Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dalby Forest Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Dalby Forest Campsite Reviews

Dalby Forest Campsite
Pexton Moor Farm
Low Dalby
Thornton Le Dale
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7LU
Tel: 01751 460294
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: March To 2nd Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BobCat10 21 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, perfect for access to Dalby Forest.

A working farm with updated facilities without a whiff of commercialism that spoils many sites. No swings and play area, here is where children can enjoy nature.

Visited this site last weekend. The weekend of 'the Wedding and some football match, so it was lovely and quiet, those there were like-minded cyclists, runners, walkers enjoying the peace.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gerard conway 1 review from this member

Very pleased with the whole experience well worth a visit especially if your visiting Dalby forest,

Large pitch and the site is well looked after and found Wendy and her husband to be very approachable and helpful will be returning soon

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Weatherproof 6 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of August. Lovely welcome from the site owner who was very cheery and helpful. He made sure we knew where everything was situated and gave us information about the area even guided us to our pitch.

The toilets and showers were spotless and had constant hot water. Couldn't fault anything about this site had a fab relaxing two nights and perfectly situated for mountain biking in Dalby forest. Large field behind the tents for kids to play in.

£14 per night for two adults and £3 per child Will definitely be going back here.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonhayes 12 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights meeting up with friends.

This is a very good site.

The best feature is the location - just up the hill from the Dalby Forest visitor centre.

Spacious pitches - very helpful owners

We normally camp off peak so don't usually camp on full sites. The bathroom facilities are very well appointed - but just not enough for those peak times. Could do with more wash-up basins. But the facilities are well done.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tiggerchris 1 review from this member

Stayed 3 days with sole intention of mountain biking in Dalby forest from the comfort of our luxury motorhome.

Got a nice friendly welcome and a choice of pitch. Only 3 others on site so very peaceful.

Excellent, clean, modern toilets and showers so used in preference to our own !

Very convenient to the Dalby forest with entrance being yards away.

Biked it down the hill every day to the visitor centre and trails without having to pay car park fees (£7)

Will definitely use the site again. Lady owner always helpful and pleasant site with good views

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Burniethebolt 1 review from this member

Excellent base for mountain biking in dalby forest. Very friendly and helpful warden who allowed my daughter to inflate her inflatable mattress using the plug in the camp office at 9. 30 on a friday night as there are no electric points in the very clean and well equipped toilet blocks. Great to see lots of young families enjoying the outdoor life on a campsite ideally suited.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy monty 1 review from this member

Been to this site on and off since about 2003. And although its slowly got larger its not lost any of its character, Over that time the facility's have improved along with expansion, (when I first went the services consisted of 2 outdoor toilets and a outdoor cold tap / sink.

Ive not been for a few years but the 'new' toilet block has been enlarged and is now a modern heated affair with the gents having 4 showers 4 stalls and a couple of urinals. Showers are good and hot although there is no way of keeping your shoes dry. Other than that the Toilet block is nice and clean and well presented.

The main 2 fields are lightly sloping but reasonably level pitches with nice views out over farm land.

On arrival Wendy showed us a selection of pitches so we could decide for ourself where we wanted to be, . And popped by after a few hours to see how we were settling in.

Been on the Edge of Dalby there is plenty to do in the immediate area although food shopping ideally needs a trip to Pickering or Malton as the costcutter in Thornton-le-Dale is rather pricy and only stocks the basics.

As the site grows its kept its charm but could probably benefit from a small children's play area so they could blow off some steam whilst diner is cooking.

Oh and we are booked to go back in 6 weeks time :)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madauntmary 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site near the entrance to Dalby Forest near Pickering. Access is easy if taken from the Whitby road and not from Sutton le Hole. It is a reasonably flat grass site with lovely views and sunsets.

It has the potential to be a lovely peaceful site, Monday to Friday during term time, but we visited on a very busy weekend and there were lots of families with small children. There were notices all over saying no ball games but I think people can't read! Balls hit the caravan twice.

There are direct walks into the forest for people with dogs.

Although we found it quite noisy we will definitely visit again, it is in a perfect position for visiting the North Yorkshire Moors.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luutjamie 2 reviews from this member

This is my favourite campsite in the whole world.

May Day bank holiday was our 3rd visit and I was surprised to see many improvements to this already excellent site - the main one being the installation of a instantaneous hot water system.

Wendy, the site owner, greeted us in her usual friendly manner and showed us to our pitch - which was large, flat, with EHU.

The site is enhanced considerably by its proximity to Dalby Forest, which means entrance can easily be made on foot or by bicycle - no need to pay the £7/day entrance fee. Despite its proximity to the forest entrance, the site is very peaceful and the views superb.

From the campsite we like to walk into Thornton Dale via Ellerburn, usually for dinner and a pint. Alternatively, the Fox & Rabbit at Lockton is a steady walk in the opposite direction. For the more adventurous, the Horseshoe Inn at Levisham has excellent food.

We're going back in July and can't wait.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter howard 11 reviews from this member

First time we've been to this site and what a beauty!When you book in you wonder were you've come! Then going through the gate and you're in a different world!The views are brilliant.

Lovely size pitch backing up to the working farm barn and water at hand. Pitched up in no time and straight into the forest behind with the dogs onto a lovely short walk. BBQ'd and opened a few beers and just listened to the different birds, watched the lambs and cattle and totally relaxed. On Saturday we went into Thornton le dale and did a few walks we'd got from the internet which were all around the village and really good. Thornton is really nice. On Sunday we had a great walk in Dalby forest and watched the fun on Go Ape. So good we've arranged a family weekend at the farm as they are putting Pods in so booked 2 Pods and a touring caravan in front so they can all come and enjoy the views and the site. Toilet block is basic but always nice and clean and plenty of hot water. Basically you cannot fault the place. The owners are really friendly and easy to talk to, they just want people to enjoy themselves. Give them a try I'm sure, just like us, you will be back.

Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5245 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019