Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tehidy Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Tehidy Holiday Park
Harris Mill
Illogan
Redruth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR16 4JQ
Tel: 01209 216489
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Littlemisswednesday 3 reviews from this member

We had a fantastic stay earlier this month at Tehidy - absolutely loved the site. The owners are incredibly welcoming and friendly, full of great local advice (and they bring freshly cooked pastries into the little shop each morning!). Its a short drive to Portreath, Gwithian and Porthtowan which are all great beaches.

The pitches are generous, flat and well-spaced - each pitch is surrounded by fencing or hedge, which gives you a nice level of privacy. There is some noise from the local roads but this is fairly minimal and we didn't find it disturbed us at all. After dark the site is quiet and on several nights we had a great starry sky :)

The facilities are also very good - the bathrooms are clean and the showers are hot and fairly powerful. There is also a great little family bathroom for families with small children - it was brilliant to have a place to bath our little boy after a day at the beach. There is also a laundry room with excellent new machines and a washing-up area, along with a communal washing line.

Our little boy loved the play area with the built-in trampoline and there is also a small games room.

Overall we had a brilliant time and will definitely be back - highly recommended, particularly for those with young children.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rowil 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. Very friendly, helpful owners. Nice pitch, quite private. There is a noisy road next to the site, which was a bit annoying in the early hours of the morning.

Lovely kids play area which was closed at 9pm to let others settle and sleep.

My only gripe would be that there wasn't enough showers/toilets. They were clean and well kept though.

Lovely area. Portreath is a lovely family beach and I recommend the Atlantic Cafe for fish and chips. Close to Redruth for supplies etc.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harv41 5 reviews from this member

First Class site, love the way most of the pitches are separated by waist high bushes giving some privacy.

Toilet blocks and wash up areas very clean and nice smelling.

Large play area with outdoor table tennis and trampoline and indoor area with TV and pool table.

Free wifi although we found the reception very patchy.

Staff were welcoming and the site owner was very helpful and informative regarding the site and things to do in the area.

The shop was small with a minimal range of items for sale and if there was one criticism it would be that the shop wasn't open long enough hours. Quite often after a day out we would have benefited from the shop being open for milk or ice cream for the kids but the shop would be closed.

A little road noise is apparent as the site boundary is on the roadside however the road doesn't seem too busy and we quickly got used to it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 248horns 2 reviews from this member

Overall this is a nice site and we would visit again though some improvements could be made. In brief:

Pros: The site is nicely located for touring all areas of Cornwall. It is clean and safe and has a nice play area and games room for the children. The pitches are adequate though some are larger and better positioned then others. Free Wi-Fi is included.

Cons: We were three days without convenient hot water no matter what time we tried to shower or wash pots. It was 3 days because this is how long it took the owner/manager to listen to our comments before finally admitting there was a problem and sorting it. The owner/manager is very strict and closes the play area at 9pm! This is a ridiculous time for children on holiday in mid summer. He also frequently closed the trampoline because (too many children played on it)??? He really needs to chill out with the children a little bit more! There were only two showers in the male block which meant frequently having to queue, not good. And also only two toilets in the gents, a third being within the shower cubicle. Our pitch was smaller than anticipated and just adequate. The elsan type toilet waste disposal was situated halfway up a hill and far from easy to get to unless you were staying right at the top of the site. There was also only one of these. The site advertising plays too much on the Tehidy Park name, when in fact the actual park is at least a couple of miles down the road. We expected to go for long walks direct from the camp site however the site is in fact quite compact with very little in the way of wildlife areas or walks direct from site. Traffic noise will be a problem for some people as the site is adjacent to an extremely busy road.

All in all we will visit the site again and did enjoy our stay, though next time we would be more prepared for the negative aspects some of which could be easily sorted

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campy124 11 reviews from this member

I rang the owner from a previous site on our Cornwall jaunt for availability and was told he had a few spaces, we arrived the following day and was greeted by in my opinion, the most helpful and informative owner ever, he gave us a site map and took time to explain the where abouts of all the local things to see and do. We set up on pitch B7, the site is on a hill but all pitched are level and very private, we were opposite the play area and near the toilets. Although we usually avoid kids due to noise and running around the site, this campsite has the perfect play area, including outdoor ping pong and nice size indoor games room with tv etc that the usual noisy kid gang is non existent here. Its so well thought out with nice flowers and hedges aimed at wildlife, we even had a very tame robin and blackbird regularly visit us in our awning for bread and raisins. The toilet block is spotless and so clean and fresh as is the washing up room etc. I cant thank the owner enough for the fantastic 3 nights here, even the weather was boiling hot for the whole 2 weeks of our stay.

Thank you once again and I will be putting this site on our VW camper forum, oh forgot to say, ti even has free wi-fi. Kev and Sharon.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ovaltinies59 3 reviews from this member

What a find this site is! Having been to Cornwall for many years we were unable to go to our preferred site this year and so after a lot of searching found Tehidy, we were not disappointed and will definitely be returning.

The entrance to the site is a little daunting with a caravan, but this is no way detracts from the jewel to be found once you have arrived. Richard welcomes you with a big smile and loads of information about the surrounding area, he even visited our pitch after we had been there about an hour to check we had everything we needed. He is obviously very proud of his site, and so he should be.

The majority of pitches are enclosed on three side with fledgling wildflower hedges which makes them look small but they were plenty big enough for a car, caravan, awning with space to spare. Our pitch was at the top so was easy enough to manoeuvre the caravan into, but I can see how some of the pitches a bit further down could be a struggle for a caravan without a mover attached, but were perfectly fine for a tent.

The toilet block is central to the site and was always clean and included a mop and bucket so you could wipe out your shower cubicle after use.

The free WIFI which was available in the games room was very useful for keeping in touch with the outside world and there was lots of information on local attractions available and there were also books that could be borrowed if you wanted.

The play area was well kept with picnic tables dotted about and looked to be well used by the children on site.

There was some road noise but it wasn't intrusive and we never noticed it after a while, the birds flying overhead each evening on their way home to roost were much noisier.

The rotary washing line was a great idea and not something we had come across before, more sites should adopt them. And the picnic tables made a great place for people to meet and have a drink in the evenings, including Richard who could usually be persuaded to stop for a chat when he did his nightly tour of the site.

The site is close enough to the A30 that nowhere was too far for visits and Tesco's and Morrisons were close by and also the CoOp in Illogan was handy, there was also a Boots Chemist. We had a nice meal in the Robartes pub which was a bit of a climb from the site on the way there, but a very easy walk coming back!

The weather obviously helped as we had wall to wall sunshine for 2 weeks but even so.

The pitches are on a slight slope and next time we will take blocks with us but we managed with a paving stone this time that Richard gave us.

All in all, a special place and a real find.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarkandSue2008 3 reviews from this member

We decided to do our first week long tent holiday here and I have to say it was wonderful. The site is small but not too small, when we went there wasn't many other campers there so never did I have to queue for a shower. The shower block was cold though, this didn't bother me as I'm always too hot when I get out of the shower but the ladies didn't like it.

The site has Wi-Fi but the signal is weak. They are my only negative points so here are my positive points. Rick greets you at the camp site and tells you where all the local shops and tourist attractions are; this was very helpful.

The play area for kids is good (we have none) but if I was a kid; I would love it. There is an indoor games room on site with TV, Pool Table and local information. The site was pretty (for October) no flowers for obvious reasons but still a good looking site. It was very quiet at night and for the first time ever I didn't need my ear plugs!

The Co-Op is just out the site, turn left, up the hill and on your right by the double mini island. This offers evrything; food, snacks, bread, milk, smokes and a cash machine. For a nice evening meal you must go to what I class as the friendliest pub in the UK; The Treleigh Arms. If you like a rare steak to be rare. Come here, she did an amazing job and the staff treat you like they have known you for years. We went here twice.

Out of the site turn right, go straight out over 2 crossroads then turn right under a fly over, at the highway turn left and the Treleigh Arms is a little way up on your right. Now if you want a meal in the most fantastic setting ever then go to Carn Brae. This is a 12th Century Hunting Lodge and is near Pool (about 15 mins drive from the site) it is never advertised and relies on word of mouth. As you drive to it you would be forgiven for thinking you have gone the wrong way as the road gets so narrow it touches both sides of your car. When you get there I guarantee your smile will go from ear to ear as you are led up the candle lit steps to the main eating area. This is no modern castle with plastered walls, it is stone craggy walls with candle light throughout. The food is delicious (a bit pricey) but worth every last penny. You are free to visit the roof after your main course and take in the views. Last note on this; you cannot pay by debit or credit card so take a cheque book or cash, as a guide; myself and Sue had a 3 course meal with a glass of house rose and 2 soft drinks and it came to 60. Do it people!

We will be visiting this site again with friends. Its convenient to most Cornwall attractions and I can think of no better quaint place to stay in Cornwall than here. We loved our week and are now sad it is over.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Izzytwizzy 2 reviews from this member

Very Pretty site full of flowers and plants. We were made very welcome by owner who was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay here.

The only thing which lets this site down is the tired shower and toilet block. This needs a complete renovation. There is mould around the outside edges of the showers and toilets.

The shower and toilet blocks are cleaned every day, but this has not been thorough for a long time hence the build up of black mould in the corners and along the skirting within the block. Because of this I did not take my flip flops off when showering.

This is a shame as the park itself is so pretty and I can understand why it has won several David Bellamy awards, but these obviously do not take into account the showers & toilets.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terryd999 3 reviews from this member

Tehidy is a nicely laid out park with a great play park for our kids all aged under 6(they loved the trampoline, had to buy one when we got home. )Also good games and Tv room if it rains (note to parents, very steep concrete steps next to toilet block not good for small ones)

All facilities were spotless and a great family bathroom to herd them all through the shower, a problem with hot water was quickly fixed as soon as we mentioned it.

As said on other reviews the traffic noise was a little annoying it seemed to be a lot of lorries, but the site was almost empty and so was very quiet anyway.

Great position for surrounding area especially good at Portreath, fish and chips at carpark a bit steep and nothing special.

In a week we never did figure out directions we came back to camp a different way each time we left it.

We imagine the site facilities would get very busy when site is full but overall we would stay here again if in this area.

It was a shame and no reflection on the site when we left 2 days early but it was just too cold, minus 2 one night. Thanks DAD!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vfrsmiley 2 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful six days at Tehidy. The campsite is spotlessly clean, well laid out and very very peaceful. Yes, there is road noise, but that is not as disturbing as the dawn chorus.

The staff are friendly and eager to assist in any way. Our five year old daughter had a wonderful time, both exploring the green areas of the campsite as well as using the children's park.

The location within Cornwall is excellent, although a car is needed to explore. We would certainly recommend this site to anyone.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


282 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!