Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dalby Forest Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Dalby Forest Campsite > Reviews

Dalby Forest Campsite
Pexton Moor Farm
Low Dalby
Thornton Le Dale
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7LU
Tel: 01751 460294
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 31/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 113 Reviews
                9/10 from 113 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianarayner 59 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with great facilities.

Handy for Dalby Forest which has great cycle trails, Go-Ape and visitor centre with a good cafe, though all of this is a 1. 5 mile hike or ride from the camp site. You could drive but then you would have to pay for parking which isn't cheap.

Site had 3 showers in Gents, (and I guess the same in Ladies), a decent pot washing area and even a vending machine for milk and another for flavoured milk shakes.

Good hard standings for motorhomes with gorgeous grass patches alongside.

Really quiet site apart from periodic noise when farmer is working.

Think we paid £28 pn inc EHU. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mikeswett 1 review from this member

 Great site! friendly, helpful staff.

Easy to reach and clean showers and toilet block.

Would recommend for all but could do with more facilities for children 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Heathe 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site with great amenities.

Lovely walk into Dalby forest.

Wendy very helpful when booking etc.

Not far from a lovely village, Thornton Le Dale. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew Birkin 5 reviews from this member

 4 miles outside the village of Thornton Le Dale is this Gem

Itís one of those sites that you donít want to tell everyone about but to good not to let people know.

Based on the entrance to Dalby Forest which is great for walkers, hiking, orienteering, mountain biking, sightseeing and star Gazing as itís a designated Dark Sky area.

On arrival we were welcomed by Wendy and given a chose of plot. Facilities are good and clean

The views across the moors are beautiful.

My only gripe was people kept leaving the toilet/ shower block doors open at night and the moaning it was cold

Will definitely be going back here. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jilliancook 1 review from this member

 Great location for Dalby Forest, Pickering and getting to coast.

Staff 10/10 very friendly and helpful, as for the site was kept very clean and tidy.

Walk just off site for dog. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kelley 1 review from this member

 The campsite was lovely, the owner was really friendly and welcoming.

All the facilities was cleaned regularly, the tent pitches was a very good size.

The chippy van came on Monday night and the ice cream van came daily.

The campsite was just at the entry of Dalby forest and Thornton Le Dale was a five minute drive away, itís a really good location.

We had a really good time and will 100% come again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samant 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite very clean toilets, showers and washing up area.

Well kept grounds and we cycled into Thornton Le Dale Saturday tea time for a pub lunch at The New Inn which was well recommended.

Will definitely return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rozzy b 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Extremely clean, nice manicured grass, good pitch size, very good toilets and showers and very good water, waste water and emptying facilities.

The down side was that we (a retired couple) were allocated a pitch in-between a family with three very noisy young girls who yelled all their conversation and a family who had the BBQ smoking away at every meal time.

We couldn't sit out because the noisy family had their awning facing us on one side and the BBQ was set up on the other side, filling the entire sitting out area (and our van)with smoke!

I think the owners could ask a few questions in order to make more appropriate pitch allocations. In fact, the site has plenty of ground and could well think of offering a quiet zone for people who prefer to be away from squealing children.

I in turn have learned a lesson and will be sure to enquire about our possible neighbours before booking the Dalby Forest site again. Nothing wrong with the actual site, infact we were impressed by the layout and facilities.

Very good location for Dalby Forest itself and for Thornton-le-Dale, Pickering and the surrounding N. Yorkshire Moors attractions, and a very secure site which we value. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Phil+friends 23 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Dalby Forest campsite and I'm in two minds about it, the site has large and level pitches with the grass cut nicely short,

Facilities were OK but yes cleaned by the owners but not looked after by the campers, there's a mop provided to clean the showers after use but some campers just ignored it, toothpaste was left in the sinks at times and sometimes ( in the mens ) you'd walk in to a face full of steam from the showers so could do with a bit more ventilation in there.

There's no dog walk on site but being next to Dalby Forest there's a footpath leading from the site, but again people/campers leaving their dog mess behind just laziness, with other trails leading off into the forest itself, you can see why it's a walkers and mountain bikers haven.

The site is in a great location for venturing out, we visited Whitby and Robin Hood Bay, walked the Hole of Horcum and visited Goathland home of Heartbeat tv series all are within easy drive.

Back to the site they hire out a cottage, a log cabin and glamping pods although I thought the pods were too close to the cow shippon has they could be a bit noisy at times.

What I really liked about the site is that it wasn't full, it was quiet apart from those who think they are campers but you get that anywhere,

Would I recommend it, yes I would, just letting people know my views. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iianpr 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with good pitches. Easy access to dalby forest for mountain biking.

Also short bike ride down into Thornton le dale which is worth

Visiting. Would stay week days if possible as gets busy weekends. 


Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Dalby Forest Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dalby Forest Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dalby Forest Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement