Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Westwood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Westwood Caravan Park Reviews

Westwood Caravan Park
Old Felixstowe Road
Bucklesham
Ipswich
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP10 0BW
Tel: 01473 659637
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/01/2021
           04/02/2021 to 31/01/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kwooz2 1 review from this member

 The children’s entertainment was excellent,

I’m a new touring caravan owner with no experience when I arrived the warden helped me set up my caravan gas, electric, water etc was very helpful

although I only stayed on site for 2 nights as I was late booking the reception staff were helpful to help me find another site to move on to

I would have happily of stayed longer if I could

the kids really enjoyed there stay. VERY CHILD FRIENDLY 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynbrecon 1 review from this member

 Lovely location near to sea, countryside and market towns.

Very helpful and friendly staff who gave me good advice on places to visit. Site and shower block very clean.

Lovely cafe on site which does great breakfasts.

We will definitely visit Westwood again. Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grandad Kenny 31 reviews from this member

 Couldn't get a pitch but visited from their sister site 500 yards away. Bumped into the warden who told us we couldn't get a pitch as they are full of seasonally pitched tourers, there may be some spaces for tourers next year.

The site is immaculately well kept but is soulless, everything looks the same, very regimented. Maybe a bit of change amongst the pitches would change the perception. Had a playpark for kids.

Didn't check the toilet block. Probably another touring site that has gone off the map. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LEWISIPSWICH 1 review from this member

 This was a safe, lovely and friendly campsite for families. I took my 3yr old daughter camping for her first time.

Westwood Caravan Park was ideal to give camping I try with my daughter, pitched next to a safe play area where I could see her from the tent and where other children played together nicely.

Excellent range of facilities with a shop, play area and games room. Toilet and shower block were clean and safe to use.

Seasonal guests were friendly and invited us to a BBQ on the second night - thank you Maxine and Ken of Chelmsford.

Situated in a lovely spot of Suffolk, ideal for exploring the local countryside and walks around Newbourne, Kirton and Hemley.

As a test to see if my daughter would enjoy camping - it was a SUCCESS.

A perfect place for a short stay or to visit on a regular basis for weekends in the Suffolk countryside. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Babytanner 8 reviews from this member

 We chose Westwoods for a cheeky weekend break, the first time out for the season in our Folding Camper. Family group of 2 adults and 3 children.

Booking was over the phone and the staff were very helpful.

On arrival we were given a very warm welcome by the woman in the shop/office. Security is good at this park access barrier with key card entry (deposit req) and CCTV.

We were given some very useful information on the local area and some discount vouchers to use.

We were place near the children play area which was great for us we were lucky that we had use of the neighboring pitch which was free all weekend. The children loved the play area and the games room. I feel the games room needs some updating but was well used by all the kids on site.

The toilets and showers are very clean. They were decorated and maintained to high standard providing free hot showers in a spacious cubical.

The site was mainly caravans it was clean and nicely looked after the couple that were running the site were very friendly and helpful. The general feel was warm and welcoming.

We will definitely return to this site for a longer break it was very well priced for the great facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kirkwall orkney 1 review from this member

 The moment you arrive at this site, it's obviously a well organised, nicely laid out site, with a friendly welcome second to none, I stayed two nights, shower/toilets spotlessly clean with (piped music) nice touch. !

Hard standing or grass well groomed, cctv for security, electric plug in and water tap each pitch.

What more can a visitor want,

Thank you for a superb stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foxilady2828 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a very relaxing weekend this lovely camp site was recommended to us by our friends who we went with this weekend. Lovely friendly and clean site, all the facilities you want would definitely return. Nice easy access for the coast and Ipswich town. Nice size pitches and well looked after 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Godberg 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a 3 night stay at Westwood caravan park, I can't praise the site enough, really well kept and clean and the staff very friendly. We arrived after 7pm and were given a warm welcome and all the info we needed. Didn't see the kids as they made friends with other campers and was off playing and enjoyed the playground and we'll definitely be planning a return visit. Keep up the fantastic job Westwood, 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jenniewelham 2 reviews from this member

 Looking forward to another lovely season at Westwood. The park looks delighful, nature has taken over, birds signing, trees and flowers in Full bloom. The shop on site has many essential items and the facilities block still 'gold' standard.

So many beautiful places to visit and do within a few miles of the Park. Felixstowe, Woodbridge, Ipswich and many more delightful places. The area is not short of great places to eat either and also lovely walks whether you have a dog or not.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newbton 6 reviews from this member

 Welcome to one of the weirdest caravan parks I have ever been to, and I have been to many. Weird because although when you first arrive it is full to bursting and you feel lucky to have got a pitch, after an hour or two you realise it is full of empty caravans left for the season and it is eerily quiet! There were about 10 pitches left for genuine tourers. Most odd.

There were 2 or 3 gigantic RV type rigs which were unoccupied (more later) but for novelty value interesting to nosey about. We also noticed a huge rat running between the empty caravans, urghh, but as the site is in the middle of farmland that is not unusual.

Anyway we stayed from Tues to Sat in term time so not many kids or youngsters of any age, the clientèle of which there were few were mainly older maybe retirees. The site is flat and treeless in the main (which we prefer), the loos and showers are OK the shop is a couple of shelves in the reception area with beans, eggs etc, all OK, but strangely no newspapers. The family room is adequate, with lots of info like DVD's, books, leaflets etc, but unused for the first few days although by the Friday of a bank holiday weekend it started to be utilised by the half dozen or so kids that appeared.

I have to say the site is soul-less although very quiet, until on our last morning people arrived at one of the aforementioned gigantic RV's parked behind us and decided to move off at 630 am and it was like being in a bus station for 10 mins or so.

The village of Bucklesham has a wonderful pub The Shannon and we had several gorgeous meals there, which as has previously been expressed were a bit pricey, they were worth every penny and delicious. It appears the nearest shops are in the outskirts of Ipswich, a 15 min drive away.

The TV reception was excellent and wifi is available at £5 for 3 days.

The site is adequate but as I said soul-less and view less and I don't think we will be going back there again. The people who arrived for the weekend as we were leaving seemed all to know each other so obviously a well loved and adequate site for them, and they were all friendly towards us as well. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westwood Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westwood Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Westwood Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ipswich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1484 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December