basic requirements on site but there is a small village shop which is open 'all hours' a minute or so walk from the entrance.There is also a small bar and patio area adjacent to the reception. It is only a couple of minutes off the A84 close to Avranches and very easy to get back onto again to continue in either direction.We have always said that one day we will stay longer and explore the area more as it is handy for Mont St Michel and St Malo and also the town of Avranches.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pontaubault      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5736 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019