Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal Arromanches Les Bains

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Arromanches Les Bains > Camping Municipal Arromanches Les Bains Reviews

Camping Municipal Arromanches Les Bains
Avenue De Verdun
Arromanches Les Bains
Normandy   (Browse area)
14117
Tel: +33 00231223678
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 93
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jains1 1 review from this member

 Great campsite. Clean facilities, free showers, large all weather and grass pitches and very close to the town facilities and beach.

Would highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Markb7 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here many times, despite being basic, it is clean and tidy, but perfectly positioned in the fantastic town of Arromanches with all the amenities close at hand.

Unfortunately admin is not the strongest point, and due to zero communication, we had to stay elsewhere on this occasion, however we will return at another time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fremsley 4 reviews from this member

 Two night stay, very nice municipal campsite. It was clean, all the other campers we met were happy souls and the whole place was just as you would expect. It was a pleasure to stay there.

A few heads-up. Arromanches has few shops. We had to drive to Bayeux when our camping gas ran out (which has plenty of large shops). The local supermarket opens 0900-1915 in the summer, which sounds great until you return late after a long, sunny day's travels.

The campsite shuts its vehicle entrance at 1900 and between 1200 and 1500 each day. We casually turned up at 1905 and if it wasn't for the queue of camper van drivers at reception, we'd've probably missed getting pitch. The road at the top of the site isn't particularly busy, but it's a road. We were near the bottom end and it felt quieter. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camp chaos 26 reviews from this member

 Hmmm. I have mixed feelings about this site.

On the plus side: it was cheap, clean, friendly, very handy for Arromanches and the surrounding area. We were lucky with our pitch as we had a corner plot which was large and pretty quiet (others near a large group of guitar playing /drinking /possibly weed smoking trustafarians were not so lucky!). The toilets were clean and ample for the people on the site and had lots of plug sockets.

The lady on reception was very helpful and made sure the main gate was unlocked very early on our day of departure so we could catch the morning ferry from Ouistreham.

My downer really is with the town of Arromanches itself(but again is mixed). The beach is amazing and it's in a good area for visiting WW2 sites (Longues sur Mer is well worth a visit - you can cycle along the cliff top in about 40 mins). There were lots of places to eat but it was all a bit 'down market' for me. Sorry! Maybe we were there at the wrong time (French holiday time) and so it was full of 'interesting' people which maybe I am making too much of, but.

If you visit Arromanches, look out for the cycle routes either along the coast or connecting WW2 sites - they are definitely worth doing as the roads are very quiet and you get to see different parts of the countryside that you wouldn't see from a car.

I'd like to go again but perhaps out of season. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Himwas22 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed this site - perfect location and close to the beach, shops and museum. All within short walking distance.

The facilities are kept to a high standard and the pitches are really tidy and well organised, the pricing is good value and particularly on my last trip with the Electric hook up. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 We had two nights here in August 2014. The group consisted of myself and partner and 9yo and 15yo girls.

Having an 8. 5M RV, we were given a pitch that was a little tight to get into and certainly there seemed to be other better suited pitches that were vacant. That said it was a pleasant enough site and the facilities were more than acceptable. We didn't unpack everything because of the duration of stay and the fact there wasn't much room on the pitch.

The sight is located in the centre of Arromanches and it is a 5 minute walk to the beach. Arromanches itself is beautiful and reminds us a little of one or two towns on the Devon coast - with the added scars of war. There is a lot of history here and the D-Day landings are a huge part of the towns history; the museum, the 360 degree theatre, the Mulberry port still evident - all is very humbling. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Basic and a little rough round the edges, but overall a fantastic site in a fantastic location.

The site is on the outskirts of the small town of Arromanches and is easy to find. Reception was close when I arrived, however, I was simply informed to pitch where I liked and pay later. So I enjoyed what is the best feature of this site, which is of course its location at the heart of the D-Day Beaches, in what is in my opinion the best stop along the coast.

I enjoyed the observation point overlooking the town, beach and Mulberry Harbour, which also gave spectacular views back along the whole British and Canadian sector. The museum in the town, while old is well worth a visit and the town is picturesque and a very pleasant place to stroll around, I was blessed with beautiful weather, which always helps.

The town is maybe lacking in a few respects, such as a decent sized supermarket, and although I did not eat in one of the restaurants this time, I have previously and they still look excellent and reasonably priced.

Back on site I was able to enjoy the relaxing and peaceful air of a quarter filled campsite in mid-September, there was wi-fi available at reasonable rates and at about 7 for a campervan, one person and EHU it is probably the best value site I have stayed at.

The pitches are large, level and surrounded by low hedges and were sunny well into the evening, the site could maybe be a little better tended, but this is only a minor gripe. Toilet facilities are as to be expected from a municipal site, i. E. Basic, but clean and perfectly adequate.

I would have been happy to stay at this site for many more days, but there was so much more to see of the D-Day Beaches and Bayeaux only a short drive away is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

 We travelled here from the nice municipal site at Bayeux and were equally impressed by this site layout and the cleanliness of the facilities. The reception staff were polite and spoke a little English.

The site is sloping so levellers were needed on some pitches but it was not a problem for us. It was a bit of a climb from our pitch to the loo block so if you have limited mobility, you might need to choose your pitch carefully. Our pitch did have reverse polarity so that is something to bear in mind.

There is a gate at the side of the site (locked at 10pm) which leads into Arromanches (5 mins walk), a small town best known for the 360 degree D Day cinema and the Mulberry Harbour remains. There is a bakers, paper shop and numerous restaurants/shops. There is a minimarket on the road out of town about 5 - 10 mins walk from the site.

We parked in the pay car park outside the D Day museum, not realising camping cars weren't allowed but the parking attendant allowed us to stay. This may have been my bright eyes or, more likely, because we only have a small van which fits in one parking space and it was out of season! I wouldn't recommend trying to get a large unit in.

There is a car park with the most awesome view of the bay next to the circular cinema. It cost 5 Euros to park a camping car but you could stay as long as you wanted. We also visited the cinema for the film which was very moving indeed. There is no commentary as none is needed but if you are likely to be dreadfully upset by a scene involving real people being killed, you might want to think twice before going in.

From Arromanches you can drive the coast in both directions so it's ideal for touring the area.

I would use this site again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Very camp 6 reviews from this member

 This site is just on the edge of the town, which makes it a great location for the local shops and attractions, and also the beach. The on-site facilities very good, ie the toilet block and showers, and children's play area.

The staff are helpful. The pitches are individual and spacious. But it was noisy! It's right by a busy main road, and the 'No noise after 10. 00pm' rule was not enforced. If you can cope with that, then go for it! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Walthams 26 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights including Bastille Day - fireworks in town square impressive.

Camp site fairly large with all shapes and sizes of tents, caravans and motorhomes. Busy but quiet in the evenings

Larger motorhomes were on semi-hardstandings which were stoned. Facilities spotless - cleaned several times a day. Large blocks were singe sex facilities but smaller blocks were unisex. Breadvan visied each morning

Location brilliant - around 250 metres to the centre of this small seaside town. Town famed for the Mulberry Harbour and the D Day landings. Remains of Mulberry Harbour still there - you can walk round some at low tide - beach and sea lovely

Good museum in the town square explaining the Mulberry Harbour and the Landings. 360 degree show above the town is also impressive

Booking tip: booking enquiries answered once site opens in April 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal Arromanches Les Bains child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal Arromanches Les Bains?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal Arromanches Les Bains dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arromanches Les Bains      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


923 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement