Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Huttopia Saumur

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saumur > Camping Huttopia Saumur Reviews

Camping Huttopia Saumur
St Hilaire St Florent
Saumur
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49400
Tel: 0033 02 41 67 95 34
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marham2 8 reviews from this member

If you come here ensure you get a pitch overlooking the Loire. We had pitch 10 and those along side also have great views. The other pitches are not so well situated. The toilets are modern and first class. Seats, paper and lighting! The showers are unisex in a separate building alongside. They too are modern. The site is level and no blocks required. Wifi is not available throughout the site as stated in the particulars but only at the office and the bar/restaurant. However the latter is most comfortable with armchairs so it was very pleasant to relax and use the wifi. The restaurant has a modest but good menu and in September was still open 5 nights a week. The staff were very pleasant and spoke fluent English. The overall impression of the site may be that it is worn but the first class facilities belie that. Saumur is about 10km but there are nearer villages many with wine 'degustation'. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

We decided to come back to this site for an overnight stay as it used to be one of our favourite sites.

A lot of work has been done over the winter.

Brand new reception, sanitaires and washing up facilities.

Refurbished bar, restaurant and takeaway with nice patio area outside.

New children's play park.

Swimming pool remains in need of refurbishment but the manager told me this would be done next and the water quality was good.

The main changes are that about 5 rows of touring pitches have been removed and the area landscaped with about 40 beige/brown safari type bungalow tents in amongst it. It looks ok.

A lot of wooden chalets on the site and no private statics that I could see.

The touring pitches are a bit rough round the edges and I suppose will be the last thing to be looked at.

The Loire view pitches (46 euros) a night which were the best pitches now have a row of 3 of theses beige bungalows in front of them on the grass below. You still get a view but they get a better one.

Reception closed 12-2 which is annoying when you have been travelling for a long way and its 37c. You just have to sit and wait. Why cant reception stagger their lunch break. Or just put up a list of available pitches so we can get set up.

We paid Acsi 18 euros.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey01 3 reviews from this member

Huttopia Saumur, formerly Camping Chantepie, ( which I understand in the past, was family run and beautiful).

On arrival, (late June, for 2 weeks) my heart sank, your initial view is one of a barren, un-cared for site - patchy dry grass and dusty tracks. The photographs you find on the website (both the 'old' Chantepie site and new Huttopia site) and google images, flatter and were taken in bygone times.

On various sources; adverts and publications, and signage as you approach, you will see the site rated as either 4 or 5*. - it is not a 5* site and really only 4* by way of the facilities and not quality. The emplacements lack maintenance, patchy dry grass and unkept hedging. The grass on our 'premium' pitch had not been cut since the 'last time', (sometime in 2016?), it was long and untidy. The pitches though are very large, quite private, mostly with some shade and some further back from the river have water supply (for an extra charge). Some taps on site are of the 'press and hold' type, useless for filling an aquaroll, find a twist tap, there are some!

We had booked a premium pitch with view of la Loire, the hedging though obscured 'the view', we chose another pitch with no hedging. There are 11 pitches with 'la Loire views', 10, 11, 12 and 14 (there is no 13) do not have hedges and offer uninterrupted views, (15 has a river view at a long stretch). The hedges (on pitches 4-9, these also overlook 3 'permanent' tents) were cut to 'view height' whilst we were there, at the request of a camper I guess, rather than through necessity.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 11 reviews from this member

We booked this site months in advanced when it was independently owned having stayed at what was their sister site in Brissac which was outstanding. Like a previous review initial impressions were that the site was neglected. Weeds in flower beds and very overgrown bushes between pitches, overhanging trees in need of cutting back. Not once in our two weeks did I see any maintenance.

The shop had a very limited stock. The bar and restaurant were only open from 5pm and half the small menu not available. Then after a week they closed it completely, not even being able to buy a drink. Reception closed all afternoon so couldn't access the clubs for pitch and put which also needs some maintenance. They said the reason for these things was it was the end of season, yet there was still plenty of campers who had paid full price for their pitch expecting these services. The lovely family bathroom area was also closed during our stay. We felt as if we were out staying welcome.

The covered heated pool wasn't always heated and could be rather cold. The paving around this pool was a hazard with loose and uneven slabs which I had read in a review in Aug 2015, so nothing had been done about it.

Saying that the site is in great location for Saumur and all the attractions in the area.

We had booked a river view pitch and this made our holiday. It was so relaxing sitting at our pitch with the lovely view of the river and it felt very private. The staff in reception were friendly and helpful.

Ok they say the site is going to be renovated but if they couldn't maintain what was a well loved and looked after site I'm not sure

UK campsite you need to update your details for this site as several things are no longer available for this site like pony rides, and it is no longer independent but comes under Indigo chain.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

We visited this site last August and had a wonderful stay.

We arrived today for a 3 nighter and what a difference.

This site has been taken over by the Indigo group and doesn't look like its been hardly touched since the winter, everything overgrown and tatty. This may be due to having a late start because of the bad weather in May.

In my opinion it is going to take a lot of hard work to get it up to scratch before the main season.

Sanitaires are clean and plentiful.

Bar closed, restaurant closed, TV room open just for the football.

At the moment reception is closed between 12 and 4 but a list of available pitches is left on the notice board outside so you can choose and pitch up during this time. Wifi free on piches. Acsi 18 euros as at June 27th.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bluenote 4 reviews from this member

Stopped here for a single night but could have stayed longer at this lovely campsite.

We booked a riverside pitch and the view was fabulous, overlooking the Loire, just a shame about the weather.

Greeting on arrival was excellent and the facilities were good. Would certainly visit again. No town within walking distance but Saumur is just up the road if you have transport.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Safron 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely visit to this beautiful site.

We booked ahead and got a Loire view pitch which was the main thing that attracted us to this site and boy was it amazing ! The pitch is not as big as some of the others on site and the ground was well used and a bit muddy but as I say its worth it for the view alone.

We have a large tent and it just about fit on the pitch but the car didn't quite fit - it was sort of half in half out !

The facilities were brilliant and very clean.

The swimming pools are a big hit with the kids and mine loved them. The girls over at the kids club are also excellent and had 3 sessions a day !

This site feels very secure and safe and is a smaller site than a lot around which I really like. Its also very quiet at night and gets quiet early too which suits us perfect.

There is horse riding for the kids everyday at a small charge.

I would not hesitate on returning to this brilliant site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hobbits 20 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a 13 night stay at Camping Chantepie and it is a wonderful site. We are a family of 4 (kids are 8 and 5) and it was just about perfect for us. From the moment we arrived and were greeted warmly (and supplied with a free EHU adapter as we didn't have one) our experience was superb and although we rarely revisit sites we are seriously considering going back again.

The site itself has a good range of pitches, all of a good size. We requested one in the shade and were allocated one (only downside was the pigeon poo on the car!) not too far from the play area. There are also pitches which have a stunning view over the Loire but you have to pay more for these. There is a big play area in the middle of the site, a smaller one near the restaurant, and a grassy field with some football goals so there is plenty of space for the kids to have fun. The swimming pools are excellent, 1 heated and covered, 1 unheated and 1 baby pool that was like a bath. There is also a mini-golf, and you can hire bikes and go on pony rides. They also run Camping Kids which were some low-key activities run by 2 girls who spoke Dutch, French and English (very impressive). These ranged from arts and crafts to games and a mini-disco for about 30 minutes in the evening. These activities were attended by a maximum of about 20 kids so it's not a big set up. The restaurant on site is reasonable and serves good food plus will do takeaway pizza which we did use when we ran out of gas!

The facilities are kept very clean. The new family shower room is really excellent and although the other shower rooms could do with a little updating they are not bad at all. Only real gripe on that front was that there did not seem to be enough hot water so showers were often warm rather than hot. However, it never seemed too busy even though the site was pretty much full. The washing machines were excellent and there seemed to be good facilities for disabled people or those with babies. The reception and shop both stock most of your basics, and you can get fresh bread, croissants etc every day. There is a huge Leclerc a 5 minute drive away in Saumur, as well as a Decathlon if you have forgotten any essential camping supplies.

There is so much to do in the area, we only scratched the surface. Nearby there is the chateau at Saumur, a mushroom museum (much more interesting than it sounds and a welcome relief on a hot day!), Pierre et Lumiere are sculptures of landmarks in the area (the kids loved this one) and lots of wineries. However, the big highlights were:

1) Puy du Fou - a sort of historical theme park where they re-enact tales from history including Roman gladiatorial games, Viking raids, Joan of Arc etc. Check out the website as it is even better than the videos. We went on a really wet day and still had an amazing time. It's 1. 5 hours drive from Saumur but well worth it - one of the best days out we have ever had.

2) Chateau de Breze - a castle with an 18 metre deep dry moat and 1. 5km of underground caves that have been variously used for defences, baking, wine making, silk production etc. It was fantastic.

3) The Cadre Noir horse show - the village where the campsite is located is home to the National Equestrian centre and the Cadre Noir is the elite group of horseriders. Once a week they put on an hour show which inclues dressage, jumping, group work and gymnastics on horse back. Even if you aren't horsey you can't help but admire the beautiful animals and their amazing riders. Worth booking ahead as it sells out quickly.

On top of all of this there is loads of good cycling and walking, the river to kayak on or take a boat trip, local markets and the trogolodytic villages.

In summary, a great campsite for families. Enough to keep the kids interested without feeling over-commercialised or too time-tabled. It felt safe letting my 8 year-old head off on his bike making friends, and the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Impartialreevoos 2 reviews from this member

9km from Saumur.

Basically- One toilet block separate male/female toilets. Family showering room. All other facilities are mixed.

General condition of fixtures etc is reasonble to good. The lighting is a bit of an issue though. Depending on which block you use may mean it is really dark for showering but hand basins have all got individual lighting. The toilets cubicles are dark in places so choose carefully. Baby bathroom on site.

Most pitches are a good size and easy access for power and water etc. Most pitches are divided by hedging some a bit young nit established.

Pool is ok. Some safety issue around the covered pool. All the paving flags are loose and many uneven and this should be addressed.

Good for a stop over for a few nights as the winery tours are great.

Would we return? Yes as a stop over.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Davesharon 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for four nights, 23rd to 26th August on a large pitch with friends who were on the next pitch to ours. They are really lovely big pitches with plenty of room for our campervan and awning, we had electric hook up and the water was very close by. The facilities were very good. They have family facilities for washing up and laundry, a freezer you could use, family facilities for showering, toilets etc. And then male and female toilets along with communal showers. There is a small shop with fresh bread/croissants that can be ordered the night before, information shop, two pools, one inside and one outside which unfortunately we did not have time to use as we mainly cycled whilst there.

We took our own bikes so did not hire from here, you can if you decide to want to cycle. Great area for cycling and very well signposted.

The site is above the river and you can choose a pitch that looks over this for an additional cost. There is a smallholding of goats and they have a pot bellied pig and also geese. There was children's entertainment but we did not have children with us so could not comment on this. There is a play park for children also.

All types of accommodation was available, they had some tents provided for you, small chalets if you did not want to be in a tent. Although the site was large you had you own space and it was not too overcrowded. Lots to see from here, wine tasting, mushroom caves, lots of Chateaus to go and visit

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Saumur      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2291 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019