Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodend Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Via Lancaster > Woodend Campsite Reviews

Woodend Campsite
Austwick
Via Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 8DH
Tel: 015242 51296
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ArtieMiss 6 reviews from this member

Out of all of the site we stayed in on our holiday (there were 6), this was my favourite! In the heart of the countryside, with only sheep for company, it was soooo relaxing with no internet access! The pitches were large, it was quiet and well laid out. The facilities were a small walk from the campsite, so I'm glad I had I had my portaloo for middle of the night though! The owners were so lovely and helpful. Loved every minute of my stay.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandradyer 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here to do the Yorkshire 3 peaks. Good location for this, and lovely small campsite. Good walks from the campsite, including the local village with good pub.

Friendly owner, very clean facilities, and beautiful views with plenty of space around pitches. Very dog friendly.

We woke to the sounds of sheep bleating.

So glad we were not staying at the CC and C down the road where pitches on top of each other.

Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a quiet place to stay to get about from it all.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camp chaos 25 reviews from this member

This was such a lucky find for us on a last minute camping whim, and very lucky that just one pitch (on the caravan/campervan hardstanding and electric area) was free.

The site is small, friendly, clean and relaxing.

There's a couple of toilets, 2 showers in a small washroom and a washing up area.

The tent field is big and flat and practically empty.

As others have said, there are a good choice of walks including Ingleborough, definitely enough to warrant a return visit.

We stopped off at the Naked Man in Settle for a hearty breakfast the next day as we'd annoyingly run out of gas!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 56 reviews from this member

Edward and Margaret are a lovely couple really friendly and helpful The site is in a lovely location Great for walking. The Village is about 1 mile from the farm, we had a 2 evening meals at the Game cock both excellent. We also walked to Feizor and Had Sunday lunch at Elaine’s tea room well worth a visit Both the pub and the tea room are dog friendly. This is one site we shall be going back to this year

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sazzy607 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weeks stay here, it was beautiful, location was fab, we pitched next to the stream, and my 3 children loved it, playing in it, and building small waterfalls. The views and surrounding scenery was stunning.

It was on a working farm, so plenty of sheep and cows in the surrounding fields.

There was 2 toilets and 2 showers, basic but clean and I never had to wait for either, also undercover washing up facilities.

Margaret was super helpful and genuinely lovely, Was there when needed but didn't interfere.

Must point out there is no phone, internet or tv signal, but this didn't bother us, I found it lovely and peaceful!

Would definitely revisit this site again and would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet holiday with amazing scenery, And plenty to visit within the area.

Thank you to Margaret and husband for a lovely week :)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KnitKnutter 4 reviews from this member

A really lovely campsite. Small, and with a number of seasonal pitches, but good sized level hard standing, with sheep for company on one side, and cows on the other. The toilets and showers were clean, although we largely used our own on board facilities. There is a mostly off road walk into the village and the Game Cock Inn (book a table - we arrived at 6pm on a Sunday and even though we found a table, they weren't taking any more orders). Lots of other walks from the site. The walk up to the Norber Erratics is worth it. We were worried that our unit wouldn't get through the lane or entrance (Buccaneer Cutter, 21ft long and 8ft wide), and despite the warning sign saying nothing wider than 7ft 6 'except for access', we got in fine. There is another site - Silloth House - just before you get to Woodend and this is disconcerting. Woodend could have better signage and getting out again took a bit of careful manoevering. But we'd definitely go back, for the wonderful countryside and peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alisaord 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful weekend at a fabulous site. Lovely large pitches and spotless showers/toilets. Both owners were wonderful and thank you for letting us leave the caravan on the field to explore a little more on Sunday morning. And may I say a big thank you to the people of Settle, you must be the most dog friendly people on the planet, lovely to see. A thank you to the Cock Game pub in Austwick as well for your dog friendliness, we will be back with our extended doggy family. Could not ask for anything more from a caravanning weekend!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reptile Smile 7 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, though towing a caravan through the village fete to get there proved exciting, though not, of course, their fault.

The site is great with clearly marked pitches, and a stunning location with a babbling brook running just on the other side of the wall. The facilities were miles away - it bothers some on here and not others. You pays your money, etc, etc.

Owners were great and v helpful, and I'd definitely go back. A beautiful campsite in a stunning location.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyrone 18 reviews from this member

We had a great weekend at this gem of a campsite. The toilet/showers are a bit of a stroll from the pitch, but excellent and clean. The views from the site are brilliant and the area is full of footpaths and bridleways. You can walk in any direction for miles. We strolled to the Gamecock Inn in Austwick and enjoyed good food and ale. There is poor phone and wifi signal, but once you get over that it adds to the peace and tranquility of this campsite. The owners are lovely. We have booked two more visits this summer and will probably continue to do so.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Melaniecd 2 reviews from this member

Really picturesque site - peaceful, other than the baaing of sheep, with stunning scenery all around. Easy access to great walks and a short walk (less than 15 minutes) to excellent local pub. Pitches are large, level and grass is well-maintained. We were in a VW campervan with awning but no sink so reliant on the site facilities for toilets, showers etc but the walk to the farmyard is short (we were parked at the closest end of the site) and we never queued. The toilets and (free) showers are very clean with plenty of hot water and large washing up area. The owner was really helpful with the booking - prompt reply and very friendly when we were there, pointing the way to local limestone paving and a good walk directly from the site. Highly recommended

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019