Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Des Iles

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Morbihan > Camping Des Iles Reviews

Camping Des Iles
Pointe Du Bile
B P 4, Penestin
Morbihan
Brittany   (Browse area)
56760
Tel: 0033 299 903024
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 184
Open: 10/04 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pmgrant1948 3 reviews from this member

Very much a family holiday site, with all the facilities you would expect, but not as frantic as expected. Four nights motorhome+electricity+2 people 114.

Central pool/play area - we were fortunate to be away from this - rather smaller pool than advertised. There is entertainment in French every night in season, but it finishes promptly at 11pm and the site was quiet after that. Pitches OK but randomly spread for maximum capacity. Very good kids club which the grandchildren enjoyed.

Central facilities block with paper and soap. Hot water no problem except in the washing up area. Very clean.

Right next to a rocky beach much used by mussel fishermen. Short walk along coast trail to very nice sandy beaches. No local public transport and village 5-10 minutes away by car.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alvezz 5 reviews from this member

This was our second trip to France and thought we would venture a little further down the coast so chose Des Ilse in Brittany. We were really pleased with this site, it has all the amenities of a larger site with the friendliness of a smaller one! the pool was really good for our 3 children (8, 6 and 3yrs) with an attendant on duty almost all of the time!

They also had a small playground and bouncy castle for them. The beach was literally a minute walk from our pitch (we had pitch 18 which was around middle of the site) but you can opt to pay a little extra per night and get a sea view. The beach was very popular with everyone collecting mussels, clams and oysters on low tide, they sell the tools in the site shop if you want to have a go yourself. A few minutes walk to the right as you come out the site on the beach and its good enough to chill and build sand castles on high tide.

Showers and toilets were unisex but the toilet cubicles were split out into men and women areas. They were always clean although I only ever saw one person cleaning them on our stay and that was when we got up at the crack of dawn to leave at 6am!

All the evening entertainment was in French, we weren't fussed about it but never went as we had young children and busy days so the youngest never stayed awake long enough.

Penestin was only a 10 minute car journey away and had restaurants and shops. Our favourite place was Arzon, a lovely port town which was about 1 hour from the site.

I would definitely go back but may stay for a little longer than 2 weeks.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paullong 29 reviews from this member

This site on the West Coast of France at the south of Brittany has more to say about itself on its website than it can actually live up to. It is a pleasant site but Im afraid its nothing special. This is not a site to go to if you want peace and quiet as the entertainment is extremely noisy. The site caters predominantly for French visitors and the entertainment is only for French speaking campers. Pitches vary in size and we were lucky to have a reasonably large pitch, but unfortunately it was very open to passers-by and was full of weeds instead of a bush on the one corner. This wasnt representative of other pitches though. WiFi is as good as useless as it is so slow and continually cuts out it is not worth paying for. Satellite coverage was strangely very hard to lock onto at this site which is not that far south and my digital satellite finder came in high demand from other campers. On a French campsite you expect fresh bread every morning but unfortunately the croissants ran out before 10am every morning and despite promises they did not buy in more to accommodate the demand the bread was also not very fresh compared with other campsites we have been to. The swimming pool was very pleasant but also very crowded and is not as big as it looks on the photos it is also not as warm as they say it is we experienced warmer water in the sea and the lake on our 2nd week in Biscarrosse. The lazy river was not working until our last day but even then it wasnt up to much. Aqua aerobics was advertised as a daily event but only took place on one day after we requested it, and even then nobody was informed it would be happening. Toilets were clean with plenty of facilities including shell washing and a dog wash. The beach as shown on the website is not really much of a beach its certainly not suitable for swimming. To get to the bathing beaches requires a car journey. Overall we were disappointed by broken promises and exaggerations on the website and will not visit again as there is so much good competition in France.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Inkaboat 13 reviews from this member

Once again, I find it hard to criticise French Kawan Village campsites such as this one. Good size pitches, excellent loos, sensible shop prices, and helpful reception staff. The beach is clean, full of interesting rock pools, and the view across the bay is spectacular!

We went to St Nazaire just to see the submarine pens: the sense of history is quite overwhelming. The wifi is site-wide and at 2/day is good value: it was mainly used to choose the next site - le Camping De Isle Verte in the Loire Valley in this case! Watch this space.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aitch3071 7 reviews from this member

Have just returned from touring Brittany. This was one of my favourite sites. Facilities were very good with a lovely pool, bar with entertainment, fully stocked shop, ample toilets and showers, play areas and bouncy castle for the children. Direct access to the beach with footpaths above. Very quiet site after 11pm with entry/exit barriers in use. Separate areas for statics and tourers. We were allocated a decent sized pitch but the same could not be said for our neighbours as they were on a pitch that had been split into two with the front half needing to leave access for the car on the back half. Very strange arrangement and hardly fair when we are all paying the same. The local area was lovely with a village easily reached by bike and many quiet beaches with large free carparks. I would recommend this site but it is possible that you will be squashed into a small pitch if you go in high season.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laura31 20 reviews from this member

Just back from 16 nights at this site. This is a lovely area to visit and a nice site which is situated adjacent to a beach. Contrary to previous reviews we found the fact that the beach had a mussel farm a plus. There was so much to see, brilliant for rock pools and beach combing when the tide is out. You can also walk across to the Island at low tide. Lots of people were digging for cockles on the beach. When the tide is in there is crest of golden sand to sunbathe or make sandcastles on. There is a really nice Auberge on the opposite side of the beach which does great seafood. If you do not like the adjoining beach there are a number of beaches just a short walk away. It is a brilliant area for cycling, very flat with lots of well posted cycle paths nearby. You can cycle to Penestin which is a lovely town with several restaurants and a few tourist shops as well as a pharmacy, patisserie etc.

The site itself overall is good. There is a shop, play area, bouncy castle and small pool with waterslides. The pool is not as large as it looks on the website. The loo block is modern with plenty of showers and washing cubicles. It is unisex but the loos are designated separately for men an women. Considering the high usage it was pretty clean and there was always lots of hot water. Across the road in the static area there is another inflatable play area, basketball court and tennis court. There is a small road to cross to the pool if you are in a static.

We were there in high season and there was a very full entertainment programme, Breton dancing, magic shows, singers, etc. Everything was in French, considering the number of Dutch (who generally speak English) and British visitors there was no effort made to provide any English translation which limited the enjoyment of some of the shows and made if difficult to join in some activities. There was a restaurant on site, it had a fairly limited menu mainly pizza's (which were very nice though and you could also order them to take away). The downside to this site is some of the pitches are quite small and others are rather on top of each other. We had one of the largest pitches due to our large unit which was fine for our van and large awning with sleeping compartment but a few pitches were considerably smaller. If you can I would advise avoiding pitches 35 to 45. They are directly across from the bouncy castle, entrance to the pool, loo block and washing up area. There is no peace at all with people walking past day and night. The staff were generally helpful and friendly but I have to mention the barman who was utterly obnoxious and unpleasant to the extent we stopped going into the bar - which was a shame as the owners etc were fine.

Overall I would recommend this site and I would definitely recommend this area it is a picturesque unspoiled part of France with lovely beaches and scenery.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: THEELPHICKS1 1 review from this member

Professional couple in thirties with baby and (nearly) 4 yr old.

Bought first caravan in Aug 2009, so total beginners, went mad and bought twin axle 6 birth days from giving birth, then booked for France!

One of the best holidays ever! Lucky with weather as glorious everyday - very surprised but delighted. Mixed European guests (German/Dutch/French), often speaking excellent English, lovely to try a bit of french though, was a lot of fun.

Courteous, helpful staff, gave us 2 pitches on arrival when they saw the size of our outfit (get me with the caravan lingo!), despite site being virtually full.

4 yr old daughter (Ame) loved pool, slides, bouncy castle etc so consequently, so did we - very clean safe pool area, even warm enough (just) for me to swim daily.

New unisex facilities, very well maintained, loo emptying a bit of a faff, but that's a minor point.

Not a caribbean beach, but great for adventure as we saw rock pools with little fish, huge jellyfish, crabs of all sizes, plus hubby had great time picking(?) oysters and mussels from the rocks and cooking for our tea - Ame thought this was amazing and helped Daddy carry the haul!

Local towns and markets lovely and very French (you know what I mean) but very expensive ie 30 for 1kg of hoummus! (although it was delicious). Only irritating thing, the afternoon siesta, I know I know, this is France and not England, but by the time we had gotten up and all ready to leave, it was about 11am (maybe we are too slow) and most places shut at 12noon until 3pm - aaaaaargh!

My best tip would be to make sure you book a cabin on the crossing, I was very glad we did even though return was in the daytime.

Overall, a great experience and adventure, cant wait to repeat it.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wettim 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at de Isles at the end of June for 2 nights and was given a very small pitch overlooking the sea. On looking around the site, it had a mixture of French and German visitors, but the majority were British, all squashed up on very small pitches. The beach isn't the best in the area, and the sea was crammed full of seaweed, which prevented us from swimming in it and walking out to the Isles at low tide.

The site has quite a new toilet / shower / pot washing block which was kept very clean and tidy at all times. The electric supply is European, so no need for an adapter. There is a bar / restaurant at the side of the heated swimming pool complex, with quite a few sunbeds, but only 1 inadequate umbrella for shade.

If you are interested in history, the site is near St Nazaire where the German U-Boat Pens still remain in all their glory, and you have the chance to board a 1950's French submarine, based on the last U-Boat design.

The site was not the cheapest by far, and was full when we stayed. The lack of space and close proximity to our fellow campers will prevent us from staying there again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarysW 1 review from this member

This was the second visit to this site. We previously stayed four years ago. The site is in a wonderful location by the sea with outstanding views. The weather this year was wonderful. Regarding the site itself the pitches can seem to be on the small size - just about OK. Some of the older pitches are beneath a dense canopy of trees, therefore can be a bit 'cool'. The ones nearer the beach are a much better location. The pool area is very good, we were lucky able to swim every morning. The only drawback we had were the 'deposits' left by dogs around the site. Once they were pointed out to staff they were cleaned up - but much clearer signage would be 'useful' to dog owners. The area itself is well worth a visit, the market in Penestin itself very busy. The surrounding towns are also very picturesque, especially Vannes (well worth the travel.

If possible we would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tattyhill 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 weeks with our 2 children aged 4 and 7. The site was very pleasant - pool area lovely, toilet block spacious, clean and enough facilities to go round. Our pitch we initially thought was quite narrow, but was actually quite long, so we had plenty of room. We stayed in first 2weeks of school holidays, and not many Brits in first week, but more arrived in second week. Entertainment every night, broadcast on loud speaker, in French, so not very peaceful!The children's club were all French speaking, so our kids gave it a miss.

The area was ok - a lot of beaches were oyster farms and not inviting for bathing, but very nice beach 1/2 mile from site (turn left out of site) - despite it being on the doorstep, we only found it in the last few days!

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Morbihan      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


22517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!