Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dalby Forest Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Dalby Forest Campsite Reviews

Dalby Forest Campsite
Pexton Moor Farm
Low Dalby
Thornton Le Dale
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7LU
Tel: 01751 460294
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 20th Of March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 93 Reviews
                9/10 from 93 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Trclar38004wjs 1 review from this member

 Lovely friendly and quiet site.

Very helpful staff

Perfect site for exploring Dalby.

Only criticism would be the need for a bit of heating in the toilet block would have been nice.

Other than that a great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MT Brown 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 dogs I can not believe how friendly and accommodating the owners are,

This is a very clean and quiet site with high standards 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BobCat10 22 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location, perfect for access to Dalby Forest.

A working farm with updated facilities without a whiff of commercialism that spoils many sites. No swings and play area, here is where children can enjoy nature.

Visited this site last weekend. The weekend of 'the Wedding and some football match, so it was lovely and quiet, those there were like-minded cyclists, runners, walkers enjoying the peace. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gerard conway 1 review from this member

 Very pleased with the whole experience well worth a visit especially if your visiting Dalby forest,

Large pitch and the site is well looked after and found Wendy and her husband to be very approachable and helpful will be returning soon 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weatherproof 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of August. Lovely welcome from the site owner who was very cheery and helpful. He made sure we knew where everything was situated and gave us information about the area even guided us to our pitch.

The toilets and showers were spotless and had constant hot water. Couldn't fault anything about this site had a fab relaxing two nights and perfectly situated for mountain biking in Dalby forest. Large field behind the tents for kids to play in.

14 per night for two adults and 3 per child Will definitely be going back here. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonhayes 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights meeting up with friends.

This is a very good site.

The best feature is the location - just up the hill from the Dalby Forest visitor centre.

Spacious pitches - very helpful owners

We normally camp off peak so don't usually camp on full sites. The bathroom facilities are very well appointed - but just not enough for those peak times. Could do with more wash-up basins. But the facilities are well done. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tiggerchris 1 review from this member

 Stayed 3 days with sole intention of mountain biking in Dalby forest from the comfort of our luxury motorhome.

Got a nice friendly welcome and a choice of pitch. Only 3 others on site so very peaceful.

Excellent, clean, modern toilets and showers so used in preference to our own !

Very convenient to the Dalby forest with entrance being yards away.

Biked it down the hill every day to the visitor centre and trails without having to pay car park fees (7)

Will definitely use the site again. Lady owner always helpful and pleasant site with good views 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Burniethebolt 1 review from this member

 Excellent base for mountain biking in dalby forest. Very friendly and helpful warden who allowed my daughter to inflate her inflatable mattress using the plug in the camp office at 9. 30 on a friday night as there are no electric points in the very clean and well equipped toilet blocks. Great to see lots of young families enjoying the outdoor life on a campsite ideally suited. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy monty 1 review from this member

 Been to this site on and off since about 2003. And although its slowly got larger its not lost any of its character, Over that time the facility's have improved along with expansion, (when I first went the services consisted of 2 outdoor toilets and a outdoor cold tap / sink.

Ive not been for a few years but the 'new' toilet block has been enlarged and is now a modern heated affair with the gents having 4 showers 4 stalls and a couple of urinals. Showers are good and hot although there is no way of keeping your shoes dry. Other than that the Toilet block is nice and clean and well presented.

The main 2 fields are lightly sloping but reasonably level pitches with nice views out over farm land.

On arrival Wendy showed us a selection of pitches so we could decide for ourself where we wanted to be, . And popped by after a few hours to see how we were settling in.

Been on the Edge of Dalby there is plenty to do in the immediate area although food shopping ideally needs a trip to Pickering or Malton as the costcutter in Thornton-le-Dale is rather pricy and only stocks the basics.

As the site grows its kept its charm but could probably benefit from a small children's play area so they could blow off some steam whilst diner is cooking.

Oh and we are booked to go back in 6 weeks time :) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madauntmary 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site near the entrance to Dalby Forest near Pickering. Access is easy if taken from the Whitby road and not from Sutton le Hole. It is a reasonably flat grass site with lovely views and sunsets.

It has the potential to be a lovely peaceful site, Monday to Friday during term time, but we visited on a very busy weekend and there were lots of families with small children. There were notices all over saying no ball games but I think people can't read! Balls hit the caravan twice.

There are direct walks into the forest for people with dogs.

Although we found it quite noisy we will definitely visit again, it is in a perfect position for visiting the North Yorkshire Moors. 


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dalby Forest Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dalby Forest Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dalby Forest Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020