Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Chateau De Boisson

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Allegre Les Fumades > Camping Chateau De Boisson > Reviews

Camping Chateau De Boisson
Hameau De Boisson
Allegre Les Fumades
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
30500
Tel: +33 4 66 24 85 61
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 178
Open: 07/04/2022 to 22/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fireappliance 1 review from this member

 We have visited this sight on previous occasions and had a great time.

Unfortunately a company called Capfun took over in January this year. The sight is now crowded, very very noisy until 11-11. 30 pm. The tennis courts have had cabins tightly packed on them. The pool area is frankly awful and the snack bar closes at 6pm apart from takeaway pizza.

The touring area just inside the gate has had cabins packed in to ghetto proportions. The remaining touring area will go to cabins next year I understand.

We were rehomed to another site it was so unpleasant. My advice would be look elsewhere it is nothing like it used to be 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lbarkas 88 reviews from this member

 As an all singing, all dancing, 5* star site, the caravan pitches were disappointing. We had booked our 9-night stay through the Caravan Club on a serviced pitch. We rejected the allocated pitch as it was small, sloping, deeply rutted and with sawn-off tree stumps in the middle.

Reception gave us a list of alternatives in the pitching area from which we selected one. The points for water and waste were not obvious and we were advised to look at ground level and we found them under leaves, soil and other debris. Their maintenance guy later came with the necessary connections.

To cap it all, we did not have a very good final approach in finding the site using the instructions in the CC handbook. So, it was a couple of hours after arrival that we were eventually pitched. There is a huge cat presence on the site. Reception advised that none of them belong to the site but wander in from the village.

There was a smell of cats at our pitch and we had to shoo several out of our awning. We did not encourage them at all with food, there appeared to be plenty put out for them outside the houses of the village!

That aside, the facilities are very good. We used the pool area, including both indoor and outdoor. The shop was well stocked and we ordered bread each day. The showers and toilets were very clean. I think the poor comments from previous reviewers must have been in the high season when families are staying.

I guess the overall occupancy of the site during our stay was about 25%, though much of the site is now given over to chalet accommodation. We did not use the restaurant or poolside cafe. The staff, however, were all very friendly and helpful, many speaking English.

The surrounding area has some very pretty villages, but some had little or no facilities for refreshments. We did, however, visit Barjac(20 minutes away) on a couple of occasions which is quaint with shops, restaurants and the like.

The Friday market was excellent and we enjoyed our favourite meal of our 3-month stay in France at Le Monteil where the dishes were inventive, without being pretentious, and very tasty. The husband and wife team (he front of house, she as chef), run a great restaurant.

I doubt whether we shall use this site again as we generally prefer smaller, owner-managed ones where the ambiance and service is more to our liking. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 34 reviews from this member

 Chateau de Boisson is a 5-star site situated in the Gard region of France at Allegre-Les-Fumades. It is part of the Castels group and as such you expect a certain quality and character, which this campsite more than delivers.

It is easy to reach. We used the campsite recommended route from the A7 motorway (exit at Bollene, head towards Ales on D6, turn sharp right onto D7, then onto the D16). All roads were ok for towing. Just remember as you approach the site to follow signs for the campsite rather than the hamlet of Boisson as roads through the village are not suitable for caravans.

The campsite is situated in the grounds of the chateau on the side of a hill. It is on three very separate levels, each connected by very steep and twisty campsite roads. The level you will be on is dependent mainly on the type of pitch or accommodation you require. Each level has advantages and disadvantages so if you have certain needs you may have to compromise on the pitch you choose.

BOTTOM LEVEL: You arrive at the campsite on this level. Reception is on the right just beyond the barriers. The reception staff are very friendly and speak good English. On first arrival you will be given a remote controller to operate the barrier (a 50 euro deposit in cash is required). You will also be offered a ‘Boisson Card’. This is completely free and is well worth having.

It allows you to purchase goods from the shop, restaurants and bar without the need for cash (you settle up when you leave). It is actually better than cash because it also entitles you to a 10 euro voucher to spend on site once you have spent 150 euro on the card. It also gives you discounts off some local attractions, details of which can be found in reception. Leaflets for other tourist attractions are also here.

The bottom level has a selection of camping pitches and holiday accommodation. The pitches are mainly the site’s standard pitches with 6 amp electricity. Water points are dotted around the area. These pitches are probably the flattest and largest pitches on site. Most of the campsite’s own accommodation is also on this level.

There is one tour operator on site (Canvas) and all of their accommodation is on this level also. There is a purpose built toilet block central to the pitches which contains all the normal facilities. Toilets (seats and paper provided), showers, and individual basins are all good quality.

The laundry and dish washing areas are also here including an actual dishwasher. During the summer the site bakes and sells bread from a shop attached to the toilet block. Other facilities on this level include tennis courts, football pitch, basketball pitch, some table tennis tables and a small play area. All other facilities are on the next level up accessed by steep roads and paths.

MIDDLE LEVEL: This area is at the same level as the chateau. Pitches here are mainly Grand Comfort and have 10 amp electricity, water and drainage. These are on a slight slope and levelling will probably be required. The campsite also has five chalets (fairly well hidden from pitches) and two mobile homes on this level.

The toilets, showers and other facilities are housed in rooms in the chateau. Quality of fitments is similar to the block on the lower level and, again, a dishwasher is present. The toilets were cleaned regularly but maybe not always as thoroughly as they could have been.

Most of the campsite facilities are on this level including an outside pool and flume (cold), a covered pool (warmer), the snack bar/takeaway, the restaurant, a larger play area, more table tennis tables, and the shop. We used the restaurant twice and both meals were superb.

The snack bar has a varied menu including burgers, galettes and pizzas and these meals were very good as well. The shop was well stocked and sold a wide range of food and some clothing. They stocked bread, fresh milk, newspapers, postcards, and of course wine. For bigger shops the closest supermarket is at Saint Ambroix about 20 minutes away.

TOP LEVEL: This level is the highest on the campsite and contains 11 exclusive chalets with individual gardens. There are no camping pitches on this level. Some of the chalets have glorious views over the surrounding countryside. The main disadvantage of this area is the very steep road to get down to the other levels where all the action is. It will keep you fit, though.

SURROUNDING AREA: There is plenty to do here. If you enjoy walking a map of walks can be bought from the on site shop for 5 euro. The Pont D’Arc (stone archway), Pont du Gard and Nimes are all close enough to visit. The Ardeche Gorges are also not far away.

The Bambouseraie (bamboo museum and gardens) is at Anduze and well worth a visit. There are also plenty of pretty hillside villages close to hand – many of the walks start and end at one of these.

We stayed at Chateau de Boisson for 17 nights and found plenty to do. It is a quieter part of France but it is certainly not boring and this campsite complements the area perfectly. For more details on the site and the area the campsite has created its own smartphone app. It’s only in French but it is well worth a look. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wardieb 2 reviews from this member

 A very nice site.

Mostly clean, but compared to other castels sites this site's toilet block and washing up facilities were dirty, and not cleaned as often as we have experienced on other sites.

We were surprised by the large number of 'fixed tent' rentals available on the site. There were so many of them from canvas holidays that all organised excursions were organised by and for canvas holiday customers.

The staff at reception were extremely helpful especially when a friend's vehicle broke down on the bank holiday weekend, although they were unable to facilitate a rental car or repairs, they tried hard. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sammyjk 5 reviews from this member

 We visited Chateau De Boisson having spent 4 nights at the lovely (but very wet!)Chateau L'epviere at the end of May. We traveled with our children age 5 and 6 staying in our own large tent for 9 nights. We booked just 2 days prior to arriving as due to bad weather decided to change our original travel plans.

We arrived at reception and were greeted by friendly staff who gave us the choice of several pitches, we decided to stay on the top level of the campsite near the facilities on pitch 17b (a very large, private pitch only accessible to tents).

The pitch was great and had plenty of room for the kids to play!

The Hamlet of Boisson is a small village tucked into the hillside, consisting of a few houses, a boulangerie and a lovely little family run nougaterie which we visited twice whilst staying and highly recommend!

The site itself was quiet as it was still early in the season, but the bar, shop and restaurant were open most days, and the food was reasonably good and bar and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.

The major let down for this site was the Cleanliness of the showers, toilets, dishwashing area and pool complex. Having stayed in various other Castel sites we have always found them to be very clean. Not so at Boisson!

The toilets smelt revolting for the entire stay, they only appeared to be cleaned (if you can call it that) when we complained at reception and we had to inform reception that they had been out of toilet roll for 2 days and soap for 3! Unlike other sites we only saw the cleaners mop the floor once in 9 days (our last). I can't imagine what they are like in July and August when the site is busy.

The only positive regarding the showers and toilet block is that they are heated.

Such a shame as the site itself is in a lovely area, has nice facilities and had it been clean we would have rated it very highly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tricia tosh 5 reviews from this member

 Great campsite with good facilities. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the bar and restaurant staff who were patient and indulged me with my attempts at French.

Pitch size was big enough for our large Dakota 6 tent with awnings, even had room for the hire fridge (a must because of the heat). Only problem was we didn't have enough shade, should have asked to move as there were vacant plots but didn't get round to it so ended up not going in the tent till late.

9 year old daughter loved the slide and even popped into the kids club although it was a bit young for her.

Only minor issue we had was that there was no where to walk to for a nice drink or meal, everywhere was a drive.

Uzes and Ales are worth a trip as is the Pont Du Gard, not forgetting the Haribo museum. Turn right out of the campsite and about 20 min drive away there is a lovely village with an evening market. They have details at the campsite of all markets. Nimes is also worth the drive 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Neil+Barb 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 9 nights as part of a 6 week tour. We originally booked for 3 nights, but loved it so we stayed longer. The site is easy to find from Ales or from the main A7 motorway. You can use your sat nav for Boisson, but you cannot enter the village with a van of any sort - just way too narrow. The entrance is well signed on the main Ales/Barjac road.

The site is based in the grounds of the very pretty Chateau Boisson, in the village of Boisson. The site is on two levels, separated by a steep hill. We stayed on the upper level, as it was closer to the pool, but the lower level would have been fine. Both levels are very flat and have good sized pitches. Some plots are 6amp, some 10. Just ask at reception when you check in. All of the plots have small hedges and some trees, offering as much shade as you need and were in very good condition considering it was the end of the season. The pitches are very private. There are some chalets on the site, but they do not dominate.

Toilet blocks on both levels. Both are extensive, in very good condition and kept very clean. Some of the best we have seen.

The pool area is excellent, with large indoor and outdoor pools and nice and quiet, as children had gone back to school. There is a great water chute. Very good quality sun loungers and parasols. There is a snack bar, which is open in high season.

There is a very nice bar area in the Chateau and an excellent restaurant, which was full most nights.

You can hire rooms in the Chateau, which seemed very popular.

The entrance has an electric barrier, with is opened by a remote control. You need to leave a small deposit, which is returned when you leave. There is a large late arrivals area.

The only minor quibble, was the lack of water and disposal points.

This is a really superb site and we would highly recommend it. We loved it here and did not want to leave.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rich+lyns 3 reviews from this member

 We went to Chateau De Boisson for 7 days in June 2010. Its is a really nice site and the staff are very friendly. The site is split onto two levels. We stayed on the top level which was next to the pool and bar complex and was ideal for us as we did not have to walk up the hill and it was still very quiet on a night. I think if you are staying on the bottom level you may get a bit tired of the walk to the top of the hill.

Good points:

- Excellent pool complex with indoor and outdoor pools (however only the outdoor pool was open when we stayed).

- Really nice restaurant and bar area (bar was not too expensive considering it is a French campsite - I think about 4.5 euro for a large beer - got charged more than this for a small beer at the next site in the Alps!).

- Good size individual plots

- Toilet block is large and modern and was always very clean

Bad points:

- They required 50euro in cash as deposits for the barrier key on arrival and would not take credit card. Luckily we had the cash as it was quite a drive to the nearest cash machine.

- Restaurant was open most nights but was not cheap and they only served the cheaper pizza options at the weekend. (Take out was also only available at weekend - but guess this will be different if you are going at the end of July).

- We had a tent last year and our pitch was great, however did notice some people in caravans struggling to get setup due to the location of trees in the middle of some of the pitches. Getting the van on was not a problem, but they were having problems getting the awning up.

The actual village is a typical sleepy French village with very little there (however there is a great bakers just outside the exit of the site at the top level which we used rather than the on-site shop where you had to order the bread in advance), but there is loads to see in that area. A trip to Uzes is well worth it - lovely little place to stop and have lunch and watch the world go by!

Would definitely return to this site again, however probably not for a few more years yet. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Chateau De Boisson child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Chateau De Boisson have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Chateau De Boisson?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Chateau De Boisson dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Allegre Les Fumades      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3802 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement