Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Des Gayeulles

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Ille Et Vilaine > Camping Des Gayeulles > Reviews

Camping Des Gayeulles
Rue Du Professeur Maurice Audin
Rennes
Ille Et Vilaine
Brittany   (Browse area)
35700
Tel: 0033 299 369122
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 179
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 We used this as a stopover on the way home.

We found the site quite difficult to find as the entrance is up a small road into a park off the Rue du Professor Maurice Audin which is a busy dual carriageway.

The sat nav was obscure about where the entrance was and though it is signposted we missed it the first time round due to the amount of traffic so keep your eyes open. The entrance road itself is narrow and was ok for our van but very big units might struggle a bit as it narrows even further in places to slow the traffic.

The campsite is sited well inside the park, which is huge.

Once there there's a barriered entrance with Reception just beyond. Before the barrier there are 9 overnight motorhome stopover pitches, available for 1 night only from 5. 00pm to 11. 00am, no water or EHU, but the campsite facilities are available to users and the motorhome service point and refuse area is opposite so a good place for a quick overnight stop.

Inside the barrier there a large fenced grassed area for tents and beyond that 74 motorhome/ caravan pitches divided by low hedges, most of hardstanding with a grassed area adjacent, all with EHU and some with water on pitch. There are also a number of well designed eco lodges grouped at one end in there own space.

The site is open 365 days a year. Reception is open each day apart from Christmas and New Year's day from 9. 00am to 7. 00pm but it closes each day for lunch (October to May 12. 00pm to 3. 00pm, June to September 1. 00pm to 2. 00pm). If you reserve you can arrive up to 10. 00pm as they have number plate recognition which could be useful.

There are 5 sanitary blocks, heated in winter, over two areas with showers washbasins and toilets and washing up areas. They were all meticulously clean and well cared for.

We arrived just after lunch and choose a pitch inside the site itself. Reception was very efficient. Bread and pastries can be ordered for collection the next day and they sell ice creams and drinks but nothing else.

We were allocated a huge hardstanding pitch (pitch 29) next to the facilities and near Reception. It was on a bit of a slope but although the other pitches were flatter they were also smaller so we choose to stay on it as it was so spacious. The site was nowhere near full as we were still out of the main season but did fill up a bit as the day went on with a mix of one nighters and others staying longer. The site was very quiet and relaxing and had lots of rabbits bouncing about which were fun to watch.

Inside the park itself there are numerous activities including walking, running and cycling paths, an adrenaline forest, swimming pool, multi-sports grounds (football, rugby, tennis), skate and rollerblading ramp, miniature golf, playgrounds for toddlers, lake with pedalos and an animal park, so great for families or an active holiday. There is also a bar restaurant with a terrace, easily, walkable from the campsite, that had music on the night we were there. Unfortunately food was not available that evening so it might pay to check beforehand or book if you want to eat. There are not many other places to eat near the park.

Buses to the city run from just outside the park for exploring further afield.

We really liked this site and, given all of the facilities nearby, intend to return for a longer stay to explore the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Suzac 6 reviews from this member

 Have today phoned to check availability and book. There is no one on duty between 12-00 midday and 3-00 p. M apparently if you arrive " on spec".

If you wish to reserve a place you can pay a 1/3 deposit and this will allow you to enter the site between the unattended times on a number plate recognition.

We used this site back in March and was allowed access because we'd booked whereas others who hadn't had to wait outside until there was someone on duty. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

 I booked 2 stopovers here for our outward and return journey to The Charante from Cherbourg. Was an easy ride down from Cherbourg, less than 3 hours and fairly easy to find off the Rennes Rocade (ringroad). Just had to follow the signs to Gayeulles and the camp site was signposted once within Gayeulles.

Set in a nice country park, was nice and quiet and well looked after. Certainly did us well for a stopover. We certainly didn't need to book, as wasn't full, but just wanted that peace of mind for our first trip abroad.

One little let down was the baguette we ordered for breakfast - rather over cooked. That's all I could find as a negative LOL! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4princesses 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here overnight on our journey back to Caen. The check in was efficient and informative. We were give a pitch in the sun which we were happy with. Some of the roads on the site are very narrow which could make maneuvering a large van difficult. The facilities were spotless and cleaned regularly.

It is a big site and we enjoyed an evening walk around. It is very much a stopover site though (plus a few permanent vans) and the area doesn't have a lot to offer.

It is a convenient place to stop though being around 2 hours from the port of Caen. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HannaS 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 night while visiting Rennes using camping cheques.

The campsite is very large and was very quiet when we arrived - we had emailed the day before arrival to check availability. We had been allocated a pitch but the staff didn't have an issue when we asked if we could have another after having a walk round site. As others have said there are quite a few permanent caravans and workers in tents - we moved to a pitch well away from these as expected the noise every morning.

We had a double pitch to ourselves which was fine as we parked the car in the other half but they would be tight if you had a neighbour.

Rennes was a lovely city and only 3 euro return on the bus which was a very easy journey.

As the site was quiet the showers and toilets were spotless, although they were still cleaned regularly. Would recommend this site but we would only use it as an overnighter again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hoedown 77 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights purely for the convenience of visiting Rennes The bus stop is a 10 min walk through the park and run every 10 minutes or so (1. 50euro). It is in the Camping Cheque book, but as we are not members we had to pay 22. 50 euros per night.

The park itself is huge with walking and cycling tracks as well as rugby, football and tennis and as mentioned previously a super swimming centre.

The campsite is adequate for a stopover, but has many long-term workers staying on site and we were pitched amongst them rather than in a separate area. Showers and toilets were clean and water was hot. One thing to take note of, the lunch break is from 12. 00 - 16. 30, so if arriving during this time you have to wait outside the barrier.

We did not find any convenient shops within walking distance so any daily necessities would have to be brought back with you from the town. However Rennes is a beautiful town to visit, so for that alone we would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbria_traveller 6 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on a cycle tour of Brittany and the Loire. Reception was efficient but not particularly friendly. Two options were offered - an emplacement in full sun on the rugby pitch or a more expensive full size plot in the shady main campsite.

We opted for the latter but wished we hadn't after a completely sleepless night. Our neighbours were a group of young Dutch men who appeared to have no tent but just sat all night in the open, talking and laughing and slamming their car doors when getting more provisions.

Scores may reflect how bad we felt in the morning when we decided to move on despite having wanted to spend time exploring the city. Facilities were clean and good, with free WiFi (poor signal). One picnic bench but no other facilities for cyclists.

We had hoped to eat locally but apart from a commercial centre nearby with supermarket and pizzeria, there were no small shops or restaurants. Took bus into town for 1. 4 without difficulty. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John678 1 review from this member

 This is a well run campsite with clean modern facilities in a lovely park setting close to the beautiful city of Rennes. There is a fantastic swimming pool next door with wave machine flume ride and lagoon style pools.

Also lovely park with multiple sports facilities as well as picnic areas, playgrounds and boating lake. We have stayed here twice but both times were kept awake Into the early hours by very loud open air music (mainly rap with a deep repetitive base) from the park.

If you are staying with a young family it would definitely be worth checking whether concerts are on as otherwise I would strongly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Emmaspacecadet 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting, right in the middle of a huge park but within a mile or so of Rennes city.

Toilets and showers spotlessly clean, small shop selling much needed ice-cream and bread!

There are 3 lakes, a rugby pitch and 2 football pitches in the park as well as a petting farm with deer that love bread and will run to the fence for a french loaf. There are play area's for the kids as well as big open spaces to have a kick about.

Biking into to the city is a bit hilly but only 15 - 20 minutes and there is also a bus for about 1 that runs 4 times an hour ish which is great.

Can't reccommend this enough, will definitely go back there, beautiful setting, spotlessly clean and lovely. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Des Gayeulles child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Des Gayeulles?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Des Gayeulles dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ille Et Vilaine      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2887 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement