Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Morfa Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Llanrhystud > Morfa Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Morfa Farm Caravan Park
Morfa Farm
Llanrhystud
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 5BU
Tel: 01974 202253
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Allan4 1 review from this member

 The site is beautifully maintained and the customer service exemplary in every way,

I cant comment of the facilities as they were closed due to covid but I would certainly use the site again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

The ratings given maybe a bit harsh but cant judge the common areas 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LucySky 13 reviews from this member

 The campsite is situated directly at the sea, with a beautiful beach just some metres away.

For hikers and cyclists it is really cheap as well.

The toilet facilities are very clean. The laudry room has a (well working) tumble dryer.

There were many redkites circling over the site, which was amazing. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 232 reviews from this member

 We enquired about this site on email and they were quick to respond saying they had space and that it would be 16 per night for adult in a VW campervan and one dog, so we set off.

This is an easy to find site and we checked out the smaller field first which is right by the sea and decided we were happy and checked in and paid. Friendly welcome and away we went.

We had a lovely spot by the sea and set up and went for a walk along the beach, which stretches for miles and the dogs had a lovely swim and stretch of the legs. The sea is great for swimming, kayaking, etc. And a lovely spot.

We went for a few pints in The Barn at Pengarreg and they were reasonably priced and had a great selection. They did food in there as well and this was delicious and well priced. A playground too if you have little ones that need wearing out whilst you have a small drink. If you go there be aware that at high tide the beach is cut off, so you will have to roll up your trousers or walk down the road.

Back to Morfa Farm, the toilet and shower block is clean and works well, there were four toilet cubicles and four showers and thy were clean and useable, if a bit dated, but that didn't matter. They were well stocked and the showers were push button and could do with a curtain, but not essential.

Fresh water points at edge of lower field and recycling facilities near the toilet block.

There is also a huge touring field, but we did not use that, but from looking at it, it was flat and good sized pitches. There is also a small childrens play area on this field.

The only downside is the owner needs to take more control of where people pitch. We pitched by the sea and had a lovely spot, we were then joined by a family with two small tents. Later on a big group with five tents, kids, ball games, etc, turned up and wanted to be in the corner by the sea. However these pitches were taken, so they set up between us and the two small tents and had their guy ropes within a foot of my camper.

This all happened whilst we were out on our walk and came back to this scene. We are used to this from festivals, but not on a campsite where the majority of the field was empty. We chatted with the group and don't get me wrong, they were really nice and friendly and really enjoying themselves, but they didn't really seem to think anything was wrong.

I understand they might have been a new breed of camper who do not know the unwritten (and written) rules of camping, however this is down to the campsite owner to educate people on how and where to pitch.

This was a Friday night and I imagine during the week this site would be peaceful and without the 'weekend campers' who may not be aware of the rules.

A great site, spoiled slightly by this but I probably would return if in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cariad 56 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site on a Saturday afternoon. First impression was not good as the site didn't seem to offer the peace and quiet it described on its web page. We were given a choice of pitches and chose the one furthest away from the children's play area. After pitching up, we headed for the toilet and shower block. Tatty is the best way to describe them, paint was flaking off pipes and doors one soap dispenser for all the sink and only 3 shower cubicles. The hot water taps in the gents had been disabled so no hot water to wash. We decided not to use the site showers at all.

One family about 40 yards from us was playing music from their car (Ed Sheeran, Divide) so loud it could be heard clearly at our pitch and it was on a loop! after hearing it twice, it was changed to a thumpy thumpy music channel. A few families with tents were pitched up not far from us with masses of kids. Very noisy evening but thankfully, the next morning, the noisy ones packed up up and left! The next couple of days were lovely and peaceful. I think the shower and toilet block needs a complete refurbishment. Not a site I will be returning to. The highlight of the holiday was the red kites. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Welsh caravaner 1 review from this member

 They say that location is key and without a doubt, this campsite delivers on its seafront location and with its beutiful Red Kite residents which visit on a daily basis but unfortunately many shortfalls in other areas seem to let it down!

Shower and toilet block

Touring, this is a important facility to our family.

The showers seem to be a fundamental part of the daily gossip on the site. The day we arrived, we struggled to stand under them with the temperature scorchingly hot and this was initially a worry having young children. The following day this fear was dispersed as the intake increased on the site and the showers ran cold pretty quickly after the lucky risers had taken the early hot water. This seemed to be the case for the following days as well and daily comments seem to indicate that the site was aware of the problems. I was keen to be in the showers by 8am on our last day and did manage to get a warm shower ahead of my fellow campers (sorry to all who had a cold one). Comments and banter being passed to the cleaner from regular sited customers seem to indicate it wasn't an isolated incident.

General decor and upkeep in this area was poor with paint flaking off doors and walls, ceilings patched up above the showers, taps incomplete (tops missing from all the hot taps so no indication that hot water could potentially be coming out if your in early enough) and they don't stay on after releasing them - it was an interesting challenge to wash without filling the sink first. One small mirror in the gents was inadequate to cover 5 sinks.

With no soap in the toilets, hygiene after using the toilets was a worry. A little dissapointed with the lack of this basic facility, we provided a couple of soap dispensers for the ladies and gents (80p each from a local shop for ourselves and others) creating another topic of conversation in the toilets, along side the showers! One passing comment was there hadn't been soap in there for the last 15 years as it used to be taken? (This was from a long standing resident we guessed?). Unfortunately, history repeated itself as the gents was pinched within a few hours of being put in :-( The ladies lasted for our visit and seemed to be welcomed by the other residents and campers.

Site general cleanliness was OK but I did pick rubbish up in and around our pitch daily. I don't think this was down to the campsite though and was more a result of poor behaviours of the kids on the site. Bins were provided but it seemed it was easier to drop it.

A permanently sited touring caravan with its wheels and tyres removed was not the best sight to see as we walked down to the beach.

These things could easily be addressed with a little investment of money and time in these key areas to tourers.

No Nightly curfew

A large group of children and teenagers who all seemed to know each other, gathered every night and didn't seem to respect other campers, with noise being a problem to us after it had gone dark. Again with young children, we felt the level of noise at 10-11pm seemed unreasonable to us as we tried to put our children to bed. The kids seemed well behaved (other than the noise and language used, which opened up some interesting conversations at bedtime for us). They really needed a place where they could gather and socialise without disturbing other campers? A seating area with roofing would be a great addition on the far side of the football pitch, away from sleeping campers?

Just a final note.

Make sure you take cash to pay, as this seems to be the only payment accepted? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Coastwalker 45 reviews from this member

 A very nice site that I would happily use again. The owners are approachable and very reasonable.

The site is down a tarmacked single track lane leading from opposite the petrol station/convenience store in Llanrhystud village. It is wide open with good views of the sea and hills inland. There are lines of static vans along with a tourer van field- all flat and well mown. There is also a tourer/camping field at a lower level next to the river which runs on to the pebble beach. Nice to go to sleep with the sounds of the waves, but a south or west wind will test your tent or awning- I had to move my little tent into the lee of an unoccupied van.

There is a little shop for essentials, but don't rely on the opening times. There is a basic but very clean set of toilet/shower blocks. It all works properly. Nothing much else on the site apart from a small play area and some benches facing the sea (and the lovely sunsets).

There are regular buses up and down the coast road from the village.

You can get essential supplies locally but shopping is best in Aberystwyth 9 miles north with all the supermarkets and shops. It is encouraging that there are efforts to smarten up the front there- it is a pleasant place now. Aberaeron is about 7 miles south and is always worth a visit with its harbour and Tobermory-type painted houses. There are some nice little shops. Try a pie from Y Popty on the main street, but be careful- a spoon and a bib would be handy. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LeeAndLaura 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit here and we stayed one night in our Bongo campervan with hook up.

As other reviews have mentioned the owners were great; very welcoming and able to give lots of advice about the local area. We were directed to a lovely local pub within walking distance that served great food.

The toilet/shower block was basic but completely functional, although the cubicles could probably do with a bit of modernising. However, the water was hot and plentiful, and I don't really understand the review that complained about push button showers, as that's what you get with most camp sites. Considering we were there during the school holidays and the site was full, we didn't have to wait for showers or sinks. There are dish washing facilities on site, along with laundry facilities.

One of the nicest things about the site is the fact that it's right on the beach, and you can hear the sea from your pitch, which is lovely. It was quiet at night, and in the mornings a chap comes around in a small car selling what I assumed to be milk, papers etc, which is quite handy if you don't want to wait for the shop to open.

There is a small children's play area, and a big field the other side of the road with some goals for football. Plenty of room for kids to let off a bit of steam!

Overall this is a great site, and very friendly judging by the number of people that said 'hello' to me as I walked around. We'll definitely return for a longer visit in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SammyA 4 reviews from this member

 We only stayed here one night and I don't think we'll be coming back again.

The owners were friendly enough and the location was beautiful with the river and the beach just a stones throw away.

The showers and toilets were clean enough (but the signs reminding people to flush after going were a little off putting)and there was plenty of hot water for a shower (although it was quiet when we were there and it was early when we showered). The toilet/shower block reminded me of school toilets though, they did the job but there were none of the little touches that make other campsites seem just that extra bit inviting, and I'm sorry but push button showers really annoy me (the button always needs pressing when I have my face covered in shampoo and can't open my eyes to see it!).

Plenty of room in the field for the kids to run around and play (unfortunately the Dutch couple next to us glared at us as soon as the kids made any sound above a whisper!) but no info leaflet when we arrived meant we didn't notice the playground until we were leaving!

Loads of rubbish on the beach, which isn't the campsites fault but was still very sad to see.

Overall a decent enough place but too many caravans and regimented straight lines for us, we usually do little personal campsites and farmers fields. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Margotandfred 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this campsite 12/13 July. We have been many times before and it is fantastic. The site is clean and shower and toilet blocks spotless, loads of hot water for showers. The site is right next to the beach and we enjoyed camp fires of an evening, whilst sea fishing. Loads of nature - red kites, oyster catchers etc. Also sat on the beach Saturday morning watching the dolphins - a beautiful sight. Owners are very friendly - and we cant wait to go back in August. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marieandrobert 21 reviews from this member

 Quiet site, October. Clean/excellent WC showers wash room and shop. Plenty of room for all. Stony/Rocky beach with a sandy middle stretch. Good for boats Fishing and cycling. Owners very helpful and friendly. Garage has Shop Cafe and car wash at the entrance of the lane for hand of Morfa Camp site, main road.

Grassed flat areas for tourers also a lower caravan area by the river, all EHU.

Statics for hire. Single track lane with the odd passing places. Morfa is a working farm and does not affect your stay at all.  


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Morfa Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Morfa Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Morfa Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanrhystud      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3390 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement