Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Pontorson > Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel > Reviews

Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel
Boulevard Patton
Pontorson
Normandy   (Browse area)
50170
Tel: +33 233 681159
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 167
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: June19 19 reviews from this member

 As a previous review said this has now changed its name to Camping Seasonova Haliots Pontorson.

We and another guest were both given pitches that were already occupied so something wrong with system. The next pitch was tight and sloping but the third offering was ok. We used ACSI which wasÄ19pn.

Very little had changed from our previous visits, the toilet facilities were good. The laundry facilities were excellent with 3 washers and 3 dryers all of a good size.

The instructions were very clear and you could pay by card or cash. Its a nice 10 min walk along the river to Pontorson from the back entrance.

There is a supermarket if you go out the main gate and turn left. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 We decided to give this site another try after our disappointing visit in June, and we were pleased to note that this time it seemed to be much more cared for, with grass cut, hedges trimmed etc.

The intentionally free-range goats were a bit of a surprise (especially to our 2 dogs!) but as some of the goats used to escape on a regular basis anyway, at least we were expecting them and they didn't seem to encroach on the pitches.

We will no doubt be visiting this site again on our travels in future years, as it is a useful stop-off to see the Mont St-Michel, as has become our habit when on the way back to our storage site near Cherbourg. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 This campsite is now part of the Seasonova group and as we have visited it many times over the years, we were interested to see how/if it had changed since our last visit in September 2021.

There are now 5 or 6 Safari tents on the pitches near the pool and toilet/shower block, and a mainly new staff (we saw only 1 or 2 familiar faces).

All other aspects of the site were as before, including the 16 amp electricity supply and free wi-fi, but unfortunately we saw a striking difference in the maintenance of the pitches, hedges and grounds, which were previously generally well-tended.

Although still a good site, this lack of grounds maintenance made it seem a bit unloved and we now feel less inclined to return to one of our most-visited sites in future. 


Date of Visit: May 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Robkat 1 review from this member

 We liked the closeness to town and all the facilities.

The pitches are a good size and varied.

The grounds are well kept and there is plenty of hot water. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ewen c 21 reviews from this member

 Our second time here.

Staff were attentive, facilities were as clean as ever. It is still a very good site.

Road noise from the dual carriageway is noticeable in a tent. Probably not in a camper/MH. The goats etc are still there but the line of games on the entrance road are looking even more run down.

They seem to have put in more private facilities which would be nice if staying longer but why are there so few tents? It is like a massive Aire. Not just this site but everywhere. The only tents seem to be those belonging to hikers. Even the Dutch are in Motorhomes.

Anyway, it is still value for money, in a great location and we will be back again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Inehe4 1 review from this member

 Itís a very nice campsite. Big spaces and a lot privacy.

They deserve more stars.

So many kids with parents have a lot of fun of the swimming pool. Itís great! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Antje1601 1 review from this member

 Visited site in June 2019 caused by a recommendation of other travellers, which stayed there before.

Just a short walk, 8-10 min, to the bus station for mt. St. Michel, directly beneath a Brittany outlet (clothes, sweets etc).

Quiet site with clean, totally refreshed facilities( 8 from 10 because if the site is fully booked, could be not enough showers).

Very nice small pool area, bar with possibility to order bread etc for breakfast in advance and selling Point for bus tickets to the mount st. Michel.

No supermarket or restaurant but situated in the Village. Helpfully stuff.

Quite fine plant surrounded children playground 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roma07 37 reviews from this member

 Itís difficult to find anything much wrong with this site, which ticks all the boxes for convenience and comfort (oh, except no toilet seats, just plain porcelain). The shower rooms are heated though, a bit of a rarity in this part of France.

Perhaps the town is a little lacking in character compared to older Normandy towns, but there is a supermarket close by, and buses to Mont St Michel from the railway station. Itís very handy for cycling to the Mont along the river, or for strong walkers the distance is about four miles to La Caserne where free shuttle buses take you across the bridge to the foot of the rock.

Would happily use the site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 We are a couple in our 60s in a caravan with a dog.

This was the latest of 5 visits to the site this year, with stays ranging from 3 to 8 nights. It is a convenient 70 miles from where we store our caravan which is why we visit so regularly, but we really like the site, the town and the area! It is also ideal for the dog as the riverside path to Mont St. Michel, with wide grass verges where she can run, is just at the back of the site.

As previous reviewers have said, the normal pitches are grass, fairly level, mostly of a good size and divided by hedges; the luxury pitches are positively huge, and have their own waste and water supply. All types of pitches are now supplied with 16amp electricity with UK style plugs. After prolonged periods of rain some of these can get quite wet but not enough to cause problems getting on or off them. The access roads are fine gravel and fairly narrow.

At the start and end of the season the site is really quiet, although reception and the bar (with TV) are still open all day till 7-8pm-ish, and the bread ordering service is still available. It may not suit everyone but we enjoy being one of just a handful of units on site and you get the pick of the pitches!

In June/July/September as you would expect, the site is busier but but there are still plenty of open spaces and it is always quiet overnight, with a mix of nationalities and short and long stayers. Whenever we have visited we have found all the reception staff to be friendly, pleasant and helpful, with English spoken.

The toilets and showers were refurbished for the start of this season. The toilets now no longer have seats but paper is still supplied, and they can be chilly at times as although covered the doors open out to the fresh air! The showers and wash basins are now modern and look impressive, though we found the water in the showers on the cool side in April and June. Later in the season though, the water seemed much warmer.

Pontorson itself is a small market town (market Wednesday mornings) with a variety of food and other shops, cafes, restaurants, banks etc along and around the main street, with a Lidl supermarket at the far end and a Carrefour Market (with fuel) at the end nearest the campsite. There is also an Intermarche (also with fuel) and a Bricomarche 5-10 mins drive away.

Mont St. Michel is obviously the main tourist attraction and we visit at least once each time we stay at the site, however we rarely cross to the Mont itself as we find it overcrowded and commercialised (to be experienced but not too often!). We generally just go as far as the Barrage (the barrier across the river) or partway along the causeway on foot and we find it endlessly fascinating how the view changes according to the light. We used to enjoy cycling there along the side of the river from the campsite (about 5 miles to the Barrage) and between the end of September and the end of April you can cycle along the causeway path over to the Mont itself. Since having the dog with us, we drive to Beauvoir (the next small town), park there and then join the riverside path to walk the last mile or so.

For us, a trip to France is not the same without a stay here. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 26 reviews from this member

 Only stopped for 2 nights on the way back up to the ferry. Had a Luxury pitch which was huge - 16m x 16m. The normal pitches were also a decent size, most were 10m x 10m. Pool and animal petting center.

Walk into small town with a few restaurants. Newly furbished toilet and shower block - all unisex and toilets without seats - doesn't bother me but I know it does some - but with paper. No security barrier etc, although a long driveway to the entrance.

Would definitely stay again 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Haliotis Mont Saint Michel dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pontorson      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55488 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement