Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springwood Fisheries

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Melbourne > Springwood Fisheries Reviews

Springwood Fisheries
Ashby Road
Melbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE73 8ES
Tel: 01332 864331  or  07904 470047
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cambcouple 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 night although booked for 2. Not the sites fault but other campers ruined it for us. Kicking a football into our barbecue (whilst it was being used) our tent and running yards from us, and parents having no control over their children. Was going to ask for money back but as we paid cash with no receipt thought it was pointless.

The site was packed, probably too many people there for 1 toilet each on the main site and a single shower. Their is another toilet block but again, only 1 of each. This is shared with fisherman who can fish for the day.

Fishing was ok, but saw a few dead fish in the water on the top lake, so always off putting. Lots if pegs but once again your packed in.

Their is airport noise but not off putting.

I don't think we would return, which is a shame as the owners are nice people. Just ruined by others. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cahir 3 reviews from this member

 A pretty site with easy fishing on the two lakes.

However, overpriced I thought, given the standards of the two toilets and showers with a lot of campers requiring the facilities.

Fishing was priced separately. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolyn baxter 1 review from this member

 Excellent, small friendly family run site. Close to Staunton Harold Reservoir, Caulke Abbey, And a short drive to Melbourne town and Donnington park.

Our hard standing pitch was big enough for an 8 metre van and awning, grass pitches were also available at the far side of the lake further away from the road. ( some road noise, but quiet at night, some aircraft but enjoyed watching them).

16amp electric more than adequate. We had great views of the well stocked lakes, and fishing activities. Lots of bird life around. Two sets of toilets/ showers which are basic but very clean,

Camping pods also look great overlooking the fishing lake. Cafe open for breakfasts run by Iain and Jen the owners, sandwiches delivered to the fishermen/ women!

We will definitely stay again. A very laid back peaceful break. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tango123 4 reviews from this member

 Thank you Iain and Jen for the most pleasant stay, the site is well kept and maintained. Fishing is top notch as well. We found that if you need any help with anything they were always on hand. Iain found time to always go round the whole site and speak to every one to ensure they had no problems with any thing.

Can honestly say I would recommend this site to family friends and all who was looking for a great site 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SteveandShell 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to this site on arrival was shown to our pitch and all amenities were shown/explained to us shower block and toilets were very clean and tidy. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The two fishing lakes were a pleasure to fish. There was a small charge for this and they stocked a small amount of fishing bait and tackle. Food from the cafe was very good and would recommend a visit although this was only open for breakfast. Have booked further visits already back onto this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jobla 5 reviews from this member

 Where do I start. Booked in for 3 nights. Nights which turned out to be sleepless due to constant road noise and being on the flight path of East Midlands airport. PEACEFUL this site is not. Facilities are mediocre at best. The toilet/shower room whilst adequate is housed in a building that has seen better days. It is however spotlessly clean. I think that all positive revues must have come from anglers who are willing to ignore the shortcomings of the facilities and concentrate on the fishing.

Investment is needed badly but whether or not it is a priority remains to be seen. The new owners Iain and Jan are very nice folk and I wish them well. However this is a campsite review and I feel I am being honest. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue ec 3 reviews from this member

 We visited here at the weekend and were quite disappointed. We weren't asked if we wanted hardstanding or grass and were told to park on pitch 1, which was next to a very run down looking shed-type thing (I think this may have been the toilets). So I asked why we couldn't go to a different pitch and, as we were the only one on these 5 pitches, the chap said ok. He didn't point out the water fill up bit (or any other facilities) until after we'd parked up. It was an extra £2 for electric, which would have been fine if it had been ok. It wouldn't charge our phones or power our heating.

The place was much smaller than the pictures on the website give the impression of. The lakes were a very murky green colour. When we went to pay - in what looked like their café, we were told the café was closed, even though there were two men in there drinking coffee/tea. As this looked like a rundown shed, we weren't too bothered. We didn't use any of the facilities. We were given no information whatsoever, so have no idea if there was anything local we could have visited. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Micky boulton 2 reviews from this member

 There was no mention on the website of the noise from the road adjacent to the to the hard standing pitches, nor from the low flying aircraft taking off and landing at east mids airport, take ear plugs if you are light sleeper. We had water seeping through the the ground sheet(pitch 5 however, if you like fishing, two good pools with a mixture of fish, paste being a good bait. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracie098 3 reviews from this member

 Love this site. We stay here regular as we both fish. The pitches are really spacious and clean. Really love this site has very little lighting it's lovely to see the sky with no light pollution. It's a quiet site which suits us as a couple.

Facilities are always clean and Linda cooks a lovely breakfast :). What always brings us back though is the owners really friendly and helpful cannot do enough for you. Keep up the good work both. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenwagg1 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit this year it great locations for Donnington and visiting local area and family. The site was fully booked but was still very quiet with Linda and Jeff once again providing a great service, they are so friendly and helpful to ensure their guest enjoy their break. Again the facilities were kept spotless and they are always available, the fishing was again popular and Jeff is keen to help the anglers make the most of the fishing.

It is very peaceful and sitting back watching the fishing is very peaceful.

We will definitely be returning again 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springwood Fisheries child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springwood Fisheries?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springwood Fisheries dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Melbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4077 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement