Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Pontorson > Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel Reviews

Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel
Boulevard Patton
Pontorson
Normandy   (Browse area)
50170
Tel: +33 233 681159
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 167
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Antje1601 1 review from this member

 Visited site in June 2019 caused by a recommendation of other travellers, which stayed there before.

Just a short walk, 8-10 min, to the bus station for mt. St. Michel, directly beneath a Brittany outlet (clothes, sweets etc).

Quiet site with clean, totally refreshed facilities( 8 from 10 because if the site is fully booked, could be not enough showers).

Very nice small pool area, bar with possibility to order bread etc for breakfast in advance and selling Point for bus tickets to the mount st. Michel.

No supermarket or restaurant but situated in the Village. Helpfully stuff.

Quite fine plant surrounded children playground 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roma07 23 reviews from this member

 Itís difficult to find anything much wrong with this site, which ticks all the boxes for convenience and comfort (oh, except no toilet seats, just plain porcelain). The shower rooms are heated though, a bit of a rarity in this part of France.

Perhaps the town is a little lacking in character compared to older Normandy towns, but there is a supermarket close by, and buses to Mont St Michel from the railway station. Itís very handy for cycling to the Mont along the river, or for strong walkers the distance is about four miles to La Caserne where free shuttle buses take you across the bridge to the foot of the rock.

Would happily use the site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 70 reviews from this member

 We are a couple in our 60s in a caravan with a dog.

This was the latest of 5 visits to the site this year, with stays ranging from 3 to 8 nights. It is a convenient 70 miles from where we store our caravan which is why we visit so regularly, but we really like the site, the town and the area! It is also ideal for the dog as the riverside path to Mont St. Michel, with wide grass verges where she can run, is just at the back of the site.

As previous reviewers have said, the normal pitches are grass, fairly level, mostly of a good size and divided by hedges; the luxury pitches are positively huge, and have their own waste and water supply. All types of pitches are now supplied with 16amp electricity with UK style plugs. After prolonged periods of rain some of these can get quite wet but not enough to cause problems getting on or off them. The access roads are fine gravel and fairly narrow.

At the start and end of the season the site is really quiet, although reception and the bar (with TV) are still open all day till 7-8pm-ish, and the bread ordering service is still available. It may not suit everyone but we enjoy being one of just a handful of units on site and you get the pick of the pitches!

In June/July/September as you would expect, the site is busier but but there are still plenty of open spaces and it is always quiet overnight, with a mix of nationalities and short and long stayers. Whenever we have visited we have found all the reception staff to be friendly, pleasant and helpful, with English spoken.

The toilets and showers were refurbished for the start of this season. The toilets now no longer have seats but paper is still supplied, and they can be chilly at times as although covered the doors open out to the fresh air! The showers and wash basins are now modern and look impressive, though we found the water in the showers on the cool side in April and June. Later in the season though, the water seemed much warmer.

Pontorson itself is a small market town (market Wednesday mornings) with a variety of food and other shops, cafes, restaurants, banks etc along and around the main street, with a Lidl supermarket at the far end and a Carrefour Market (with fuel) at the end nearest the campsite. There is also an Intermarche (also with fuel) and a Bricomarche 5-10 mins drive away.

Mont St. Michel is obviously the main tourist attraction and we visit at least once each time we stay at the site, however we rarely cross to the Mont itself as we find it overcrowded and commercialised (to be experienced but not too often!). We generally just go as far as the Barrage (the barrier across the river) or partway along the causeway on foot and we find it endlessly fascinating how the view changes according to the light. We used to enjoy cycling there along the side of the river from the campsite (about 5 miles to the Barrage) and between the end of September and the end of April you can cycle along the causeway path over to the Mont itself. Since having the dog with us, we drive to Beauvoir (the next small town), park there and then join the riverside path to walk the last mile or so.

For us, a trip to France is not the same without a stay here. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 15 reviews from this member

 Only stopped for 2 nights on the way back up to the ferry. Had a Luxury pitch which was huge - 16m x 16m. The normal pitches were also a decent size, most were 10m x 10m. Pool and animal petting center.

Walk into small town with a few restaurants. Newly furbished toilet and shower block - all unisex and toilets without seats - doesn't bother me but I know it does some - but with paper. No security barrier etc, although a long driveway to the entrance.

Would definitely stay again 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ewen c 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on a hiking holiday through Normandy. It was the final site before getting the train from Pontorson to Cherbourg.

The pitch was massive for our three man backpacking tent but would have been perfect for our Dutch pyramid as well. It was bordered by high hedges and we could have had ehu if required. The pitch was clean and level.

Reception was busy but attentive. English was spoken and there is a bar and library. There was no shop or hot food but I believe a van visits and the nearest shop is only a ten minute walk away. The facilities are clean and quite new. Toilets are roofed but open to the outside. Showers are shared. There are bbq points scattered around with picnic tables.

We were especially interested in the private facilities and had a look. We were impressed. Toilet, basin and shower with outside dish washer on a roomy pitch overlooking the games/golf range. The games were the only downside. They are pretty run down but the farm would be good for youngsters. The Goats were entertaining.

Town is very close, especially the market and main Street. A bus can take you to Mont St Michel or you can cycle as the site rents out bikes. A gate takes you out to the river and another pleasant walk.

All in all we really like this site and intend returning with our bigger tent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theothertwin 18 reviews from this member

 Like many other clients we saw at the site we used it as a stop over on our way down the West Coast of France. This is a pity really as the site has a lot to offer by way of pitches, facilities and more.

Given that the river outside the site forms the boundary between Normandie and Brittany there is also much to see other than the Mont. Whilst this is the obvious draw there was a lot of publications in reception to show that we had missed out on other things.

Modern shower blocks, which are not segregated, laundry and dish washing areas as well.

Some lovely large plots (105-138 especially), many other nice plots in green band pricing which if we return we will request as we found our corner plot 43 too small compared to others for same price. It suited us for 2 nights but had we been there any longer we would have asked to be moved.

Good play area for children, small 90 mtr golf driving range and some small animals for kids as well. Nice pool.

Very good access to cycleway for flat ride if 9 km to the Mount.

I did not feel that the site was as tidy as it could have been. Our plotís grass and hedging were long and I expected at least the grass to have been cut before we occupied it.

5 minute walk to a supermarket with 24/7 fuel and 10-12 minute walk to centre of Pontorson with selecteion of other interesting shops and cafe etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Arthurdent 12 reviews from this member

 Very nice and relaxed site. We were in a folding camper and stayed on a bathroom pitch which was very useful, if a bit expensive. The normal pitches were also very nice, and had more hedges and trees about them than the bathroom pitches. In fact the site looks like it has evolved over time with not much planning and feels a bit haphazard - that is not a bad thing though.

There is a small but perfectly functional pool (ranging from 1m deep to 1. 5m) plus toddlers pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Also a boules pitch, sports pitch, a badminton /volleyball field and 2 old and battered table tennis tables. There is a bar beside the pool. There is no longer a tennis court (although they still claim one on the site website), it has been taken over by trampolines and children's clubs.

It is only a 5 mins walk to a nice restaurant (La Casa De Quentin) and a Carrefour supermarket. Less than 10 mins walk into the centre of Pontorson which has a typical, fairly large, market on a Wednesday, a couple of bakeries and loads of restaurants. Le Brazza in the main street does take away pizzas and CrÍperie du Couesnon take away crepes. Both are very nice. The more snooty creperie Penn Ar Bed across the street does sit in only. There is a weekend pizza van visiting the site and a daily bread delivery service. A Lidl is at the far end of town from the site, about a 15 min walk, and there is a large Intermarche 2km out of town.

There is a nice 9km walk or cycle along the river path, which is accessed from the site, to Mont St Michel, from where you can get a bus back to Pontorson. If driving to Le Mont, note that it has changed its visiting tactics recently, you now have to park a distance away and get a free shuttle bus to the island. 40km from the site and well worth a visit are the sleepy fishing village of Cancale (take the slower route round the bay rather than the motorway), the busy walled town of St Malo, the medieval town of Dinan and a huge fortress at Fougeres. There is a Decathlon and a camping shop 25km away in Avranches. Rennes is reachable by train from the centre of Pontorson.

My only real criticism is that the site can be a little bit noisy with distant traffic and the farm yard animals early in the morning. However our pitch was close to the animals so this may not be a problem if pitched elsewhere. Also in high season there is a daily trek around the site by 2 staff members shouting through a loudspeaker advertising the evening entertainment at the bar - '8 to 10 this evening. WE WAIT YOU !'. This daily event varies between amusing and annoying.

Most people (as is borne out by the reviews on here) seem to stay just a few days, presumably to visit Le Mont. The site therefore moves between busy and empty frequently. This is a shame as there is a lot more to see here than Le Mont. Also this is technically Normandy (the river beside the site marks the border between Normandy and Brittany) and can be wet and cold now and then. Takes ASCI card out of high season (up to early July). We would return. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Judeandmikesmith 9 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for one night only because its only a 45 min drive to St Malo. We could easily have stayed longer. It was very well presented with a smart reception building and well laid out pitches.

We had opted to pay for private toilet & shower facilities so we didn't use the public sanitary blocks but they looked to be of the same high standard as the rest of the site.

The bar and pool areas looked good too, although we didn't use them because we were only there for one night. There is also a lovely little 'farm' area with goats, chickens, rabbits, guinea pigs and geese.

The site is a very pleasant 10 minute walk (along the riverbank) to the town which has numerous restaurants and a little supermarket. The only slight criticism we would have is that the pitches with private toilet facilities were much more open than the standard pitches.

The hedges between these pitches were so sparse as to be almost non-existent. This made all the pitches over-looked. To give the site the benefit of the doubt, we assumed that these pitches were a recent addition to the site and therefore the hedges had not had time to become established.

We are already planning to use this site again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J + J 19 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, Stayed for two nights to enable a trip to Le Mont St Michel-get there early to beat the crowds. Site is clean as was the toilets and showers plenty of hot water-no push button taps, spacious pitches, free Wi-Fi, great pool, good bar where you pre order bread & croissants as well as a small gift shop.

There was also a small petting farm (ponyís, guinea pigs, goats, ducks & geese) mind the electric fence by the ponies my partner forgot and got a belt! The laundrette was good as was the free freezer for ice packs. Carrefour supermarket/fuel was about five minutesí walk up the road, out the site turn left. Pontorson was about five minutes the other way shops, bars, cafť's etc.
All looked OK but did not visit other than shopping. There is a working wind mill (only mill with wooden sails) about half way to Le Mont St Michel which sells fresh milled flour its about 45 minutes walk along the river. EHU is normal caravan plug.

Seems very good for children but we do not have children so cant comment. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahllo 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, only stayed for one night to enable us to visit Le Mont St Michel - cycled there along the river, only 9km each way so only took us about half an hour to cycle.

They let us check out late, we had to pay but it was at a reduced cost. Excellent facilities, loos, showers etc, also a launderette (useful for washing your sleeping back ready for the next trip!)

The swimming pool looked lovely, not your average campsite pool, unfortunately we didn't get chance to use it. Lovely site, definitely recommend it! 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pontorson      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5773 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement